BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Clayton Kendall, Inc?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Advertising Specialties, Embroidery

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Clayton Kendall, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Clayton Kendall, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 12, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1999
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dan Broudy, President Mrs. Regina Broudy, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Broudy, President
Principal: Mrs. Regina Broudy, CEO
Business Category

ADVERTISING SPECIALTIES EMBROIDERY

Alternate Business Names
All Safety Gear Rush Imprint rushIMPRINT

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 95 of 160 custom-printed hackey sacks were damaged as a result of one or both of the following: (1) defective printing by the merchant or (2) improper packaging and delivery (items were placed in a cardboard box with no plastic or other covering inside or outside, delivered to the billing address rather than the shipping address, and left outside in a heavy rain). The merchant has not been fully responsive or cooperative, but indications thus far evince a refusal to accept responsibility for any of these defects.

Desired Settlement: $146.25 has been improperly charged as a result of the defects.

Business Response: Clayton Kendall received a letter from the Better Business Bureau regarding a complaint filed by a customer – ***** ******* – who is seeking a settlement of $146.25 due to his claim that the product had defective printing and was damaged due to rain - ID #*******.  

For every order, we send a sales quote which the customer must approve before we proceed with the order.  See the attached quote which includes the “ship to” address that Mr. ******* provided. 

A Clayton Kendall Customer Service Representative tried to reach out to Mr. ******* the week of March 10th to explain our return policy.  Mr. ******* was belligerent, argumentative, unreasonable, used profanity, and hung up on the customer service representative.

During the call, the representative tried to explain to Mr. ******* that we simply needed a picture of the damaged product, and that we would reprint the damaged product at no charge after we verified the damage.  However, the conversation ended abruptly when Mr. ******* hung up on the customer service representative.

Per our return policy, we will be happy to reprint the damaged goods if we receive a picture showing the defects on the product along with the water damage.

Return Policy

We guarantee the quality and workmanship of our products for 30 days from the day you receive your order. If you have a quality concern, please contact Customer Service at 1-866-277-RUSH1-866-277-RUSH (7874) or e-mail: info@rushimprint.com.  No returns will be accepted without a return authorization number (RA#). Defective products or apparel will be replaced promptly. We will not accept returns on merchandise that is delivered as ordered and is free from defects.

Additionally, you will see from the sales order that we gave Mr. ******* a 10% discount when he initially placed the order.  The original cost was $1.39 each, and with the 10% discount, the final cost per item was $1.25 each.   The set-up charge and shipping are one-time fees that are not included in the individual cost of the product.  It’s important to note that Mr. ******* is requesting an amount higher than the actual discounted price of the product: $1.25 x 95 damaged equals $118.75.   

If Mr. ******* is willing to send us pictures, we will review them and promptly replace the product.   We will require that Mr. ******* also provide us with a shipping address where someone will be available to provide a signature verifying receipt of the product.  Please let me know if you need any additional information.


Regards,


*** ******

Vice President of Sales

Clayton Kendall, Inc.

167 Dexter Drive

Monroeville, PA 15146

###-###-####

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

REPLY FOLLOWS:

I have received and reviewed the message from *** ******—Vice President of Sales for Clayton Kendall, Inc. (also known as rushIMPRINT)—in response to Complaint ID *******. Please accept this as my reply.

Mr. ******’s response missed the mark, both on the relevant facts and on the points of law, and I would like to take this opportunity to correct those errors.

Facts:

First and foremost, while not terribly relevant to the commercial dispute, Mr. ******’s allegations about a communication with one of his managers—including my conduct—are not only untrue but constitute slander and libel. I look forward to pursuing those charges separately against Clayton Kendall, Inc. (also known as rushIMPRINT) and him individually.

