Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Founded in 1996, Northcentral University (NCU) is a global, online, graduate-focused university. Theregionally-accredited University offers doctoral, master’s and bachelor’s degrees in business and technology management, education, psychology, and marriage and family therapy. Northcentral University has academic and administrative offices in Prescott Valley and Scottsdale, Arizona. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Northcentral University meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northcentral University include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 34 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 5
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 34

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Northcentral University
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 2000 Business started: 08/06/1996 in AZ Business incorporated 08/24/1998 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department Of Education
1535 W. Jefferson Street, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azed.gov
Phone Number: (602) 542-5393

Arizona State Post Private Secondary EducationS
1400 W. Washington Street, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://azppse.state.az.us/contact_form.asp
Phone Number: (602) 542-8709
Fax Number: (602) 542-1253

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George A Burnett, Chief Executive Officer/President Mr. Corey Carpenter, Complaint Handler
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George A Burnett, Chief Executive Officer/President
Customer Contact: Mr. Corey Carpenter, Complaint Handler
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Schools - Business & Vocational Schools - General Interest Behavioral Education Services

Alternate Business Names
Northcentral University, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Northcentral University has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10000 E University Dr

    Prescott Vly, AZ 86314 (928) 541-7777 (888) 327-2877

  • 8667 E. Hartford Drive

    Scottsdale, AZ 85255

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started my PhD program in 2007. I flew straight through the course work and comps with a 3.9 GPA within the first 3 years. Upon reaching the dissertation process NCU changed my chair 6 times. My second chair, Dr. G****** was wonderful and I was making progress, working with him my Concept paper was completed after wasting a year with my first chair, and I moved into my Dissertation Proposal. Then NCU changed their policy requiring full time staff members to be a chair and Dr. G****** was replaced with Dr. Wickersham. She told me she was going to approve my DP and 2 weeks later she was gone, with no notice and another chair was provide. Every chair after that made me do a complete rewrite to their specifications which were all different from each other. With each chair change telling me to rewrite as the previous chair was wrong, my writing began to deteriorate for obvious reasons, complete confusion as to who was the authority on a proper Dissertation. Had I stayed with Dr. G******, I literally would have completed my PhD 4 years ago, so look at all of the time and expense NCU has incurred to their profits with this strategy. I asked for the Ombudsman program to step in and was denied, finally another chair change, of which I felt the chair was making progress with me, telling me as much until the Dissertation went to committee, and then they tore the progress we had made up, I felt it was time to get off the profit mongering train. During this process, I have consulted outside experts, professors from other reputable Universities, who believe this University is exploiting students for money by stringing them along and not really helping them get degree. I belong to a student communication portal and weekly there are similar examples of this exact treatment being communicated begging someone to take the lead on a class action against NCU which I am in process of organizing. I am starting the process of resolution with BBB.

Desired Settlement: I lost a minimum of 3 years and roughly $15,000 due to the change in chairs per the above explanation. I request a refund of those three years of dissertation services. I am most upset to not only lose all of that money, but to not accomplish my lifelong goal of a PhD when it was within my grasp with Dr. G****** is beyond frustrating. I will pursue my PhD with another university which means duplicating my cost. So I am requesting either and honorary PhD or a refund of the $15,000 which is a minor % of my total cost, however I did find value in the first 3 years of the program and the work I did with Dr. G******. The other 5 chairs were a complete waste of time and money.

Business Response:

Dear Sir/Madam,


Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions. Please note that Mr. ****** issue surrounds academic performance and is not associated with delivery issues. Mr. ****** faculty members were highly-qualified professors who attempted to help guide the student through his dissertation as well as the entire educational journey. Upon communicating with his professor, it was believed that Mr. **** would likely finish his program if he is willing to put in the work and get back on track. It is not unusual for candidates to experience challenges in their personal evolution from being a student, consumer of information, to becoming a scholar, a producer of information.


It was also discovered upon investigation of Mr. ****** concerns, that his issues were heard and addressed internally by NCU team members. These team members took a considerable amount of time to understand his concerns and to help identify a plan that included a special Pathway Program that helps students focus on degree completion. The student opted not to take part in the program. In March, 2016 the student opted to utilize the credits earned in his program and apply them to a Post-Masters Certificate.


At this time, all issues have been reviewed, researched, and adjudicated properly in accordance with policies and procedures.


Sincerely
Office of Legal Affairs

Office of the President

Consumer Response:

This simply is not true.  The help they are referencing was at the very end of the process, 7 years later.  They are not acknowledging any responsibility for changing chairs 6 times for a dissertation, which is unheard of.  That this disruption is at the very root of the case.  I have all of the documentation to proceed legally, including documentation from Dr. Wickersham stating my DP would be approved, only to have her leave 2 weeks later and NCU not accept that approval, which is when everything went down hill.  If the courts are the only way this will be reconciled, that will be the next course of action. 

Business Response: May 23, 2016



Arizona Better Business Bureau
Dispute Resolution Consultant




RE: Michael **** Complaint # ********




Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for providing an opportunity to respond to concerns relating to Mr. ****** Dissertation sequence at Northcentral University. Please note that Mr. ****** issue surrounds academic performance, along with his personal choices and is not associated with delivery issues. Also, of note is that we have worked with Mr. **** as far back as 2014 through our informal complaint procedures attempting to help this student. Some of these resolutions included a requested Chair change from Mr. ****, which was granted. All of these facts do not align with statements in his complaint and response.

Mr. ****** faculty members were highly-qualified professors who attempted to help guide the student through his dissertation as well as the entire educational journey. Upon communicating with his professor, (one in which he specifically requested), it was believed that Mr. **** would likely finish his program if he is willing to put in the work and get back on track. Mr. **** voluntarily opted not to continue. In March, 2016, it was the decision of the student to utilize the credits earned in his program and apply them to a Post-Masters Certificate.

The University responded proactively on several occasions trying to assist Mr. **** in achieving his educational goals.  The student was granted an exception in policy allowing more time for degree completion, granted specific Chair changes, a special program designed to assist students in degree completion, and in all cases he made the decision not to continue his studies or take advantage of any of these offers. Based upon these actions the University then made an exception to policy that enabled the student to utilize the credits earned for a Post-Masters Certificate. The University has gone above and beyond offering Mr. **** several opportunities
to continue and achieve his goals, it was his personal decision not to continue.

At this time, all issues have been reviewed, researched, and adjudicated properly in accordance with policies and procedures.
 


Sincerely

Office of Legal Affairs

Office of the President

6/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was going through the financial aid process still they enrolled me in classes three days too late. I was promised no charge will be made until financial aid came through. I also cancelled my classes prior deadline and emailed them the cancelation about 20 times to different representatives. They are still holding me accountable for a class I didn't take, sign up for or was able to pay for without financial aid. I can't get them to remove the due amount and I have tried everything via email and phone. Ridiculous fiasco of an attempt to get money out of college students who can't afford it. Shame on these people and their business ethic. What do I need to do, spend more money on an attorney to clear my credit now! They put me in collections.

Desired Settlement: They need to correct my credit put my balance at zero and send a letter of apology. This is unethical business practice to put my account in collections when I dropped their class before deadline. My attempts to have this matter resolved has been moot.

