BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Lobos Management Company?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lobos Management Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (412) 441-1400 Fax: (412) 441-6501 233 Spahr St, Pittsburgh, PA 15232 http://www.lobosmanagement.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers property management & apartment leasing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lobos Management Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Lobos Management Company include:

  • 31 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Lobos Management Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 31 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

31 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 27
Total Closed Complaints 31

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 17, 1993 Business started: 10/21/1977
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Bernie Sobol, Owner Mr. Ronald Sobol, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bernie Sobol, Owner
Principal: Mr. Ronald Sobol, Manager
Business Category

APARTMENTS APARTMENT FINDING & RENTAL SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Apartment Network, The Colonial Arms Apartments

Additional Locations

  • 151 Milne Dr

    Monaca, PA 15061 (724) 728-1800

  • 233 Spahr St

    Pittsburgh, PA 15232 (412) 441-1400

  • PO Box 81067

    Pittsburgh, PA 15217 (412) 441-1400

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** ***** and I have been a resident at **** ***** *****, **** ***, ** *********** ** ***** (Premises) since November 2013. My lease runs from November 1, 2013 through November 30, 2014 ("Lease"). Starting in June, 2013, I started contacting Lobos Management ("Lobos") to discuss a one (1) year renewal of the Lease. I also contacted Lobos relating to repairs that needed to be done in my building / apt. As soon as I started requesting repairs, I never heard back from Lobos regarding whether they would renew my lease until my sister, ********* ***** (who is an attorney), sent a letter dated 11/6/14 to Lobos asking them to forward a copy of the renewal lease . Instead of making the required repairs that I requested (pothole repairs (the potholes have damaged my car, A/C REPAIRS -- when anyone on my floor turns on the A/c, my entire apt. vibrates and makes it impossible to sleep, Screens not being securely attached to the windows and bugs were starting to infest my apt.), *** at Lobos sent me an email on 6/13/14 stating, "I cannot help you further. I would like to discuss ending your lease early." It is my belief that Lobos is unwilling to renew my lease because I have asked for necessary repairs. I made it clear in my response to *** in June that I was not in a position to vacate, however, I would like the repairs to be completed. Over the next couple of months, I contacted Lobos several times to tell them I would like to renew my lease. (the provision in my lease states that I must let them know 90 days in advance of the lease termination, which I did). I never heard anything from Lobos and I never received a renewal lease. I pay my rent on a timely basis every month and other tenants in my bldg. have received renewal leases. I believe I am being discriminated against because I requested that repairs be completed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to renew my lease on a month-to-month basis at the current rental amount and I would like all repairs made to my bldg. and apartment. I will give sixty (60) days notice if and when I intend to vacate the Premises.

Business Response: Thank you for this opportunity to respond to this complaint.  Although I am not the manager of Ms. ******* apartment, I am somewhat familiar with it.  I remember that about a year before she moved in we replaced the kitchen cabinets with maple cabinets, and new carpet.  The apartment has central air conditioning which she controls.  She lives on the top floor of the building, and the air conditioners for her apartment, and the apartments below are directly above her apartment.  Over the summer she complained that the vibration noise from the air conditioners on the roof above her kept her awake at night.  Our repairman visited the location a few times, and could not completely isolate the vibrations from the air conditioners.  My staff alerted me to the severity of the problem.  As I understood that this would not be a situation we could resolve to her satisfaction, I contacted her to discuss ending her lease early.  As the situation would only continue, I thought this would be a reasonable resolution.  She stated that she could not move at the time.  

We have performed many minor repairs over the past 6 months within her apartment, and all were reported to be completed by wither our repairman or by Ms. *****.  I apologize if some items were not completed.  I will look into her screens tomorrow and make sure that they fit snuggly.  I also verified that the parking lot, though scheduled for repair this year, will be repaired within the next two weeks.

We did not anticipate that Ms. ***** would want to renew her lease, and it terminates at the end of this month.  I did read a certified letter from her sister, an attorney, solely representing Ms. ***** and have heard discussions regarding renewing our lease with her. 

Thank you again for this opportunity.  Should Ms. ***** wish to discuss this further, she can contact me directly or her attorney can contact us.

Sincerely,

***



 


Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I contacted Lobos several times in the past couple of months to state that I would, indeed, like to renew my lease.  Other tenants in the building received their renewal leases at least two months before their leases expired.  In late Oct. (after I had already been calling for months about where my renewal was, the woman who answered the phone said, "It looks like the renewal was sent to you in October.  The person who you need to speak with is not here today, though.  I will have her call you."  I never received a phone call, though.  At that point, my my attorney sent a letter to Lobos indicating that I would like to renew my lease and to please forward the renewal to her attention.  At that point, she received a phone call from ***** *********.  My attorney inquired of Mr. ********* as to whether my apt. was rented for December 2014, to which he said No.  Mr. ********* and my attorney were in the midst of settlement discussions, when ***** abrubtly called on 11/11 and left her a voicemail saying "there was a personality conflict with me" and that my lease expired at the end of November.  The real issue here seems to be the fact that that Lobos does not WANT me to stay.  I feel I am being discriminated against because I have asked for repairs that affect the quality of life in my apt.

 
I would like to sign a 6 month lease at the same current rental rate.  Since I was not informed until 11/11/14 that my lease was going to expire  on 11/30/14, I am not in a position to move right now.  I also do not believe there should be a rental increase because I pay for a storage unit as part of the lease, but it is not in working condition.

 
Generally, I enjoy living at Lobos and it is very convenient to my place of work.  I look forward to resolving this amicably.

Regards,
Pam Slaby

 



Regards,

Pamela Slaby

Business Response: I am sorry that I cannot approve Ms. *****'s request.  Our discussion concerning the end of her lease took place months ago, and I apologize if there was any confusion.  I wish her the best in the future, and am willing to provide her with any appropriate landlord references.

Sincerely, 

***

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



Lobos Management is refusing to renew my lease because I am
a woman and the fact that I "complain too much."  That is
Landlord Retaliation which is against the law and I have rights as a tenant. I
have spoken to multiple male tenants in the building who all have received a
lease renewal at least 2 months prior to their current leases ending.  I never received any paper work stating that
my lease would be up on Nov 30, 2014. 

In addition, Lobos’s Attorney, ***** *********, stated to my attorney that: “Lobos does not want me living here
because I have an attorney as a sister and that there is a ‘personality
conflict’ between Lobos and me.  Again, this
is discrimination which is illegal.



I pay my rent every month on time and take care of my apartment.  I have
attached an email correspondence with *** from Lobos stating that there was
nothing more he could do to fix my air conditioner.  He offered to break my lease and I responded
staying that I was not in a position to move at the time. .

I am requesting to go on a month to month lease at the same rental price while I look for a new
place to live.  Additionally, when I do move, I would
like a positive landlord reference by as I pay my rent ever month on time
and maintain my apartment.

Thank you,
Regards,
****** *****





10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About mid May my ceiling began leaking. I immediately contacted the rental company. They ignored my request for fixing. I continued to call every week for about 6 weeks. They came and painted over the leak, ignoring the actually roofing problem. They ceiling continued to leak and I continued to call. The ceiling finally collapsed. They have superficially fixed the ceiling again without, again, fixing the roof. I have filed a complaint with the health department as well. This has been complete negligence on their part. I am concerned about the mold and dust I am breathing in every day. I hope no one rents from them and receives the absolutely rude and unprofessional treatment that I have from them.