Turning to the commercial dispute, contrary to Mr. ******’s response, no sales quote was approved by me before (or even after) Clayton Kendall, Inc. (also known as rushIMPRINT) proceeded with this order. On March 5, 2014, I spoke by telephone with ***** ****** about this time-sensitive one-day order that I was having difficulty placing through their website. She asked me to e-mail her all of the details, which I did—including the shipping address in Kansas City, Missouri—by e-mail that day. See EXHIBIT A. On March 6, 2014, I reviewed and approved the artwork by e-mail with ******* ********. Ms. ****** then called to obtain credit-card information for the order. At the end of that call, I asked if I could obtain a receipt that reflected the total amount charged—which she had not yet disclosed—and she agreed to do so and e-mailed a sales order later in the day. See EXHIBIT A. Since this was provided at my request and solely for my recordkeeping purposes, I did not review the file until this dispute arose. So, to be clear, at no time did I ever approve a sales order. The transaction was completed before I even requested it.

Selected evidence of defective printing (including type printed over the black part of a hackey sack, type not fully printed on a hackey sack, and printing done in the wrong color) as well as damage from improper packaging and delivery (including smudged printing on a hackey sack and the water-damaged box with no interior plastic covering) are included as EXHIBITS B, C, D, E, and F.

Law:

As described earlier, this time-sensitive one-day order was not fulfilled as contracted, and under Missouri R.S.A. Sec. 400.2-602, the non-conforming goods were rightfully rejected. A timely remedy was not forthcoming despite my written request, see EXHIBIT A, and I have reserved all of my claims, rights, and remedies—including those under Part 7 of Article 2 of the Missouri Uniform Commercial Code and under Missouri R.S.A. 407.010 et seq.

Mr. ****** appears to have mistaken my suggestion that Clayton Kendall, Inc. (also known as rushIMPRINT) refund $146.25—which includes a pro-rata amount of fees—as a calculation of the damages to which I am entitled. This was quite simply a good-faith gesture on my part to settle the matter and avoid a protracted dispute-resolution process, which I gather is not acceptable to Mr. ****** or Clayton Kendall, Inc. (also known as rushIMPRINT). I, of course, reserve all of my claims, rights, and remedies, including claims for actual, consequential, incidental, and punitive damages.

My thanks again for the opportunity to reply to Mr. ******’s messaage. If you have any questions, please feel welcome to contact me.

Regards,***** *******

 

 

Business Response:

I had tried to log into the website, and the system will not accept the email address to allow me to log on.

 
We have credited Mr. ******* the amount of $118.95 today (April 25, 2014) based on the original response I submitted.
 
Please let me know if you need anything else.  If you can provide me with guidance as to how I can enter the system, I'll be happy to enter this into the system.
 
Thanks,
****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response from Clayton Kendall, Inc. (also known as RushImprint) conveyed a decision to apply only a partial credit without responding at all to any of the points in my reply.  That not only is dismissive in approach but also is an unsatisfactory resolution.

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a pair of boots online (order #****) from this company on 2-15-14 and the payment of $238.94 was taken out of my bank account. I received an email notice on 2-19-14 from **** ******* ***********************.com) that the item I had ordered was not available. I responded back to the email twice and place several calls to the company to request refund of the money that was taken from my account for this purchase. I have been unable to speak to a person, just getting a machine to leave a message with the order number and a call back number. Today is the 21st and I have yet to get a response from this company in regards to this. I just want the funds credited back to my account so that I can make the purchase elsewhere.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $238.94 that was taken from my account to pay for product that I have not and will not be receiving.

Business Response:

This is in reference to the letter received regarding the case number *******. When the customer places their order online, there information is sent directly to their credit card company. The card company charges the order almost immediately.
 
We informed the customer that the item was on backorder on February 19th. We refunded her account as requested on February 21st at 11:21AM.
 
The situation is resolved just as the customer requested. Please let me know if there is any further action that must be taken. Thank you.
 
All the best,
 
**** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a pair of work boots from all safety gear on Friday January 31th 2014. The following morning, February 1 2014, I attempted to cancel my order. I called all safety gear and was brought to an automated directory that informed me that the business was closed until monday. I left a message with leaving my name, order number, and phone number, and explained that I was attempting to cancel my order before it shipped. On Monday, February 3 2014, I called all safety gear again during the companies normal business hours and was once again directed to voice mail. I left another message. I attempted to call all safety gear at regular intervals throughout the day only to be redirected to voicemail. On the following day, Tuesday February 4th 2014, I attempted to call all safety gear again only to be redirected to voicemail. I did not leave a message this time. The following morning, I found that I had received an email dated 2/4/2014 at 10 am. It was to inform me that the order had already shipped and that was that. I did not request to be contacted by email. I requested to be contacted by phone. I responded to the email and requested to be contacted by phone so that I may discuss the a return process. I never received a return call and it is now 2/6/2014. I feel that the company is deliberately ignoring communication with me so that they may collect on a 20% restocking fee. I find it completely unacceptable for a company to operate in such a manner.