4/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
4/16/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
1/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a student at Northcentral University until recently when a difference of opinion on the final exam had me removed from my program. I have appealed this, however, the University has made no attempts to make the findings of this appeal known to me. Two months later, over 20 phone calls to Northcentral University and over 15 e-mails I still do not have any answers. However, the real problems began a week after being removed from the university. A letter arrived in the mail citing a owed the university $2,586.00 for back classes. I about hit the floor because I had private loans and student loans to cover any costs that came about. Apparently the university sent all the money back without covering the remaining costs leaving me with a bill that I could not possibly cover. When I called Northcentral University the person who answered the phone stated that was policy and they would be willing to set up a payment plan to pay back the money. With no answers from the university about my appeal and no way to pay back the money owed I am at a loss on how to proceed. Not only do I no longer want my name associated with such a crooked university, I just want free from all obligations so that I may move on with my academic endeavors.

Desired Settlement: I would like Northcentral University wipe the $2,586.00 owed off my accounts so that I may move on with my academic endeavors. I believe that if Northcentral University thought I owed them any money they should have payed themselves before returning the unused portions of my personal educational loans back to the lender instead of issuing it to me, the bower. Additionally, I would like Northcentral University to give me the decency of an answer to my appeal question. I think the three months I have been waiting has been long enough for an answer to be formulated. Finally, I would like for Northcentral University to issue an apology letter and release my transcripts.$2,586.00

11/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a student at Northcentral University. I have elected to use financial to pay for my education. Northcentral University has sent my financial aid over to a financial institution that I did not want it to go to. I have voiced this concern several times by calling the financial aid department. Without regard to what I wanted done with my refund Northcentral has sent my refund over to a place called Higher One. I have had nothing but, issues from this place, infact it seems that I am not the only one complaining about this institution. There has been several complaints made through different entities and also lawsuits filed with settlements involved. I do not want to have any dealings with this institution at all. They are now holding my financial aid for no reason at all.

Desired Settlement: I want Northcentral to find another way to have financial aid disbursed to students that choose not to have their funds sent to this institution. They are making it really difficult for their students to receive their funds. Federal Funds that are sent for a student should go where the student would like for it to go and should not be sent to a third party that can withhold the funds from the student. I would like to have my funds ($2,008.00) sent to me immediately.

Business Response: Please see attached

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *****

 

8/6/2015 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Northcentral University are involved with false advertising. They have ads all over social media saying there will be 8 scholarships given, two in each of the disciplines. The only thing one has to do is to submit an essay uisng one of their core values. This essay has to be double spaced and 500 to 700 words. Of course I would like to get a PhD, so I submit my essay and I proceed to fill out the application. What happens then is the applicant cannot complete the application, because it states that a representative has to contact you. Then, immediately the representative contacts you and finds out if you like their website and wants to know how YOU can pay for your education. I told them that I was going to apply for the scholarship and hopefully, since this was a full paying scholarship, this would take care of my monetary issues. This is when they let you know that the scholarships are not going to be awarded until September and that you had to pay for at least one class, before you are eligible for the scholarship. Who does that? I have worked in the educational system for a long time. I have never heard of such a practice.

Desired Settlement: There is no where on their website that says that you have to pay, before you are eligible. Please make them either change the wording on their advertising or stop this nonsensical practice.

Business Response: RE: ***** ******, ID# ********Dear Dispute Resolution Consultant,Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions. This scholarship opportunity is in support of this and is intended to provide access to graduate education for those that may otherwise not have it, and to encourage students to think critically about how they plan to embody NCU’s Values as respected members of their community and professions. We appreciate the opportunity to work with you through this matter.Within the website ****://***.***.***/******, contains the terms and conditions associated with the NCU Values Scholarship Program. These include explicit steps stating that the prospective candidate must start their graduate degree by August 31, 2015. In order to start you need to demonstrate commitment and financial ability to attend the institution. Also on this site is a listing of additional terms and conditions ****:/********************************************************.*** , which provides additional information surrounding this program. Within this document it states “An applicant must apply to a master’s or doctoral degree program between March 1st, 2015 and July 20th, 2015. Applicants must submit a complete application together with all supporting documentation by the deadline”.Please let me know if I can provide any addition information or be of any other service.Sincerely,Office of Legal ServicesOffice of the President

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have submitted a "grade appeal" through NCU with expected results. The letter I have attached above explains this. The mentor closed the class a full two days while I was still under "contract". I would like to have this corrected.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have this corrected.

Business Response:

Dear Dispute Resolution Consultant,
Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions. We appreciate the opportunity to work with you through this matter. Unfortunately, ***** privacy rights preclude us from discussing the details of the student’s record to an unauthorized third party in response to the complaint. Please note this issue is purely academic in nature as unfortunately the student is not satisfied with his earned grade. Additionally, in Mr. ********* response, he stated that the mentor closed the class a full two days early while still under "contract". As the student is in the Dissertation Sequence of his program, the class setting is unique in nature and he did not meet the requirements of the class to earn a passing grade. This was communicated to the student in detail on May 02, 2015. The Dean also reviewed the situation, following our grade appeal policy and completed all steps, communicating the final decision to the student. Please note as with any academic institution ultimately, the faculty member owns the grading process and is the best practitioner in regards to awarding the appropriate grade earned by students. Additionally, the Dean’s decisions on grade appeals are final and not grieveable by university policy. At this time, the University considers this matter to be resolved.

Sincerely,

Office of Legal Services
Office of the President 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



As a college professor myself I fully understand that a course syllibus is a contract between the student and the instructor. You can clearly see stated on the course syllabus I have attached my course was concluded a full two days earlier than its scheduled conclusion date. Possessing a doctorate degree does not make one a fortune teller, nor does it allow one to "guess" at a students ability to respond to revisions and/or conclude a course early. I am not satisfied with NCU's response that the Dean's appeal is final, that is a typical response to an entity which controls the information per'se. Again, a syllabus is a binding contract, if one party fails to uphold the contract, in this case the mentor concluding the contractual dates as stated, then the contract has been violated. I conclude by stating once again NCU should be responsible for the cost of this unnecessary "retake" of this course rather than the beneficiary of knowing they are profiting from a student whose class was ended prematurely.



Regards,

**** *******

Business Response:

June 12, 2015


Arizona Better Business Bureau
4428 N. 12th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85014-4585



RE:  **** *******, ID# ********



Dear Dispute Resolution Consultant,

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  We appreciate the opportunity to work with you through this matter.  Unfortunately, ***** privacy rights preclude us from discussing the details of the student’s record to an unauthorized third party in response to the complaint.

As previously communicated, this issue is purely academic in nature as unfortunately the student is not satisfied with his earned grade. Please note as with any academic institution ultimately, the faculty member owns the grading process and is the best practitioner in regards to awarding the appropriate grade earned by students. In Mr. ********* response, he stated that the mentor closed the class a full two days early while still under "contract". As the student is in the Dissertation Sequence of his program, the class setting is unique in nature and he did not meet the requirements of the class to earn a passing grade. The dates of the class are irrelevant as the student could not produce the needed requirements to earn a passing grade.  This was communicated to the student in detail on May 02, 2015, by his faculty member. She provided Mr. ******* detailed information in regard to how his grade was derived. The Dean reviewed the academic performance, communications, faculty feedback, academic progression, and policies in response to his concerns. As it is stated policy in our Catalog, the Dean’s decisions on grade appeals are final and not grieveable. At this time, the University considers this matter to be resolved.

