Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

McKissock LP

Phone: (814) 723-6979 Fax: (814) 723-7289 218 Liberty St, Warren, PA 16365 http://www.mckissock.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers continuing education to professionals.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that McKissock LP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for McKissock LP include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on McKissock LP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 22, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1990 in PA Business incorporated 04/01/2004 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Matt McKissock, C.E.O. Ms. Jackie Vincent, Regulatory Compliance Specialist
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt McKissock, C.E.O.
Customer Contact: Ms. Jackie Vincent, Regulatory Compliance Specialist
Business Category

ADULT & CONTINUING EDUCATION EDUCATIONAL CONSULTANTS


Additional Locations

  • 218 Liberty St

    Warren, PA 16365 (814) 723-6979

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/19/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $2500 for an online class through McKissock (not to mention a lot more on other classes over the last 10 years). No where when you sign up to it say the course material will be limited to a certain time period for my use when purchased. I purchased a full package containing 300 study hours in hopes of finishing it in a year to take a 12 hour Licensed IL appraisal exam. It took me longer than expected (a little over 2 years) and I am now signed up to take the final exam but I have no access to the study materials or past exams through McKissock. The said the expiration dates have passed and there is no way for me to access the information I paid for with out paying for it again? Had I paid for a book version of it, I would have had it forever. Unfortunately, my state does not provide much in terms of study materials for appraisers and I now only have access to about 40% of the testing material I paid for because those materials haven't expired quite yet. T

Desired Settlement: I'd prefer to have access to the information I paid for, at the very least they should tell patrons upfront that any courses they sign up/pay for will only be available for a limited amount of time. I was at first told I wouldn't have access to taking the tests again (which was fine) but then after the courses totally disappeared I have access to nothing -which I was not told till the information was gone.

Business Response:

January 22, 2016

Subject: Complaint ID #********

Dear Ms. ****:

I have thoroughly investigated this incident. The following paragraph is the details of what I discovered.

Mr. **** completed appraisal qualifying education with McKissock in 2013. Mr. **** scheduled time with the board to go sit for his state exam in order to upgrade his license. In order to prepare for the exam he was requesting access to the materials as a study guide.

Mr. **** called in on January 11th as he could not access his course material. Course information is archived after 2 years of completion. Overall, the call was not handled well by the representative. The representative is our newest; she provided information to the student that was not accurate. When she spoke with a supervisor she relayed the incorrect information when presenting the student situation. Review of the student account would have shown that 2 months before we had enrolled the student into three of his previous courses for review.

This was a situation that she had not encountered before and is not one that we get often. We do not / did not have a guideline in place for handling students who would like to go back and review courses that they had already completed like this. It was an unfamiliar situation that was handled without our typical empathy or compassion. A meeting was held to discuss how to handle these types of cases so this does not happen in the future.

Our regulatory department contacted Mr. **** on January 21st in order to assist him better. We were able to load all previously completed qualifying education courses to his account for review.

If you have any questions or require additional information please do not hesitate to contact me at **************************** or **************.

 

Sincerely,

Jackie V******

Senior Regulatory Compliance Specialist

McKissock

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: McKissock refuses to report the real estate continuing education credits I completed online to my licensing agency. They allege that because the license is in inactive status, they cannot report my continuing ed. There is nothing on their website that states if a license is inactive they will not report the credits. My course fees include reporting continuing ed completion to the licensing agency. I am trying to reactivate my real estate salesperson license. In Montana, I need 24 credits of continuing ed to reactivate. McKissock has put me in a catch 22 situation. They won't report if my license is inactive and I can't reactivate without their credit. In addition, I have another license with the Montana Board of Realty Regulation as property manager. The credits could be reported under this license as it is currently active and the MT Board of Realty Regulation stated they would then apply the credit to both licenses, but McKissock said they would need to charge me a fee to report to another license. They haven't reported to the first license so why should they charge me another fee to report to a second license?! Additionally, the information on their website about charging for an additional license only talks about an additional charge for another state. Indeed, the drop down menu after you complete a course allows you to select another state to report to for an additional fee, but no option for reporting to another license from the same state. So I assumed from that and from the lack of information to the contrary that reporting to an additional license from the same state would be free of charge. I've tried to resolve this by speaking with several customer service representatives from McKissock, including a customer service supervisor, but McKissock refuses to resolve the problem. I was told at one point that it would not post to my licensing agency because the license is inactive, making it sound like they tried but the system would not accept the information. However the ** ****, another online education company had no problem reporting their credits to my inactive license, which were completed a few days earlier. Since it was insinuated by McKissock reps that the problem was reporting directly to the licensing agency, I asked if they could instead send me the certificates with my license number on them. I was told they also couldn't do that for an inactive license!

Desired Settlement: MCKISSOCK TO REPORT MY CONTINUING EDUCATION TO MY LICENSING AGENCY REGARDLESS OF MY LICENSE BEING INACTIVE. They have no clear policy that states otherwise, so they should report the education. They haven't reported to EITHER of my licenses, they should be required to report to at least one. I paid them money for the courses, which includes reporting to a licensing agency on my behalf and they have not done so. MCKISSOCK TO CLEARLY COMMUNICATE, BOTH ONLINE AND ON THE PHONE, THE POLICY REGARDING REPORTING TO A SECOND LICENSE. If McKissock's policy is to charge a fee for reporting to ANY additional license, including one in the same state, they should clearly state this policy. This is currently not on the website and was not communicated to me by various representatives with whom I spoke. The first time I learned this was from my communication with the customer service supervisor. IF THEY REFUSE TO REPORT MY CE TO MY LICENSING AGENCY, THEN I WANT THE MONEY BACK THAT I PAID FOR THE COURSES.

Business Response:

January 22, 2016

Subject: Complaint ID #********

Dear Ms. ****:

I have thoroughly investigated this incident. The following paragraph is the details of what I discovered.

Ms. **** completed two courses with McKissock on January 2nd. McKissock attempted to submit Ms. ****’s completion on January 3rd; however received notification it would not be processed as her license had an inactive status. McKissock has never been able to submit courses for inactive licenses for the state of Montana.

Ms. **** called in on January 8th to confirm her rosters were submitted. She was notified we are unable to submit. Ms. **** requested her courses she be submitted under her property management license. Unfortunately, the representative she spoke with did not understand and was attempting to charge for the submission.

Once I received the letter, our regulatory department contacted the Montana Board of Realty to see what needed to happen in order to submit the completions and therefore put Ms. ****’s license back to active status. Through conversations with the board, McKissock uploaded her completions under her property management license on January 14th. The Board then transferred credit to her Broker license. Confirmation from the Board of Realty, sent to McKissock and Ms. ****, was received on January 15th that her courses were submitted to her inactive license.

If you have any questions or require additional information please do not hesitate to contact me at **************************** or ###-###-####.

Jackie V******

Senior Regulatory Compliance Specialist

McKissock

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I appreciate McKissock's efforts in resolving my complaint.

I sincerely hope that McKissock has educated its representatives about when the additional charge applies to reporting to licensing agencies and when it does not.

Regards,

**** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on McKissock LP
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)