BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona

BBB Accredited Business since

Bridgestone Firestone, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (480) 443-0606 Fax: (480) 443-0834 View Additional Phone Numbers 6707 E Main Street, Mesa, AZ 85205 http://www.firestonecompleteautocare.com View Additional Web Addresses

View BBB Rating for Bridgestone Firestone, Inc.'s headquarters.

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

According to information in BBB files this company operates a chain of more than 1,500 company-owned automotive tire and service stores throughout the United States.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bridgestone Firestone, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Bridgestone Firestone, Inc.. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Bridgestone Firestone, Inc..

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1971 Business started: 05/01/1960 in AZ Business started locally: 05/01/1990
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Fogelquist, District Manager Mr. Matthew Akao, Assistant District Manager Mr. Carl Gerhard, Assistant District Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Fogelquist, District Manager
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Retread & Repair Battery Supplies Tire Distributors & Manufacturers Manufacturers & Producers Battery Repairing & Rebuilding Shock Absorbers

Alternate Business Names
BFS Retail & Commercial Operations, LLC Expert Tire Firestone Commercial & Farm Stores Firestone Tire & Service Centers Gcr Tire Center Mark Morris Tire Tire Station

Additional Locations

  • 1023 S Gilbert Road

    Mesa, AZ 85204 (480) 497-1317

  • 10661 N 84th Avenue

    Peoria, AZ 85345 (623) 979-4529

  • 1120 E Baseline Rd

    Tempe, AZ 85283

  • 1124 Thunderbird Street

    Glendale, AZ 85307

  • 11541 W Bell Road

    Surprise, AZ 85378 (623) 974-6676

  • 1239 W Guadalupe Road

    Mesa, AZ 85202 (480) 831-7857

  • 12433 N Cave Creek Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85022 (602) 992-9360

  • 13802 N Scottsdale Road

    Scottsdale, AZ 85254 (480) 998-4840

  • 17038 W Bell Road

    Surprise, AZ 85374 (623) 544-0911

  • 1820 N Pebble Creek Pkwy

    Goodyear, AZ 85395

  • 1840 N Lindsay Rd

    Mesa, AZ 85213

  • 241 W Osborn Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85013 (602) 241-1893

  • 2858 W Peoria Avenue

    Phoenix, AZ 85029 (602) 866-1050

  • 302 W Van Buren Street

    Phoenix, AZ 85003 (602) 258-6427

  • 3424 W Bethany Home Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85017 (602) 973-1545

  • 3540 W Bell Road

    Glendale, AZ 85308 (602) 938-0211

  • 3638 E Thomas Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85018 (602) 955-2750

  • 5045 W Indian School Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85031 (623) 247-6861

  • 5125 W. Southern Avenue

    Laveen, AZ 85339

  • 5449 S Central Avenue

    Phoenix, AZ 85040 (602) 268-1421

  • 6707 E Main Street

    Mesa, AZ 85205 (480) 981-0540

  • 6944 W. Chandler Blvd.

    Chandler, AZ 85226

  • 70 E Guadalupe Road

    Gilbert, AZ 85234 (480) 545-3810

  • 731 E Union Hls Drive

    Phoenix, AZ 85024 (602) 992-3949

  • 7531 E Camelback Road

    Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (480) 994-5463

  • 8301 W Indian School Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85037 (623) 849-8738

  • 922 S Val Vista Drive

    Gilbert, AZ 85296 (480) 633-9870

  • 9970 W Lower Buckeye Road

    Tolleson, AZ 85353

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Retail Operations333 East Lake Street

    Bloomingdale, IL 60108

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (480) 981-0540(Phone)
  • (615) 872-5000(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the technician replaced my battery, he spilled battery acid on the paint and it has subsequently bubbled and is now peeling. I need for Firestone Auto Care Complete (Lakes) to pay for the damages. I have a receipt acknowledging that Firestone spilled the batter acid on my front right bumper. I will be taking my vehicle to a Chevy dealer for repair and seeking Firestone to pay for this expense that they are responsible for... If not, I will obtain/secure an attorney to proceed on my behalf. Tyra Simpson

Desired Settlement: Pay my Chevrolet dealer associated costs to paint my front bumper in its entirety!

Business Response: The issue was turned over to our internal Claims Department.  After an inspection/confirmation was completed, the vehicle was repaired.  This issue with the customer has been resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 19, 2012, I went to this company to have a flat fire fixed on the front right of my ****** ****** ***. The tire was not able to be repaired, so I purchased a tire for $129.26. About three months later I had another flat on the front left side of the car. I went to Pep Boys to get a new tire. They said the tire sold to me by Firestone was an "H" rated tire, while all the other tires were "T" rated. They said the tire types should not be mixed. I called Toyota's service department and they said that was correct - tire types should not be mixed. I ended up having to replace the Firestone tire with a new "T" rated tire from Pep Boys. Now I am left with an unusable tire that was only on the car for 3 months. I think that Firestone, as tire specialists, should know that "T" and "H" rated tires should not be mixed. They should not have sold me a tire that did not match the other tires on the car. I called the company on Feb. 5 to complain. I was told that the matter would be investigated and someone would call me back. No one has called back.

Desired Settlement: I would like either a refund or a replacement tire with a "T" rating.

Business Response: I spoke with the customer on 2/11/13 at approximately 4pm.  I got some additional information from him regarding which location he visited.  After doing some research on the tire that was purchased versus the original equipment tires, I found that the replcaement tire purchased from Firestone met/exceeded the other tires load rating and speed rating.  I educated the customer on load/speed ratings and assured him that mixing tire ratings was acceptable as long as the replacing tire met or exceed the manufacturer's ratings.  In this case the tire does exceed those ratings and is, therefore, okay to have on the vehicle with the other 3 tires.
****** ******* 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Firestone will not honor an **** **** ******* card that I purchased even though the Firestone manager at the ***e said he would honor it and an amendment when I had called Firestone to verify prior to purchase. The details are:- on July 22, 2011, **** from ********* ********** came to my door selling **** **** ******* cards to the Firestone location down the street; the cards cost $80, included various auto services and discounts, and, as printed on the card, valid for one year.- **** offered to amend the card and wrote "good for 2 years" and initialed.- I called Firestone and talked to the manager, ****, who confirmed that the cards were valid and committed that FIRESTONE WOULD HONOR THE TWO YEAR amendment that **** made.- I then purchased two cards in good faith, as I believed that ****, as manager, was REPRESENTING FIRESTONE WHEN HE AGREED TO HONOR THE CARDS FOR TWO YEARS and that I and my family have been a customer at this location for 18 years; I would not have purchased the cards if ****, representing Firestone, had not committed to honoring them for the two years rather than just one.- In December 2012, the new manager, ***, told me that Firestone would not honor the **** **** ******* cards for two years, despite the previous manager **** committing to this in July 2011, so now my **** **** ******* cards are now worthless after 1.5 years.- *** also told me,in justifying why he would no longer honor the cards, that the former manager, ****, has been fired for committing to honor the cards; my point is that THE PREVIOUS MANAGER, ****, REPRESENTED FIRESTONE WHEN HE COMMITTED TO HONOR THE CARDS FOR TWO YEARS, AND THIS BINDS THE CURRENT MANAGER, ***, TO CONTINUE TO HONOR THE CARDS FOR TWO YEARS.- I called ********* ********** in December 2012 and **** has not returned my call; I spoke again to ***, current Firestone manager, in early January and he said he would speak to his manager about the situation, but I have not heard back from ***.

Desired Settlement: Firestone should continue honoring the **** **** ******* cards for two years, as the manager **** who was representing Firestone, had committed to prior to me purchasing the cards.

Business Response: This complaint was originally received through our internal complaint department in December 2012.  The customer was contacted by a member of our district office and the issue with these discount cards was thoroughly explained.   Even though the discount cards were not sold by Firestone, in an effort to take care of a valued customer a resolution was made to buy back the customer's second/unused discount card for the full $80.  The customer accepted the offer and was supposed to return to the store to complete the transaction.  Since that ****, the store has made numerous attempts to reach the customer, but the customer has not returned any calls or come in to the store.  The offer that was agreed to in December is still availble to the customer.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I have gone to Firestone and the matter is satisfactorily resolved as mentioned in their letter.  However, contrary to what Firestone stated in the letter, no one from the district office or anywhere else in Firestone had contacted me since I had first approached them.  Apparently they were confusing me with another customer who had also complained about the same issue.

Thank you for your assistance.

regards,

***** *****


 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family and I are relocating due to a job offer in **********. As part of our relocation package we planned on having our vehicles shipped. As we preped the cats for ahipping I noticed my ***** **** battery terminals looked old. I drove the car down to Firestone on Arizona Ave to have the terminals replaced and flhids topped off. I gave the Firestone shop 3 days to do any needes work they might have discovered along the way. They found nothing wrong with the car and replaced the terminals as requested. When I arrived to pick up the car it would not start. I asked them what the problem was and they said they had no idea. I asked to give me a jump start to see if the engine would turn over and they refused. I asked them to help me get the car started so I could drive it to a Mazda dealership. They refused once again saying that "they don't want any further liability on the engine". I asked the manager what that meant exactly and said I'm not going to work on the car anymore. I am now towing the car to the Mazda dealership for a full review of the engine. I also plan to tell my story to local media , Twitter, Facebook and multiple blogging sites. I intend on calling a lawyer and finish talks with the attorney general in AZ. Sorry for any typos as this message was sent from my phone.

Desired Settlement: I just wanted the car to eun like it was running. This Firestone could not replace battery terminals without breaking my engine. Its an outrage.

Business Response: I spoke with the customer on 1/8/13 at approximately 5 pm.  After the customer told me what happened and where, I apologized for the poor service he received and explained to him that the location he visited is NOT a Firestone Complete Auto Care.  I believe the store where the customer received service is an independent repair facility and not one of our corporate stores.  The customer understands that we are unable to assist with this complaint.  This complaint needs to be removed from our file and assigned to the appropriate facility. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came to Firestone because my "Check Engine" light was on, and I needed to get my car emissions tested, so I explained that I wanted work to be done that would fix that code. They ran the code on my car and told me that I would need to have the thermostat replaced for $250. I waited for about 2 hours, and then they came in and told me that it wasn't the thermostat; it was actually the water pump that would need to be replaced, and it would be an additional $96.00 from the initial price quoted. I said that was fine because I thought that they were honest people and were knowledgeable in their line of work. However, the "Check Engine" light came back on the next day, so I went to a reputable mechanic. He ran the code on my car and said that the thermostat would need to replaced. He also told me that replacing the water pump never would have fixed the problem because my car would have been running hot, but when he checked the temperature it was actually lower than it should have been. The code was PO 128. The work that Firestone completed was unnecessary, and I will never trust them with my car again.

Desired Settlement: I would like part of the $350 that I spent on work to be refunded since it was unnecessary in the first place. The water pump was replaced because I had the reputable mechanic check, so I am not requesting a return for the cost of that part ($127.99) but I would like the labor charges of $199.50 to be refunded.

Business Response: This issue has already been resolved with the customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 3/26/12 I took my car in for repair(would not start) They pulled a spark plug to check it, but broke it off in the head and said they cant fix that and should go to an engine shop to get fixed. Cost $250 to $1200 depending on what needs to be done. Gene the manager said its not their responsibility. this is our only car and we are on a fixed income. this is no way to treat seniors.Firestone should fix their mistake

Desired Settlement: fix the broken plug and anything else needed to get the car running again

Business Response: We have already received communication from this customer regarding this issue.  This complaint has been turned over to our Claims Dept for review/inspection.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service