Sincerely,

Office of Legal Services
Office of the President

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: after completing all of my course work as required for the general ********** program at Northcentral University, I started my dissertation process. I was given a mentor (*** ***** *********), who was an excellent mentor and motivator. However, because *** *********** education consisted of a Psy.D, the feedback I was receiving from her was not the feedback I needed for my Ph.D. (per feedback from the Dean). Therefore, I was given a new mentor and basically started over. As a result, a new policy was implemented at NCU that an individual with a Psy.D cannot mentor a Ph.D. doctoral candidate. I felt as if all of those months I spent with *** ********* was wasted and I was starting over. I was given a new mentor for a couple of week, only to find out that he had been reassigned to another position at NCU. Therefore, I was given a third mentor. At this point I was feeling stressed and overwhelmed. It became more and more difficult to focus. During this time period, I also lost my grandmother (who was my guiding star) and my older brother (who I was very close to). I started suffering from depression. It was very difficult to focus and harder to concentrate on doing homework. As a result, I contacted by Academic Advisor (**** ********) who encouraged me to take some time off. After taking the allot time off (80 days), I started to feel less stressed and the depression I was experiencing was minimal. During the latter part of 2011 I sent an email to NCU requesting permission to return to Ph.D program in General Psychology. I did not get a response back. At the beginning of 2012, I sent another email requesting permission to return to my program of study. Again, I did not receive any feedback which was very frustrating. It wasn't until the latter part of 2013 that I received feedback from the NCU reentry coordinator informing me that I would have to start over. To me this is not acceptable, nor is it an option. I have a GPA of 3.77, and I take a lot of pride in my work.

Desired Settlement: I only ask that I be allowed to complete my Ph.D in a timely fashion. I do not feel that I should have to start over. I followed all of the policy and procedures set forth by NCU. I feel that I am being punished for something that NCU was partly responsible for. I only like two classes to complete my degree, so why should I have to start from the beginning. Thank you for your time and consideration.******

Business Response: Dear *** ****** 

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve 
academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their 
professions. In accordance with the student’s specific requests for resolution, the University is 
re-evaluating *** ********** student records and working to provide any and all options that 
will aid in his successful return. We will contact the student directly when this process is 
complete to communicate all the necessary details. 

Please let me know if I can provide any addition information or be of any other service. 

Sincerely 


Office of Legal Affairs 
Office of the President 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ********

 

11/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently attended NorthCentral online University. But I transferred to another University. Before I did I checked with Financial Aid and my counselor to make sure there was not any balance on my account. Several months go by. Collectors from Northcentral called me and told me of an outstanding balance that I had to pay. I argued that it was not my mistake, and that I took precaution for this not to happen. But I gave in. We agreed to pay each month a $40 draft from a bank account. Now, after a year, collectors call and want to change the agreement to $93. If I don't go along with this new arrangement, the collector threatens to place a bad mark on my credit. I am 65 and cannot afford $93. I offered $50 but was turned down. I do not believe this process if fair nor in good faith.I request a settlement of the offered $50 per month.

Desired Settlement: Please accept the $50 as a monthly settlement.

Business Response: November 10, 2014 

Arizona Better Business Bureau 
*** ******* ***** 
Dispute Resolution Consultant 


RE: ***** **** * ******** 


Dear *** *****, 

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve 
academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their 
professions. In accordance with the student’s specific requests for resolution, the University has 
responded affirmatively and is in the process of completing all administrative steps in this 
process. We ask that *** **** contact ****** ****** ***************** to finalize these 
arrangements. 

Please let me know if I can provide any addition information or be of any other service. 

Sincerely 


Office of Legal Affairs 
Office of the President 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. To my knowledge, Northcentral has not offered a resolution but, a contact person to hopefully to make an amiable resolution. I will move forward within the allotted time. I am relieved that NC will work with me. 

Regards,

***** ****

 

11/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2012 I enrolled in a class at Northcentral to pursue my Ph.D in Health Psychology. During this time I began going through a very taxing divorce which significantly impacted my financial situation, along with my mental and physical health. I began to have difficulty with completing coursework and staying on top of the current class curriculum and requested an extension and/or accommodations to assist me during the time. I went through the necessary process by submitting documentation and discussing the situation with the professor. However, I was denied any assistance and the school merely told me that I would need to repeat the course, immediately re-enrolling me. Of course, I was unable to retake the course due to the same issues that prompted me to request the help in the first place. Immediately after withdrawing from this program I suffered a complete break and required extensive medical assistance. Since this time, Northcentral has continued to harass me and demands that I pay for the class that was dropped. I believe that this was an abuse of the establishment and is echoed in many of the complaints that I have read about Northcentral. I am no longer interested in pursuing a degree with Northcentral, as the shoddy practices have discouraged me. But I would like to discontinue the harassment.

Desired Settlement: Northcentral should apply the balance of my account toward the courses that were taken and balance my account.

Business Response: Part of Northcentral University‘s overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions. This balance is a reflection from a return of funds to her lender, not from any re- enrollment into another class. Please note per policy and due to our shortened class lengths (typically 8 weeks) we do not offer mid-course leaves or breaks. Due to Ms. ******** withdrawal from Northcentral University, we were required to perform a return calculation for federal aid according to regulations set forth by the Department of Education. According to the return calculation, we are required to return the amount owed to Direct Lending on the students behalf. This return calculation determines how much of financial aid was “earned” based upon the number of days that the student actively participated in their courses at Northcentral and the number of courses they successfully completed within the payment period. Ms. ****** is responsible for paying Northcentral this amount. Our finance staff has made several attempts to contact the student trying to assist and provide service in every way possible.

If Ms. ****** has any further questions regarding her financial obligations she can contact the University directly to get specific information.

Sincerely,



Office of Legal Affairs Office of the President

 

10/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filed for a Leave Of Absence (LOA) at NCU using their LOA form as I was experience medical care that required surgery. However, NCU is billing me $100 for failing to accept enrollment in a PhD course with a start date of: 7/24/14. I DID NOT ACCEPT ENROLLMENT IN THE CLASS BECAUSE I COULD NOT ENROLL IN THE CLASS BECAUSE I NEEDED SURGERY - THAT IS WHY I COMPLETED THE LOA FORM. However, NCU charges a $100 fee if you DO NOT ACCEPT ENROLLMENT IN A CLASS. I did contact **** and did contest the FRAUDULENT charges by NCU and, I did provide proof and documentation to **** evidencing that I did complete the LOA form prior to the 7/24/14 start time for the class. Never the less, the account dept at NCU is rude and do not act in a professional manner, and are ignoring the fact that I completed a LOA.

Desired Settlement: Clear my balance of $100 owed and stop sending me emails, letters and phone calls of a harassing nature.

Business Response: Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions. In accordance with the student’s specific requests for resolution, the University has responded affirmatively and has completed all administrative steps in this process. 

Please let me know if I can provide any addition information or be of any other service. 

10/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am (was) a student at NCU. I have a blood disorder for which I was given an accommodation of being able to get an extension for my classes. Earlier this year I had a dear friend die about 7 weeks into my comprehensive exam class. I contacted my academic adviser and told him about my situation and how distraught I was. In addition to the death, my husband had just undergone surgery for an injury and I myself had just had my tonsils removed. I had asked what my options would be as I was quickly falling behind with my grief, my recovery, and funeral arrangements. I was advised to seek a "double extension" for my course. This sounded like something that could work for me. I contacted the person my adviser told me to and was denied because "tonsillitis was not a disabling condition." I was stunned. I was not asking for an accommodation due to tonsillitis. I later learned that because I was in the first 60 days of my course I should have been advised to withdraw. Because this was not presented to me as an option, time marched on and I failed the course. I signed up to take the class again and requested that I not have to pay for the repeat because I should have been helped a lot better by my adviser - who, as it turns out, was just blowing me off because he was leaving his job. As I began my second taking of the course, I was given an extension. Had this extension been given the first time I would not be in the class again. I was told that this extension was granted because I applied for it prior to the start of class. Well I'm sorry but I didn't know my friend was going to die and the start of the first class. I have been passed around and given half- hearted apologies for my situation. Because my course was extended there were no more "slots" to upload assignments in my class porthole. When my assignment was due I emailed it to my instructor. Five days later he told me to upload it in the classroom as he would "unlock" the slot to upload. When I got his email I did exactly that. On the date this course was to end and my grade was to post there was nothing there. I asked my new academic adviser why I had not received a grade. She said my instructor would not grade my paper because it wasn't uploaded on the due date (never mind that I couldn't because it was locked). As a result I show 2 failed attempts at this course and have been dismissed from the University. I have spent over 6 years and A LOT of money to get where I am now. All I had to do was pass this exam and write my dissertation and I would have my PhD in about 9 months. Instead, my future is uncertain. I think that a program focused on Psychology and helping people with their troubles would not be so quick to abandon a student who had just suffered a major trauma. For this reason NCU gets an F in my gradebook.

Desired Settlement: Allow me to finish my education.

Business Response: Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions. In accordance with the student’s specific requests for resolution, our ombudsman Department has been in contact with the student and is working with her to seek a suitable resolution. 

Please let me know if I can provide any addition information or be of any other service. 

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been enrolled in this institution for approximately 8 years and have yet to earn a doctorate degree. I have experienced numerous changes to committee members that require re-writes each time. I pass the expectations of the committee to be rejected by another NCU committee. This is a documented complaint that is pervasive across doctoral students. I endured numerous re-writes of a Concept Paper (Chapters 1-3 of a proposed dissertation) and I am now doing the same with the Dissertation Proposal. Both papers are identical with the exception of format. The problem seems to be that one committee does not know the expectations of. another committee. In fact, that very statement has been communicated to me. I have been told that this paper would be accepted because the committee chair and the committee member were the determining factors, but that is not the case. I was also told that I have been "caught up in the changes" made by the institution. Most importantly, I am being asked to justify my study and I have been told via a telephone conference with an *** member that my proposed study is valid. I have been instructed to spend countless hours perfecting a Literature Review and now the emphasis is on justifying the study.

Desired Settlement: I would like my Dissertation Proposal to be accepted. If it is not acceptable,, I would like my committee members to assist me before sending it on to the next committee. I should be grandfathered in to the program I started, and not be the result of a person caught between the rock and a hard place! I have a 30 thousand dollar loan and I pay out of pocket tuition monthly. There appears to be no end in sight. This is a money making operation and this institution does not provide the necessary support for a doctoral student that a traditional institution provides.

Business Response: Dear *** *****

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  We appreciate the opportunity to work with you through this matter. Unfortunately, FERPA privacy rights preclude us from discussing the details of the student’s record to an unauthorized third party in response to the complaint.

In Northcentral University’s Candidacy Resource Guide it states “After you have successfully passed the Comprehensive Examination, there are several milestones in the doctoral candidacy stage. Each one represents a significant accomplishment on the way to obtaining a doctoral degree. It is the student’s successful progression through these scholarly works that facilitates graduation.

1. Concept Paper (CP)
2. Dissertation Proposal (DP)
3. Institutional Review Board (IRB) Application and Approval
4. Dissertation Manuscript (DM)
5. Oral Examination

The dissertation journey is unlike any other academic endeavor and can be a very humbling experience even for the most educated of people.  It is a learning process that takes a student and turns him or her into a scholar. The journey is not for the faint of heart and it demands a mastery of many different skills sets in order to be successful.  These skill sets include but are not limited to: communication (verbal and written), active listening, critical thinking, and conflict resolution. Students are expected to work closely with their course faculty, assigned Chair and committee members to navigate the dissertation process. Responsiveness to feedback is critical for learning and growth.
 
It is not unusual for candidates to experience challenges in their personal evolution from being a student, consumer of information, to becoming a scholar, a producer of information.

At this time, the University considers this matter to be resolved. Sincerely,
Office of Legal Services Office of the President

 

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This school is not true to its word and just want to make money off of students and drop them because according to them they haven't met qualifications. In the course of 4 yes I have had 4 different academic advisors and 3 different dissertation mentors. **** ******** approved my paper and told me to make some corrections and she would send it to dissertation board. Well 3 days later, after making the proper changes, I received an email that Dr. ******** will no longer be my dissertation mentor. I receive a new professor and he wanted me to start my concept paper from the beginning. Devastation one professor states its fine for approval and all of a sudden its no longer good enough so I can't have it sent to the board. I complained to my academic advisor which is advisor number 4 and she told me to talk to my new professor. I did and we could never see eye to eye and paper never met his standards and the dissertation courses I took from him I failed. I personally feel that my assignments were not approved because I informed my advisor the professor and I were not getting a long and on purpose he was not approving my assignments so I could move on to have my paper sent to the board for review and approval.

Desired Settlement: Admission back into the PHD program. Move forward to have my paper sent to the dissertation chair/board for review and approval, so that I can graduate a receive my doctoral degree by December 2014.

Business Response:

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  We appreciate the opportunity to work with you through this matter. Unfortunately, FERPA privacy rights preclude us from discussing the details of the student’s record to an unauthorized third party in response to the complaint.

Northcentral University is unique in providing constructive feedback prior to the dissertation proposal stage. This is to ensure that the candidate has a feasible and realistic plan that can culminate in a well- conceived, substantive, quality dissertation. Concept paper reviews serve to assess that the topic is appropriate and that the planned research is sound and practical within the scope of a doctoral program. The Concept Paper is initially approved by the Dissertation Chair and Dissertation Committee, and submitted for review to the Graduate School (GS). If, in the review, it is indicated that the research idea is feasible, the Graduate School will offer suggestions for improvements and the candidate will proceed to work on the Dissertation Proposal. If the Graduate School indicates that the research idea is not likely to succeed, then the candidate should, in consultation with his or her Dissertation Chair and Dissertation Committee, consider embarking on an entirely new project and write a new Concept Paper. It is not out of the ordinary for initial CP submissions to need some improvement. In essence if the Concept Paper is lacking in any manner, the student will not be able to find success in completing their dissertation journey.

 Additionally, in Northcentral Universitys published policy: Unsatisfactory Grades for Doctoral Students, Dissertation (DIS) Sequence - Any student who receives a third U” will be dismissed from the University. This applies to any combination of three “U” grades in the DIS sequence, whether the three grades are received in the same course or different courses.

Being associated with academic performance, we have been in contact with Ms. ****** on several occasions providing clarification, guidance and have evaluated the students record, academic performance, communications, faculty feedback, academic progression, and policies in response to her concerns.

At this time, the University considers this matter to be resolved. Sincerely,

Office of Legal Services Office of the President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The school constantly changed academic advisors and dissertation advisors, which did not give me the adequate attention needed.  One advisor said that the paper was good and should be reviewed by the dissertation chair, then a new advisor was given without the student being notified in advance.  In this manner, the advisor felt that the paper should be rewritten.  The constant changes of staff does not give the students the adequate support needed to complete a dissertation.  Too much inconsistency due to the constant change in faculty and staff and this was not presented in any documentation that advisors will be constantly changed.  The school gives a false representation of what they are all about.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response:

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  We appreciate the opportunity to work with you through this matter. Unfortunately, ***** privacy rights preclude us from discussing the details of the student’s record to an unauthorized third party in response to the complaint.

