Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides residential and commercial water treatment services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that H2O Concepts International, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for H2O Concepts International, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on H2O Concepts International, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 24, 1991 Business started: 02/01/1991 in AZ Business started locally: 02/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC)
1700 W. Washington Street, Ste. 105, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azroc.gov
Phone Number: (602) 542-1525
Fax Number: (602) 542-1599

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert R. Peak, President Ms. Sherri Peak, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert R. Peak, President
Principal: Ms. Sherri Peak, General Manager
Business Category

Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Contractor - Water Conditioning Manufacturers & Producers Wholesalers & Distributors Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Water Treatment Equipment,Service & Supplies Water Analysis Water Pollution Control

Products & Services

H2O Concepts International, Inc. sells the following brand(s): H2o Concepts

H2O Concepts International, Inc. offers the following product(s): Hard Water treatment systems, Water Filtration systems, Whole House Water Treatment Systems, Whole House water treatment systems

Method(s) of Payment
Financing Available
Cash
Check
Master Card
Visa
Discover
American Express




Refund and Exchange Policy
H2O Concepts International, Inc. Water treatment systems carry a Limited 10 year Warranty some exclusions apply. See our online warranty section for more details.
Alternate Business Names
Ask/h2o Technologies & Consulting Inc. H2O Technologies & Consulting
Industry Tips
Transient Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

H2O Concepts International, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a H2O Concepts Whole House Water Treatment system in February, 2014. I had just recently remodeled my bath room and had new fixtures that I wanted to protect. The sales person represented their product as a water softening system and that it would improve taste by removing "all chemicals". I explained that I had hard water and scaling was an issue and the salesperson represented that their system would eliminate scaling. The literature he gave me included statements like "The h2O AMP Force solves many problems associated with "Hard Water" electronically instead of the chemical process used by water softeners, and without the need for adding salt". It further says "Not only does this prevent mineral build-up but will actually reduce and existing build up". Two months after purchase, I had very severe build up of calcium deposits on all my new fixtures and glass shower walls. I also had black rings in my toilets and several of my plants had died do to clogging in the irrigation system. I had a representative from H2O come to my house and look at the situation. I also discussed it with the manager (******). The technician informed me that I would need chlorine tablets in the toilets to prevent the "mold" build up and he also tried to reduce the scaling by adjusting the system. ****** stated at this time that we may need a water softener because of the extremely hard water in N Scottsdale. Last month, I contacted H2O and informed them that I was still having problems with the system. There were still black mold rings in the toilets even though I was using the tablets) and my fixtures were still being coated regularly with calcium deposits. Some faucets were barely able to pass water and more vegetation was lost in the yard. Te technician (****) stated that he recommended replacing the system with a "Vortech" water softener. He state that they would replace it at no charge. The problem is that the water softener costs far less than what I paid for the H2O Whole House system. Today I talked with ****** and asked her to remove the system from my house because it was not performing as advertized. She offered to remove the system from my house but stated that there would be "no refund". She was quick to state that I had signed papers (which I do not belive I did) that essentially stated that I knew this was not a water softener. It would seem that based on the representations i the marketing literature, and those made by the sales person, this unit is being represented a "better than" a "water softener". Additional claims made in the marketing literature include: "Safe alkaline water throughout your house" "softer skin & hair" "No filters to change or salts to add" "proven effective for scale prevention and/or reduction" This is representation as a water softener. Bottom line is that the unit did not work for my house and in fact made the scale problem worse. The company refused to refund my money for a system that did not do what it was represented to do. They admitted that the system was not working when they recommended replacing the system with a separate water softening system but refused to refund my money if i did not want to exchange their system for a cheap water softening system.

Desired Settlement: Remove the system from my house and refund my money. Revise their marketing literature so they are no misleading their customers.

Business Response:   We have explained many times to the customer that we leave the good minerals in your water because they are good for us. We will descale the inside of your pipes. Outside of your plumbing where the minerals are allowed to dry you could see them but if wiped every 2-3 days they will wipe away easily. We also take out chlorine/contaminates from your water because they are bad for us to drink and shower in. We have explained to the customer if you get a black ring in your toilet it can be from the human waste (bacteria) that we put in it. We told the customer they could use chlorine tablets or scrubbing bubble inserts if it continues. We sent someone to check the customer’s system, everything was working fine. I told the customer we would change out the power head to verify it works. We did test it and it worked fine. We have sent the customer helpful hints that will minimize the spotting; however the customer does not want the spotting at all. So we told the customer we would change it out for a softener that way the customer would have the least amount of spotting. The softener we told him about, retails for $4000.00 to $6000.00.We don’t recommend softeners because you exchange your minerals for salt. We do our very best to explain what a customer should expect. We even put it on our agreements and have the customer initial it. See below the exact statements that we have them initial.*Prevents mineral deposits on inner walls of pipes and inside surface of fixtures as well as de-scaling previous mineral build-up*The AMP Force by using electronic impulses converts the calcium to water soluble, non-adherent calcium carbonate. If water is allowed to evaporate the dissolved calcium carbonate will be left behind. Although easily removed, this residue or spotting should be anticipated and cleaned before multiple layers accumulate.*This water conditioner is not in any way to be confused with a water softener or a reverse osmosis system. Customer Service is very important to us. We leave our offer open to the customer hoping we can resolve this issue.
Thank You,
H2o Concepts Management.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The system was sold to me as a "water softener" and their literature implies this.  Their literature and sales presentation is misleading.
I thought I was buying a water conditioning and softening system - I was mislead by the sales person and the sales literature they provided.
As far as the replacement system they offered, I priced the same system and found that I could purchase the water softener system they offered for around $2,300, far less that what they are saying it would cost.  I have a brochure and quote for the system proposed from a competitor.  I paid over $4700 for their system.

My last request was for them to simply remove the system from my house and refund my money.  It is obvious that the system is not performing as represented and they admit this by offering to replace it with a softening system.  However, they refused to refund my money but did offer to take their system out for "free".  This seems a bit unfair as they system did not do what they represented it to do (descaling), in fact, by solubolizing the calcium carbate, it makes scaling worst - which is why they now say to wipe the scale off of fixtures every 2-3 days.  Does this seem normal?  To have to wife all fixtures in the house down every 2-3 days?  Not to mention the landscaping irrigation system which is about 35% plugged.

I think it is reasonable to have them take the system out and refund my money.  The water treatemnt system is not working as advertized and they should accept responsibility for this to resolve this issue.

?

Regards,

******** *****

Business Response: I believe the customer is confused on the system because I have never seen the softener we offered retail for 2300.00 dollars or less. I would like to see the details of the quote so I can explain the differences in the softeners. Also again we completely explain that we are not a softener, as I explained on the agreement we have all customers read and initial this exact statement “This water conditioner is not in any way to be confused with a water softener or a reverse osmosis system”. The customer did initial it.  Many companies that sell water systems state that they do what we do, however we have a patent on our technology so it would be an infringement on our patent. If the customer would like to send us the details of the quote we will call and explain it. The customer can send it US mail, Email, or through you.
Thanks,                
H2O Concepts

2/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The salesman had told me I would not have issues with hard water spotting on my dishes or my new stainless steel appliances or around my faucets which I had installed only a few months prior or on my new enclosed all glass shower doors. This was the furthest from the truth I have had nothing but problems with the system doing all of these things plus white chunks of whatever was in the drinking water. I contacted H2O concepts and was told that those chunks won't hurt you. Regardless of what they said it was so gross to pour a glass of water and have white floaters. The hard water situation they sent a tech and manager out to look at the situation and they noticed the hard water stains on all of my appliances, sinks and shower and advised me to start using water and vinegar to clean with. As far as the white floaters they installed an RO to eliminate that situation. Still to this day I have hard water spots on the appliances and hard water build up on my faucets and shower doors. I was falsely communicated to by the salesman. The RO broke only after a few months and when I contacted the office I was informed that it past the 30 days and I would have to contact another company to come out and fix it. I spoke with the manager, Sherry and she too informed me the same. So I expressed to her I was still having the issue with the hard water spots and build up and she informed me that there is nothing they can do about that and that I should have read the small print in my owners manual which it spells out that their system will not eliminate the hard water spotting. If the salesman hadn't lied to me as those questions were asked of him directly because I already had a soft water system and didn't have that problem but I was looking to improve the water all the way around for drinking, cooking and showering. With this system it has dried out all of our skin and hair. I currently have to use special shampoo for my hair because of the time I have used this system it has dried my hair out and started using oil based lotions which still really don't help a lot. I have requested on a few occasions both in writing and verbally to have the system removed and be reimbursed with no resolution.

Desired Settlement: As I have requested on a few occasions I want the system removed and a complete refund due to falsely demonstrating a product that does not work as it was sold to me plus the damage that it has caused to me personally and to very expensive appliance and new shower doors and faucets.

Business Response: Tell us why here...

The first time the customer called and said they did not know what the floaties were in their water we explained to the customer when water freezes (Ice) the calcium will gather together and that is what floaties are. They are not bad they are a mineral. Customer did not want to see them so we told the customer an RO is what they want because minerals are removed. We don’t recommend RO water because they remove the good minerals. We did install one for the customer at no cost.  When the customer called back and said the rep said there won’t be any spotting I reminded the customer that even on the agreement it states “The AMP Force by using electronic impulses converts the calcium to water soluble, non-adherent calcium carbonate. If water is allowed to evaporate the dissolved calcium carbonate will be left behind. Although easily removed, this residue or spotting should be anticipated and cleaned before multiple layers accumulate.” We have all customers read and initial this statement. That way there is no “he say she say”. This Customer did initial it.  I was not able to speak to give suggestions on ways to help eliminate some of the spotting from showing up. We have helpful hints on our website that can help. They are just different things you can try because we don’t take out your healthy minerals and replace them with salt so you can still see them, however our helpful hints will help minimize them. If the customer wants to call us, we are willing to help.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Prior to this system being installed I did not have this issue and you would think with just hard water alone would cause the hard water spots but I wasn't having this issue before and as they mentioned in their response to maintain that the spot wouldn't be present to continually clean I do maintain a clean home and do wipe down on a regular basis but as the tech did note when he was here that the spot on the appliances and shower doors were present.  Each time after using the shower it is wiped down and spots still remain.  As I mentioned in my original complaint I was not given the manual until after they received my money and the system was delivered I bought the system based on what the salesman sold me on and none of the things he promised wouldn't happen are happening, then I would say in this situation I was falsely sold a system that I was told I would not have any problems with hard water spotting and the water would taste better than ever.  Every single person that came to my home and of us that live here said it was the worst tasting water and no one would drink the water because of the white floaters, I don't care how much H2O insist that they were good for you it was a major turn off.  

I still insist I want the system removed as I had asked of them in the beginning when I first noticed these issues within a month of the installation.  Yes they installed the RO system at no cost to appease me but it did not resolve the most important issues the water stains on my new appliances and shower doors.

Their response is not satisfactory the only thing I will accept is having the system removed and a complete refund as I had requested when I originally contacted them via in writing and phone.

Regards,

****** *********





Business Response:

Tried to call customer today 2-9-15 to talk over some options we have not heard back from the customer yet.

10/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable