Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Western International University?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers business educational programs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Western International University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Western International University include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Western International University
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 01, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1978 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1978 Business incorporated: 12/05/1995 in AZ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tamirra Hoye, University Relations Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tamirra Hoye, University Relations Administrator
Related Businesses
University of Phoenix Apollo Education Corporation
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
Western International University Online Western International University, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Western International University has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1601 West Fountainhead Parkway

    Tempe, AZ 85282 (602) 943-2311 (866) 948-4636

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 822-1319(Phone)
  • (866) 948-4636(Phone)
  • (520) 459-7571 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called and written to Western International University on numerous occasion without any response from them. I had to re-take Corporate Finance for the third time because I was having difficulty and was advised that withdrawal would be a good option and to take it again, which I did. This last time they suggested the independent study and that since I had already paid for it I would not have a charge so I agreed. I spoke with the school several times prior to starting and right at the beginning when they called and made it very clear each time that if I had to pay for the class I could not proceed at this time. Every single person I spoke with I told the same thing, but was assured that it was not a problem. I finished the class in October and now, I get a bill stating that I owe$1,890.00. Not only was I under the impression that this class was basically already paid for, but instead of the normal $1,050.00 they usually charge they send me a bill for $1,890 something I was never advised of. This last class I took was an independent study class, I drove to their ***** campus having to leave work early to be there by 4:00, I then spent at most 1/2 and hour there to sign in and the instructor to ask if I or the other student has any questions. I never did so I would then leave. I did everything on my own and now they want to charge me for the time and hold back my diploma in the process. I spoke with several student advisors who recommended that I file with the office of disputes, which I did several times to no avail far back as 10/24/14. They told me I should include all the information that I told them. It made me think that this isn't the first time that this school has tried this under handed practice. I have attended WIU for many years and have close to $95,000 in school loans. I never agreed to pay for this class and made that perfectly clear every time I spoke to WIU before and after the class was started letting them know that at this time if I had to pay that it would need to be put off to another time. They seemed to be understanding and so I stayed in the class only to have this dropped in my lap the moment I finished. There does not seem to be anyone willing to accept accountability for this error and I am sill being billed and still have no diploma. So now WIU is withholding my diploma. This was a very deceptive process and shame on me for trusting in the school not to provide false information just to get a student to sign up. I had one phone call on speaker phone and my husband heard the entire conversation and was under the same impression as I was. It is bad enough that I feel the school was less than honest with me, but to present this utterly ridiculous amount when I was basically teaching myself , has left me astonished to say the least. I cannot find anyone to now come forward and acknowledge what was done. I would have thought everything was being kept in the notes each time I spoke to the finance department. What I would like to see happen is for the school to own what they have done and give me my diploma and to never do this to anyone else. Unfortunately, I have my doubts on whether this is going to happen. I will await your decision, and request all records in regards to this class that were held by Western International along with correspondence being forwarded to me for review. I would appreciate if someone could assist me with this issue in order to settle it in an amicable fashion.

Desired Settlement: This $1,890.00 needs to be adjusted off as I had no idea they would be charging this to me based on multiple conversations with the school. They have already been paid for this class several times by my school loans and I feel that they are not only taking advantage of me, but of the system.

Business Response: RE: ********* *** ********

To Whom It May Concern: 

Thank you for your follow-up message. The University of Phoenix has reviewed this complaint submitted by *** ******** and responded directly to the complainant.

 
Due to privacy laws the University of Phoenix cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.

If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant.

Best regards,

******* ****
University Relations Administrator

University of Phoenix|Office of Dispute Management  Mailing address: **** ** ********** *******  *  **** ***** ******* *  ******** ** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ********
 

9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The degree I received seems to be invalid. The money spent by the government through my federal loan was a poor decision on the part of the goverment to fund the education at this institution for me. While the help was appreciated the money was spent on an education that shouldve helped me obtain a good job to pay the loan back; however, no job recognizes the degree I received. I cannot get a government job either and with a degree in crminal justice I should have had multiple options. Im unable to pay the loan back, because i work part time at a grocery story, with a bachelors degree. Unfortunately, the government won't hire me either because they do not accept the education that they paid for and will end up eating the loss of money they gave to a supposedly accredited university. To summarize the expense inncured did not provide the respectable education it should have, class fees were exuberant and now the university does not exist. My goal is to prevent future enrollees to this school and its affiliate school, the university of Phoenix and hope our government does resesrch before they loan money to citizens that are being defrauded. A complaint for the university of phoenix will be posted to because they are affiliated with western international university.

