Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides blinds, shades, shutters and custom draperies. Blinds Chalet sells blinds nationwide.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blinds Chalet, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Blinds Chalet, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Blinds Chalet, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 26, 2007 Business started: 06/28/2001 in AZ Business started locally: 05/08/2006 Business incorporated 08/15/2006 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC)
1700 W. Washington Street, Ste. 105, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azroc.gov
Phone Number: (602) 542-1525
Fax Number: (602) 542-1599

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jayson Ellingson, CEO Mr. Ron Manwaring, CTO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jayson Ellingson, CEO
Business Category

Window Shades Blinds Window Coverings Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom Screens - Door & Window Shutters Venetian Blinds - Dealers Vertical Blinds

Products & Services

Blinds Chalet, LLC offers the following product(s): Aluminum Mini Blinds, Bamboo Woven Wood Shades, Blackout Shades, Collegiate Window Shades, Cordless Blinds/Child Safe Blinds, Cordless Top Down Bottom Up, Custom Drapery, Decorative Tape Blinds, Discount Blinds, Energy Efficient Shades, Express Production Blinds, Faux Wood Blinds, HoneyComb Cellular Shades, Horizontal Fabric Shades, MLB™ Window Shades, Motorized Blinds, Noise Reduction Shades, Pleated Shades, Roller Shades, Roman Shades, Routless Blinds, Shutters, Soft Sheer Shades, Solar Screen Shades, Top Down Bottom Up Shades, Valances, Vertical Blinds, Window Blind Colors, Window Blinds, Window Shades, Wood Blinds

Method(s) of Payment
All Major Credit Cards
Google Checkout
PayPal

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Blinds Chalet, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1946 N Higley Rd Ste 201

    Mesa, AZ 85205

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I first purchased my blinds one of them broke and they sent me a part to repair it myself. I guess that should have been a red flag. And now less than 2 years I have 4 out of 5 blinds that are not working in one way or another. I contacted Blinds Chalet and they said I would have to send the blinds in at my own expense to have them repaired. They also stated that the manufacturing company has changed the mechanism used on my blinds indicating to me they know there's a problem with these blinds. Blinds Chalet won't offer any assistance in getting a resolution. I stated to them I am retired and unable to remove the blinds and put them back up on my own and that the expense is a bit of a problem. But they say too bad, we don't have to help the manufacturer says you have to send them back. How can a product that actually should last for years be falling apart and the company I trusted to purchase them from just says too bad after only 18 to 20 months.

Desired Settlement: I will accept replacements sent to me with no expense on my part due to the fact that I'm not trying to be difficult. If not I believe I should be fully refunded for the poor quality of this product.

Business Response:

Some of the customers claims below are not true.  First the customer is stating that Blinds Chalet isn't offering any assistance in getting a resolution.  Blinds Chalet has gotten the manufacture to agree to fix these shades for free even though the mechanism that have gone bad is no longer under warranty.  In the warranty section that each customer who places an order acknowledges to have read on our website it states "This warranty does not apply to any parts which fail due to accident, alteration, improper use, abuse, neglect, normal wear,..... All cords will eventually wear out"  Lifting mechanisms and cords eventually wear out depending on usage.  We feel bad that this customer has shades that the cutch has gone bad on.  We have never told the customer to bad we have to do what the manufacture tells us.  We have been trying to accommodate the customer the best we can.  But the accommodation that the customer wants is new shades at Blinds Chalet's expense. 

The claim made by the customer that a Blinds Chalet rep told her that her mechanisms were replace by a new one after her shades were made is not true.  A Blinds Chalet customer service rep was trying to confirm what clutch was used on this customers shades because the shades had been made 23 months ago and the manufacture offers 2 different types of clutches and needed to confirm which clutch mechanism  it was.  Blinds Chalet did not state to the customer that the mechanism used on her shades had been changed to a newer one.

It is unfortunate that the customer can not take the shades down and send them in, her issued could be resolved.   Blinds Chalet can not pay for new shades to be made because of this reason.  We have negotiated new parts for the customer for free if she will send them in. 

 

 

Consumer Response:

The rep on the phone said very clearly that they would not even assist with even postage or partial postage after I explained my current income situation. When I asked very directly, so blinds chalet won't offer any kind of assistance even knowing theses blinds are not even two years old, she calmly replied, no. 

In response to the mechanism problem which it seems is what is wrong with my blinds the attached email clearly states they changed the mechanism, not that there are two different ones;I have spoken to the manufacturer and your shades can be repaired. You
would be responsible for shipping them in to them and they would
repair them and send them back out to you. They do need to see though
which clutch system was used on your shades, as they changed the
system a few years ago. Can you please send a photo of the clutch
(inside the headrail where the cord comes out) so I can send that over
to them?


Thank you,

****** *****
Design Consultant
Toll Free: ###-###-####
Fax: ###-###-####

Business Response:

I apologize for the wording that was used, it should have stated they added an additional clutch mechanism.  The clutch system that is used on your shades is still used.  My point was to let you know that your clutch mechanism is still used in shades. 

 

Blinds Chalet is contributing by getting the shades fixed for free even though they part that needs to be replaced is out of warranty.  Blinds Chalet will not pay to have the shades shipped in. 