All faculty members have earned doctoral degrees. They use a distinctive mentor-directed teaching model that provides individualized, substantive feedback to students as they progress through their programs. The interactive online learning environment provides structure which facilitates tracking and evaluation of assignments as well as attendance and academic progress. Being associated with academic performance, we have been in contact with Ms. ****** on several occasions providing clarification, guidance and have evaluated the students record, academic performance, communications, faculty feedback, academic progression, and policies in response to her concerns.

At this time, all issues have been reviewed, researched, and adjudicated properly in accordance with policies. I hope you find this to clarify the students concerns, please let me know if you need any additional assistance in the future.

Sincerely,

Office of Legal Services Office of the President

7/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started the Business Administration Program focusing in human resource in the fall of 2012. I took one break in the summer of 2013. Then I took no breaks between classes in order to take off a couple weeks around Christmas and stay on schedule. I finished my class in the beginning of March and took a break to have my daughter. This was a medical break, which I discussed in advance with your staff. I had to take the rest of March off because my daughter was due on March 13th and we did not know if she would come early. I did not want to stop in the middle of a class. I had complications that required me to stay in the hospital longer then expected. When talking to *******, I was informed that I had three classes left after I came back. I have since completed one of the three. I’m now being told that was an added class and I still have three remaining. I was anxious to get started. I wanted to get as much schooling done while I was on maternity leave. As you know it is quite difficult going to grad school, working full time and having a newborn baby. Per my original contract and my discussion with ******* I should be able to continue with the original contracted number of classes. Students should be responsible for the original contract when a medical leave is required during the contract period. Especially when your staff tells them that is what will remain in effect. I should only be responsible to finish the original number of courses from when I started at NorthCentral University which are also the courses required according to *******. However, the course you added, MGT5026-8, I just completed. Please allow this added class to count toward the original contract and take the place of one of my final 3 classes. In that way I will graduate with the same number of classes as in my original contract, and I will graduate around the same time as scheduled.

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is to honor my original contract credit hours for my Business Administration focusing in Human Resources. I should only have to take and pay for the original number of credit hours. This was discussed with my advisor, *******, before and after my medical leave.

Business Response:
 

 

Ms. Britnee Glass

Dispute Resolution Consultant

Arizona Better Business Bureau

 

 

RE: ********* **** ID #********

 

Dear Ms. Glass

 

Part of Northcentral University's
overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and
become valuable contributors to their communities and within their
professions.  We appreciate the opportunity
to work with you through this matter. 
Unfortunately, FERPA privacy rights preclude Northcentral from
discussing the details of the student’s record to an unauthorized third party
in response to the complaint.  

 

Being associated with
programmatic requirements, we have been in contact with *** ****, on several
occasions providing clarification, guidance and have offered every option
available to assist her in reaching her academic goals.  This includes a
special exception made by the Dean.  I hope you find this to clarify
the students concerns, please let me know if you need any additional assistance
in the future.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

Office of Legal Services

Office of the President 

7/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A person claiming to be from Northcentral has contacted me after I withrew from the school demanding a 100 dollar payment. I requested the individual mail me a copy of the justification for the charge but he refused and stated email was good enough. If valid I believe the charge to be a scam and if not it may be a rogue employee trying to gain my financial information.

Desired Settlement: Provide me with a ** **** copy of the alleged bill so I can properly dispute the charges that I do not consider valid.

Business Response: July 11, 2014

Ms. ******* *****
Dispute Resolution Consultant
Arizona Better Business Bureau

RE: ******* ****** ID# ********

Dear Ms. *****,

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  In accordance with Mr. ******’s specific requests for resolution, the University has been in contact with the student and is working with him on his billing/collection issues.

Please let me know if we can provide any addition information or be of any other service. Sincerely,

Office of Legal Affairs
Office of the President

 

7/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This school is not true to its word and just want to make money off of students and drop them because according to them they haven't met qualifications. In the course of 4 yes I have had 4 different academic advisors and 3 different dissertation mentors. **** ******** approved my paper and told me to make some corrections and she would send it to dissertation board. Well 3 days later, after making the proper changes, I received an email that Dr. ******** will no longer be my dissertation mentor. I receive a new professor and he wanted me to start my concept paper from the beginning. Devastation one professor states its fine for approval and all of a sudden its no longer good enough so I can't have it sent to the board. I complained to my academic advisor which is advisor number 4 and she told me to talk to my new professor. I did and we could never see eye to eye and paper never met his standards and the dissertation courses I took from him I failed. I personally feel that my assignments were not approved because I informed my advisor the professor and I were not getting a long and on purpose he was not approving my assignments so I could move on to have my paper sent to the board for review and approval.

Desired Settlement: Admission back into the PHD program. Move forward to have my paper sent to the dissertation chair/board for review and approval, so that I can graduate a receive my doctoral degree by December 2014.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  We appreciate the opportunity to work with you through this matter. Unfortunately, ***** privacy rights preclude us from discussing the details of the student’s record to an unauthorized third party in response to the complaint.

Northcentral University is unique in providing constructive feedback prior to the dissertation proposal stage. This is to ensure that the candidate has a feasible and realistic plan that can culminate in a well- conceived, substantive, quality dissertation. Concept paper reviews serve to assess that the topic is appropriate and that the planned research is sound and practical within the scope of a doctoral program. The Concept Paper is initially approved by the Dissertation Chair and Dissertation Committee, and submitted for review to the Graduate School (GS). If, in the review, it is indicated that the research idea is feasible, the Graduate School will offer suggestions for improvements and the candidate will proceed to work on the Dissertation Proposal. If the Graduate School indicates that the research idea is not likely to succeed, then the candidate should, in consultation with his or her Dissertation Chair and Dissertation Committee, consider embarking on an entirely new project and write a new Concept Paper. It is not out of the ordinary for initial CP submissions to need some improvement. In essence if the Concept Paper is lacking in any manner, the student will not be able to find success in completing their dissertation journey.

Additionally, in Northcentral University’s published policy: Unsatisfactory Grades for Doctoral Students, “Dissertation (DIS) Sequence - Any student who receives a third “U” will be dismissed from the University. This applies to any combination of three “U” grades in the DIS sequence, whether the three grades are received in the same course or different courses.”
 
Being associated with academic performance, we have been in contact with Ms. ****** on several occasions providing clarification, guidance and have evaluated the student’s record, academic performance, communications, faculty feedback, academic progression, and policies in response to her concerns.

At this time, the University considers this matter to be resolved. Sincerely,
Office of Legal Services Office of the President

 

6/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted NCU about an online masters program, and told them I was not in a hurry to begin. I have a very hectic work schedule with projects which I am in charge of and take up a great deal of my time during them. I needed to know that there was a flexible schedule to turn in assignments, as I would have difficulty following a hard schedule at times. I was assured that they were very flexible and that assignment turn in would be no problem. I was very excited to start classes, as this is my subject of choice, and I have been looking to get a degree in this field for many years. Several people assisted me in beginning school, and they were of great help to my beginning the program. As I began classes, I found that the system took some getting used to, but that was ok, as there were systems in place to help me adapt, and they were changing things as well, mostly for the better. My first complaint came when they had a new teacher, with poor teaching skills, trying to guide students through online classes, grading strictly on APA style, which is more of a guideline than a hard design, and having strict guidelines on turning in papers. No papers could be turned in early, but had to be turned in by an end of week deadline. Strict attention was paid to any error, and grades were docked, sometimes severely for simple mistakes. I noticed that emails and contacts from her were filled with mistakes in grammar and spelling. It makes it frustrating when you notice such obvious issues and are being graded by this person. Next and more at issue was the grading policy for late work. I was told that NCU was flexible toward students and schedules, however, grades were dropped ten percent for each day they were late. This is a huge penalty for those of us with serious responsibilities and families. On two different locations on the new portal website, two different policies were listed with regard to assignment schedules. Only one talked of a hard schedule, while the other talked of the flexible schedule I had signed on knowing about. I called and ask my advisor for help. She did contact the teacher for both the grading issues and the issues with penalties. This did make life a little easier. Next and most at issue was the next penalty. During this few first months, I took 2 classes. It was a process to find the right way to schedule my time to pursue my degree while staying current on each assignment. I completed all of the assignments, even if they were late, because I felt that each was important to my growth and learning of this important subject. This caused several assignments to be late, docking my grade severely. This lead to being told that a professional courtesy discount which I had been given was now called a scholarship, and that because I received a B-, (due to the grade docking), that I would lose that money toward my tuition. I asked for help from my advisor, but when she heard that the "scholarship" money was a breaking point for me, I heard a noticeable change in her tone toward me and my problem. She told me that she would discuss my problem with those in charge and get back to me. She wrote an email and carbon copied me a one line question. Was the current policy to void monies for scholarships if grades were not at least a B. We had, by now, already found out the policy, and I was trying to get past that, to have them wait another class or 2 so that I could adapt to the schedule and issues I was having. This was made me feel all alone in the process, and that business went on without regard for the student and promises to him or her. Before I took a leave of absence to try to deal with these feelings and pressures, I was contacted by the school and informed that if I didn't get an A in the next term, I would have my schooling terminated. Then, during my leave, I was contacted and threatened with charges if I did not return to classes after my leave. All of these things put undue stress on me, and made it less than desirable to return to classes. I would be taking another class with this less skilled teacher if I continued. I would face paying tuition and then being removed for not keeping a B average if I did not pass with an A. Finally, they sent me a bill to pay for dropping a class after all they had done to me, and put me through. They wanted me to pay some more money for dropping a class on time...with the policy of no charge when dropped right away. Also, while I was on leave, they barred me from my student portal, with all the information about my classes, future classes, and school policies, leaving me without a way to even find out my options. They have marred my experience, and cost me a tidy sum of money in the process, and added insult to injury by trying to collect more money. I have contacted an attorney about recouping tuitions and collecting damages regarding breach of contract dealing with promises of flexible times for assignment deadlines. I have not come to a conclusion on whether to pursue or not I was pressured to start right away, and I yielded to that pressure as assurances were clear that they were flexible enough enough for my needs. Also, I received an email telling me that they were charging me for dropping the latest class. On the invoice it appears that they have charged me and extra 2170.00 to my student loan, without permission and without a class to bill it against. I don't know what it is about, as I only have the email and have not contacted the loan center yet. It only says Unsub Funds Returned to COD, but is listed on the total bill, and was listed as paid by student loan.

Desired Settlement: I tried to work through the designed methods the University provided, however it would appear that advisors do not really have any authority to do much of anything, and that I was mislead in believing that she could or would help me to the best of her ability. I think that if I could have avoided threats of money and being dropped for poor grades, I would have still been in school today, and happy about it. I would have adjusted to the new policies and been on my way to my degree. As it stands, I feel taken advantage of, and put under undue pressure. I feel like a number, and not the unique and hard working person that I am. Some of my excitement has gone away. I am seeking restitution of tuitions and charges. I have already paid for books I cannot use, and have used and cannot use professionally. I have already spent time I can not get back. I have already had dreams stripped from my grasp, and had to turn to other avenues for securing my future. I don't know what else to ask for but my money.

Business Response:

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions. We appreciate the opportunity to work with you through this matter. Unfortunately, ***** privacy rights preclude Northcentral from discussing the details of the student’s record to an unauthorized third party in response to the complaint.

Being associated with academic performance, we have been in contact with Mr. *******, on several occasions providing clarification, guidance and have evaluated the student’s record, academic performance, communications, faculty feedback, academic progression, and policies in response to his concerns. As a good will gesture, we have waived a drop fee and have a department that will be happy to assist in the re-entry process if he chooses to return. At this time, all issues have been reviewed, researched, and adjudicated properly in accordance with policies. I hope you find this to clarify the students concerns, please let me know if you need any additional assistance in the future.

Sincerely,



Office of Legal Services
Office of the President

 

 

4/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an email from Northcentral University, please see below: "Hello *******, I am sorry to bother you but after an internal audit we realized there is still a balance due for $100.00 on your account. It appears that there was a miscalculation when we setup your payment plan. Each of the 10 payments was $10 short of what it should have been and this caused the remaining balance. I do apologize for the inconvenience and have also attached a copy of your transaction history so that you can see the breakdown. Please get back in contact with us so that we can work out arrangements to get the rest taken care of. Thank you for your understanding!" I do not think that I should have to pay for their mistake. Is this legal? I told them I needed time to think about it. I paid all my payments on time, and a year later am receiving this email. How is it my mistake that they made the payment plan in error?

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome is that I do not have to pay $100 back to them for their mistake in making an agreed upon payment plan without fail. I do realize that this person is just doing their job, but this is utterly ridiculous.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. Glass,

 

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions. In accordance with the student's specific requests for resolution, the University has responded affirmatively and has completed all administrative steps in this process.

Please let me know if I can provide any addition information or be of any other service.

Sincerely

Office of Legal Affairs

Office of the President

4/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended Northcentral University in August of 2013 and withdrew November 27th 2013. Before withdrawing I spoke with my academic advisor (******* **********), informing her I will be withdrawing after taking class 5105, because I was applying for Social Work instead. I asked her if it would affect me financially and if it was okay to do so. She told me that it was okay, On December 13th, I received an email from the financial aid department, saying that I owe $1,590 because I withdrew before the quarter was over. I called the school and informed them about financial advisors assurance that I wouldn't have to owe anything. They told me she was specialized in that department to know. They then told me that I could re-enroll to complete 5106. It was then that I told them that I would only complete that course, because I'd already applied for another school. They assured me that it would be okay. After I re-enrolled I got another call from a different financial aid advisor telling me that I am unable to complete one course and quit. So I told them that I would not complete the degree, because I don't want to get a degree in that field anymore. They then told me that I'm required to pay the amount and they told me to set up a payment time. I told them that I didn't have a job and that my ex ***** ***** will help me pay $50 month towards the fee. They agreed to it. However, ***** called the school and told them not to use his credit card anymore. They still tried taking money out of his account. They reached me via email a few times asking for payment, now they threatened to transfer it to collections, with an added fee of $40. I kept telling them that I didn't have a job to pay them. I personally think that it is unfair that I have to pay this, considering that I was told by one of the employees at the college that it was okay for me to withdraw at the time. I have emails that were sent to me if needed.

Desired Settlement: All I am asking is that they waive the cost that they say I owe. ***** has already paid $50 towards the fee, in which I think we deserved to be paid back for it. But they can keep it, as long as I don't have to pay any remaining balance.

Business Response: Dear *** ****** Part of Northcentral University‘s overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  Due to *** ****** voluntary withdrawal from Northcentral University, we were required to perform a return calculation for federal aid according to regulations set forth by the Department of Education. According to this calculation, we are required to return the amount owed to Direct Lending on the students behalf. This return calculation determines how much of financial aid was “earned” based upon the number of days that the student actively participated in their courses at Northcentral and the number of courses they successfully completed within the payment period. *** ***** is responsible for paying Northcentral this amount, (which includes stipends paid directly to the student). Please note the University made a special hardship plan approval for the student to make minimal payments, in which she initially accepted but cancelled after one payment. Our finance staff has been in contact with the student on over forty occasions trying to assist and provide service in every way possible. Besides offering the special exception we are not sure what else we can do to assist. Sincerely, Office of Legal Affairs Office of the President  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]


Yes. I admit I talked to many people from Northcentral.  I do not deny the communication, however, the communication between me and my academic advisor was mostly over the phone, which means, if our conversations is recorded it should be in their recordings.  I have no reason to lie about this and if I would have known that I couldn't withdraw during the time approved, I wouldn't have withdrawn. 


Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: Dear *** ****** Thank you for allowing us to make a final statement in regard to this issue. We understand that *** ***** feels she should not be responsible for her balance based on an alleged conversation with an Academic Advisor. Please note Academic Advisors do not provide financial advice to students. *** ***** confirmed this fact and stated “Yes. I admit I talked to many people from Northcentral.” In fact she had several conversations with our Finance Department during the time she was enrolled, (well over 10 different occasions), prior to her decision to withdraw, and following her decision to leave the University as well.  *** ***** voluntarily withdrew from the program, and was provided timely financial advice from trained finance professionals, as we provided in our last correspondence. The University has been in continuous contact with *** ***** and provided her with detailed information surrounding her financial situation. At this time, the University considers this matter to be resolved. Sincerely, Office of Legal Affairs Office of the President

 

4/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in North Central University (NCU) in January 2007 in an International Business PhD program. I had no financial aid, or a career veteran I had no government or military assistance. I was progressing through NCU with a high Grade Point Average. Therefore, every class I took and had to pay myself. This meant the classes would take longer to complete. The NCU staff was aware of my situation. In June 2010, I injured myself and had to go into major back surgery with rehabilitation. I had to stop taking classes for six month. This was approved by NCU academic adviser. I started classes again in January 2011. At the end of 2011 I began my Comprehensive classes I was assigned a Chair person to evaluate my Comprehensives. Half-way through the class my Academic Adviser advised me that the Chair-person assigned was unqualified to instruct on this class and I was assigned another Chair-person that was presumably qualified. This meant that all the work I complete for the previous Chair-Person had to be completely re-done. Therefore, eating more of my valuable time. I complained to the Academic Adviser *** ******* and she informed me that I had seven years to complete my degree. During the next 14 months I completed 5 more classes in the dissertation process with a GPA of 4,69/of 5.0 In my forth class DISC9323B I was assigned a Chair a *** *****. ** ***** critically evaluated my work and stated everything that I had accomplished in previous classes was all wrong. Therefore, I started redeveloping my Concept paper for dissertation. In My next class ********. NCU started rotating Chair-person(s) this meant everything I accomplished for *** ***** had to be re-done. In October 2012 I turned in my last assignment for Concept Paper *********. It took from October 2012 to March 2013 to get the paper review and graded. I asked for an explanation and no one told me. I began my next class ********* in April 2013 and was progressing along. Then I was re-assigned another Chair person who critically graded my work and said that everything I accomplished for previous Chairs was also incorrect. It is now October 2013 and my seven year time limit runs out in January 2014. By this time I had a new Academic Adviser who took 7 days to answer a question sent to him. I asked the Academic Adviser for a extension to the 7 year time frame due to circumstances completely out of my control, after waiting a reply for almost two weeks the Academic Adviser responded telling me I had to a an Appeal through the SAP committee requesting an extension, which I accomplished the next day. I also informed the Dean and Chancellor of my appeal. Three weeks went by and it was once again I received a reply from Academic Adviser. Not the Dean, not the Chancellor, not the Appeals board. But from Academic Adviser stating my appeal for extension was denied. However, during this whole 6(six) year enrolment at NCU. No one at NCU in the Academic Department, to include Dean, and Academic Adviser advised me what could have been done to expedite me through the PhD International Business system, without falling prey to the 7 year enrollment period. Now they are dismissing me after 6 and one-half years, without a valid reason for not extending me through the 7 year period. I have gone through 17 Classes with NCU and spent approximately $34,000 and NCU would not grant me an extension of six to 8 months to complete my dissertation in two more classes. Since my withdrawal from NCU in October of my own accord. I have written the Chancellor, Dean, and Accreditation Boards. I have also written NCU and once again asked for a reply and rational why I could not be extended and NCU refuses to answer professionally or provide a rational reason for mistakes caused by them and myself (Unexpected Surgery). This is unacceptable behavior by a school that prides there-self in professional academics.


North-central University stated over three weeks ago, they were going to resolve my previous complaint below. They stated they were considering me for reentry back into my PhD program at NCU. I provided the reentry individual and North-central University Ombudsman *** ******* required information for reentry, now going on three weeks ago. I have corresponded via email to the Ombudsman *** ******* and she said it would be taken care of by reentry person. After countless number of call to get the situation resolved and over three weeks my email and other correspondence have been ignored. This is unacceptable for a school that has a A+ rating from BBB, in my opinion it they should they have the Customer Service of a D rated  for such a prestigious University. I wish to reopen my complaint against North-central University stating slothfulness in customer relations and integrity in processes. Thank you

****** * *****

Desired Settlement: I desire to be re-admitted into NCU at my last class level, or a Letter from NCU Appeals Board or Chancellor, detailing why I cannot be re-admitted. Thank youard

Business Response: Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  In accordance with *** ******* specific requests for resolution, the University has been in contact with the student and is working with him to re-enter in our Pathway Program.

Please let me know if we can provide any addition information or be of any other service. Sincerely,

Office of Legal Affairs Office of the President

 

Business Response:

Dear *** *****,

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  In accordance with *** ******* initial requests for resolution, the University has been in contact with the student on several occasions (over 5 different times) between the dates of 02/26/2014 and 03/25/2014 working with him as well as administratively to re-enter in our Pathway Program. We understand that this timeframe may not be as fast as *** ***** would like or aligns with his expectations, but please note that this was an exception to policy in which approvals and steps have to be completed in order for the re-entry process to begin.

After receiving communication in regard to *** ******* rebuttal with the BBB, our Legal Services Department, immediately reached out and inquired how we can positively move forward with a resolution. We also offered to work diligently to expedite the re-entry process in every way possible and to take point in ensuring that *** ******* experience back in class was as positive as possible. *** ***** responded “What I am looking at to get this complaint resolved at NCU by BBB is to let the process work. NCU has delayed me so much with their ineffective communication and scholastic internal review processes. So my resolution for now is to let the complaint process work, and maybe an investigation will occur on NCU processes and maybe something will change” “I have not made my mind up on weather I want to continue/reenter at NCU or not”.  As an institution we stand behind our special exception and offer to let *** ***** return to class and hopefully achieve his academic goals by participating in our Pathway Program. Besides offering this exception and completing the re-entry process we are not sure what else we can do to assist.

Please let me know if we can provide any addition information or be of any other service. Sincerely,


Office of Legal Affairs Office of the President

3/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been enrolled in a PhD program at NorthCentral University since 2006. I completed all the required courses and the Comprehensive exam in November 2010. I began writing my dissertation August 2011. Since then I have taken seven dissertation courses and am now enrolled in my eight course. I have also had my committee chair person changed three times. Most recently (September 2013) I expressed my concerns to the school about the dissertation process. The school offered me the option to take the Ombudsman path to degree completion. It is six months since starting on that path. However, I am having a difficult time getting the school to accept my proposal so that I can start my research. With only six months to go I would like the school to accept my proposal so I can start my research and complete my dissertation by September 2014 and be awarded by PhD.

