Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Brookline College

Additional Locations

Phone: (602) 644-7000 Fax: (602) 644-7001 Phoenix Campus - 2445 W. Dunlap Avenue  Suite 100, Phoenix, AZ 85021

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This college offers academic degrees in health care, legal and business careers.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Brookline College include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Brookline College include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Brookline College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1979 Business started: 10/18/1979 in AZ Business incorporated 03/27/2009 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona State Post Private Secondary EducationS
1400 W. Washington Street, Phoenix AZ 85007
Phone Number: (602) 542-8709
Fax Number: (602) 542-1253

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Roy Hawkins, Executive VP of Operations Ms. Emily Bernatow, Admissions Support Manager Mr. Ted Burrows, Creative Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roy Hawkins, Executive VP of Operations
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Schools - Business & Vocational Nurses Schools

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Brookline College has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    2141 E. Highland Avenue #200

    Phoenix, AZ 85016


    Phoenix Campus - 2445 W. Dunlap AvenueSuite 100

    Phoenix, AZ 85021


    Tempe Campus - 1140 & 1150 S. Priest Drive

    Tempe, AZ 85281 (480) 545-8755 (800) 717-5491


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brookline college provided me with a private loan that was suppose to be applied to a program that I was enrolled in. Even though I needed to withdraw from the study they told me it would take 30 days for them to calculate what they will be billing me for. They said they can not see what will be billed. Before I had to withdraw i informed the company of my financial hardship. I had let him know that I have two children that are disable. I am currently on bed rest due to my pregnancy with no job. The company never informed me that they didn't have deferments or forbearance. The manager of that department of the school who the loan is with stated that even if the program is not completed that it was still going to be owed regardless of me not completing the program there. **** quote on quote stated that my circumstances was not going to change the fact that money is what makes the world go round an if they don't receive money they will just garnish my wages when I get a income.

Desired Settlement: I need for the loan amount to be removed that was suppose to be additional even though I didn't continue that program of study.

9/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Plain and simple, my wife withdrew from the nursing program and we were still charged for tuition. We physically went down to the school (because NOBODY ever returns phone calls) and withdrew from the program. We talked to the director in charge of the nursing program to voice some complaints/concerns, and then proceeded to talk to financial aid. Financial aid told us that it was no problem, no information had been entered into the system yet, and that they would simply 'X' out the file and put it aside. Come to find out, it wasn't so simple! Upon reviewing our bank account I find a charge for nearly $400.00. Money that was taken out of our bank account when my wife wasn't even a student! Money that was basically stolen!

Desired Settlement: Refund in full!

Business Response: I am already aware of this issue and am conducting an investigation as to how this happened. When we were made aware of this mistake on 9/3 we immediately began the process of cancelling the auto debit and notifying the bank of the mistake.

8/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: See attached document.

Desired Settlement: See attached document.

Business Response: I am not sure who ****** ****** spoke to but I was able to locate his file and verify that he did graduate from **** with a diploma in Detention and Security. I will reach out to *** ****** and send him a copy of his transcript.

Business Response: I am not sure who ****** ****** spoke to but I was able to locate his file and verify that he did graduate from **** with a diploma in Detention and Security. I will reach out to *** ****** and send him a copy of his transcript.

8/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied to Brookline College and while I was the speaking with the recruiter (*** *** whose employment was terminated within acouple of days of me speaking to her) I was told that the college offered an Associates Degree in Medical Assisting. I asked her if she was sure of this and she confidently said yes, so I was eager to sign up which I did and attended during 05/11 thru 2/12. While attending ( I was 3/4 of the way thru the program) I was told by an instructor that it was not an Associates degree program just a diploma/certificate program. To my dismay I went to the head of the Tempe location and made an appt with ****** (can't remember his title but he was hired into the position during my time at the college but now no longer is employed there) and I explained to him what my dilema was and he said "That's too bad " and I sat there bewildered . He made absolutely no effort to correct the issue or even look into my complaint. Is there anything you can do and do I have any recourse? Thank you for you time

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of all monies that I have so far paid to Brookline College and I would like my government tuition excused so I can attend a Associates Degree program like I wanted in the first place.