Desired Settlement: I want the actual roof fixed so it doesn't leak again. Also, because I was not able to use half of my bedroom for 2 months I would like a refund on my part of the rent for half of the room. What would be most beneficial is if this company is outed publicly so no one continues to rent from them.

Business Response: Dear BBB, 

The roof of this unit was repaired, in a timely manner by competent persons, and later replaced.  

I cannot respond to the hate and misstatements stated in the letter other than as above.  

***

7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Thursday Night 08 May 2014 Turned the Air Conditioning on and after a few minutes kicked the main breaker off, upon resetting the breaker a few minutes later power went off again. Turned off the Air Conditioning and called the answering service to inform them of the problem and to have someone come out to look at it. The next morning Friday 09 May 2014 I called to see if the office had received the message from the answering service, I was told someone would be out either later in the day or the next day on Saturday 10 May 2014. Sunday had come and gone and no one had come to fix the air conditioner so I called on Monday 12 May 2014 and I was told by the office manager ****** who I had spoke with each time after the initial call to the answering service. "******, tried to call me." I told him that ****** was lying to him because I recieved no message or missed calls on my cell phone or land line. He proceaded to tell me how they had worked together for five years and she wouldn't do that. I was very upset with him at this point and after continous interuption throughout discussion and getting even more upset I asked him when someone would be out to fix the air conditioning and he said someone would be out to Look at it on Wednesday 14 May - Friday 16 May 2014, a week after they were notified. I asked him several times who the name of the contractor but he wouldn't tell me anything other then **** and they sent him a 1099. Perhaps this **** needs to be audited. In our last conversation I asked him about getting someone out to at least put in a screen door on sliding door, he said he would get someone out to get that done and at this moment that is not done, NOTHING HAS. I'm wondering if these are slum lords at the moment because the only contact we do have nothing is being done and peoples health doesn't seem to matter to them as long as they get a check. It feels like a sauna in here and I had to take my 9 year old to the clinic today because he got sick from the heat.

Desired Settlement: Dissaplinary action against the Property Manager for not getting a serious matter resolved in a timely manner inwhich medical attention would not have been needed for my child, and for the sake of everything holy if anything more severe happens to either of my kids before this is resolved I will be going after more then dissapinary action against the property manager. Thank you for your attention.

Business Response: Thank you for allowing me to respond to this complaint.  As I explained to Mr. ****** last month, I am deeply sorry for the manner in which we handled his complaint.  Mr. ****** lives in an apartment with central air.  On Friday, May 9, we were told by our answering service that he called to report that the air conditioner was not working.  Each time that he used the air conditioner, the power in the apartment would turn off within some time.  Due to the number of calls our licensed repairman had from us and his other customers, our repairman was not able to schedule the repair that weekend, and he let us know that he would repair the air conditioner between Wednesday and Friday, of the following week.  On Saturday, our office phoned Mr. ****** to let him know of the appointment and that we would meet the repairman to let him in.  I verified that our office called him on May 10th at 11:33 a.m. through our VOIP phone system.  Unfortunately, our office contacted Mr. ****** on his cell phone that he had since stopped using.  On Monday, Mr. ****** called and was very upset that no one had contacted him about his air conditioner.  Our manager explained that our office did leave him a message, though unknowingly with an old phone number, and relayed the information given to us by the repairman.  Mr. ****** and the manager debated whether we had contacted him earlier.  The conversation became very heated and escalated into an argument.  Due to the nature of the conversation, our manager did tell Mr. ****** to not call again by phone. The repairman arrived later in the week and the air conditioner was repaired in the time frame we initially conveyed to Mr. ******.

Since the air conditioner repair, I have spoken with Mr. ****** concerning the apartment and have found him very reasonable.  I apologized and let him know that I am available to him at any time.  I contacted him again on May 19, and my office called again on May 22 and 29th, to make sure that every thing was ok. 

I agree that our office should never have allowed the conversation to escalate into an argument.  Since the incident we have taken action to ensure that this type of miscommunication does not happen again. 

Again, I am deeply sorry for what occurred with Mr. ******'s air conditioning, and apologize to he and his family for what he went through.

Sincerely,

***

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sunday, June 8, I met with *** of Lobos Mgmt. I told her I was anxious to get an approval before finalizing my already-approved apartment.*** called on Tuesday, June 9, and stated that the Landlord insisted that I take the apartment July 1, despite the fact that I had to give my present Landlord a full 30-days notice. I really liked the apartment, so I agreed. On Friday, at 10 am, I called **** cell and she stated: your application was not approved . . . didnt anyone tell you? When I asked why, she said she thought it had something to do with the credit score, but she would let know when she got back to the office.When *** didnt call back as promised, it became apparent I wasnt going to get a straight answer so I called off work. I called *** repeatedly but she did not answer. I then called Lobos and spoke to *********. She stated only *** had the answer, but that I would receive a denial letter. I asked her to email me the letter , and it was a generic letter addressed to Applicant dated June 3, 2014--before I even applied for the apartment.*** answered the phone about 4 pm and said oh, the reason you were turned down was because there was no credit score showing. I asked her to explain because that is the primary part of the application fee. She became very belligerent and nasty, so I hung up on her. When I went to pick up my money orders, I asked that my application fee be returned. I was told by *****, that it was non-refundable because I did not have to apply with Lobos! UNBELIEVABLE!!!I spoke to ******* at **********, a third party reseller of credit reports. ******* stated that they provided Lobos with a background search only, because a credit score was not ordered. I am a licensed Realtor and was already approved for an apartment, so I could not believe I was being denied. I am inclined to believe Lobos discriminates based on race and age. Nevertheless, I expect reimbursement of my $35 application fee and $60 in lost wages.

Desired Settlement: I FULLY expect reimbursement of my $35 application fee as well as lost wages in the amount of $60, for a total of NOT LESS THAN $95.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

I am writing to you regarding the application of Ms. *******.  I would like to first apologize to Ms. ******* the handling of her application.  We value our applicants as well as our current residents, and she should have received a faster response from our agent. 

Unfortunately, we were unable to offer Ms. ******* an apartment.  Our decision was based upon information found in our credit report that we obtained from *** *******.  We were provided with a Fair Issac score for this applicant and a list of her past and present credit accounts, which we are unable to discuss in this letter.  We also based our decision on the filing of an eviction lawsuit against Ms. ******* in Georgia.   Ms. ******* should have been aware of these issues, as another company obtained her background report a few days before she applied with our company.

Despite the above, I can understand her frustration.  Though our company processes thousands of applications a year, we should be more responsive.  In light of this, and in an effort to promote goodwill, I am willing to offer Ms. ******* her fees paid for her background check, and $50 for her inconvenience.  Please let her know to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

***

Consumer Response:

While I appreciate the prompt response to my complaint, I agree that Lobos should be more forthcoming with their responsiveness and disclosures.  I am in the habit of openly revealing my Georgia foreclosure history before applying for an apartment.  I have never been evicted from an apartment.  Had the agent had the decency of returning any of my phone calls beforehand, I would have discussed this and avoided the application fee.  Surprisingly, Lobos' application disclosures do not mention anything about evictions or foreclosures, and the agent gave me a totally different reason for my denial.

Nevertheless, I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

***** *******

 

 

 

 

6/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint is in regards to the leaking roof of my apartment. It first started in January of this year. A hole, about the size of my fist, formed in my living room. This hole happened to be above a heat register which was a major fire hazard, especially during the winter months when I had the heat on all of the time. I called and visited the on-site office numerous times. Many excuses were given and the issue didn't get resolved for months after. Finally in April a patch was put over the hole and I thought the whole ordeal was over but I was wrong. One month after the first hole was patched, two more holes in my living room formed in May. One of the holes is visible and the other hole leaks but the plaster hasn't peeled back... yet. However, both of these holes leak and one hole is a continuous drip when it rains. I currently have two cooking pots underneath the holes to collect the water. I informed the office and nothing occurred to fix the problem for about a few weeks. Finally, a maintenance man got onto the roof and patched the holes. Again, I thought the roof was "fixed" but the patch didn't hold so here I am again playing the waiting game. I continue to call and visit the on-site office with only to hear more excuses. While waiting for these two holes to be fixed: two more leaks have formed in my living room(leaking onto my coffee table), the access door to the attic, located in my bedroom, has leaked(soaking a shirt of mine) and a possible leak in the bathroom that I am able to hear leaking in what seems to be the attic. In total there are 7 leaks, one patched that is currently holding. All I have heard is excuses over these past, what is soon to be, 6 months. I am extremely dissatisfied, especially because now I have a considerable amount of bugs and spiders within my apartment and also because mold could form which could pose as a health hazard. I feel like no real concern has been given to my issues whatsoever so I am only getting angrier as the weeks go by.

Desired Settlement: I would like the whole roof to be repaired. Since I have leaks in just about every room, I do not think repairing each individual leak would be sufficient. I would like this to be completed within two weeks. However, if this is not completed in a timely manner I will seek money for damages that are caused solely by the leaks.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

Thank you for alerting me to the problem that we are having with this resident's roof.  As we discussed with the resident, the heavy snowfall and the daily thunderstorm has set our roofing company back.  While our contractors have been on the property almost daily, we have not started the area above her particular apartment.  I will let the contractor know to jump ahead and start her roof in the next few days. 

Hopefully this will help.

***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I would like this issue addressed immediately. It will be going on 6 months now of hearing about how out the snowfall and excessive rain are the reason for multiple leaks in my ceiling . I understand this but that's one of the reasons for a roof, to protect myself and my belongings from the outside elements. If the issue is not completely fixed in a timely manner I will find a roofer of my own and submit the receipt to the apartment management company. According to the Landlord and Tenant Act I have the right to do so. 

Regards,

****** ****

 

 

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon moving in there were a few little things that needed repaired..the bathroom door did not shut, the garage door was faulty, the back door would stick. Then, one day I go into the basement and the sewage backed up all over the floor. I'm not sure why because I have no children to throw things down the drain and I do not personally use the type of female hygienic products that would clog the drain if flushed. I contacted lobos and they came to unclog the drain. Then it happened two more times over the next few months. Now I am becoming upset because I cannot was clothes or take a long shower without raw sewage backing up in my basement. And every time they came to unclog it I asked what the problem was and the guy told me he saw nothing. Now it happens again. So I call upset because I would like this resolved so I do not have to call every few months. I called on 2/18 at 10;53am and spoke to someone about the drain..I never received a call back. On 2/22 I call again because there is still sewage in my basement and I was told I would receive a call back. After a few hours I call again and speak to one of the property managers who informs me that she spoke to the owner and I must be doing something to clog it so"he said it is your responsibility to get someone to fix it." Upset, my boyfriend calls to try to speak to someone. Next, the owner calls me. We have a 7 min discussion. At the end of the convo he said "well at this point I'm gonna have to just have one of my guys come out and check it out." I say great, thank you. And I'm happy with the conversation. The guys come and unclog it, say there was a tampon clogging it, which I do not use. Then I receive a bill for $176 in the mail. Confused I call the office to speak to the owner. I left multiple messages and I called the office six more times over the next two weeks. I was told by other employees the owner said that he informed me I would be charged. If he would have I would have said no ill get someone. No one tried to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like the charge of $176 to be removed from my account. I was Always very polite and understanding even when repairs took weeks to a month for them to acknowledge. why was nothing found the other three times they came to unclog it? And if the owner is so sure that he told me that I would be charged then why is he not returning any of my phone calls? And why is the townhouse next to me drain overflowing in their driveway and the next one is getting unclogged as well. Must be ongoing.

Business Response: Dear BBB, 

 
Thank you for allowing me to respond to this complaint.  Ms. ******* leased a townhouse from our company in Penn Hills, PA.  Each townhouse has it's own independent utility service lines.  The water, gas, and sewer lines for each townhouse are separate and distinct from its neighbor.  The townhouse is 3 levels, with a garage and basement area with laundry hookups and storage.  All of the townhouses in the community have hardwood through out, with a large ceramic tile eat in kitchen.  They are solidly constructed and are nearly all brick.  
 
Ms. ******* contacted our office on October 13, 2013 about her sewer backing up in her basement.  She had already lived in the house for about 6 months and the previous tenant of the property never reported any problem.  We informed Ms. ******* that her lease stated that she would typically be responsible for hiring a plumber to unclog her sewer line, though we would provide this service at no charge if we could perform it during normal business hours.  We unclogged her sewer that day and checked the line to see if there was a deeper problem.  
 
About 2 months later, on December 16, the sewer clogged again, and we unclogged it for her.  The sewer clogged  again at the end of March.  We reminded Ms. ******* that she is responsible for the sewer line.  We let Ms. ******* and her boyfriend know that she would have to contact a plumber themselves.  I spoke to the boyfriend at one point, and I think they tried to do it on their own.  A couple of  days later she called us to unclog the sewer line.  We agreed to do it, but we charged $175.  We explained that we retrieved bathroom products from the line.  
 
About 2 weeks before Ms. ******* moved from the property she let us know that she was not paying the sewer fee, but let us know that we could take the amount from her security deposit.  
 
Thank you for this opportunity to respond to the complaint.  
 
***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response states that I was informed that they were doing me a favor by unclogging a drain. But everytime that I called the office to ask if someone could come out it was a very short conversation. I just explained that the drain was backing up and the lady said she would put a work order out for it and someone would be out to fix it. That was the extent of those conversations until the 4th time that it backed up. Because at that time I started to inquire about why we could not figure out what was wrong. Then after multiple times of me calling the property manager finally informed me that I would have to get my own plumber. I said fine and bought a snake but never used it. I called to get some answers about what was seen when they unclogged it previously. In addition I did inquire right before the end of the lease about whether or not the charge could be taken from the security deposit. I asked because I was still unable to get in contact with the owner and I did not want any problems after moving out. but the bottom line is that I was never informed that I was going to be charged and was under the assumption that when he sent someone out to unclog it it was just like the other times. They had informed me I would have to get my own plumber so when he said he was sending someone else how was I to know there would be a charge? I just feel like other tenants should be aware if they are going to be charged for something. I had sewage on my floor for 3 1/2 days because I was informed that a work order was put in and when no one showed up I finally get the phone call that I have to get my own plumber. If that was the issue then I should have been told that in the beginning. I have screen shots of the calls I made. They shouldn't let me set with raw sewage on my floor for 3 days before informing me that they change their mind about coming out. These type of actions on top of the very delayed response to maintenance issues need to be noted so that other tenants are made aware. I was always very polite and very professional and still never received a call back. It took the words of others to convince me that I needed to file a complaint.

Regards,

****** ******* 

 

 

6/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was recently told I could no longer have an apartment that I put a security deposit down on. The landlord gave it to another tenant from the basement who had issues with their apartment. I kept trying to call this landlord so I could come in to sign my lease but they kept putting me off then I find out about this. I just received my refund from them but I want to know what legal right he had giving away my apartment before I even moved in! Also what rights do I have regarding this matter? He also stated on the phone he would give me $250 extra for my troubles but he didn't follow through with that.

