Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Walt's TV, Inc.

Phone: (480) 968-4999 Fax: (480) 967-1244 View Additional Phone Numbers 1746 W Ruby Dr Ste 104, Tempe, AZ 85284 http://www.walts.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides televisions and repairs. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Walt's TV, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Walt's TV, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Walt's TV, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1958 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1958 Business incorporated 03/20/1970 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC)
1700 W. Washington Street, Ste. 105, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azroc.gov
Phone Number: (602) 542-1525
Fax Number: (602) 542-1599

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Hendley, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Hendley, Owner
Business Category

Television & Radio - Dealers Audio-Visual Consultants Television & Radio - Service & Repair Video Equipment - Service & Repair Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite Home Automation Audio-Visual Equipment - Dealers Home Theater

Alternate Business Names
Hendley Communications

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Walt's TV, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1746 W Ruby Dr Ste 104

    Tempe, AZ 85284 (480) 968-4999

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the 55EC9300 on Jan. 23. 2015, from Walt's TV (****** link) for $2999. It arrived on Jan. 31. 2015. I calibrated it using **** ******'s settings (pogomix dot net). The picture quality was the best I've ever seen on any TV. As others here have stated, the picture is amazing! On Feb. 16. 2015 a horizontal band appeared, approx. 6 inches wide, near the top of the picture, from right to left, a little more than halfway across the screen. I turned everything off and then back on and the screen was dark. I contacted LG by phone on Feb. 17th. After listening to the recorded prompts I selected the help with your TV option. Judging by the heavy accents of the reps I was talking to a non-American call center. I started the conversation with the first rep (and the other LG reps) by stating that I owned a 55EC9300, OLED TV and that the picture was not working and the remote was not functioning except for the on/off button. It became obvious that the reps were reading scripted responses as their questions and directions were ignorant to the information I gave each and every one at the beginning of the conversations. For example... LG rep: please push the "input" button on your remote and tell me what source is selected. Me: uh, as I stated, the remote is not working except for the on/off button. LG rep: please push the "input" button on the back of your TV. Me: this is a 55EC9300 OLED TV, there are NO buttons on the back of the TV! After over 20 minutes of the above and numerous holds, the third LG rep told me to hold again and disconnected me. I called back and and asked the LG rep that answered this time to give me their top tier support or schedule a TV tech to visit my home. After another hold she told me a TV tech would be scheduled for Friday, Feb. 20th, AM. Before I hung up with her I asked for the company name of the TV service they would be sending and she informed me it was ********* **. Not feeling real confident about my experience with LG so far, I looked up and contacted ********* ** myself about an hour later. They told me that they hadn't heard from LG yet but took all my information and said someone would contact me with a window when they would be at my house. Heard from Precision on Thurs. Feb. 19th and the window was for Fri. Feb. 20th between 1 and 3 pm. Precision made it to my home at approx. 2pm Fri. and examined my TV. The tech said he would call LG for a replacement TV. After approx. 20 minutes on the phone (LG never answered) the tech gave up. He stated if I didn't hear anything from LG by this afternoon (Sat. Feb. 21) to contact them (Precision). I did tell the Precision tech that I would accept a NEW replacement or a full refund but not a repair of 2.5 week old TV. So, I have a non-functiong $3000 TV sitting in my living room with no resolution from LG or Walt's TV in place as of today (Feb. 21). --------------------------------------------- UPDATED Feb. 23. 2015 Spoke with ********* ** this AM and was told LG will not replace the defective 55EC9300. LG instructed ********* ** to order and replace the "main board" and see if that resolves the problem. If it doesn't LG instructed ********* ** to then order and replace the entire panel. I then called LG (tell the call center in India when they answer you want to talk to "executive services") and talked with someone actually in the United States. She informed me that LG would not replace the defective TV because I did not purchase it from LG and that they are ONLY responsible for the service warranty. I then called Walt's TV, the retailer who I actually paid the $3000 to for the defective TV. Walt's told me they are only the dealer and not responsible for any warranty and will not replace the TV or refund my money to me. At this point (7 days now after it died), no one has positively identified why the TV is defective or what needs to happen to fix it. So, I paid $3000.00 for a new OLED TV and I'm going to end up with a $3000.00 "refurbished" OLED TV. If I wanted a refurbished or used TV I would have bought this TV for a lot less (****** links... 22 used & new from $2,395.00) than the NEW price of $3000.00. It appears neither LG or Walt's TV is going to step up and make this right (refund my money or replace the defective TV).

Desired Settlement: Replacement or refund of the money I paid them for a brand new product that was defective.

Business Response: Walts is investigating this further with LG.  We do require the customer to attempt repair before we consider exchange or return. I will follow up on this case Monday.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Walt's TV sold me a "brand new" $3000.00 TV that was defective within 16 days of purchase. A "refurbished" (repaired) TV is not an acceptable resolution for a new TV that is defective. Replacement of the TV or refund is the only acceptable resolution from the retailer who took my money. You can read my review and subsequent comments on ****** (LG 55EC9300 3D OLED TV) about this experience with this retailer and LG. I'm going to update the review later today with the current status and a resolution from LG.

Regards,
*** ******

Business Response: I talked with Mr. ****** via telephone.

He informed me that LG Electronics exchanged his defective TV in lieu of repair. At this point Mr. ****** was satisfied with his new TV. Mr. ****** did not ask for any further assistance in this matter. We hope this matter can be closed at this time.

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an 84 inch LG TV from Walt's, they debited $8,148,00 from my bank, two weeks later a nonfunctioning 84 inch TV was delivered.I had paid for the white glove delivery and was excited when they delivered my TV. The courier stated that it may damage the TV (Damage my $8,000 TV-no!!) if it was turned on before it warmed up to near room temperature. They adamantly informed me that if the temperature was below 51 degrees F (and it was in the low 30's that morning) They were not allowed to turn on the TV and if I did it may damage it and that would be my fault. So I did not want to damage my TV nor did I want to do anything that might void my warranty and make me culpable for that damage. So I did what any responsible professional would do - I waited about 2 hours and then plugged it in. Guess what? I had no viewable picture. Just lines!I read all the instructions and closely scrutinized the startup procedure. No picture. I called Walt's TV, spoke with Orlando informing him what happened. He immediately blamed me for signing for the received TV before I had turned it on. Repeating "I told you to test it out before signing for it. HE DID NOT say anything that could remotely be interpreted as that!! I would have called him immediately upon delivery if he had. He blamed me!! He also blamed the courier, stating that they lied to me as a ploy to not take responsibility for that damaged product. He essentially said that the courier knew that they had damaged the TV and they just wanted to con me. I have been coned all right but by Walt's TV not the couriers trying to do their job. Orlando @ Walt's TV did assure me that when the defective TV was picked up (Walt's did arrange this) Walts would send a new 84 inch TV. The defective TV was picked up; I called Walts, Orlando said that he must wait to actually receive the defective TV. I sent Orlando many pictures of everything: the front and back of the TV, the lines on the screen, all side of the box, as asked. They have my $8,148.00; I have no TV

Desired Settlement: They have had my $8,148.00 I paid for the TV [LG ******** 84" 4K Ultra HD TV with 2160p, 240Hz, WebOS, 3D, LED] since 2/09/15. They first said that as soon as confirmation of the defective TV returning was verified they would send out my replacement the next day. They have reneged on that now stating that they must receive it first. They blame me and the courier for the bad weather conditions in February! They should immediately refund ALL my money! Or immediately ship me the above TV.

3/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I CALLED THEM TO HAVE MY TV REPAIRED. THEY TOLD ME IT WOULD BE $100 FOR THE CALL BUT THE TECHNICIAN WOULD REPAIR IT AND THE $100 WOULD APPLY. INSTEAD OF THAT THEY SENT OUT A TRUCK TO PICK IT UP--NOT A TECHNICIAN WHO TOLD ME IT WOULD COST BETWEEN $500 AND $600; I KNEW THAT WAS NOT CORRECT SO I CALLED LG (THE BRAND OF THE TV). THEY TOLD ME TO PRESS A CERTAIN BUTTON. THAT WORKED INSTANTLY (FOR FREE). ON TOP OF THAT THE DRIVER MOVED MY FURNITURE AND DIDN'T REPLACE IT. NOW I HAVE TO CALL MY HANDYMAN (FOR $50-$60) TO REPLACE MY FURNITURE. I PAID $150 FOR NOTHING AND WAS DECEIVED

Business Response:     Mr. **** is correct in expressing their concern. I appreciate all feedback positive or negative. We do have measures in place to prevent repairs when they are not needed.

In this particular case the front line technician that was in the home failed to check the vacation switch. So based on that the estimate was given. The way our repair process works is not always perfect and things like this do happen from time to time. When the TV would have started the repair process in the shop the Master Technician would have found that the switch was turned off and the customer would not have been charged for the repair. This does happen a few times a year and we do not have any issues just returning the TV and admitting that a mistake was made in the home. While it would be best to send a Master Technician to all homes all the time it would just cost too much for the consumer and more often then not is not needed since over 90% of the time the first estimate is correct. And of those 10% that are incorrect they are split evenly with 1/2 being too low and the other half being too high.
Not even 1 in a hundred that make it to the shop have no real problem beyond a setting.

   I am not sure what the customer would like us to do to resolve this complaint as it was not listed in the complaint.

I will await your response.
 

Consumer Response:


I was not told that it would be truck driver who came to my house.  I expected a technician who would repair it on the spot.  I am willing to absorb the handyman's fee of $50, but I think a reputable company would refund the $100 for deceiving a customer.

Business Response: We would be willing to give the customer a full refund.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on Walt's TV, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart