BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is an nationally accredited institution offering degree and diploma training programs in pharmacy technician, medical assisting, dental assisting, massage therapy phlebotomy technician and health information.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Arizona College meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Arizona College include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Arizona College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 04, 1991 Business started: 09/01/1990 in MO Business started locally: 09/01/1990 Business incorporated: 04/09/1994 in MO
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Commission for Post Secondary Education
2020 N Central Ave, #650, Phoenix AZ 85004-4503
http://azppse.state.az.us/contact_form.asp
Phone Number: 602.258.2435
Fax Number: 602.258.2483

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nick J. Mansour III, President and CEO Ms. Alyssa Campos, HR Coordinator Mr. Greg O'Coyne, Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Alyssa Campos, HR Coordinator
Principal: Mr. Nick J. Mansour III, President and CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Greg O'Coyne, Controller
Business Category

Schools - Business & Vocational Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
Eduvision, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Arizona College has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 163 N. Dobson Road

    Mesa, AZ 85201

  • 4425 W. Olive Avenue #300

    Glendale, AZ 85302 (602) 222-9300

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Arizona College has taken money from myself and my financial aid and they are not willing to work with me to get the issue resolved. I was terminated by Arizona College due to my health. Then they would not refund the money they took from my financial aid claiming I finished 70% which is false. I was then told I would not receive my diploma because the president was upset that I filed a complaint against the school.

Desired Settlement: I want all monies paid to the school out of pocket and with loans that are due to me.

Business Response: Ms. *******;

We understand that you are unhappy with us at this time

Regarding the your complaint:

1. You were terminated twice by two different externship sites.  The first became upset and terminated you (along with another completely innocent student) from the site after you told the site that our externship coordinator was coming to see how dirty the site was.  You did this after you were told not to discuss the visit with the site, and in addition, mischaracterized the visit.  The second externship site terminated you due to your attendance and performance issues.  Please let us know if you would like more
details on the reasons both of these sites asked you not to return.

2.We have followed the US Department of Education’s refund policies regarding your student loans and grants.  The first time you were terminated, it happened at the end of the seventh week of a ten-week quarter, so you had completed 70%.  Money owed to Arizona College was refunded in accordance with Arizona College refund policies.  You acknowledged the refund policies in several places at the time of your enrollment.  Please let us know if you would like copies of these policies with your signatures.

3. Since you have not completed the program, you have not earned a diploma. Accordingly, there is no diploma to send. Your complaint has no impact on
whether you receive a diploma.

4. We have attempted to resolve this with you for several months.  You were instructed to meet with Mr. ******, the Mesa Campus Director, and you have refused to meet with him. Mr. *******, the President, attempted to find a time to meet with you to resolve this. For a period of over three weeks, you were unable to meet with him.

We understand your frustration, but we feel as a College we have made every attempt to allow you to complete your program and externship.   Nonetheless, you owe Arizona College $1,283.25 (in addition to your loans with the US Government) and we are willing to reduce your balance by half at this time in order to resolve this issue. Please let us know if this is acceptable to resolve this matter.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am not satisfied because nothing has been resolved.  Mr. ******* told me he should have listened to the other staff when they told him not to give me a second chance.  He spoke to me in a very unprofessional manner on different occasions.  I did not feel comfortable meeting with either Mr. ******* or Mr. ****** with out representation.  I was terminated from my first extern because I was subjected to an unhealthy environment.  I asked ******** ********* the person in charge of career services if it was possible to be moved to a different site because I started having trouble breathing due to Asthma.  She informed me that every office I go to will be dirty and that it was just allergy season, but oddly enough the second extern site was clean and I had no health issues.  I started my extern on 12/2/13 and missed 12/5/13 due to complications of  Asthma caused by the unhealthy enviroment.  That same day I received a call from Mr. ******, ******** ******* an instructor, and Ms. *********.  During this call Mr. ****** said they would not give me what I wanted.  All I wanted was to be in a healthy workplace where I could learn and succeed.  At this point I realized they had no concern for my education, health and wellbeing nor empathy toward my situation.  I was having trouble breathing during the phone call.  I informed them of that but that did not deter them.  Ms. ******* made false claims on the phone about going into the office and not noticing any dust but according to ********* Ms. ******* was not allowed past the front office.  Ms. ******* has been telling other students about my financial situation and the reasons why I have been terminated which is a violation of my student privacy.  My father Wendell ******* and I met with Mr. ******* and Mr. ****** about the termination.  They told us I was being terminated for telling school business.  I am still unsure what school business I told.  I was also told I violated an unwritten policy stating I was unable to talk to the site about my health concern.  We received a phone call from Mr. ******* later that day stating that he spoke to *********, the supervisor of the site.  He told us she kept saying was ******** is a liar.  He also said her character  came into question.  The day I was terminated 12/6/13, I had spoke to *********.  She assured me it had nothing to do with me or the "completely innocent student" who was also having trouble at the site.  ********* told me that the business was tired of the school interfering.  I also did not complete 70% because I did not start until 12/2/13.  I was out of school on 11/22/13 and the week of 11/25/13-11/29/13.  I paid out of pocket and never received a refund for that.  After anguish and loss a wages I feel I should be compensated. 
       
I was granted a second extern at a different site.  I was put into another situation to fail.  The site I was sent to was under the impression that I was  a pharmacy tech student.  Once I told them I was a billing and coding intern I had been bounced around because the billing department did not have work for me.  I again made a phone call to ******** on the second week and she assured me everything was ok.  I took it upon myself to ask different departments within the office if I could help with any work.  At one point I was building IV poles and taking trash to the dumpsters. I was not on a particular schedule but the  billing manager and I agreed to a time.  I made sure I still went in everyday enthusiastic and energetic.  I completed four weeks and was terminated.  Mr. ******* told me during one of our many conversations that he would make sure I would not get my diploma.  I fought to succeed with an institution that has not nor will not accept any wrong doing.


Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: Ms. *******,

As previously stated in our original response, the events that led up to each of your terminations were documented and verified by your instructors, program director, campus director, career services coordinator as well as your externship sites. The events as you have detailed are not at all accurate.

At this time we are willing to write off the remaining balance you owe to the school of $1,484.25 in order to close this matter. We feel that this is more than sufficient and it is our final offer. There is nothing more that we can offer at this time.  Please contact us if this is acceptable and we will finalize the write off.

We wish you the best and we’re sorry that things didn’t work for you at Arizona College.

Best Regards,

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/10/2011 Billing/Collection Issues