Desired Settlement: Since I will no longer accept just $250, I will however; accept $1,000.00 for my troubles.

Consumer Response: No I did not sign the lease yet, just the preliminary paperwork and gave them my security deposit of $610 (money order).  What I really want to know is did they have the right to give the apartment to someone else when I already put a security deposit down on it on May 14, 2014?

Business Response: Dear BBB,

Thank you for allowing me to respond to this complaint. Our company offers beautiful, updated apartments at lower prices that many of our competitors.  This particular apartment, like most of the apartments in the building, had new hardwood floors installed last year in the great room, and new carpet installed in the bedroom.  It has air conditioning, a walk in closet, and the subway line stop is only about 75 yards from the building.  There is laundry and storage in the lower level of the building, and it is only a short drive to South Hills Village mall.  The electric bill for these apartments is also significantly less than other buildings nearby as it uses a lower prices supplier.  Pets are allowed under certain circumstances.  Though I have never spoken with the applicant, I am familiar with her circumstances.  I am very sorry that we were not able to resolve her complaint. 

The applicant for our apartment applied for a 1 bedroom apartment in Bethel Park in the middle of May.  The move in date was set for July 1, about 6 weeks later, and this apartment was the only apartment available in the building that was currently vacant.  We had other apartments available July 1 in the same building, but none that were vacant in June.  On or about May 29th, about a month before she was to move in and before a lease was signed, another apartment suffered from a malfunctioning french drain.  We had to find immediate alternative housing arrangements for our customer, and the only alternative that was feasible was the apartment that had an application and deposit placed on it.  We moved the customer's items into the apartment.

We spoke to the applicant the following day.  We let her know the situation, and she was extremely upset.  We offered another apartment, with the same decorations, attributes and floorplan as the apartment she lost from the apartments that were coming available on July 1 in the same building.  The apartments we offered are identical to the one for which she applied.  She refused and threatened to sue us.  We offered her discounts on much higher priced 1 bedroom apartments in the area, and let her know we could meet her anytime to look for another apartment.   She again refused.  We offered a discount on the first month's rent on another apartment in the same building.  She again refused.  We offered options in different complexes in the area, at a discount to lower the rent to what she would have paid for the original apartment, and she continued to refuse each option.  We believe we tried to accommodate her in every way.  The applicant was hostile, berated and belittled our staff, and we felt that we would never be able to satisfy the applicant.  We finally offered to return all deposits, application fees, and an additional $250 as a gesture of goodwill and for her inconvenience.  She refused and reiterated her desire to sue us.  My staff ended the conversation politely, and we mailed a check to her for any of the money paid to us. 

Our office was in a difficult situation trying to satisfy two separate customers, and unfortunately we were unable to satisfy both.  Though we had no legal duty to do so, we felt that by offering compensation, discounts, and substitutes to the applicant, we could satisfy her.  We apologize for any inconvenience that we caused her, and wish her success in finding a new apartment. 

Sincerely, 
***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

At no time did the business of Lobos Management offer me any apartment at a discount, either at ****** ******* or any other apartment building.  ***** said he couldn't give me any other apartment at a discount just that he could give me an apartment.  When I spoke with ***** and he told me he gave away my apartment, I was extremely upset.  They just gave away my home!!  I had tried for days before the incident with the flooding in the apartment downstairs to have them let me sign my lease, I was ready to move well before the July 1st date but they kept putting me off; giving me excuse after excuse as to why I couldn't come in to sign.  I never refused the $250 from Lobos, I just was too upset to discuss it any further so I was a little surprised that they didn't follow through with the money.  I never belittled any of the staff, all I said was I tried to come in to sign my lease but kept getting the runaround.  I am not that mean or disrespectful of others plus the fact I never met any of these people.  The only person I met was **** who ended up quitting on May 19th 2014.  After I thought about it, yes I decided I would never rent from Lobos Management - I would never be able to trust them especially after talking to other people I know who rented from them and had horrible experiences.  I see it as a blessing in disguise and I have found a website showing over 30 complaints against this company.  I doubt anything I say or do will make these people develop morals - I just don't know how they sleep at night!!

Regards,

******** *****

 

 

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAVE A CRACKED WINDOW IN MY MASTER BEDROOM THAT NEEDS THE WHOLE WINDOW REPLACED I KEEP GOING INTO THE OFFICE AND TELLING LOBOS MANAGEMENT WHAT I NEED DONE AND ALSO LEFT NOTES AT THE MAIN OFFICE AND *** ***** LEASING AGENTS NO ONE HAS DONE ANYTHING WITH MY WINDOW, AND MY WINDOW NOW HAS A COLD AIR DRAFT COMING THROUGHI HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT LIGHT BULBS NOT REPLACED IN MY FIRST FLOOR BATHROOM FROM THE WHEN MY FAMILY AND I HAVE FIRST MOVED IN ALSO ABOUT THE SEWAGE SMELL COMING FROM THE DRAINS OUTSIDE AND MY TOILETS NOT FLUSHINGAND SNOW AND ICE REMOVAL WHICH THEY TOLD ME BEFORE I MOVE IN THAT THEY KEEP UP WITH MAINTENANCE AND AFTER I MOVED IN, TOLD ME I HAVE TO DO MY DRIVEWAY AND STEPS MYSELFTHEN UPON TRANSFERRING FROM ANOTHER APARTMENT OF THEIRS MAKING ME PAY FIRST MONTHS, LAST MONTHS AND THE MONTH PRIOR TO MOVE IN EVEN THOUGH IT WAS A MEDICAL EMERGENCY (CANCER)AND TAKING $50 FROM MY SECURITY DEPOSIT FROM MY LAST APARTMENT TO PAY FOR (OVEN) REPAIRS WHICH WAS ALWAYS DAMAGED UPON MOVING IN

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE MY MASTER BEDROOM WINDOW REPLACEDI WOULD LIKE WORKING LIGHTBULBS IN ALL FIXTURESSEWAGE DRAINS ADDRESSED TO WHERE THERE IS NO SMELL OUTSIDEWATER NOT RUNNING AFTER FLUSHING THE TOILETS FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME

Business Response: Dear BBB,



I am writing to you regarding the complaint for ****** ******.  Our attorney has negotiated a settlement of all of the issues with Ms. ******'s attorney.  The settlement agreement states that I cannot discuss the terms of the settlement, or anything about the apartment or my relationship with Ms. ******.



Thank you,



*** *****

4/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While living in an apartment ran by Lobos Property Management, I was continuously told one thing but another would happen. I was constantly charged more money. When first getting the apartment, I was told I needed the security deposit & the first month's rent. Later, I was told I needed the last month's rent as well. Then, I was told I needed $72 for a few days of living there at the end of March last year. A few months passed, I was told I never paid the $72 and was charged $120. I paid all of this. February of this year I was sent a Notice of Default payment. My rent was always mailed 5 days prior to the 1st of each month. All of my bank statements show that the check cleared on the 4th of every month. Even with all of that information, I was still charged a $50 late fee. When I called, I spoke with a woman named *****. I understand she processes the payments. She told me that if the Company wanted to, they could go back to when I first moved in and charge me for all of the months up to the current time for late fees. She also stated I should consider myself lucky I got away with it for so long. After getting nowhere, I paid the $50 fee. She told me that she would apply my last month's rent to my March 2014 invoice. Around March 21, 2014 I got another Notice of Delinquent Rent stating I owed $590 for March. I called ***** and she stated it would be taken care of. Every time I asked for written documentation of same, she denied it. Rather than wait and see what happens next month, I elected not to renew my lease and therefore did not have the chance to give the proper 60 day notice. I know I probably will not be getting my $540 security deposit back from them as the local office called to ask the reason why I am leaving. I explained the situation to her and she stated she is not sure if I'll get the deposit back as it is up to their main office. I provided the apartment complex with a more in depth/detailed letter I can forward to you if you like.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to be considered of giving my 60 day notice for leaving.I'm fine with them taking any reasonable charges out of the security deposit for the apartment.I don't think its fair to not be refunded at all.With that being said,I left the apartment in the condition it was given to me.I did not vacuum.The carpet needs to be replaced as it wasn't installed properly in the first place, it's buckling.The closet doors are still off the hinges.I know I won't see the deposit $ but thought I'd try.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

Thank you for this opportunity to respond to this complaint.  Before responding to this complaint I reviewed the information contained in our records and read the correspondence that our resident provided by fax, yesterday.  In our review I found that I have not had any requests from our resident since May, 2013, other than the correspondence regarding rental payments with our collections staff. However, our lease with her is valid until 2015, and we are willing to discuss terminating her lease early.  Perhaps she wrote this complaint in an effort to persuade us to allow her to end her lease under terms favorable to her.  Please have her contact me at her earliest convenience.

Thank you,

***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID <st***g />*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I terminated the lease ending March 31, 2014 in writing on that day as I did not have access to a fax machine until then and did not sign the new lease I was provided in order to renew the lease. I was moved out of the apartment and left my keys at said apartment on the counter on Friday, March 28, 2014. Granted I did not give a 60 day notice because I didn't have the intention of moving out 60 days ago. I wasn't thrilled with Lobos before this but I had every intention of staying in the apartment until I spoke with ***** and was spoken to so disrespectfully. My conversations with ***** didn't happen until the end of February. Even if I did decide to leave then, it still wouldn't have given me a 60 day notice. The final straw, for me, was when I received the Notice of Default of Rent after ***** stated she would apply my last month's rent payment for March of 2014 and would not provide this to me in writing. Any request I ever made to Lobos about my windows were verbally over the phone. I never complained about anything else. The information I provided was in order to cover myself because I am not/will not be present when they do the "final walk through" of my apartment to assess any damages made to the apartment. From what I have read online, there is almost always some charge made by Lobos and you never get your security deposit back. Like I previously stated, I know I'm not going to get my security deposit back. That is not what I am after. They've already made money off of me in additional fees. I am asking that I be granted with the 60 day notice provision in the lease I previously signed. The Lease states that if the tenant does not give said notice that the landlord has the right to renew the lease if they so chose to. Obviously, even though I'm already moved out and they know this, they're going to renew the Lease so that they can charge me for rent and late fees because they know I'm not going to pay it. Why would I pay for an apartment I am no longer living at? I did receive a phone call from the Moon Township office yesterday stating that they were unsure as to how the security deposit would be handled since I did not give proper notice. The woman with whom I spoke to, ****, apologized for how I was treated and I appreciated that. She never said anything about being locked in for another year but she did acknowledge that the Lease I did sign was up. However, after reading ***'s response, that is not the case. This just goes to show how Lobos tells you one thing over the phone or in person but send you, in writing of course to protect themselves and their interest, something else. Since they will NEVER provide anything they tell you in writing, they end up getting away with it. Just like when I moved in. I do have documentation from **** stating that all I needed was my security deposit and first month's rent but that documentation still never helped when dealing with them since he was no longer with the Company. They come up with some excuse so you end up paying anyway. It has happened to me at least twice already and when they tried to do it again, I had enough. Obviously, everything they do is in their favor. I do not wish to speak with anybody from that Company ever again because anything they tell me over the phone is not going to matter anyway and I will never receive documentation of that conversation as ***** previously stated it is not their policy.

Regards,

******* ********

 

 

Business Response: Dear BBB, 

 
Again, I would rather try to work out an arrangement with my tenant.  Her lease did renew for another year and she is obligated to pay the rent for at least the next month.  I am sorry that she feels that someone told her otherwise yesterday, though I did confirm that this was not the case and was possibly a misunderstanding.
 
Thank you, 
 
***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I don't want to try to work out any arrangement as whatever arrangement is decided isn't going to be followed through with anyway. Time and time again this has been proven. I don't feel that someone told me otherwise yesterday. I KNOW somebody told me otherwise yesterday. My hearing is just fine. Of course they think it was possibly a misunderstanding. They do not accept responsibility for their actions but turn it on the tenant so that it appears it is the tenant's fault so the Company can get more money! As previously stated, I fell for this twice. I am NOT falling for it again. My lease apparently was renewed because the Landlord opted to renew it so they could do this and get more money! He just stated that I need to pay them at least $540.00 as this is what rent is supposed to be! I sent my letter of non-renewal like I was supposed to but I did not send it 60 days prior to termination. Again, I would have never terminated the Lease if it wasn't for the Notices I received in the past few weeks along with the disrespectful attitude from Ebony. I am not obligated to pay anything. THEY renewed the Lease, I did not. If I did sign the new Lease that was provided, then I could see that but I did not sign. The only way Lobos would ever resolve this on their own with me is if I agree to pay them more money I don't owe them. If I do that, then they're going to say I owe for another month and so on and so forth. Plus, since today is the first and rent was already due, they're going to charge me a $50 late fee! I know their game now and I'm not playing it anymore.

Regards,

******* ********

 

 

Business Response: Dear BBB:

Our office signed a lease with Ms. ******** and her co-tenant ****** ******** which stated that the lease for the apartment would automatically renew if we did not receive notice from the tenants at least 60 days before the lease ended that they would be moving.  This paragraph was pointed out to Ms. ******** and was initialed by her and her co-tenant at her lease signing.  Ms. ******** has acknowledged that she was aware of this paragraph, and its repercussions in her correspondence with you.  I have faxed this paragraph, as initialed, to your office to attach to this file.  Again, I am willing to work out a mutually agreeable resolution to this issue with Ms. ********.

Sincerely,

*** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

If you read that paragraph, it states "if Landlord so desires, this LEASE is automatically renewed for one year at the rental rate specified by LANDLORD in LEASE RENEWAL. It doesn't state it is just automatically renewed. The LANDLORD makes the choice. Obviously, since Lobos knew I was already out of there before the new lease started, they were going to choose to renew the Lease. As I previously stated, I did not have any intentions of moving out sixty (60) days prior to the end of my lease. I decided to move out because of the late notice I received approximately forty (40) days prior to the end of my lease term whereas Lobos decided that the check I sent to them on January 28th was late because it didn't clear the bank until after February 1st. The check cleared the same time as the previous nine or ten (9 or 10) checks that I sent. When I called, ***** told me that I should consider myself lucky that was the the only notice I received and that Lobos could go back and charge me a $50 late fee for the others. I decided to give them one more chance so I paid the fee. ***** and I agreed to use my last months' deposit for my rent payment for March. In the middle of March, I received a past due notice stating I owed $590 because my rent wasn't paid ($540 for monthly rent and $50 for a late fee). As you can imagine, that was the final straw for me. I have already sent in all of this paperwork but can resubmit if you like. If all of this happened seventy (70) days prior to the end of my lease, I would have made sure to give them proper notice. Lobos already has an extra $540 (my security deposit) and has caused me nothing but unnecessary aggravation and stress after one of their employees belittled me over the phone. Isn't that enough?