Desired Settlement: Beside providing information on the univeristy id like my federal loans discharged.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****,
 
Thank you for your follow-up message. The University of Phoenix has reviewed this complaint and responded directly to the complainant via **** mail. Due to privacy laws the University of Phoenix cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.
 
If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant.
 
Best regards,
 
 
**** *****
University Relations Specialist
 
University of Phoenix  
Office of Dispute Management 
**** ** ********** ******** ******** ** *****
Mail Stop:  C** ****

7/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About ten years ago I was a student in Western International University's online classes. I only took a few classes, and paid mostly cash (some student loan). The classes were paid for upfront. At the end of the semester, I stopped enrolling in classes. I started receiving calls that I owed them 1800$ (I can't remember the exact amount, but it's close to that). I knew I hadn't because I paid for all my classes up front. They were trying to charge me for classes I never took. I have fought them for years (several phone calls and emails to various employees of the University). They have never provided proof that I enrolled or even attended these classes that they're trying to charge me for. They simply have very rude people calling and threatening me if I don't pay them. I am going back to college, and I want credit for classes I've taken in my life. They put a hold on my records due to them believing I owe them money.

Desired Settlement: I want the financial hold dropped, and I want my transcripts for free.

Business Response: RE: BBB Complaint # ********
 
Dear Ms. ******,
 
The University of Phoenix has reviewed this complaint and responded directly to the complainant via **** mail. Due to privacy laws the University of Phoenix cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.
 
If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant.
 
Best regards,
 
 
***** ****
Dispute Operations & Title IX Administrator
 
University of Phoenix  
Office of Dispute Management 
**** ** ********** ******** ******** ** *****
Mailstop: *******
Phone: ************  Fax: ************  
**********************
 

1/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) A few years ago I transferred from WIU's sister school, * ** *, to WIU. After I transferred the Enrollment Counselor told me that they did not accept many of the classes from their sister school and I would have to re-take the past year and a half of classes. 2) After taking 1 and a half classes, and making dozens of phone calls, I was told that my Financial Advisor was no longer with WIU and that she had never submitted the forms for my student loan. I had to drop the class I was currently taking and was not allowed to take any further classes unless I paid $1100 for the class I had taken. After several calls the head of the Finance Department said that they would remove the debt, since it was their fault. Now, several years later, I have received a letter from a collection agency demanding $1425 immediately, or I will be faced with legal action on behalf of WIU.

Desired Settlement: I want this debt erased once and for all and my credit report cleared.

Business Response: RE: *******- Mr. **********
 
 
Dear Ms. *******:
 
 
Thank you for your follow-up message. The ********** ** ******* has reviewed this complaint submitted by Mr. ********** and responded directly to the complainant.
 
Due to privacy laws the ********** ** ******* cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.
 
If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant.
 
Best regards,
 
******* ****, MBA/HCM, University Relations Administrator
********** ** *******  |  Office of Dispute Management
******* ******** **** ** ********** *******  *  **** ***** *******  *  ******** ** ***** ****** *************  **** ************  *  ****** ************************
 Think Green:  Please consider the environment before printing this message

Business Response: December 17, 2013

*** **********
**** ** ****** ***  ******** ** *****
Re: Better Business Bureau Inquiry
Dear Mr. **********,
In response to a notification received on December 9, 2012 I  would  like to address the statements presented regarding your request to dispute the outstanding balance of $1,425.00.  In the review of your account,1 found you enrolled with western International University  in January 2010, and selected Financial Aid and Corporate Reimbursement as your primary pavment options.  l have confirmed that the balance due of $1.,425.00 was referred to an outside collection agency on October 10, 2010,
According to your payment option, vou were in another loan period  with ********** ** ******* and could not begin receiving financial assistance with  West until after July 1, 2010. You began your first course, *******, in March 2010 and there was a payment made for this completed course on May 4, 2010 in the amount  of $1,170.00. You began your second course 11'•318 in the amount of $1,425.00 on May 6, 2010.  This course would also not be covered with financial aid because yew were not eligible until after July 1,2010. West did not receive a payment  for your completed ***** course which an A grade was received.
Records indicate that you spoke with a Finance manager on June 23,2010 and you were advised that you could begin completing the necessary paperwork in order to start the certification process of your loan,  In July 2.010 West contacted you to request additional documentation. However on August 11, 2010 you called in to advise that you wanted to officially withdraw from the West as you could complete your degree
program with the **********  ** ******* In a year's timeframe. Based upon this information we maintain the validity of your balance due of $1,425.00.
If you would like to resolve this balance now, please contact Financial Management Services at ************.. We regret any confusion you may have experienced and appredate you giving us the opportunity to assist you.  Please be advised that we will be unable to forward a copy of this fetter to the Better Business Bureau unless we receive a signed copy of the enclosed ***** Release Form. Once received,the University will copy the BBB on this reply, P!e:ase keep in mld that vou may forward a copy of this letter  to the BBB if you pr  fer.
Best Wishes,
**** ******,  Associate Director of financial Operations
Western international University
**** ** ************ ******** ***** ** ***** ** ************ * ************ * *******************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

*** **********


 

 

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was placed on academic dismissal in January 2012 from Western International University. I was required to remain out of attendance for one year before I could return. When I returned in May 2013 I had to do a Student Appeal to return to the University and another appeal to stay in my current program since my program was on hold. Upon my return I was advised that I had three courses to bring my GPA to a 3.0 and that I needed to work closely with the academic counseling team during the three-course return period. I began with a retake course LDR625 which I originally received a C- in the course. During the course I experienced some difficulties with the pace and workload. I contacted the academic team in the course from what I was advised when I attempted to withdraw from the course in week five I was told that even if I withdrew from the course, I would still get a grade and to see if the instructor would work with me. I attempted as such and the instructor stated that he would not. I spoke to a different advisor and was told that the better of the two grades would remain. So I proceed with the course and the D+ remained and was calculated into my GPA making it lower. I called in and spoke to ***** ****** and was told that the newest grade would be used. I was then told that I needed to do another retake so I retook ORG610 and I received an A. Before I completed the course in August I reached out to the Academic team and was advised that for my third class I needed to take ORG620 in September since my program was on hold and it was one of the last three course in my program. I was told the class was not on the calendar for future offerings. I asked how that would impact me? I was passed to a young lady I named **** and she advised me that I would need to file an appeal, to take a fourth course, since my GPA was so close to the requirement and that the course was not showing acailable for any future offerings. She advised me to state that my program was on hold and that I needed to take a fourth course to bring my GPA to a 3.0. I was also advised that when I returned to the University I would have never been able to get to a 3.0. I was advised that this type of appeal had been approved in the past. I submitted my appeal on 09/16/2013 as I was projected to complete the course with an A. I was advised on October 7th by ***** ******* to resubmit another appeal because my appeal had been lost. I resubmitted the appeal and recieved the decision on October 30th by phone from ***** ****** at 7pm. He advised me to file a dispute with ODM, I did as such that evening. I was told by **** an academic counselor to call and check the status because if it did get approved I could get added into my class late in November. I reached out to ODM and was advised that there was no update on Friday November 8th. Later that afternoon I received an email from the Director of Enrollment advising me that I was academically dismissed from the University. I reached out to her and she contacted me on Saturday November 9th and advised me that since I had not brought up my GPA there was nothing that could be done and that even though I was mis-advised the decision was final. After making my plea for 45 mins she said she would discuss my case with the Provost again and reach me by 11/15. On 11/19 I recieved a voicemail stating that my request was denied. I just want a fair opportunity to complete my degree. If the higher grade had remained for the LDR625 course I would have had the 3.0 GPA needed. I was advised to take the ORG620 even though getting an A in the course would bring my GPA to a 2.97 and to do an appeal to take a fourth course. If my appeal had not been lost and submitted on time I could have had an opportunity to withdraw from the course to do another retake if the appeal was denied. Due to mis-advisement I am now in a situation where I cannot complete my degree and I have borrowed money to pay for courses that I may not even be able to transfer anywhere else. Any assistance in this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time and all of your support.

Desired Settlement: I would like the opportunity to complete my degree. I have two classes to complete my degree and currently have a 2.97 GPA. I would like the opportunity to either do one of the following three options: 1) Have the ability to take a fourth course based on the advisement of the academic counselor **** to be able to bring up my GPA to the 3.0. If I need to take another retake course I am willing to do that at this time in order to complete my degree. 2) I would like to have to the grade for LDR625 be returned back to a C-. The D+ can stay on my transcripts but I feel that the better of the two grades should be used to calculate my GPA. I also worked with the academic advisement team during each course and kept them abreast of what was going on with my classes and making sure that we had a plan in place as I was advised to do in the student Catalog. 3) If either one of these options can be granted I would like a refund. I have taken out student loans and paid money out of my own pocket to achieve my degree and if I am unable to finish it based on mis-advisement from the Western International Staff, it would be a waste of time and money.

Business Response:  
 
RE: *******- Ms. *******
 
 
Dear Ms. *******:
 
 
Thank you for your follow-up message. Western International University (WEST) has reviewed this complaint submitted by Ms. ******* and responded directly to the complainant via USPS.
 
Due to privacy laws West cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.
 
If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant. 

Best regards,

 
******* ****
University Relations Administrator
 
Western International University  |  Office of Dispute Management
Mailing address: **** ** ********** *******  ¦  Mail Stop: *******  |  ******** ** *****
phone: ###-###-####|  fax: ###-###-####  | email: *********************

11/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a current student who attends University of Phoenix online. I have one more course to complete in order to obtain my BS degree. I put in a ticket order to the technical support team to verify and state that my website is not registering and pulling up. There are three claim numbers for students as myself having computer technical difficulties and not being able to log onto the website. I brought this to my academic counselor's attention and he totally refused to help. I want to know will I be able to start a class once maintenance is done with the new Google Chrome program where it will allow me to successfully complete my last course and to graduate on time. I don't think that this is fair for me to be billed for a course which I cannot log into and participate as a student. I have not attended one class for the date of 10-15-13 because I cannot not log on to class. Isn't this considered fraudulent billing under the conditions of an unauthorized agreement? My name or signature is not signed electronically to anything to state that my attendance is for my last class. This is what happened to me two years ago when I started out earlier attending this school. Because of the same negligence it caused me a D out of my course. I did not come this far to fail a class completely. I want to successfully with the cooperation of the school to attend and complete my last class successfully. I do not believe that this is right or fair to send my financial aid or any of my funding back to its lender due to negligence on behalf of this university. I think that either I should be reimbursed for the funds of this course or that I am enrolled on time in another course in a timely manner to begin a class from beginning to end in the next five weeks. Here are my ticket numbers for this issue with logging onto class I have 3 reference numbers. Case # *******, Case # *******, and Case # *******. By the time this issue is resolved this class will either be in it's second or third week. It would be impossible for me to attend class and make passing grades. Here is my academic counselor's information: ****** ********** Phone # ###-###-####. Financial Adviser ****** ****** phone # ###-###-####. The supervisor is named ****** ******** ###-###-####. I am exhausted at this point and I just want to finish my degree with a good grade and be able to complete my last class.

Desired Settlement: I would like for me to successfully be enrolled in a class to start on time from beginning to finish of my five weeks of the course remaining. Either I am compensated for the course this school is charging me for which I am not in or allow me to start the next available course on time. At this point, I want to finish school and get my Bachelor's degree. I have gone through a get deal of traumatic issues my last two years of attending this school.

Business Response: RE: BBB Complaint # *******
 
Dear Ms. *****
 
Thank you for your follow-up message. The University of Phoenix has reviewed this complaint and responded directly to the complainant via USPS mail. Due to privacy laws the University of Phoenix cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.
 
If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant.
 
Best regards,
 
University Relations Specialist
  
**** ******
University of Phoenix
Office of Dispute Management 
**** ** ********** ******** ******** ** *****
Mail Stop: *******

2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This university offers online textbooks which cost $80 each. You have to navigate to an area of their website and click "opt out of e book" if you do not want access to the book. I feel that it is unfair to be charged for something that was not requested by myself or any other student. The process is designed to benefit the university financially based off of students forgetting to opt out, or if there is an error on the website when attempting to opt out. If a student needs a text book, they find it, and purchase it. Amazon or any other companies do not send products because they think a consumer might use it without asking.

Desired Settlement: I would like my account credited in the amount of $80. Furthermore, students understand that if they want a book, they order and purchase it. I highly doubt I am the only student that has been charged for something they will not use.

Business Response:  
RE: ******** *** **********
 
 
Dear Ms. Huffman:
 
 
Thank you for your follow-up message. Western International University (West) has reviewed this complaint submitted by *** ********** and responded directly to the complainant.
 
Due to privacy laws West cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.
 
If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant.
 
Best regards,
 
Tamirra Hoye
University Relations Administrator
 
Western International University  |  Office of Dispute Management
Mailing address: 4025 S. Riverpoint Parkway  ¦  Mail Stop: CF-SX01  |  Phoenix, AZ 85040
phone: 602-557-1289|  fax: 480-643-3754  | email: Tamirra.Hoye@west.edu

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* **********



 

11/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am requesting the assistance of the BBB in resolving an issue I am having with Western International University (a member of the Apollo Group of Schools). Specifically, when I contact their financial aid department (I am assigned financial aid counselor ******* ****) I am constantly given one excuse after another as to why they have not processed the excess funds disbursement from my federal financial aid package. There have been issues surrounding the entire process from the very beginning, where my verification documentation was re-requested then lost and had to be submitted again and wasnt submitted in a timely manner by the university. With each instance that I request status updates I am first told it will be at least two weeks, then when I follow up I am told it will be an additional two weeks because of a necessary university recalculation or other issue. Most recently I was told it will be an additional six weeks because I filed an appeal letter.I can provide copies of email exchanges where the universitys staff has literally left me hanging without an answer, where Im told one thing and a day later told something completely different. I seriously need this excess funds check. Honestly, my ability to keep a roof over my head depends on it, and the Finance office is well aware of my circumstances.After researching this issue on line, I have found that this is a common tactic used by the university and its affiliates to create indebtedness to the school where you become almost enslaved to attending it and no other. If you leave, withdraw or transfer the school will return your financial aid to the Department of Education, then send a demand for payment for the classes taken, which without the financial aid, most couldnt possibly pay, you are then in current default with a school which prevents you from obtaining financial aid or being admitted to another college or university. The School itself will forfeit its

Desired Settlement: The proceeds of my excess federal aid monies in a timely manner, the ability to leave this school and transfer to another college with the balance of my financial aid money forwarded to the new school.

Business Response:

RE: *******- Mr. ******

Dear Ms. Denning:

Thank you for your follow-up message. Western International University has reviewed this complaint submitted by Mr. ****** and will respond directly to the complainant.

Due to privacy laws Western International University cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.

If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, the complainant will be able to provide them upon reciept of our response.

Best regards,

******* ***** *******, University Relations Administrator

Western International University  |  Office of Dispute Management

Mailing address: 4*** ** ********** *******  *  **** ***** *******  *  ******** ** *****

phone: ************|  fax: 480-643-3754  |  email: *********************

<v:path o:connecttype="rect" gradientshapeok="t" o:extrusionok="f"><v:imagedata o:title="488142421@25022010-2C92" src="file:///C:\Users\tlhatten\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image001.jpg"> Think Green:  Please consider the environment before printing this message

11/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended this school in 2005. I was enrolled and in class for about 6 weeks before having to drop out due to a family emergency. Not only did this school received over 4000.00 in federal loans, BUT according to the collection call I received today, 7 years later, they also charged over 1000.00 in tuition fees. So, WIU recieved over 5000.00 for me to attend the school less then 2 months. And now I'm in collections for this? This is completely wrong on so many levels. I think my tuition for those 8 weeks was more than paid for with the student loans, that I am still paying off. But, to try and charge me an additional 1500.00?

Desired Settlement: I would like this debt erased. Not charged off, or written off. I want it to disappear.

Business Response:

RE: *******- Ms. ********

Dear Ms. Huffman:

Thank you for your follow-up message. The University of Phoenix has reviewed this complaint submitted by Ms. ******** and responded directly to the complainant.

Due to privacy laws the University of Phoenix cannot release the results of our findings or communications with the complainant without the required written authorization.

If you need additional details that will enable you to close this issue, please contact the complainant.

Best regards,

******* ***** *******, University Relations Administrator

University of Phoenix  |  Office of Dispute Management

Mailing address: **** ** ********** *******  *  **** ***** *******  *  ******** ** *****

phone: *************  **** ************  *  ****** ************************

<v:path o:connecttype="rect" gradientshapeok="t" o:extrusionok="f"><v:imagedata o:title="488142421@25022010-2C92" src="file:///C:\Users\tlhatten\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image001.jpg"> Think Green:  Please consider the environment before printing this message