Desired Settlement: I request a full refund and do not wish to pay any restocking fee, nor any other hidden fees. I request the full $234.89 plus the cost of shipping.

Business Response:
I am writing to you in regards to order *******. Customer placed an order on our website on Friday, January 31st for a pair of boots. Customer tried to call us the next day, Saturday, to cancel the order when our office was closed. Our office hours are clear on our website. By the time the customer reached us, the order was ready to ship. His order, a pair of boots, were being drop shipped from the manufacturer, and they informed me that they would be unable to stop the shipment. I personally informed the customer of the situation and instructed him that he could refuse the shipment, and the package would be returned to the manufacturer. The customer never responded to my email about refusing the package, and instead filed a complaint. I was able to work with FedEx today, Monday February 17th, to have the package sent back to the manufacturer. The refund was also issued today at 11:16AM.

 
The situation has been resolved. Is there a way we can get the complaint removed from our BBB page being that we actively tried to work with the customer, and that the situation was no fault of our own? Thank you, and I look forward to your response.
 
- **** ********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered item #******** (the round mirrors) from RushImprint, and selected the same color shown in the website's photo. The product I received looked significantly different than the picture, and looks like a cheaper version offered on the site. RushImprint's suggestion to resolve the issue was to give me a 20% discount. I told RushImprint I would take what they were willing to give me, but that I cannot use the inferior product I have paid $160 for.The response I received on 6/25/2013 was this: "This email serves as confirmation that I have submitted your discount to our Refunds department. Please allow a few business days for the funds to return to your card.I apologize again for your dissatisfaction with our products, and I will make sure that we post a more accurate stock photo of this particular item."While I appreciate the discount, RushImprint represented its product and charged the customer for its company error. Had I been provided an accurate photo of the product, the mirrors would have never been purchased.Furthermore, the website still shows the incorrect photo. RushImprint is purposefully misrepresenting its product.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the misrepresented product.

Business Response:

In reference to ID *******, the customer ordered one of the least expensive products on our website. They had the opportunity to have a sample sent to them free of charge. It is stated very clearly on our website that they can order a free sample. The customer choose not to do so.

There was absolutely nothing wrong with the product. It is manufactured by one of the largest manufacturers in our industry, and is one of our best sellers. We even offered a 20% discount to try to help, but the customer refused it.

Consumer Response:

Mr. ****** is correct; I ordered one of the least expensive products on the company's site. Does this mean it's okay for the company to purposefully misrepresent its product? (Also, to be clear, along with my $162 order for the misrepresented mirrors, I also spent an additional $212 for pens. Again, I'm not sure why the price of the mirror is relevant. My complaint has nothing to do with the quality.)


Mr. ****** is wrong when he says the mirror I ordered is one of their bestselling products. On the company's website--the product I ordered (the The Round Mirror) is not the bestselling product. The Glimmer Round Mirror is the bestselling product. I paid for the Round Mirror. The product I received looks like the Glimmer Round Mirror. If I wanted the Glimmer Round Mirror, I would have paid the cheaper price for it. (Of course.)


The problem with my product is the picture on the company's website does not look like the product I received. I ordered the picture--the same color mirror, the same color writing. What I received does not look like the picture. 


The product I received does, however, look like the cheaper Glimmer Round Mirror. 


The problem with my product is the picture on the company's website is not even available for purchase. It doesn't exist. How can a company sell a product it doesn't have? That's what www.RushImprint.com has done.


(When I contacted the company, I was told the picture would be corrected. To date, it has not been.)


Regards,

******* ****

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business resolved the complaint issues, but not within BBB's timeframe. The complainant acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

4/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service