Desired Settlement: I paid for a PhD and after all the time and financial resources I have dedicated pursuing this degree I would like to get my degree.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions. We appreciate the opportunity to work with you through this matter. Unfortunately, FERPA privacy rights preclude Northcentral from discussing the details of the student’s record to an unauthorized third party in response to the complaint.

In Northcentral University’s Candidacy Resource Guide it states “After you have successfully passed the Comprehensive Examination, there are several milestones in the doctoral candidacy stage. Each one represents a significant accomplishment on the way to obtaining a doctoral degree. It is the student’s successful progression through these scholarly works that facilitates graduation.

1. Concept Paper (CP)
2. Dissertation Proposal (DP)
3. Institutional Review Board (IRB) Application and Approval
4. Dissertation Manuscript (DM)
5. Oral Examination

We have been in contact with Mr. ***** providing clarification and guidance surrounding degree requirements specifically scholarly milestones that need to be achieved in the Dissertation Process. We have offered him the opportunity to participate in our Pathway Program, which is a special program designed to assist students who are experiencing challenges in their specific dissertation journey.

Within this program the student is provided the opportunity to pair up with an appropriately qualified chair to assist with his specific research method who commits to working with the student four hours per week to guide them on the path to completing their doctoral degree. Our Ombudsman Office has also reached out to him after receipt of this complaint assisting in providing any alternatives and solutions we can provide to assist him in his journey.
 
It is not unusual for candidates to experience challenges in their personal evolution from being a student, consumer of information, to becoming a scholar, a producer of information. We encourage Mr. ***** to work closely with the Ombudsman Office and his Dissertation Chair to gain the necessary insight and feedback for his scholarly work to progress toward graduation.

At this time, the University considers this matter to be resolved.

Sincerely,

Office of Legal Services
Office of the President

 

3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The two Northcentral University did not provide adequate delivery of service in courses ******** and ******** because of the inability of the mentor to perform the necessary functions. In the second course, ******** the mentor after the fact lied about my work in a personal email to me justifying my final grade. Dr. ******* ********* gave me 12 100%'s, but claimed that I did not follow through on contacting the Librarian, which I did; that I did not call her, which I did; and that I did not provide primary sources in my work, which I did, and I have proof that I did. The final grade is in the appeal process.

Desired Settlement: Northcentral University needs to refund me the full amount of my tuition for the two courses, ********, and ********.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *******,

Part of Northcentral University‘s overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  In support of this mission, Northcentral University has developed a grade appeal procedure that allows students to express his/her concerns to the Dean for adjudication.  In this instance, Ms. **** has submitted several appeals between 02/18/2014-02/19/2014. The student is currently seeking resolution through this process with Northcentral University and as such these matters are under review. On 02/18/2014, her faculty member provided clarification and guidance specifically surrounding her concerns entailing her final grade. Additionally, our Ombudsman Office is reaching out to help mediate the issue with the student.

Being academic in nature, we request the opportunity to complete the complaint process with Ms. ****. Please note FERPA privacy regulations preclude the University from sharing the details of this student’s academic record without written consent. We appreciate your support in the execution of our internal procedures.

Sincerely,


Office of Legal Affairs Office of the President

 

3/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in Northcentral University to obtain a PhD. in Curriculum and Instruction in 2009. I have been a teacher more than 10 years and have an M Ed and Specialist Degree from a respected university. I was assured during the admissions process that Northcentral was a respectable and accredited school and despite the high tuition decided to proceed. In the 4 years I have been at Northcentral the school has changed the chair at least 4 times. I was able to advance to the final phase of the program incident free and then was given a new chair. In almost 6 months of working with the new chair it has become apparent that my completion of the program will be delayed or stopped after paying more than $20,000.00 I am feeling scammed. I have found numerous reviews since enrolling that have accused this school of being a scam and noticed they have a large number of BBB complaints many of which have been resolved which I hope mine may be as well. I have requested another chair change after 6 months of not progressing and have been asked to go through a long process just to make the request formally.

Desired Settlement: I regret at this point enrolling at Northcentral and if this school just strung me along to get as much money from me as possible with no intention of assisting me in graduating I would like a full refund from my entire time there. I would rather have the school fulfill the commitment of my completing this degree and change the chair like I have requested and have a chair placed with me that has a history of student success and graduation if such a chair exists at Northcentral. In my Specialist degree I was recognized as the Outstanding Student in my class and have no doubt I have the ability to complete this program if given an opportunity by Northcentral or extend me the refund so I can pursue this degree elsewhere.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *******,

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  Northcentral University is unique in providing constructive feedback prior to the dissertation proposal stage. This is to ensure that the candidate has a feasible and realistic plan that can culminate in a well-conceived, substantive, quality dissertation. Concept paper reviews serve to assess that the topic is appropriate and that the planned research is sound and practical within the scope of a doctoral program. The Concept Paper is initially approved by the Dissertation Chair and Dissertation Committee, and submitted for review to the Graduate School (GS). If, in the review, it is indicated that the research idea is feasible, the Graduate School will offer suggestions for improvements and the candidate will proceed to work on the Dissertation Proposal. If the Graduate School indicates that the research idea is not likely to succeed, then the candidate should, in consultation with his or her Dissertation Chair and Dissertation Committee, consider embarking on an entirely new project and write a new Concept Paper.

We have been in contact with Ms. ****** on several occasions providing clarification and guidance surrounding Northcentral University’s Policy announced by the Provost, to all doctoral candidates and faculty, that the University will migrate all students to the full time dissertation chair model. This academic related decision was implemented to support academic rigor, standards, and education. Ms. ******’s faculty is a highly-qualified full time chair who will guide her dissertation through this key milestone as well as the entire educational journey. Please note that her chair has been providing substantial feedback and adhering to policies outlined in the Doctoral Candidacy Resource Guide. The University provides several additional resources for students to help them to successfully complete the dissertation portion of their program. Resources include but are not limited to their advisor, their Dissertation Committee, the NCU Catalog, and several documents and templates in the Dissertation Center on the student portal.
 
It is not unusual for candidates to experience challenges in their personal evolution from being a student, consumer of information, to becoming a scholar, a producer of information.  I encourage Ms. ****** to work closely with her Dissertation Chair to gain the necessary insight and feedback for her scholarly work to progress toward graduation. This includes scheduling a time to have a phone or ***** conversation with her chair. Regular communication via teleconferences might help resolve some of the challenges stated in the initial complaint.

At this time, all issues have been reviewed, researched, and adjudicated properly in accordance with policies. I hope you find this to clarify the students concerns, please let me know if you need any additional assistance in the future.

Sincerely,

Office of Legal Affairs

 

2/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Northwestern University called me 78 times from January 21, 2014 until February 3, 2014.

Desired Settlement: I don't want anymore calls

Business Response: February 5, 2014

Ms. ******* *******
Dispute Resolution Consultant
Arizona Better Business Bureau

RE: ******** ***** ID# *******



Dear Ms. *******,

Part of Northcentral University's overall mission is a commitment to helping students achieve academically and become valuable contributors to their communities and within their professions.  In accordance with Ms. *****’s specific requests for resolution, the University has responded affirmatively and has completed all administrative steps in this process.

Please let me know if we can provide any addition information or be of any other service.


Sincerely,

Office of Legal Affairs
Office of the President

 

11/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/5/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Northcentral University
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart