This business is not BBB accredited.

Sanford Brown College

Phone: (480) 444-1112 Fax: (480) 444-1200 View Additional Phone Numbers 9630 N. 25th Avenue #100, Phoenix, AZ 85021 http://www.sbphoenix.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers career programs in the health care industry.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Sanford Brown College include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Sanford Brown College include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sanford Brown College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 05, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1994 in IL Business started locally: 08/05/2009 Business incorporated 01/01/1994 in IL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Commission for Post Secondary Education
2020 N Central Ave, #650, Phoenix AZ 85004-4503
http://azppse.state.az.us/contact_form.asp
Phone Number: 602.258.2435
Fax Number: 602.258.2483

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George Fitzpatrick, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Fitzpatrick, President
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Schools - Business & Vocational Schools - Private

Alternate Business Names
Career Education Corporation

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9630 N. 25th Avenue #100

    Phoenix, AZ 85021 (480) 444-1112 (877) 809-2444

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2009 I enrolled in school at SANDFORD-BROWN college in their Medical Assistance program. While talking with my all administration experts, I was told this was one of the best schools around, had a great reputation, was an accredited college, guaranteed a job easily after graduating, and if I ever wanted to further my career in the medical field of other area's all my credits were transferable. I was and still am a single parent hoping to better myself and my children's life. I was also told I qualified for Pell grants and many others to the point I wouldn't owe an enormous amount of money upon graduating. Ha! What a can of garbage! To this day, 4 yrs later, I find out my credits do not transfer, I owe the government over 50 thousand dollars for less than a year abd a half of schooling, I'm still not working as a medical assistant because in the state of Illinois and Missouri doctors are reluctant to hire sanford brown graduates, admitting they do not believe we were properly trained. I also found out while well into the program,we were being taught by nothing more than medical assistants ourselves. We were also ,if needed , supposed to be able to go back after graduating and sit in classes free of charge for refresher classes if we felt it was something that would help with employment. Well, all the colleges in my area have since shut down so that isn't an option to me obviously. I would like to even talk to someone about my financial aid, but where do I go? I can not believe I fell for this and worse they can do this to people and get away with it? I don't feel like I owe these people a dime and think it's only fair they pay my student loan off, if that's what it was for to begin with? You people ruined a big part of my life and I hope someone out there with the authority can make you do the right thing. Shame on you SANFORD BROWN COLLEGE

Desired Settlement: To point me in the right direction in clearing this nightmare up.where can I go to talk to someone? Where are all the things they promised? Why am I paying for their mistakes?

3/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a higher education issue with a private college that I attended for 10 months. I maintained a 3.5 GPA, had good attendance, and was kicked out with only 2 ½ months left of classroom instruction time. I was told I failed out of the program because of one assignment that I didn't do well on. A month prior to being kicked out, my teachers attempted to get me to sign a document stating that I should voluntarily quit school due to being 6 months pregnant and possibly not able to finish the program before the school closed altogether. The school did not notify me or my classmates that they would be closing until we were already 8-9 months into the program. I refused to sign what I felt was a highly discriminatory document. I still have this document in my possession along with copies of my final grades, assignments, and etcetera. Now, a year later, they have sent me to a debt collector for over $2200 that they say I still owe to them. ****** ***/******* was billed the remaining portion of my school loan which amounted to almost $15k. I also paid $3000 in monthly installments directly to the school while I attended. I don’t believe I owe a dime to this school since they kicked me out, the credits that I earned are non-transferable, and I was in an echocardiography program which is rare to find. It was one of only two schools in my state that offered the program. I have nothing to show for the time and money I invested and the supposed debt that was acquired - I have no recourse. I was told that if the school remained open, I would have been able to return and finish the program. However, since they were closing, I was basically out of luck. Also, the "bad assignment" is questionable since not one of my classmates agreed with the grade. I have their testimonies and copies of the ultrasound pictures in question. The grade seemed questionable because they tried to get me to quit voluntarily a month prior due to my pregnancy. Even if I truly did fail the assignment that I was kicked out for, I was given no warning of academic issues and no chance to improve on my skills. As I stated above, I maintained a high GPA and had all A’s and B’s up to this point. I appreciate your time and attention to my letter. I have contacted my ******** *******, my congresswoman, the ****** ** *** ********* *******, the ******** ***** ********* *****, and local TV news stations. I don’t know who else to turn to. If it would make it easier, you can reply to me via email at ************************. Thank you again.

Desired Settlement: I would desire the $2,200.00 that is currently in collections to be eliminated, ****** ***/******* to be refunded for all payments made to the school, and for the $3,000.00 cash payments made while attending to be refunded to me. Again, I have no transferable credits, I have no certificate of completion of the program, and the school is no longer open so that I could return and complete the program. I paid money and the government paid out a large amount of money to this institution for nothing in return. If the matter cannot be settled with these minimal requests, the matter will continue to be pursued and with additional requests for lost wages for the time I attended school and the time after that which was used to reach an agreement.

10/14/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife owes over $25,000 in student loans due to attending the Ultrasound course at Sanford Brown Collage. She was told they would place her in an externship as part of her education.(LIE) they did not they also promised her a good job after graduation and that they are highly respected. this too is a lie every health care facility she goes to for a job says that They don't recognize Sanford Brown grads as employable! They also told her that all her credits and any degrees she got would transfer to any other collage. Again another lie! a Sanford Brown degree is worthless and not honored anywhere. I am also filing a complaint with the department of justice if you do a search on line for Sanford Brown you will find thousands of complaints ageist them. I want a refund of my money and would also like to see them shut down.

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay off the loans they are responsible because of their fruad

Business Response: We are reviewing our records regarding this complaint and we are attempting to work with the student to try to bring this to a mutually agreed upon resolution.  We respectfully request additional time to complete this process and would like to provide our response no later than Monday, December 17, 2012. 
 
Thank you. 
 
George e. Fitzpatrick

President

Sanford-Brown Phoenix

9630 Nth 25th Ave.

Phoenix, AZ 85201

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******



 While I like the response, it is somewhat deceptive, the school is not working with us in any way.  When this issue was repeatedly brought to their attention they basically ignored us with a" tough luck" attitude. I want to see some real action from them not just talk,  and back peddling. The dept. of Justice is cracking down on these Schools I have been in contact with them and I have the regulatory guidelines in hand. The federal guidelines they have violated are numerous. I can not stress enough that my resolve in this matter is set in stone, the worst mistake Sanford Brown could make would be to ignore this complaint. My next step will be to file a complaint at the federal level with the Dept. of Justice. Sanford Brown should consider well their title IV funding. I would also urge them not to make the mistake of underestimating who they are dealing with  
Best Regards 
***** ******