BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
28 counties covering Western Pennsylvania

This Business is not BBB accredited

Payday Loans of America

Phone: (484) 485-9939 1236 Pacific Ave , Pittsburgh , PA 15213 ! There is an alert on Payday Loans of America !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Payday Loans of America include:

  • BBB concerns with the industry in which this business operates
  • BBB does not have sufficient information to determine how long this business has been operating
  • 8 complaints filed against business
  • 8 serious complaints filed against business
  • BBB does not have sufficient background information on this business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Additional Complaint Information

As of January 29, 2013, the BBB has received complaints that the company is offering loans for an advance fee. Consumers allege that they have responded to solicitations for loans.  After paying several hundred dollars, consumers allege that they never received the loan promised by the company.  Consumers also allege that company requires yet another fee each time the consumer asks why they have not received their loan.

These scams target individuals who are having trouble obtaining cash or credit. Customers are lured by advertisements promising "guaranteed" loans - regardless of credit history - for advance fees running between $50 and several hundred dollars. However, you must pay an advance fee before obtaining the "loan".

These so-called loan brokers don't lend money directly; they may claim to act as money finders and ask for an advance fee in order to prepare a loan application and present it to prospective lenders. But these firms cannot guarantee loans, despite their promises of unlimited funding sources. In many cases, brokers fraudulently pocket advance fees, make no effort to find the funds promised, and the customer loses money. 

We suggest that if you have a problem, please file a complaint online at www.bbb.org and www.ic3.gov .

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 30, 2013
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Banking and Securities
17 N Second Street, Suite 1300, Harrisburg PA 17101
http://www.banking.state.pa.us
Phone Number: 800-722-2657
Fax Number: 717-787-8773

Business Category

ADVANCE FEE BROKERS

Additional Information

On January 29, 2013, the BBB received complaints from consumers that the company is offering loans for an advance fee. Consumers allege that they have lost money to this company.  As of January 30, 2013 the company is not registered with the Pennsylvania Department of State nor registered with the Pennsylvania Department of Banking to do business in Pennsylvania. The Pacific Avenue address the company uses is not a valid registered address with the United States Postal Service (USPS) nor with the Allegheny County Assessment Office and the BBB believes it is a fictitious address. 

Industry Tips
Loans (Advanced Fee) Payday Loans (online and in person)

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1236 Pacific Ave

    Pittsburgh , PA 15213 (484) 485-9939

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

On January 29, 2013, the BBB received complaints from consumers that the company is offering loans for an advance fee. Consumers allege that they have lost money to this company. As of January 30, 2013 the company is not registered with the Department of State nor registered with the Pennsylvania Department of Banking to do business in Pennsylvania. The Pacific Avenue address listed on company’s website is not a valid registered address with the United States Postal Service (USPS)

Mail sent to the business on 02/27/2013 was returned by the U.S. Postal Service as No Such Street.


Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $350.00 to this company as a down payment on a signature loan. They then said "only after I gave them the $350.00" that I needed to pay $450.00 more to receive said $3000.00 loan. I said no and I want my $350.00 back. They said that it would take two weeks and cost $199.00 to refund. I said no I gave it to them they can direct deposit it back to me and then I was mocked and hung up on and can not make contact with the company they will not answer my calls. Other people have also had money "STOLEN" by this company the same way. I simply want my money back and want it now!

Desired Settlement: $350.00 US Dollars

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

5/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a phone call from a loan agent who stated that his name was ******** ******, phone # ###-###-####. He stated that I was approved for a loan, and in order to finalize the loan I needed to put up 235 dollars as a security deposit in which I sent to him via green dot money pak card. He then calls me back stating that I needed to add another 285 dollars security deposit in order to complete the loan in which I again agreed to do so via green dot money pak card. He informed me that the loan would be deposited to my account within the next hour, which never came. I then spoke to a person claiming to be his manager named ******* ****** phone # ###-###-####, I told him that I spoke to ******** ****** and had sent the security deposit to him, in turn he (******) then calls me STUPID for doing so because he felt that ******** ****** has stolen my security deposit for the loan, I asked him (******) how we can find ******** ******, instead of trying to help me find *** ****** he continues to ask me for 150 dollars to complete the loan, when I told him that all of my fundings has been exhausted, he then tells me that Im not cooperating with him and not to call him anymore. Assumably, the conversation I had with *** ****** were recorded for quality purposes. now Im out of 500 something dollars and no loan plus a depressing feeling because I was just scammed for my hard earned money. Please help me.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded my money as soon as possible, plus compensation for whatever hardship I would have to endure because I am now 525 dollars in the hole. I also would like to have these people prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law for what they did to me and what they might have done to other people.

BBB Response:

  BBB of Western Pennsylvania
400 Holiday Drive, Suite 220
Pittsburgh, PA 15220
Phone: (412)456-2700 | Fax: (412)922-8656
info@pittsburgh.bbb.org

 

05/21/2013

****** ******
**** ******** **.
Aberdeen, NJ 07735

 

Dear ****** ****** :

This message is in regard to your complaint submitted on 5/20/2013 5:37:39 PM, and assigned ID *******. 

Unfortunately, we aren't able to pursue this complaint because the business is either unreachable or appears to be out of business.  Know that the information you provided us has assisted us in the information that we give to the public about this business.  

 

If you wish to further pursue this issue, you might contact a legal advisor, the Attorney General's office or your local police department.  Thank you for your interest in an ethical marketplace, and if you have any questions about this issue, please do not hesitate to contact us.   

Regards, 

***** ****** *******
The Better Business Bureau 

As of January 29, 2013, the BBB has received complaints that the company is offering loans for an advance fee. Consumers allege that they have responded to solicitations for loans.  After paying several hundred dollars, consumers allege that they never received the loan promised by the company.  Consumers also allege that company requires yet another fee each time the consumer asks why they have not received their loan.

These scams target individuals who are having trouble obtaining cash or credit. Customers are lured by advertisements promising "guaranteed" loans - regardless of credit history - for advance fees running between $50 and several hundred dollars. However, you must pay an advance fee before obtaining the "loan".

These so-called loan brokers don't lend money directly; they may claim to act as money finders and ask for an advance fee in order to prepare a loan application and present it to prospective lenders. But these firms cannot guarantee loans, despite their promises of unlimited funding sources. In many cases, brokers fraudulently pocket advance fees, make no effort to find the funds promised, and the customer loses money. 

We suggest that if you have a problem, please file a complaint online at www.bbb.org and www.ic3.gov .

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

4/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Loan was approved but not delivered as promised.

Desired Settlement: I was required to get a $235 'green dot money pak' in order to get this loan, after giving them the code on the back, was told not to use the 'green dot card' for any reason, my loan would be deposited within the hour, my loan was not deposited in my bank account that day, which was friday April the 6th, I waited for Monday, still nothing. Today is Tuesday April 9th, still no deposit, I have called, all I get is "Jimmy Walkers" voicemail, when I leave a message, no return call.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

3/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service