8/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shoddy Product - Failure to resolve matter to satisfaction. - Originally shipped 2 sets of blinds with cords too short - blinds going up on 2nd level in a very tall room. - Next noticed that blinds being shipped with very sharp edges where cords came through opening in frame. This was continuing problem along with very bad inspection at their Texas sub-contractor plant. - Then they only sent one blinds with same problems. - Then two more sets of blinds with same problems plus with loose parts and missing end cap. Their quality control was very lacking. - Another person got involved, asked what I wanted, I replied just two sets of blinds where the cords wouldn't be cut by sharp edges when raised and lowered or adjusted. Even sent them a second set of pictures showing them how their previously purchased blinds had edge guards around the sharp edges. - Promised better resolution, but did not hear from her for over a month. - Then got a weird e-mail that plant would sent a check, needed to confirm address that they already knew. - Sent address, said I still wanted blinds. - Just got a check - called it a "refund check" without further explanation - but no blinds apparently. My complaint is that I have put a great deal of time into their bad products, taking pictures, writing e-mails, making phone calls ... no blinds are forthcoming. They had tried to ***** off a very bad product onto me after I have previously purchased quality products from them in the past. This is a sham, scam situation, a very big disgrace and I am left with two large windows that I am going to have to start from the beginning again searching for blinds!! To have only refunded the mear amount of money is a joke and an insult.

Desired Settlement: This company needs to be placed in the "B" or "C" category based upon the mear fact that they did not even attempt to make personal contact to make final resolution - simply to mail a refund without explanation is an insult and certainly not even minimal customer service! I know - I have been the Director of Housekeeping Services that "helped" move two very large hotels from 3-Star to 4-Star Status - I would never think of treating a customer like I have been treated here! As I stated to them, if I am getting this "bad quality" of product, then many others are also! Blinds are just waiting to have their cords cut by the sharp edges ... years after anything can be done! The customer will suffer in the long run!!

Business Response:

Blinds Chalet is surprised at the claims the customer is making.  When we asked him for his address we specifically stated that we would be sending him a refund for his order since the blinds would not work in his situation.  He knew a refund was coming, so for him to claim that he did not know the check was coming is dishonest.  It is unfortunate that the blinds did not work for the customer.

7/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: HELLO I purchased blinds from blinds chalet 9:59 am according to their web they are bbb incorporated once I received the blinds the quality was bad they looked home made I have video of the blinds as proof 10:00 am they requested to have fed ex pick up the blinds last week as per their emails they requested the blinds be left outside my home 10:01 am for pick up so I did I also let them now I would be out of town a week after they should have been picked up I contacted the company for a status on my refund 10:02 am they told me they had a glitch in their system but their manager would be working on my refund and would have it by the end of the day this past friday no refund! this morning I contacted the company once again they changed their story they told me they do not know if the blinds have been picked up 10:03 am and will not iddue me a refund I have proof of all this e mails and pictures of out live chats iddue=issue

Desired Settlement: Please help me !! this company has no customer service skills they lie in regards to my refund its been more than 10 days !! every time I call its a different excuse as to why my refund has not been issued!! as I mentioned all my e mails and live chats have been saved and ready to admit them as proof that this company is very fraudulent!!!

Business Response:

We have told the customer that once that shades are sent back in, we will refund her money.  A call tag was issued by our manufacturer to pick up the product but somehow the call tag got canceled (out of our control, FedEx does not know why it was canceled). Our manufacturer has issued another call tag.  The shades are scheduled to be picked up tomorrow.  We will refund the customer the money once the shades have been returned to our manufacturer. 

This customer accidentally got told her refund would be completed last Friday because the Customer Service agent speaking to her thought she was speaking to another customer that she was working with the same first name.  It was an accident and we apologized to the customer for the miscommunication. We originally told her that her money would be refunded once they were returned and we stand by that commitment. 

Consumer Response:

I have been on a chat and e mailing the seller almost every day and it took them 10 days to figure out the blinds where never picked up!!! they been sitting outside an empty house for 10 days!!!!!! why did the company not check the tracking number from day one!!!! they have been giving me the run around it is not my fault the company has such a bad customer service team it seems they do not know what they are doing!!! Why should I wait for a refund when it has been their mistakes over and over!!! I have provided proof to the BBB e mails and pictures I took to our live chats ! also I have sent you BBB pictures and videos of the poor quality products this company sells wich they don't even know what they sell because the items shipped from mexico they do not even inspect the quality before it gets sent to the customer!! please help me get my money back as soon as possible this company is only giving me the run around I should not be responsible for all their mistakes!! I should have read their customer reviews before I placed my order!BBB please refer to the customer reviews stated on this web page

http://www.resellerratings.com/store/Blinds_Chalet

ps. At this point I don't even now if the blinds are still outside or have been stolen its been 10 days since the initial requested blinds chalet pickup!!!

Business Response: We refunded the customer her money on 5/16

6/13/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had gone to great lengths to do my due diligence in searching for Made in America window treatments. My husband is a veteran. We believe strongly in focusing our purchases on products made in America. I was pleased to find the product through Blinds Chalet and the website has clear statements of "Made in America." When the products arrived, the boxes all said "made in China". When I called Blinds Chalet, they sent me to another provider, ******* Shutters. When I spoke to ******* Shutters, they clearly stated that they provide both foreign and domestic products. I called Blinds Chalet once more and they said they couldn't do anything about it because there is a no return policy. The company said if we'd talked to them while ordering, we could have asked. I had read the website carefully and the language of the website had several places that said "Made in America" so it didn't feel like a question that needed asking. This is direct false advertising! They lie on their website and they hide behind their "no return" policy giving us no options.

Desired Settlement: We want American made products. If the company can provide that, we would take an exchange. If we can't be assured of an American made product, we want a refund. As we have little trust in the company now, we prefer a refund to find a company we can trust.

Business Response: Unfortunately what the customer is claiming is inaccurate.  Frist the customer is claiming that they spent $503.10 which is inaccurate.  They spent $282.65 because they received a 45% discount on their order.  So for them to claim that they spent more is untruthful.  Second we provided on the front page of our website a link to all of the products that we sale that are made in the USA.  The link is *************************************************************.  We understand that purchasing products that are made in the USA are important to several of our customers, that is why we provide the link and designation of products that are made in the USA.  No where on our site do we claim that all of our products are made in the USA.  Unfortunately the customer selected and ordered a product that did not have the designation as made in the USA.  We made and dellvered what the customer slected and ordered themselves on our website.  All of our prodcuts are custom made so we can not take back products due to customer errors.  We have told the customer wew ould be happy to offer a larger discount to reorder a product that is made in the USA.  It is unfair for the customer to think that BLinds Chalet should cover the cost for an error that they made.

Business Response: Our site if very clear in what products are made in the USA.  We have had thousands of orders and this is the first complaint that our site is not clear about what products are made in the USA.  We have a page dedicated to American made products.  The customer needs to take responsibility for ordering the incorrect product.  Blinds Chalet should not be blamed for the customer's mistake in this situation.  We would gladly extend a larger discount for the customer to reorder a product that is made in the USA but Blinds Chalet will not cover the costs for the customer's error.

6/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/1/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 8/11/14 I ordered four Solar Screen Shades 5% openness from Blindschalet.com for a total of $767.17. On their website it states that Solar Screen Shades 5% openness is GREENGUARD certified. This certificate "gives assurance that products designed for use in indoor spaces meet strict chemical emissions limits." I was very careful about purchasing our window treatments because I cannot have these VOCs in our home due to health issues. Once these shades arrived they had a toxic overwhelming smell. I contacted customer service several times and was basically blown off. They said they would contact me and have not. I contacted customer service on 8/24/14, 10/8/15, 4/25/16 and 4/27/16. The product that was delivered to me was NOT greenguard. If you roll down the shade, it instantly smells up the entire space within seconds of the 2500q. foot home. I was hoping that if we aired the shades out, the smell would go away with time and has not at all. It is just as potent as when we opened the box. We have other solar shades in our home by a different company and they do not smell at all. I was delivered a defective product.

Desired Settlement: I cannot use the blinds due to the high smell of VOCs. The product was certified to not contain high VOCs. I am asking for a refund.

Business Response: The product that the customer received is indeed greenguard certified.  These shades are almost 2 years old.  We can not refund the customer for shades that are nearly 2 years old. 

Consumer Response: I have tried finding a resolution to this problem many times by contacting Blinds Chalet and each time never receive a call back.  We tried airing out the blinds for a long time so that maybe the toxic chemical smell will go away, and nothing has worked.  I am asking for some compensation.  I have to repurchase blinds because these are defective.  Is there some credit you can offer?  

Business Response: Please be completely honest in you claims.  Shannon (customer service representative) has corresponded with you several times regarding this matter.  She has communicated to you that yes we would give you a larger discount on your next order.  We will honor her commitment to you.  Please e-mail her directly and we will discount your order.  Thanks

5/11/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It is about one of the 4 matching double honeycomb shades that I ordered in 2011 for my living room. The one shade that is used the most broke 2 years later and after I contacted BlindsChalet, I had to send it back to the manufacturer and it was repaired. In the same shade the same part is broke again and after about 10 days of waiting to see how the shade can be fixed, the only solution that BlindsChalet came up with is TO SELL me another shade that is similar in color to the other 3 shades I already have in the living room. Also I was informed that BlindsChalet is nothing more than a call center. and although the shades they sell have limited lifetime warranty, they do not honor it as it stands right now because the manufacturer of the shade went out of business. The name on the shade is Woodland Blinds, TX. Checking online I see that Woodland Blinds, TX, is still producing as of today. What really made me file the complain is the tone of the email received by the C/S telling me that " You will have to purchase a new shade. " I might have to purchase a new shade, but not from BlindsChalet, guaranteed. Very disappointed, especially that this is my 3rd order and I recommended them to other people also.

Desired Settlement: I want to warn other people that the expensive shades from BlindChalet are not coming with a lifetime warranty and as soon as something goes wrong, the customers are on their own.

Business Response: Blinds Chalet would gladly repair the csutomer's shade if we could.  The manufacturer of this customer's shade went out of business so there is no way to have it repaired.  Blinds Chalet even contacted another manufacturer to see if they could fix the shade, but unfortunately they could not repair it.  We clearly state in out policies and disclaimers that each customer acknowledges reading before they can the place an order the following information http://www.blindschalet.com/policy.aspxWarrantyLimited Lifetime Warranty - This warranty is offered through the manufacturer(s) to the original purchaser of the blinds and covers any defects in materials of workmanship for the life on all the BlindsChalet.com products, however, BlindsChalet.com will act as the liaison in coordinating any warranty issues between the manufacturer and the customer.This warranty does not apply to any parts which fail due to accident, alteration, improper use, abuse, neglect, normal wear, and color fading to sunlight, direct exposure to salt air or improper cleaning.We offered the customer the ability to order a new shade at our cost but the customer has rejected that solution.  The part would have been at a charge since the shade fell out of the 3 year warranty on parts.  Unfortunately the customer does not like our solution.

Consumer Response: Having a history of the shade being broke in the same place suggests that there is a design flaw with the operating mechanism of this shade. The rest of the shades purchased from Blinds Chalet in my house are barely ever operated and I am afraid to do so because of the flimsy design. There are only 2 adults in the house so there is no chance to being abused. Also the offer that came from Blinds Chalet "at their cost" would have been $126 for the $86 initial price that I have paid for this shade. I have checked BC's site and I barely see anything in the 120+ price range at the dimensions of the shade that we are talking about. Attached is a picture of the broken part.

Business Response: Blinds Chalet is willing to cover the cost of 1 replacement shade as a 1 time courtesy to this customer.  The shade's part that went bad is only covered for 3 years.  The order was placed over 5 years ago.  We hope that this will satisfy the customer.

4/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased online a set of vertical blinds through ******.com The ad showed the size and colors of ones they had in stock. Their shipping cost to me was $14.99 through ******.com site. Total sale (shipping $14.99 and item $183.49) was $ 198.48 to me. I got the wrong dimensions delivered I wanted. later on here explains what really happened. anyway, I contacted blinds chalet, wanted nothing to do with me, they said customer service is only done through ******. Did that. Only comment was return for full refund. and ****** and blinds chalet had no concern of outrageous return costs. Why $14.99 for them? So high for me? I tried USPS, UPS and FEDEX and the cost to return was approx. $230 to $450 because of its oversize 125"x 6" x 6" weight 50#. I accidently misread their deceiving 84"x120" on line item as a common 10ft wide by common 7ft ht. what I needed. but it was the opposite, an uncommon 7 ft. wide x 10ft height. Their ad should have specifically noted a width and height along side these dimensions. I also noted on yelp reviews that this has happened to others. Blinds Chalet specifically had this uncommon size listed so it was a stock item. I later reordered on their web site the correct size, their it specifically guided and properly told me width and height in ordering.

Desired Settlement: To get a paid return label so I can ship this product back for full refund. or paid return label from ******?

Business Response: Unfortunately the customer is not being completely honest in his accusations.  We have e-mails from him stating that he made the mistake when ordering the product.  All of our products are clearly labeled on ****** as to what sizes they are.  It's unfortunate that this customer made "the mistake of not reading clearly what the dimensions were.  He has actually placed another order for the correct size after he ordered this incorrect size.  He made the mistake of originally ordering a size of 84"(w) x 120"(h) when he needed to order 120"(w) x 84"(h).   We will gladly refund the customer once we receive the product back.  We can not provide shipping labels to send product back.  All of our products are shipped through our manufacturers who have accounts with FedEx and UPS. We don't not have accounts with FedEx or UPS.  Our manufacturers unfortunately will not pay to have these picked up as the products were made and delivered to the customer as ordered.  We feel bad that it is so expensive to return the product that was ordered incorrectly by the customer but unfortunately we do not control the shipping costs.  

Consumer Response: Hello,The company makes it sound like I read the dimensions correctly and admitted the mistake of choosing the wrong size.That is not the case. The blinds ad had the uncommon window dimensions of 84" x 120" (7ft width x 10 ft. Height) only, with no height or width after the dimensions. A normal set is the opposite.This was not clearly marked, labeled or advising exactly what the Height and width were with these dimensions.This company I believe misrepresented its product so a person like me will grab the wrong overstocked oddball size accidently and not know its wrong until after delivery.And as the company said, I did reorder because I need them badly, this order clearly asked, showed what height and width I need with no accidental error in ordering size.

Business Response: Blinds Chalet list its products just like every other manufacturer on ******.  If the customer is upset that W & L are not listed after the sizes then that complaint should be filed with ******. Blinds Chalet sells products just like every other manufacturer on ******.  It is known as an industry standard that Width is always listed first and Height is listed second.  This is how every window covering manufacturer sales their products.  If the customer was unsure if the Width or Height was listed first he should have called our customer service department.  I'm not sure why the customer is stating that we list "not normal sizes".  All sizes we provide are common sizes that are frequently ordered.  The customer has stated that he ordered incorrectly.  Blinds Chalet should not have to pay for the customer's mistake.  We provided the verticals as ordered.  If the customer returns the product we will gladly return the customer their money.  Or as a 1 time courtesy we will refund the customer 50% of his order if he does not want to ship them in.

