Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Culligan Water Conditioning

Phone: (602) 264-3111 Fax: (602) 274-3633 5410 S. 28th Street, Phoenix, AZ 85040 http://www.culliganwater.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers water filtration, purification equipment and water softener services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Culligan Water Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Culligan Water Conditioning include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Culligan Water Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Culligan Water Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1952 Business started: 09/01/1939 in MN Business started locally: 10/01/1939
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC)
1700 W. Washington Street, Ste. 105, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azroc.gov
Phone Number: (602) 542-1525
Fax Number: (602) 542-1599

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Douglas R. Oberhamer, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas R. Oberhamer, General Manager
Business Category

Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Water Coolers - Equipment & Supplies Water Soft & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Water Companies - Bottled, Bulk


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Culligan Water Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5410 S. 28th Street

    Phoenix, AZ 85040 (602) 264-3111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon promoting product at our home, we were mislead by Sales informing about the availability of service to include a range in support that did not deliver once the product (RO System) began to leak 5 months into the purchase of the product. Also, it was explained during the Sales process, that the product will not leak, built to not leak, "shut itself off"; I was unable to get their people to my home. We were informed that we had an appointment after 3pm; then cancelling last minute if not available early. Later calling the emergency services line and being informed that someone will be out tomorrow which never happened, never even contacted that day. Trying to resolve the issue with ***/Manager who informed that this is their availability and they can only come out and service which contradicts the information at Sales. Then, informed unwilling to refund a portion of our fees which includes private Plumbers twice, to turn off RO system and to remove, replace pipe as a result of the installation. The job was described as at risk for further leaks if the pipe is not replaced related to holes drilled for RO system, described as "shotty." I tried resolving many time phone calls, email, local office, and corporate. Informed this is declined by ***/Manager today for refunding portion. I requested to make a formal grievance today at corporate and informed someone would call me today, did not happen.

Desired Settlement: Refund a portion of the fees to for purchasing the RO system which did not last very long, perhaps some of the private fees for removing product.

6/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TO DATE I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO OBTAIN A COPY OF THE OWNERS MANUAL FOR MY CULLIGAN SOFT WATER CONDITIONER MODEL SILVER SERIES # 01014278 -SERIAL # 0302 J 0029.
THEY TELL ME I HAVE TO OBTAIN A COPY FROM THEIR WEBSITE; PROBLEM IS I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO OBTAIN A COPY; OTHERS HAVE TRIED BUT ALSO FAILED.

Desired Settlement: IF THEY CARED ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS THEY WOULD MAKE UP A COPY AND MAIL IT TO ME WITHOUT FURTHER DELAY.

Business Response: Owner's guide was mailed out on 06/04/2014.

11/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a credit balance of $83.97 and Culligan was unable to credit my credit card. This credit appeared on a statement dated 08/31/13. They told me they would have to issue a check which would take a few weeks. I called back in September and was told the check would be cut on October 10, 2013. It is now October 19, 2013 and I still do not have a check. I can not figure out why they are holding this credit, and it is my opinion they should be subject to paying interest on any credit balance over 30 days. Your assistance with this issue is greatly appreciated.

Desired Settlement: Get my refund check plus some interest

Business Response: A refund check in the amount of $83.97 was issued at the begining of October 2013. The check was not cashed and we are considering it "lost". This check has been canceled.

A new check was issued on 10/21/2013 in the amount of $83.97. It will be delivered by mail this week.

8/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We discontinued bottled water service due to their inept billing practices including extra monthly charges and delays in posting current payments in a timely manner resulting in repeated requests by them to access our account for automatic EFT transfers. We cancelled service subsequent to paying our bill in full. After more than a month from the date we discontinued service, we received a delivery that they refused to pick-up, for which they said we would be charged. We were out of town during this most recent delivery that obviously came unexpectedly. After contacting various supervisors/managers and being treated rudely (e.g. being hung-up on), they said that they could not pick-up the water that is sitting outside of our front door for another three weeks. This will undoubtedly cause confusion for our new service provider as well as pose a security risk due to having six full bottles at our front door. Our request to have the erroneous delivery picked-up in a timely manner has been ignored and the fact that they mentioned we will ultimately be charged for the six five-gallon bottles they delivered regardless.

Desired Settlement: Termination of service/billing

Business Response:

Business Response:

******* ****** was under the impression water was not being delivered because his wife, ******* ****** called to terminate service. Mr. and Mrs. ****** did not contact Culligan to terminate service. Their water delivery service was temporarily suspended due to nonpayment. When Culligan received payment, water deliveries were reinstated.

 

*** ******, the Office Manager at Culligan Phoenix, spoke with ******* ****** on 07/25/2013 regarding the most recent water delivery. Mr. ****** was provided the following options after indicating he did not want to do business with Culligan:

 

·         Accept the water at no charge. Culligan would schedule a pick-up of the empty bottles on 08/08/2013. The extended date would allow Mr. ****** to use the free water.

·         Return the water at no charge. Culligan would schedule a pick-up of the full bottles on 07/29/2013.

 

Mr. ****** insisted someone from Culligan needed to, "drive here and pick up the bottles right now" and anything else was unacceptable. He declined both options and hung up the phone indicating he would be contacting local police.

Mr. & Mrs. ****** are still in possession of 6 Culligan bottles. When service was established, they signed an agreement accepting responsible for any Culligan property in their possession. Their account will be billed $10.00 for each bottle that is not returned.

6/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint:
I purchase a softner from this comany based on the service I received from the Culligan Water in *** *****. I had a previous water softner form *** ****r that did not seem to get the water soft enough and based on my experience from *** ***** I decided to purchase Culligan, the coast was 2,4995. That was in July 2007. This system kept running at night and would not stop, so I had them come out to check it and was told because it was after 3pm they would charge be overtime for the service, this was after I had taken time off work and no one showed the first time so this was a no schedule. The tech had already taken the unit apart so I had to call out another tech to put it back together cause I told him I was not paying overtime, they charged me 219 plus trip charge I protested and they took off trip charge. It was put back together but not fixed so I did not pay them. I call the corporate office eventually and they call this office. finally they came out in August and readjusted the backwash, and reprogram the time to regeneration but it never fixed the problem. I call the office in *** ***** and was told Cuilligan Softeners have issued with valve and piston something that was never divulge to me when I purchased. I had to have another company come out to fix it. I look back at the previous invoice and notice they did not itemize anything, I did not tell me why I was charge that amount. They had threaten collection and I did not want my credit missed up that is the main reason why I paid them but when I had more problem and check the invocie to see what they had done there was nothing. Just the charge amount

Business Response: An itemized invoice was sent to our customer. 

The cost of a service call is our actual costs plus a margin.  The margin we add to the cost supports our business the same necessary way as in any service business in industries such as appliances, automobiles, or heating and air conditioning.  The costs start with a trained technician that we pay a competitive wage and benefits.  Our technicians are trained, and our company pays for this training.  Our technician can diagnose the problem immediately, take equipment apart, install new parts, put the equipment back together, and get it operational again.  We maintain a parts inventory in our warehouse and on our service trucks.  There is a cost to this, and we've paid for the freight to ship the parts to us in ********  We also provide a 90-day parts and labor warranty.  Each service technician has tools.  Tools cost money, they break with use, and sometimes tools are lost and need to be replaced.  Our service trucks cost $.97 per mile to drive.  Our flat rate service call includes the cost to get the service vehicle and the service technician to the site.  We also have the cost of insurance and licenses necessary to be professional and a good corporate citizen:  fleet/auto coverage, workers' compensation, products liability, excess liability, property damage and so forth.  In summary, we have a top notch service department, our costs are reasonable, we are family-owned, we have been in business for over 65 years, and honesty is an essential component in everything we do.  We are sensitive to costs, and we constantly search for better ways.

Water is essential to life, and Arizona's water supply managers took visionary steps to build an intricate system of dams, canals, irrigation laterals, wells and underground storage systems to store and deliver a dependable water supply.  However, the water quality requires improvement for given uses, and it challenges water treatment equipment and water-using appliances daily, which results in the necessity of service, repair, and eventual replacement.  Culligan holds 274 active patents in water treatment worldwide, and Culligan products possess the industry's most advanced state-of-the-art features due to our franchisor's research and development and accredited analytical lab.  Water is our only business.  Rest assured we are concerned about costs, and that we work diligently to increase our operating efficiencies.