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a resident of ******* **** (A Lobos Management apartment complex) for nearly 6 years. Over the years, I have dealt with mold several times, many safety issues, an extremely rude management company, loss of amentities and countless other issues. There has not been heat in the 2 bedrooms of my apartment the entire time I have been here. I was first advised to close the vents in the other room- did not work- I was told that for several years. This winter has been brutal- I have called to complain about not having heat in the bedroomds several times- I was told by the office that the heat "just doesnt make it to the bedrooms" and to get some space heaters (getting space heaters was what I was advised the 5 days earlier this winter when I was without heat in 10 degree temperatures rather than them sending somebody out over a weekend to fix it- I called on a friday afternoon & did not get heat again until that Tuesday). Getting space heaters does not work- first of all, I have 2 bedrooms, and I though I have bought 6 different space heaters this winter, I cannot run more than one in the apartment at one time without shorting the circuits. 5 of the heaters I have purchased have been ruined when the circuits break. So now my child has then space heater in his room, along with 5 blankets. I just have to deal with being cold. I have gotten several respiratory issues this winter due to the constant cold at night. I keep the heat in the apartment between 75-80 and it is still frigid in the bedrooms.There has also been an ongoing issue since the summer when several days a week there is no water with no prior notice; for several hours a day. My child has missed school due to there being no water when it was time to get ready for school. It has been at least 2 times a week for the last 6 months, most recent Ddates being 1/14, 1/17, 1/21, 1/24, 1/28, 1/29. There was also a week last month that there was no hot water at all. There are rats on the ground floor

Desired Settlement: I would like these infractions repaired- I would like heat in my bedrooms. I would like notice if the water will be off, and I would like it to not be a regular occurance

Business Response: Dear BBB,

Thank you for this opportunity to respond to this complaint.  Although the resident has lived with our company for about 6 years, I have never had the privilege to meet her or talk with her before.  After reading my resident's complaint I checked our logs and discussed the issues raised in the letter with our staff.  Unfortunately, our records do not fully reflect issues that the resident has listed, and we have not had any correspondence with the resident, other than about the rent, in some time.  I have discussed this letter with the resident and agree that we could have communicated more with her over the past 6 years, and hopefully will be more open with her.  I am thankful that she has chosen to stay with our company for 6 years.  However, we can understand that we do have a dissatisfied customer and in an effort to promote good we have agreed to a rent credit towards her monthly rent.  We also will ensure that if we ever do need to turn the water off in the building for any repairs that we notify the resident before we begin, and we will not begin until after 10:00 a.m., instead of 9:00 .am. unless in case of emergency.  I have also instructed our staff to pay careful consideration towards this tenant to make sure she understands that she is valued and appreciated. 

Thank you,

***

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am lodging a complaint about the lack of maintance compliance. The apartment *** **  owned by Lobos Mangement. On 9/1/2013 I rented an apartment,the apartment *** was not the apartment shown. On inspection of the apartment I immediately notified in person the problems which needed immediate attention. 1)The place was dirty,my feet stuck to the floors,the fans had greasey dirt on the blades globes that it took many washing to get them clean. 2)The door into the apartment had been busted into and pieces screwed back on the door. 3) Only one faucet in the bathroom sink works. 4)The toilet had black slim growing in the tank and bowl. 5) When the shower is turned on rusty water comes out. 6)There is a huge hump in the middle of the living room floor under the flooring. 7) The patio door lock is broken 8)The window in the bedroom is broken, and looks like the outside or inside has ever been cleaned As of today nothing has been done to address these issues. I have sent certified letters to the management to no avail. This apartment was rented for my son by me. Thank you for your attention in this matter.

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response: Dear BBB,

Thank you for this opportunity to respond to this complaint.  Ms. ******* rented an apartment for her son in September, and we have been speaking primarily with her regarding the apartment.  According to Ms. ******* and our staff, Ms. ******* lives in another building in a nearby town. 

On December 22, Ms. ******* wrote a letter to our office and stated that she would have to break her lease for her son's apartment due to health issues.  Ms. ******* indicated that she would be moving from our apartment on February 28, 2014, and implied that we can begin showing the apartment to prospective tenants with notice. 

On January 7, Ms. ******* wrote a letter to our office regarding her apartment.  When we contacted her that day regarding the letter, she asked if she could break her lease.  She explained to us that her son had lost his job and that she could not afford to pay rent in her apartment and his.  We offered to have her pay a buyout of the lease.  She also stated that she may try to sublet the apartment.  We had not heard back from her regarding the matter since.

Since that conversation, we received this complaint from the Better Business Bureau.  On Saturday, our office visited the apartment and spoke with Ms. *******'s son to see if everything in the apartment was ok.   We photographed the issues he stated that needed repair.  He showed us that his faucet knob had broken off his bathroom vanity and his floor had a humping area where the new hardwood had slightly bowed and the glue had possibly been defective.  On Sunday our office replaced the faucet and the hardwood installer that warrantied the floor replaced the section that had bowed on Monday and Tuesday.  Ms.********* son said that there was nothing else for our office to do, though his window did have a failed seal but he didn't seem to feel that we had to replace it and he said that his bathroom fan could be noisy at times.   Regardless, we intend to replace the fan and the window glass. 

Earlier today I called Ms. ******* and confirmed that the work was complete.  She seemed very nice.  I apologized for any delayed response, and let her know to please contact me directly if she needs anything at all.  I am available for her at all times.

Sincerely,

***

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented an apartment from this company with the assumption that when I moved in, everything would have been in good and working condition. Some of my initial concerns have been rectified. Problems I still have are the dishwasher in the kitchen does not work, the electrical outlets on that same wall do not work, and the window in the bedroom is broken with large shards of glass lying between the panes. The window also does not shut and latch leaving the apartment open for burglary. I have made multiple calls into the management company and I am constantly reassured somebody will be by to fix these problems. Week after week, call after call, nobody is doing anything to fix these problems. Now I am filing a complaint with BBB, next step will be hiring an attorney.

Desired Settlement: I just want the problems fixed, now.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

Thank you for allowing me to respond to this complaint.  Though I am not the manager of Mr. *******s building, I did speak with him recently concerning the issues he has had with his apartment.  The service and responses that Mr. ****** received were unacceptable.  He seems quite reasonable and I am happy that he has chosen to live with us.   His complaints were simple and not very difficult and our office did not perform them in a reasonable amount of time.  Our office has taken steps since Mr. ******** complaint to prevent these failures from happening again. 

***

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over the past 6 days, there has been water dripping from my ceilings due to flooding as well as no hot water in the apartment for over 2 days. Maintenance has done nothing to remedy the problem, nor has the leasing office answered the phone or returned my calls

Desired Settlement: I would like repairs to be made immediately, and I would like to either withhold a portion of my monthly rent due to days of uninhabitable conditions, or have the opportunity to terminate my lease early and have the security deposit returned within thirty days following lease termination.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

Thank you for this opportunity to respond to this complaint.  Although I am not the direct manager of ********** apartment building, I am aware of the events which are described in the complaint and the resolutions.  On or about December 16, 2013 ******** contacted us after business hours regarding a leak coming in from the apartment above her's.  The tenant above her had a leak in the apartment, and the water had seeped through the concrete floor.  The answering service had reported it as an intermittent drip, and we did not enter the apartment that night.  The following day we visited her apartment and the apartment above and resolved the problem.  We discussed the matter with ******** the morning of December 17.   

A few days later, sometime on December 20, in an unrelated situation the automatic ignition for the hot water supply for the building failed and we contacted a plumber to repair the system.  The plumber had stated that the problem was fixed that day.  It failed again the next day, and we learned that it required more extensive work.  We had the plumber manually ignite the tank for that day.  The next day we found a commercial supply company that allowed us to purchase the parts on a Sunday for an entrance fee, and the problem was resolved that morning.  I apologize for the delay, but our office had great difficulty in obtaining parts locally, and we did everything we could.  Our managers personally supervised the hot water repairs on Saturday and Sunday to ensure completion.  I never heard from ******** during this incident.    

******** contacted us again today, via mail, that solely due to the problems she has been having with her apartment she would like to be released from her lease within 30 days, without penalty.  She stated that the apartment was not safe, and though she had lived in the apartment for nearly 3 years, she would have to move and break her lease.  After briefly reviewing the letter with our staff, we discovered that about 30 days before ******** complained of the leak into her apartment and written this letter to the Better Business Bureau, she had signed a sales agreement for the purchase of a house in the area.  We also learned that the house sale had closed a few days ago, and ******** had taken ownership on December 20.     

Despite the above, we would like to come to an agreement with ********.  We understand that it can be difficult to pay rent for an apartment and a mortgage.  Our staff tried to contact ******** this morning to see what we can work out with her to make the situation better for her, and we are waiting for her to respond to our call.  I am confident that we can come to an agreement.

Sincerely,

***

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lobos Management got my son to give them $1600 dollars, ostensibly to cover the cost of the first month's rent, the security deposit, and the background check for an apartment he was interested in renting. They had him sign an agreement that, if he did not take the apartment, Lobos Management would keep the money my son gave them. My son told them repeatedly that he was on a time schedule because he had give notice at his current place of residence.Lobos Management dragged their feet until the last minute, and when my son finally got a lease to sign, the terms were nothing like what was originally discussed. The utilities were not included as had been discussed (in fact, they were going to charge him double for water/sewer because it was a "two bedroom" apartment, which it was not), and the term of the lease had been reduced from one year to six months.When my son informed them that he could no longer take the apartment because he didn't have the requisite 30 days notice period at his current building, they told him he had rejected the contract and that they were going to keep all the money he gave them per the rental application.Lobos management are just bait and switch artists, with the added kicker that, if you reject the switch, they keep your money anyway by hiding behind their rental application. They are simply slum lords who prey on those that are renting for the first time and don't know what to look for.

Desired Settlement: The return of $1400, which would allow Lobos Manageement to cover the costs incurred for the background check ($70) and something for their time and trouble ($130).

Consumer Response: My wife and I had to complete applications as guarantors, I've attempted to attach that application, but I haven't successful.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

I have contacted Mr. ****** twice to discuss this matter, yet he has not returned my call after our initial conversation.  It has been at least 2 weeks since our initial conversation, and a few days since my last call.  Mr. ****** is not entitled to any recovery, though our office has reached out to him to return his payment.

Thank you,

***

Consumer Response:

I have returned Mr. ******* call, but he was not available and he has not gotten back to me as yet.  I will e-mail him today.

Regards,

******* ******

 

Business Response:

Thank you for this opportunity to respond to this complaint again.  Though I cannot comment too much regarding the situation, I feel that we have resolved the complaint.  Mr. ****** has allowed me to attach the following statement to my response:
 
“This disagreement, and any comments made by myself, were due to a misunderstanding between parties, and that I would retract these statements if possible. I would also include that I never actually viewed the apartment, nor was I involved in any negotiations."
 
 
Thank you, 

***  

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I agree with the statement posted by the business, and we have reached a satisfactory arrangement in terms of the refund of the funds in question.  This disagreement, and any comments made by myself, were due to a misunderstanding between the parties, and that I would retract these statements if possible.  I would also include that I never actually viewed the apartment, nor was I involved in any negotiations.

 

Regards,

 

 

****** ******

 

 

 

 

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My power has been cut off by lobos management on 9/19/13 and they refuse to fix/turn it back on. The power company has been contacted and no problem on their end has been found. Lobos accessed my checking account without my approval through pay lease a website which I used to use to pay my rent. This account has been closed for some time but they used it to take $1352. My repeated calls for service have been ignored for months. Previous to power being cut off, Ceiling leaks, kitchen sink/disposal not operating, kitchen light out, one burner on stove not working, cracked shower, slow leak under the carpet with has resulted in mold and carpet damage. This company are out and out criminals.

Desired Settlement: $1352 plus over draft fees $111

Business Response: Dear BBB, 


Thank you for allowing me to respond to this complaint.  Although I do not know ***** personally, I am familiar with the apartment building and have been in this apartment in the past.  Before writing this response I contacted******* roommate to discuss the matter, as our office had been in contact with her recently.  I could not reach *****.  According to the roommate, the electricity is currently off to the apartment because the tenant's bill to ******** ***** (the utility provider) is delinquent.  The automatic withdrawal that ***** mentions in his email is the roommate's deliberate and intentional payment of rent, through our payment portal, in response to a Landlord Tenant lawsuit we filed for nonpayment of rent.  She assured me that the account is not closed.  I have no other records for any of the other statements that ***** made in his complaint.     All maintenance requests that ***** requested have all been reported as completed, and we have not heard from them regarding any since June.  If any are not completed, or have become chronic, I am more than willing to address any concerns.  Should ***** like to discuss any issues he has, he may contact me at any time by email, at ***********************.


Sincerely, 

***


9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Won't get rid of the raccoons that get into the attic above the apartment. Sometimes they will trap them, but they won't fix the problem that allows them to get back into the building. Then today, two raccoons fell through the light in the kitchen. I've reported that one. We'll see. Also, I've twice asked them to fix the heating and air conditioning that has never worked in the bedroom. The vents aren't working in the central air. I was told that other apartments are like that, and they won't do anything about it. Last fall, the air conditioner quit completely. I asked several times, still aren't able to fix it. The sink leaks. I asked twice, nothing fixed. The refrigerator door won't seal, letting heat and moisture inside. I've asked to fix it twice, won't fix.The refrigerator is beginning to rust away. Ask about it once. No reply.

Desired Settlement: Fix the problems.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ****,

Thank you for alerting me to these problems.  Unfortunately, this is the first we have heard from you for most of these problems, other than you call about the air conditioning.  We did hear from you in January 2012 regarding the raccoons, and our exterminator and you agreed that the situation was resolved.  I am sorry that these other unreported problems have not been taken care of, and I will be sure that we will begin to complete any problems you have immediately.   I would like to have our property manager meet with you today to just go over what seems to be the best course of action to you. 

Please contact me via email at*********************** or contact your manager******** ** ****************************, or call me at ###-###-####.

Thank you,

***

7/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My name is ****** ****** and I lived in the ******* **** apartments operated by Lobos Management for 3 years. I recently moved out at the end of may 2013. I have always been a good tenant and have never caused any problems. On the day I moved out of my apartment I had the worst experience of my life and received the worst customer service I have ever encountered. I lived on the fourth floor of an apartment building. That day I had the windows open in my living room and my front door open. A large gust of wind came through the window and blew my door shut. The plunger of the door knob broke and I was physically trapped inside of my apartment unable to open the door. My phone was in my car in the parking lot and I had no way to get help. I was trapped for about 2 hours. Finally I was able to yell out of 4th story window for help and had another resident call my girlfriend.My girlfriend immediately rushed to the apartment and tried to open the door from the outside but was not able to. The next thing she did was call the emergency phone number for my apartment complex to get help. They refused to send help or acknowledge that it was an emergency situation and were extremely rude!! The property manager ******* was unwilling to do anything for me so there was no choice but to call the police. The police came and tried to open the door but had no luck. The next thing I did was to take the hinge pins out off of the door to simple push the door open. This did not work either as ******* **** painted the door hinges shut. The last resort left the police to kick the door down to get me out. The door was damaged by the police kicking it open and now Lobos is charging me $600 to replace the door. I am refusing to pay this amount because the property management refused to act in an emergency situation and because they painted the door hinges shut I was unable to simply push the door of its hinges.

Desired Settlement: I will not pay the $600 to replace the cost of the door. They kept my security deposit for this amount and are telling me that I need to pay an additional $156. I want lobos to refund me my security deposit for the amount of the door that they were going to kepp.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,
 
Thank you for allowing me to respond to this complaint.  I am ********* supervisor.  She is the property manager for ******* ****.  In preparing this response I contacted the **** ******** Police Department and our answering service.  Both provided me with reports from that evening.  I also interviewed the building receptionist and *******.  I have not had the opportunity to speak with Mr. ******, though I would be willing to speak or meet with him at anytime. 
 
Our office is closed at night, but we have a 24 hour emergency answering service that we contract with to take our telephone calls and contact our staff when necessary.  They typically contact us for emergencies, and will also take nonemergency service calls and will fax us a report of any items the next morning.  They are generally reliable, and consistent.  It is not voicemail, you speak with a human.  Software time stamps all incoming calls and calls to our staff.  Our maintenance staff typically lives close to our buildings or onsite. 
 
According to the reports, Mr. ******'s girlfriend contacted our office (sole phone call) at 10:26 p.m. on May 12, 2013.  Mr. ******'s girlfriend stated to the operator that the wind had shut the apartment door, her boyfriend was locked in the apartment, and that she was contacting the fire department if she was not called back.  Our answering service told the girlfriend that they were calling our staff, and started calling our employees to respond.  At 10:32 p.m. Mr. ******'s girlfriend contacted 911, and requested the police to send someone to the apartment.  At 10:49 p.m. the police arrived.  According to the police report, Mr. ****** stated to the officer at the scene that he had tried calling our office several times and that we had not been helpful.  The report states that Mr. ****** asked that the door "be opened by any means", and gave specific permission for the police officer to kick the door in.  According to the report, Mr. ****** had already removed the door hinge, and the police kicked the door in.  The door was damaged beyond repair.  After the maintenance man did not respond to an initial phone call, at 10:53 our manager called Mr. ******'s girlfriend to let her know we could respond later tonight or he could contact a locksmith if they needed to get immediate help. 
 
Our position has been that asking the police to kick your door in was unnecessary, and that we were not given a reasonable opportunity to respond given that this was a non life threatening situation.  I can completely understand the frustration in being stuck in an apartment for 2 hours, and how difficult it must have been to reach someone to help.  But we cannot respond as quickly as the local police department, and I feel that given the time and nature of the call we responded reasonably.  Our office had little contact with Mr. ****** that night, and our office was very consistent in how we felt the cost of the door replacement should be handled the next day.  The police man should also have let him know that we typically respond to service calls at night, as we have operated in his area for years.  
 
In light of the Mr. ****** feels differently than we do, I am willing to refund $400 of the cost of the replacement door to him.  I would like to sign a release with him to end this matter.  Please let me know if he finds this agreeable. 

Ron Sobol   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

July 14, 2013

While I do appreciate Mr. ******* response in this matter I am not satisfied with his resolution in the least amount. First, there are several inaccuracies in his description of the events that occurred stated in his email.

The first being that the incident happened at 8am in the morning not at 1026pm as he stated in his response. I understand this it takes time for the service repair to come, but this was an emergency. As Mr. ***** stated in his email service calls are normally done at night. Is the expectation that I be trapped in my apartment for 12 hours before I can get help? While Mr. ***** does not believe that was an emergency situation I can guarantee you it was.

 I was in the process of moving out of my apartment so I did not have any food in my apartment, 12 hours is a long time to go without having any food. If there was a fire in the building my only option was to jump out of a four story window. Let me give you another example;  What happens if I was a diabetic and my insulin was in my car and I was trapped in my apartment and could not get it? This situation is obviously not one that any human being would hope to find themselves in. Mr. *****, would being trapped for 12 hours appeal to you?

The other issue I have is that no one from Lobos or ******* **** even attempted to contact me that day or the following two days to see if I was okay.  I am not asking for much and I want to get past this matter as soon as possible.  All I am asking is for you to look at this matter from an ethical standpoint. Asking me to be financially responsible for the full or partial cost of the door, when this situation caused as much distress as it did is inconsiderate and unethical.

Over the past three years living at ******* and paying them thousands of dollars of rent money, I don’t believe $200 is something that I should have to pay for, given the circumstance regarding this incident. I hold myself to a high set of moral ethics when it comes to conducting business and I hope Lobos Management will do the same. At this point it is the principle of the matter and I am not willing to be responsible for any financial amount that occurred on that day. I will consider this matter closed in full and be completely satisfied with the outcome when the full $600 charge is deducted from my account and the $420 is credited back to me from my security deposit.

 

Thank you,

 

****** ******

 

 

 

 

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Water is pouring out of my bathtub. I called the Lobos Management emergency line and told them about the issue at 10 at night. NO ONE RESPONDED! I called back at 10:45 where i told them again what was going on as if i had never called 45 min. before, and they said they would let maintenance know. However no one has come or called. I pay water and it is the hot water. Its still leaking! This has been a constant problem with this management company. You request something and they never respond until weeks later! This same issues happened a few months ago. Their maintenance men have no idea what they are doing. It ridiculous. Please Help.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to fix the tub and pay a portion of my water bill due to all of the hot water running for who knows how long until they fix it.

Business Response:

Thank you for this opportunity to respond to this complaint.   

Our company owns the ********* ******* townhouse community where Ms. ******** stated she lives.  Although she is not our tenant, I would still like to respond to her call.  My name is *** *****, and I am the property manager's supervisor.   

********* ******* is a 86 unit townhouse community that our company renovated last year.  Before the lease for **** ********* ***** was occupied, we installed new designer interior and exterior lighting, hardwood floors, new carpeting and kitchen and bathroom flooring.  On the exterior, we installed colonial trim, new roofing, windows and doors.  The apartments are in excellent condition, and are available for lease.  All of the apartments have washer and dryer hookups (washers and dryers are available) and the 3 bedroom units come with an integral garage, basement and a deck.  Our office is located in the row of townhouses of **** *********, and we are open 6 days a week.  Our maintenance staff is on a rotating schedule so that staff is on duty 7 days a week, and typically live in the area.  During the evening, and whenever the office is closed, we have an answering service which is supposed to forward any emergency calls to our staff.  After reviewing the complaint, and speaking to our answering service, it is apparent that our answering service did not fully understand the amount of water Ms. ******** had running into her bathtub.  When our office opened the next day, our staff repaired the tub valve and showed how a tenant can turn off their water at the water meter located in the townhouse's laundry room adjacent to her kitchen.  Typically we show our tenants this valve when they move into the townhouse, but I am not sure if Ms. ******** attended the walkthrough as virtually everything was new in the apartment when she moved in.   

  

I apologize that our answering service did not properly relay the call to us.  I am not sure how much water was wasted, but I believe $20 would compensate Ms. ******** for the excess water lost due to the leaking tub.  Please let me know if this would be agreeable to her.   

  

Sincerely,

***

2/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service