Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Culligan Water Conditioning

Phone: (602) 264-3111 Fax: (602) 274-3633 5410 S 28th St, Phoenix, AZ 85040 http://www.culliganwater.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides water filtration, purification equipment and water softener services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Culligan Water Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Culligan Water Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Culligan Water Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1952 Business started: 09/01/1939 in MN Business started locally: 10/01/1939
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC)
1700 W. Washington Street, Ste. 105, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azroc.gov
Phone Number: (602) 542-1525
Fax Number: (602) 542-1599

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Douglas R. Oberhamer, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Douglas R. Oberhamer, General Manager
Business Category

Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Water Coolers - Equipment & Supplies Water Softening & Conditioning Equipment Service & Supplies Water Companies - Bottled, Bulk


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Culligan Water Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5410 S 28th St

    Phoenix, AZ 85040 (602) 264-3111

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon promoting product at our home, we were mislead by Sales informing about the availability of service to include a range in support that did not deliver once the product (RO System) began to leak 5 months into the purchase of the product. Also, it was explained during the Sales process, that the product will not leak, built to not leak, "shut itself off"; I was unable to get their people to my home. We were informed that we had an appointment after 3pm; then cancelling last minute if not available early. Later calling the emergency services line and being informed that someone will be out tomorrow which never happened, never even contacted that day. Trying to resolve the issue with ***/Manager who informed that this is their availability and they can only come out and service which contradicts the information at Sales. Then, informed unwilling to refund a portion of our fees which includes private Plumbers twice, to turn off RO system and to remove, replace pipe as a result of the installation. The job was described as at risk for further leaks if the pipe is not replaced related to holes drilled for RO system, described as "shotty." I tried resolving many time phone calls, email, local office, and corporate. Informed this is declined by ***/Manager today for refunding portion. I requested to make a formal grievance today at corporate and informed someone would call me today, did not happen.

Desired Settlement: Refund a portion of the fees to for purchasing the RO system which did not last very long, perhaps some of the private fees for removing product.

6/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: TO DATE I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO OBTAIN A COPY OF THE OWNERS MANUAL FOR MY CULLIGAN SOFT WATER CONDITIONER MODEL SILVER SERIES # 01014278 -SERIAL # 0302 J 0029.
THEY TELL ME I HAVE TO OBTAIN A COPY FROM THEIR WEBSITE; PROBLEM IS I HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO OBTAIN A COPY; OTHERS HAVE TRIED BUT ALSO FAILED.

Desired Settlement: IF THEY CARED ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS THEY WOULD MAKE UP A COPY AND MAIL IT TO ME WITHOUT FURTHER DELAY.

Business Response: Owner's guide was mailed out on 06/04/2014.

11/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a credit balance of $83.97 and Culligan was unable to credit my credit card. This credit appeared on a statement dated 08/31/13. They told me they would have to issue a check which would take a few weeks. I called back in September and was told the check would be cut on October 10, 2013. It is now October 19, 2013 and I still do not have a check. I can not figure out why they are holding this credit, and it is my opinion they should be subject to paying interest on any credit balance over 30 days. Your assistance with this issue is greatly appreciated.

Desired Settlement: Get my refund check plus some interest

Business Response: A refund check in the amount of $83.97 was issued at the begining of October 2013. The check was not cashed and we are considering it "lost". This check has been canceled.

A new check was issued on 10/21/2013 in the amount of $83.97. It will be delivered by mail this week.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Culligan Water Conditioning
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart