Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Elite Bartending School Inc

Phone: (412) 344-9100 2961 W Liberty Ave  Ste 217, Pittsburgh, PA 15216 http://www.EliteBartend.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a bartending school.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Elite Bartending School Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Elite Bartending School Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Elite Bartending School Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 24, 1994 Business started: 09/01/1978 in PA Business under new ownership as of: 11/01/2011 Business incorporated 01/01/2004 in PA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Pennsylvania Department of Education
333 Market Street, Harrisburg PA 17126
http://www.education.state.pa.us/
Phone Number: (717) 783-6788
Fax Number: (717) 783-0583

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher Madden, Owner Ms. Lawrie Madden, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Madden, Owner
Principal: Ms. Lawrie Madden, Director
Business Category

ADULT & CONTINUING EDUCATION BARTENDING SERVICE SCHOOLS-BUSINESS & VOCATIONAL TRAINING PROGRAMS PROFESSIONAL SERVICES (GENERAL)

Alternate Business Names
Professional Bartending School

Additional Locations

  • 2961 W Liberty Ave
    Ste 217

    Pittsburgh, PA 15216 (412) 344-9100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in elite bartending school. I took the class on 4/5 4/6 4/12 4/13 and 4/19 I finished and was told I passed as well as given certificates. I was told to submit my resume they could approve it. I called 5/29/14 to ask why my resume has yet to be approved yet which was emailed on 4/24/14. I was then told I was blacklisted for cheating, which I did not cheat I memorized everything they taught me . They not once contacted me informing me about any of this that I am "black listed" and that they are voiding their contract on job placement or any other services they offer for students that took their class.

Desired Settlement: I would either like my money back or them to fix this situation because I did not cheat I studied and took this seriously and gave 100% to make sure I would succeed in this class to obtain a job from it.

Business Response: The complaint comes from a student who cheated on the final exam.  As with any school, we have no tolerance for this kind of dishonesty.  When grading the exam, two instructors had suspicion that two of the students were cheating, but couldn't prove anything, so we proceeded to give these students their Mixology Certificates along with their RAMP Server/Seller Training cards.  Days later it was brought to our attention by another student that they did indeed cheat on the final exam, thus confirming our suspicion.  When the student called and asked us to assist her with job placement, we informed her that she is no longer entitled to job placement assistance due to the cheating that took place.  However, we did inform her that she can put Elite Bartending School on her resume and in the case that a potential employer would call us, we would verify that she graduated.  I also informed her that she is still registered with the state of PA as being RAMP Server/Seller trained.  Since this student sat through the entire 40 hour class and obtained BOTH certifications, as well as the skills that she came here to learn, we do not feel that she is entitled to a refund at this point.  Please let me know how to proceed.

****** ** ******
Owner/Director
Elite Bartending School

Consumer Response: First off this is just one of the stories they are giving. I was given 3 different stories all somewhat similar. One story is they suspected cheating because they compared our tests together and we had similar wrong answers. The other story is they suspected it and have recording of it. The final story they stuck with was they suspected it, 2 students confirmed it days later. as the convo with ****** and I goes on she then says it was just one student that confirmed it. they supposedly tell me their is an audio of al this, which if this is true they would have the student that was asking for answers. I sent my resume by email april 24th &27th to be approved like I was supposed to. They never approved my resume or contacted me. They could have easily emailed me back or called me in regards to the situation. I don't recall being told at anytime that they can void their contract for any other reason but abusing the job help they offer. I requested a copy of my signed contract which they have yet to send me. The way this was handled was unprofessional. My friend and I took this class together and studied 1 week straight together so any thing we had wrong was due to the instructor confusing us. since we felt confused on a few things that seemed unclear. The fact that they have told me more then one story just does not add up to me.

Business Response: The consumer should have spoken to the Director of the school to get the details of why she is no longer entitled to job placement assistance.  The person she initially talked to, had very little knowledge of the situation.  The consumer was given a copy of the attachments labeled BBB2 & BBB3 when she completed and signed the agreement.  She was given a copy of the attachment labeled BBB1 upon completion of the course.  Please note the second line of BBB1..... "I understand the school cannot guarantee employment by law and that all fees paid were for instruction only".  Please also note on the attachment BBB3, middle of the page in bold, "We do not guarantee employment as a part of this Course".  Both of these documents were signed by the consumer.  This being said, I stand by my decision that no refund will be given to the consumer and because of the dishonesty/cheating, no job placement assistance will be given.

Consumer Response: They never contacted me about them accusing me of cheating due to the word of another student days later. They are now trying to make it seem like I want a refund since I have yet to find a job for what they taught me. This is not the case they were unprofessional I should have been contacted. I see I could have easily lied and told them days later ppl were cheating just to be childish and hateful. Which I am not. I believe at this point they do not want anything to do with ppl after paying and taking their course.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Elite Bartending School Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)