Business Response:

In researching ****** *****, I found that she started in the diploma program for Medical Assistant on 5/9/2011 and graduated on 2/17/2012. The enrollment agreement she signed does not indicate that the program is an associate degree. Also on the enrollment agreement which she signed it states that she received a copy of the college catalog which clearly list the program as a diploma program. Her file does not indicate any situation where Ms. ***** filed a complaint in reference to this matter. This complaint also comes 1yr and 8 months after her graduation.  At this time no refund is warranted.


7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I enrolled in this college and everything they tell you to get you to enroll is no the truth. 1.No matter where you earn your *** they report it as if you got it from them in order to apply for a scholarship in your name and they keep the scholarship funds. 2.They send your lender one amount and tell you it is not the correct amount they made a mistakes.But it still shows up as if you received the funding. 3.I started to ask question about my stipend check, now no one answers their phone for my phone number, but still answers if I call from another number. 4.This is a company that is getting rich by lying to people to get them in their school and does everything in their power to get as much money out of us as they can,there are places we can go and we don't know where or how to contact them and when we do they take their time helping us; we need help where do we go. i

Desired Settlement: Refund my money to me as it has to be repaid by me.

Business Response: 1. **** ***** enrolled on 5/15/2014 and received the ****** ** ******* scholarship in the amount of $1000.00. This is an institutional scholarship granted by Brookline College to students that have received their *** from ANY *** facility. There is no 3rd party funding source, it is a reduction in tuition to help students further their education.

2. We originate and certify loans based on an entire academic year, as do ALL institutions. Ms. ***** is upset because we only disbursed half of the loans in the first semester, AS REQUIRED BY REGULATION, however the lender will show the full amount of the loan that was originated, as it always will.

3. This has been explained to her several times and we have pages of notes documenting these conversations. She appears to be frustrated because she feels she should be awarded a larger stipend check.

4, We are always upfront with our students about the cost of attending Brookline college and the availability and eligibility of funding programs. Ms. ***** was given an award letter clearly outlining the cost of the program by award year, she signed an enrollment agreement that clearly detailed the cost of the entire program, and she was given all pertinent information regarding ***** ** eligibility amounts, as well as a $1,000.00 institutionally funded scholarship.  

If this is not sufficient for Ms. ***** I would suggest she drop from Brookline College and enroll in another institution where she can receive a larger stipend check.

10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ****** l. ******* am currently attending Brookline College Online. I was first attending La College International online until they sold their company without giving the students a chance to know what Brookline College is about. We had no choice but to switch. Since I started at La College International Online/Brookline College, I have been on the Provost's Honor Roll and I am supposed to be graduating March, 2013; which is only a few weeks away. Now that I have switched to Brookline College, I am told that I do not have enough government funds to cover me until graduation. Now, I think that is totally wrong. I went for nearly 4 years of being a dedicated student, and took out a huge amount of student loans and book fees and I cant even graduate. They want me to pay this money now , which I do not have. I am on Social Security Benefits and have a very limited income. The only way I will be able to pay any money is if I graduate which will allow me to pursue a career. I am wanting to know if this online school is scamming me. Because I can not afford to pay any of this if I do not graduate. Please Help, ****** L. *******

Desired Settlement: First see if Brookline College is legitimate. See what rights do I have for someone who is disabled. I would like to either be able to finish my courses at Brookline College, graduate which will allow me to get a career to pay back. If not, what could I do to not have to pay these loans back, if I am not able to graduate?

Business Response:

The impetus of Brookline Colleges’ acceptance to work with the students of L.A. College was to enable them to effectively complete the programs that they had started without being negatively impacted by the schools closure.


Seeing that this has been an a-typical situation, for everyone involved the open and timely communication between the students and Brookline College has allowed there to be quick resolutions to identified concerns as well as clarification of questions all throughout this teach-out process.


As such, ****** ********’ letter was very helpful in clearly identifying her perspective of the situation as well as allowing us to further engage her in coming to a sound resolution for both parties.


We were able to determine that the money owed was accurate.  Having that information in hand, we were able to work with Ms. ******* on 2/21/13 to develop a payment plan option that fit into her budget.  She has agreed to this budget plan and is active in her courses.    


We will work with Ms. ******* to ensure that she is able to complete her final two courses to complete her program.  She has worked hard through her program, achieved good grades and deserves to not have any further obstacles in her way towards graduation.




Eric Murry

Eric Murry

Director of Online Operations

602.778.3163 / 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.


****** *******