11/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered blinds from the Blind Chalet and followed the instructions regarding how to measure the blinds for an outside mount. The disclaimer with purchase exactly stated that "standard deductions will be taken for inside mount blinds. Outside mount blinds will arrive the size specified". I ordered 3 blinds. Two of the blinds measuring 42.50 inches in width and the other measuring 42.75 inches in width. The total for my purchase was $568.76. The original price was $938.01 but they were having a 40% off sale. The blinds I received were the wrong width, 2 of them measured 41.25 inches and one measured 41.50 inches. Due to the blinds being over an inch shorter than the width I ordered, I am unable to use the blinds. I contacted the Blinds Chalet and they told me that I was supposed to add more to my desired width to get the actual width I wanted for an outside mount. This was not stated in my order. They said they could offer me an oops order and that I could pay an additional $430.00 to receive the correct size blinds. In the oops order they suggested that I order a size in width over 3 inches of my original order. I am positive that I could have never known to add 3 inches to my measurements when they tell you that the blinds will arrive as specified. Here is the email they sent me; I have put together an oop's quote which gives additional discounting for a remake on the roller shades. Here is a copy of it, let me know if you would like to go forward with the remake. Thank you ~ Order 621933 view user's orders edit user edit order - ***** ****** (owner, created) Started: Jul 14 2015 12:07PM Completed: EDI: Place On HOLD ADD Confirm/Approve HOLD ByPass 24 Hold:Yes Item Size Color Qty Total 1. Twilight Blackout Roller Shades Outside Mount Lift-Right Roll Type-Standard Roll 45 3/4" x 80" 25.42 sqft Chocolate - **** * $312.67 Room: Notes: 2. Twilight Blackout Roller Shades Outside Mount Lift-Right Roll Type-Standard Roll 45 3/4" x 80" 25.42 sqft Chocolate - 0061 1 $312.67 Room: Notes: 3. Twilight Blackout Roller Shades Outside Mount Lift-Right Roll Type-Standard Roll 46" x 80" 25.56 sqft Chocolate - **** * $312.67 Room: Notes: 3 items - Subtotal: $938.01 Discount:RAO-****** ($513.96) Handling Fee: $5.95 Total: $430.00

Desired Settlement: I originally had asked the Blinds Chalet to send me the correct size shades for free. I would still be open to that outcome or I would like to be refunded the amount that I paid for the shades $568.78.

Business Response:

The shades that the customer was disputing were made to the specs that we provide on our website at
**************************************************************** * ****************************************

The following information is on the order page when the customer was placing their order. 

OUTSIDE MOUNT: Enter the size you wish the blinds to be made. See individual descriptions for any deductions or additions. Width measurement is from tip to tip on the roller. Fabric width will be smaller to accommodate the lift controls and mounting brackets.

Standard Roller
Bracket to bracket, ordered width
Fabric width, ordered width minus 1 1/4"

We feel bad that the customer dis not take this deductions into consideration when ordering her shades but they were made to the sizes that were ordered with the industry standard deductions.  Unfortunately we can not refund the customer the money for these shades as they were custom made for the measurements she entered.  We clearly state on our website that we do not accept returns.  We can not resale them.  We can reorder the shades at a larger discount for the customer but there will be a cost.

Binds Chalet delivered the products as ordered and should not have to refund the customer or pay to have new ones made because the customer ordered the wrong sizes. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10717355, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

If I was supposed to order the blinds 1.25 inches in width more than the actual size that I wanted, then why do they suggest in the oops quote ordering the blinds 3.25 inches in width more than the actual size I desire? It seems that if I had in fact made a mistake when ordering then I should be ordering only 1.25 additional inches for my next order not 3.25 inches. I have no faith that if I were to reorder and pay the $430 they quoted me that I would actually get the correct size blinds. Also, the blinds they sent me were 1.50 inches more narrow, not 1.25 inches, than what I desired. 

Regards,

******** *********

Business Response: The customer service agent explained to the customer why she recommended it be ordered 3.25 inches larger.  She explained that there will be a deduction taken of 1 1/4" to the fabric (as stated on our website) and in her opinion it is nice to have the shade extend past the glass so it blocks the ability from seeing in the side of the shade.  My suggestion to order it a 1.25 inches bigger was so that you would receive the fabric at the size you intended it to be.  Blinds Chalet's customer service agent was trying to provide you with a helpful suggestion.    I do know that we provided that shades to the sizes they were ordered to.  As stated before we will gladly have the shades remade for a discounted cost but Blinds Chalet can not pay to have shades remade that were ordered incorrectly.  The difference from the 1.5" deduction to the 1.25" that is listed on the website is also listed on the ordering page.  Note: Width and length measurements may vary +/- 1/4".  This variance is a industry standard

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Yankee shade from them. When I installed it and rolled it down, it does not roll down straight. I checked the leveling on window and shade and they are even. The shade is on the roller unevenly. I am also unhappy about the measured width of the product. I have contacted them on the telephone, email, and social media and Im yet to get any customer satisfaction. Their employee ***** is rude, unsympathetic, and is basically ignoring my claim as the pictures I've sent are pretty clear that the shade needs fixed. I haven't heard from them in over a week.

Desired Settlement: I want a new shade that is wider and straight. It is a Xmas gift and will be centerpiece of my sons room for years.

Business Response: I have looked over the photos sent in by the customer on this order, and
the shade is hanging correctly from what I can see. Customer notes at
the bottom of this complaint that he wants a "wider"  replacement...was
this not ordered at the correct size? We do not offer returns and or
exchanges due to the shades we make  are all custom made to the the size
given to us by the customer. However, if the customer would like to
send me a photo showing the shade all the way pulled down and where the
material is attached crooked on the roller head rail I will be more then
happy to send that over to the manufacture and see about doing a remake
but it will come at the same size as on the original order, The remake
can only be done if I can show that manufacturer in fact that the shade
is crooked.


Thank you,

******* *******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I've sent them pictures before. They are denying even in their response that they see that it is crooked. They are just stating that they are going to take a look at pictures again and again refer it to the manufacturer. That is a dead response. They've already done that. I've posted theses pics on social media and everyone can tell that it is in fact cockeyed when rolled down. I won't accept anything less than it being fixed without the hassle and disregard
I've received at this point. They need to accept my claim and take it back and make another. I'm not going to accept anything less. 

Regards,

**** ****


 

 

Business Response: If the customer wants to pay to ship the blind to our office I will look at it and photograph the shade and send in all photos to BBB and to the customer to show if it was or was not made correctly. If it is not correct again we will remake but it will be at the original size ordered. Please let me know if this is what the customer wants to do and I will send our address for him to ship the blind back to us for inspection, Thank you!

******* *******

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 2 sets of blinds that should have opened from the center. The sales person indicated "center split stack" on each order. Intuitively, this means open from the center and stack on the ends. I did several google and other browser searches and this was verified. I received 2 sets of "center stack" blinds, which means they open into the middle and stack in the center. I called and was told I got what I ordered, which clearly was not the case. I sent photos of the incorrectly made item.

Desired Settlement: I would like replacements sent to the specifications of my order. If it cannot be done in a timely manner, I would like a refund please.

Business Response: We are remaking this customer order at no charge, the manufacture made this mistake when creating the order and Blinds Chalet will be re entering the order to be made correctly. Thank you!

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Thanks.  A credit was issued and it posted to my account this morning.  

Regards,

****** *********

1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My orders from Blind Chalet was delivered with the wrong color, not once but twice. It has the slowest response as an online company I've dealt with. It took over a week to get an answer to whether my blind shipment will be replaced. It took over a week to get the ***** return labels so I can return 4 boxes. And now it's taking too long to get a refund to an order that they couldn't deliver correctly.

Desired Settlement: Since my order was not made correctly, a refund of $262.81 should be made as soon as possible.

Business Response: This order has been credit back to the customer below is the transaction information:

Transaction Confirmation
Transaction ********** has been successfully ACCEPTED by the system.


Below is a summary:

Transaction ID: **********
Payment Method: ********
Amount: USD (262.81)
Customer Name: *** *****

Thank you!

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

********* ******


 

 

1/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The shade I bought and paid for was shipped with the incorrect measurements. Blinds Chalet blamed me for it and flatly refused to correct the problem, sticking me for $150. Not only was customer service rude, when I asked to speak to a supervisor, they promised one would call back. The call never came, and so I am stuck with a $150 dollar blind that is of new value. I call this internet piracy.

Desired Settlement: They need to issue a refund for their error. They told me the product had to be made in China, and shipped from there. No way this is anyone's fault but mine right?????

Business Response: Customer order on their own using our website off IP address ************* on November 23, 2013

Customer order our Energy Guard 1/2" Translucent Double Cell Shades

Inside Mount

70 x 34.75

Here are the instruction for the "how to measure for this product" This information is listed on the page that the customer ordered the product on:



Attention:

When ordering, use the following guidelines:
INSIDE MOUNT: Enter exact window measurements.
Take NO Deductions.


Factory Adjustment:

Fabric 1/2", Headrail 3/8" to 1/4" including end caps.

OUTSIDE MOUNT: Enter the size you wish the blinds to be made. See individual descriptions for any deductions or additions.

For more help, please see our measuring instructions.


Note: Width and length measurements may vary +/- 1/8".

If you are mounting blinds or shades to fit within any
openings such as between cabinets or walls use inside mount.



If the customer received the product at the incorrect size due to a error made on Blinds Chalet part, we are more then happy to get it fix to the correct measurements. However, if it came correct and it happens to be the wrong measurement that the customer provided we do not offer returns or exchanges due to the product being customer made, we can offer a larger discount on a new order to replace the one that was ordered incorrect.

Customer also agreed to our terms and conditions on the website that state our Return Policy:


Measuring Disclaimer

It is the responsibility of the customer to take the measurements for
their desired window coverings. If the customer follows the measuring instructions as outlined on the website of **************** the window coverings will fit impeccably.


All of our products are custom made to order so it is very important
that you follow our measuring and installation instructions. When you
follow our instructions we guarantee your blinds will fit perfectly! It
is equally important that you review your email order confirmation for
accuracy. Because our products are custom made your card will be charged
at the time the order is placed. Of course we realize that mistakes may
occur and if we make a mistake on your order we will either repair or
remake it at no charge to you. If you make a mistake in measuring or
ordering please contact us. Depending on the type of error you may
return the product to the factory for alteration or we will have it
remade at a discount. Any cost incurred for alterations due to
customer's mistakes, including shipping, will be the responsibility of
the customer.



Return Policy

We want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase and for this
reason we offer a 30-day Satisfaction Guarantee. Since all products are
custom made to order for each customer, they cannot be returned except
for warranty repair. We understand that your window coverings are a
substantial investment, for this reason we require that free samples
must be obtained before ordering to qualify for the Satisfaction
Guarantee. This will allow you to view the samples and see any color
variations that may occur from monitors, manufacturers, and different
lighting environments. Therefore, if the blinds conform to the sample,
blinds may not be returned for any of these reasons. In the event that
you're not satisfied with your window coverings, **************** will
make every effort to realize your complete satisfaction. Blinds may not
be returned due to mistakes made by customers measurement, incorrect
ordering, stained woods and fabrics that vary slightly due to dye lots
or wood grain, shipping issues out of our control, etc. Products within
the same room should be ordered at the same time to ensure proper
matching. Blinds Chalet must be notified with 10 days from date of
receipt for any problems. Commercial and contract orders are not covered
under this guarantee.



All returns must be given a Return Authorization Number(RGA) and
shipping address to return the product. Keep your original boxes and
packaging materials in the event you need to return your blinds, Blinds
Chalet cannot provide packaging materials. All returns must be shipped
to **************** in new condition within 30 days of receipt, preceded
by prior authorization that has been accepted by ****************
Customer Service Department. Call our Customer Service Department toll
free @ ***** ********.


Please contact me if you have any other questions, Thank you

******* *******
General Manager
Blinds Chalet LLC
************




 





Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They messed up this order NOT ME. Now I have a 149 dollar blind that is of NO value whatsoever to me. THEY OFFERED NOTHING WHAT SO +EVER new in their response to you. Blame the customer, cannot be them. If you look on Yelp.com for Blinds Chalet, there are others with the same exact issue. They told me the order goes to China for the creation of this blind, and yet they are sure there is no chance something could be lost in translation! No, I do not find their response even a slight effort to remedy the situation.

Regards,

******* ****


 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Because Blinds Chalet has previously refused to even talk about fixing this issue, and rudely done so, i bought another blind already. Now they want to replace it? Too late. A refund is the only acceptable remedy. I bought the blind to keep my kitchen warmer, and wanted it in place for the holidays. Now that the BBB got involved they decided they would fix the issue like ANY NORMAL HONEST BUSINESS would have done in the first place.  When they laughed at me out loud from their customer service, I gave up on them. What else could I do? Even the first effort through the BBB received a "we are not doing anything" response from Blinds Chalet. This business is not acting like a normal US business. I own a business...we ALL have to process refunds!

Regards,

Michael Pass

 

Business Response:
Again the customer order this product on their own, the size order was 70 x 34.75 and that is what the customer received, If the customer placed his order with sizing that was backwards we can offer a discount on a new order. Please read the below information as we have covered all areas of this compliant. Thank you.





Customer order on their own using our website off IP address ************* on November 23, 2013

Customer order our Energy Guard 1/2" Translucent Double Cell Shades

Inside Mount

70 x 34.75

Here
are the instruction for the "how to measure for this product" This
information is listed on the page that the customer ordered the product
on:



Attention:

When ordering, use the following guidelines:
INSIDE MOUNT: Enter exact window measurements.
Take NO Deductions.


Factory Adjustment:

Fabric 1/2", Headrail 3/8" to 1/4" including end caps.

OUTSIDE MOUNT: Enter the size you wish the blinds to be made. See individual descriptions for any deductions or additions.

For more help, please see our measuring instructions.


Note: Width and length measurements may vary +/- 1/8".

If you are mounting blinds or shades to fit within any
openings such as between cabinets or walls use inside mount.



If
the customer received the product at the incorrect size due to a error
made on Blinds Chalet part, we are more then happy to get it fix to the
correct measurements. However, if it came correct and it happens to be
the wrong measurement that the customer provided we do not offer returns
or exchanges due to the product being customer made, we can offer a
larger discount on a new order to replace the one that was ordered
incorrect.

Customer also agreed to our terms and conditions on the website that state our Return Policy:


Measuring Disclaimer

It is the responsibility of the customer to take the measurements for
their
desired window coverings. If the customer follows the measuring
instructions as outlined on the website of **************** the window
coverings will fit impeccably.


All of our products are custom made to order so it is very important
that you follow our measuring and installation instructions. When you
follow our instructions we guarantee your blinds will fit perfectly! It
is equally important that you review your email order confirmation for
accuracy. Because our products are custom made your card will be charged
at the time the order is placed. Of course we realize that mistakes may
occur and if we make a mistake on your order we will either repair or
remake it at no charge to you. If you make a mistake in measuring or
ordering please contact us. Depending on the type of error you may
return the product to the factory for alteration or we will have it
remade at a discount. Any cost incurred for alterations due to
customer's mistakes, including shipping, will be the responsibility of
the customer.



Return Policy

We want you to be completely satisfied with your purchase and for this
reason we offer a 30-day Satisfaction Guarantee. Since all products are
custom made to order for each customer, they cannot be returned except
for warranty repair. We understand that your window coverings are a
substantial investment, for this reason we require that free samples
must be obtained before ordering to qualify for the Satisfaction
Guarantee. This will allow you to view the samples and see any color
variations that may occur from monitors, manufacturers, and different
lighting environments. Therefore, if the blinds conform to the sample,
blinds may not be returned for any of these reasons. In the event that
you're not satisfied with your window coverings, **************** will
make every effort to realize your complete satisfaction. Blinds may not
be returned due to mistakes made by customers measurement, incorrect
ordering, stained woods and fabrics that vary slightly due to dye lots
or wood grain, shipping issues out of our control, etc. Products within
the same room should be ordered at the same time to ensure proper
matching. Blinds Chalet must be notified with 10 days from date of
receipt for any problems. Commercial and contract orders are not covered
under this guarantee.



All returns must be given a Return Authorization Number(RGA) and
shipping address to return the product. Keep your original boxes and
packaging materials in the event you need to return your blinds, Blinds
Chalet cannot provide packaging materials. All returns must be shipped
to **************** in new condition within 30 days of receipt, preceded
by prior authorization that has been accepted by ****************
Customer Service Department. Call our Customer Service Department toll
free @ ***** ********.


Please contact me if you have any other questions, Thank you

******* *******
General Manager
Blinds Chalet LLC
************




 


12/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The blinds that I ordered were never produced. When I called the company, the customer service rep contacted the manufacturer and they said that the material had not even arrived for my blinds. So I cancelled my order and she emailed me a confirmation of the cancellation. However, they had already charged my credit card and have yet to refund my credit card. The customer service agents do not answer my calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: I need them to refund my credit card immediately.

Business Response: This customer order was canceled and credited, Please see transaction information below. Thank you.


Transaction ID: **********
Payment Method: XXXX4173
Amount: USD (-828.48)
Customer Name: ******* ********

If you have any question please contact me

******* *******
###-###-####

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a shade on Sep. 5, 2013 (order #491936). I followed manufacture's installation instruction and found that the bottom brackets of the shade could not be attached to the bottom sill because the cords were made one and half an inch too short. On October 1, I emailed ***** ******* with photos showing the actual dimensions of my window and the current installation. In case you wonder, the reason I emailed them three weeks later and not sooner was because another shade I ordered on Sep 4 came with some parts missing, so I wanted to have that resolved first, and I was glad it did work out, even though it took a very long tome. Back to the story, since then I made a phone call to them every week and every time a representative would give me reassurance that the new shade had been in the process of remaking and would be ship out soon, so each time I waited. Finally on November 1, after a couple of more phone calls and reassurances, I was told that, quote from the email sent by *****: "Per what the manufacturer said it looks like the installation isn't correct. They said to check your brackets and follow the instructions for installation making sure the brackets are not directly over the mechanisms." Amazing how things just turned down side up. I sent her additional photos on November 4 and 10, and I have called Blinds Chalet several times looking to speak her or her manager but neither could be reached, I have left voice messages for both her and her manager asking simply for an update, no answer to this day. I am simply at a disbelief at their level of customer service. The following statement was a description of their business directly from their website: "Peace of mind, satisfaction and YOUR confidence in us is what we strive for." The very last time I contacted Blinds Chalet was on November 21 and one of their representative ***** told me that the shade has been in the process of remaking and would be ship out soon. My confidence? has probably long bottomed out.

Desired Settlement: This is how I want this case to be settled: 1. Refund the full amount of the shade ($119.01) 2. If above option is not viable, sent a replacement with the correct length made. 3. No matter what, contact me. Silence is NOT golden here!

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am an absolutely irate customer. I placed an order on Thursday November 21st for a TWO DAY PRODUCTION BLIND! If you count Friday the 22nd as one day and Monday the 25th as the second day, it should have shipped the 25th, if not the 26th AT THE LATEST! I needed this ASAP for the holidays. I called four times on different days to see why my blind did not ship and then I was told, oh, we will call you back. So sorry, we don't have information. WHAT KIND OF LOW BUDGET SCAM ARE THEY RUNNING?! I NEVER received the promised calls back and even though they charge me, have not received my merchandise. I want a FULL refund because I had to go and buy a different product since they could not keep their commitment. And their crap customer service made it worse. Guess what? When I say I will call my clients back, I ACTUALLY DO!

Desired Settlement: Full refund. I do not want their merchandise any longer.

Business Response: We have refunded this customer for the order, we had incorrect information from our manufacture. The order will be at no charge due to the wrong info on the site and Blinds Chalet apologizes about that. Please see the transaction details for the customer refund. Thank you!


Transaction Confirmation









Transaction 5750282891 has been successfully ACCEPTED by the system.




Below is a summary:


Transaction ID: 5750282891

Payment Method: XXXX2043

Amount: USD (44.23)

Customer Name: William Kring








Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Blinds Chalet, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart