This business is not BBB accredited.

Anthem College

Additional Locations

Fax: (602) 264-8391 View Additional Phone Numbers 16404 N. Black Canyon Hwy #180, Phoenix, AZ 85053 http://www.anthem.edu ! Anthem College is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Provider of post-secondary education.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Anthem College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1970 Business started: 11/01/1965 in AZ Business started locally: 11/01/1965 Business incorporated 09/01/1982 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tatsiana Tuchinsky, VP, Regulatory and Legal Affairs
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Tatsiana Tuchinsky, VP, Regulatory and Legal Affairs
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
Anthem College Online The Bryman School of Arizona

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1000 Corporate Drive #500Corporate Headquarters

    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16404 N. Black Canyon Hwy #180

    Phoenix, AZ 85053 (602) 328-2800 (602) 889-2700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Anthem College formerly known as High Tech Institute is not responding to my request for my transcripts. I attended High Tech Institute around 2002 when it was located in ******** ******, **. The Anthem school is no longer in Minnesota and I am having the hardest time locating my transcripts. I have sent request via the Request form on Anthem college web site and still I have not heard from a representative and the current school that I am enrolling in is stating that they haven't received anything from them as well.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate it if Anthem college can locate and release my transcripts to the Instituting that I am requesting them to go to.

10/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended Anthem College Online in 2006-2007. While I was attending, I was called back into the military and put back on active duty. I was put on a military deferment for the time I was on Active Duty. When I was done with the Army for the second time and was ready to get back to school, Anthem College didn't offer the major I had been going for as a degree anymore. They only offered it as a certification! I had spent a ton of money trying to get a DEGREE, not a CERTIFICATION! And then they wanted to charge me for the class that I had to stop taking due to the Army, even knowing that class wouldn't help towards the DEGREE I wanted, nor would it help me earn a certificate that they were suggesting I should go for. Then on top of that, all the money I had spent on the degree I would never get, wouldn't be able to go toward the certificate. In other words, I would have had to start over again. Now I'm out of a GI Bill, I have no degree, and I have creditors calling me because I refuse to pay for a degree I was never given the opportunity to finish earning. All I want is them to give ****** *** back their money!

Desired Settlement: I would have liked to finish my degree, but I would settle for them to give ****** *** back their money or give it to me so that I can give them back their money. Either way I would be happy.

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attend College at Anthem on their online program. I was 4 classes from completing my bachelor program and the school closed with out formal notice on 09/01/2014. I have tried attending other school but Anthem Education group has put me in a financial hardship. They have completely drained the remaining amount of my pell grant. I will only have pell grant options for one more semester. After this semester, I will only have 5,000 in Stanford loans to utilize toward my degree (which have to complete another 2 years to finish it at another school). I'm going to have to find a way to come up with over 9,000 to finance the remaining portion of my degree.

Desired Settlement: I want my pell money returned to me so that I can finish my bachelor degree. I also want the money that was invested in my degree program to be returned to me as well due to the inability of me to complete my degree program on a timely manner due to the closure of the school. I don't feel it is fair that I have to suffer and try to find other ways to pay for my degree when I was almost finished. I don't understand why I'm being punished (financially) due to the schools poor money judgment.

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a former student of the Anthem Online program. After graduating from the Anthem Brookfield location I was approached by Anthem Online to continue my education and pursue my BA. I signed up and started March of 2014. The program was filled with technical issues, scheduling conflicts with teachers and incomplete coursework. My education is important to me so I muddled through. Three months into the program I discovered that I was misled as to how long my BA would take. I decided to grit my teeth and forge on. After nearly six months I had had enough and left the program in August of the same year. The Anthem Online program uses a third party (***********) for much of their material including text books, assignments and tests. Most of the assignments were incomplete (as in the questions cut off in mid sentence) or contained errors that I found as a struggling student but that the instructors had no knowledge of. Many of the tests lacked information needed to answer questions such as links to graphs or charts. Again, as a student I was bringing this material to the instructors when they should have known ahead of time. I spoke with instructors and staff members several times and I was assured that everything would be corrected. However nothing was ever done. After leaving I contacted the school and spoke with several people regarding the issues with the program. I refuse to pay for a broken, incomplete system. I firmly believe that they failed to live up to their end of the contract formed when I signed up for school.

Desired Settlement: I insist on having all payments made to the school since beginning the program returned to me. I also insist that all grant money taken from FAFSA returned so that I might pursue my education elsewhere. Further, I insist that all student loans tapped for the online program be repaid. I consider anything less to be unacceptable.

1/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started attending Anthem College in July 2006. I am from Louisiana and due to hurricane we were out of power and I was terminated from the program. I tried numerous times to get accepted back because I was paying almost 20,000 in student loans. I was finally accepted in 2013 and started September 2013. Before I started I made it real clear I wanted to finish my education but could not afford much more student loans and needed to know the total I would be paying BEFORE I started. Anthem College financial aid made me aware I was eligible for Pell grant and I had to pay nothing out of pocket and therefore I didn't have much more to borrow through department of education. I am starting my 4th class and I just received a phone call saying I don't qualify for Pell Grant and I have to borrow 10,500 and pay almost 2,000 out of pocket. I pretty hurt. I don't understand how they can tell me one thing then go back on there words once I already started. I can not afford that and want my education. I let her know I have a ill son who will be having surgery Jan 13 and Ill be out of work for a while and I don't have that kind of money. Can you please figure this out and how come they changed after I already started now I need money.

Desired Settlement: Figure out to get Pell Grant and where I am not paying out of pocket, which I can not afford.

Business Response: We appreciate the opportunity to respond to the concerns raised by Ms. ***** ****** (previously enrolled as ***** *********.)  We take all comments from current and former students seriously and value their input. According to our records, Ms. ****** returned to Anthem College Online in September 2013.  Based on her Free Application for ******* ******* *** (*****) she was eligible for the Pell Grant program.  However, when her file was selected for verification it showed that she had not included her husband’s tax return and thus his income was not included in that etermination.  Once the paperwork was received for her husband, it was determined that she was no longer eligible for the Pell Grant Program.

It is our position that the change in the Pell Grant eligibility was not the result of an Anthem College policy, nor was it the action of a staff member, but rather ******* ******* *** rules.  

We are committed to the success of all of our students and will continue to work with Ms. ****** to explore all financing options to ensure she can complete her education. We believe that this response addresses the circumstances of Ms. ******’s complaint.  However, if you require any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 
Best,
****** ** ***********
Director of Campus Compliance
Anthem Education

9/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was over charged for my tuition & anthem is more doing anything to fix the problem. I also asked for whatever loans I had left over to be returned to me & they did not allow me to receive them.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that I was over charged to be returned

Business Response:

Anthem College appreciates the opportunity to respond to Ms. ******’s complaint, related to the balance of her ledger card.  We have reviewed Ms. ******’s ledger and has identified the issue that lead to her complaint.  We have made all necessary adjustments,  including a refund to Ms. ****** on September 10, 2013. 

 

We believe that this matter is now resolved and no further action is required.   However, if any additional information is required please don’t hesitate to contact me.

 

Thank you

******** *********

VP-Regulatory and Legal Affairs

Anthem Education

8/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended Hi-Tech Institute(now Anthem College) in 2006. I was only there for approximately three months. I originally wanted to take the Vet-Tech program. They did not have the progarm for the hours I needed. I was employed at that time and had to work. I tried a medical billing and coding and eventually swithced due to dissatisfaction of the class. I talked to a counselor and asked if the Vet-Tech program was available for the hours I needed. It still wasn't so the counselor told me to try a different program. So I was put in Medical Assistaning. The school was not run properly. And they placed me in the wrong class. The teachers were not properly trained. I had a teacher who basically just flirted with the students and didn't teach anything. This is not what I wanted. I felt like i was being set up to fail. Two weeks later I went to talk to the counselor again to see if the Vet-Tech class was available for the hours I needed. She told me it was and to go talk to the Vet-Tech teacher. So I did. He flat out told me no he wouldn't let me in the class. He stated that too many students had switched out of his class. I told him I had been waiting for month to get into the Vet-Tech program because that was what I really wanted to do. That was my reason for wanting to attend the school in the first place. Again he said no. I was very upset because I was the one paying to go to this school. The teacher had no right to tell me no. If I'm paying, shouldn't I be allowed to attend the program of my choosing. I talked to the counselor again and she basically told me to leave and go to a different school. So I left the school. I never went back or switched to one of their other school. I decided that I was going to go to a community college instead. I feel Anthem College is a huge scam. I have heard and read so many horror stories about this school. When Sallie Mae sent me a bill telling me that I needed to start making payments. I was suprised by the amount that I owed. 7,000 for three months of school. I called Sallie Mae to try and resolve the matter. They told me that all Hi-Tech Institute/Anthem College had to do, was send back the money. That's it! So I called Hi-Tech Institute, and left many messages with the counselor. I even went up to the school to try and talk to her. Finally I decided the best thing to do, would be to talk to the financial aid department. They told me that I was at the school long enough for them to keep the money. I told them, they should just pay for the amount of time I was there and give the rest of the money back. I didn't see why they couldn't do that, because they told me that they had sent the pell grant money back. I have called them to try and get copies of the contract I signed with them to see if they were allowed to to that. They never sent me anything. They never called me. Every time I called they gave me the run around. The counselor ended up leaving the school as well. All I want, is for Hi-Tech Institute to give the money back to Sallie Mae. I don't understand why they can't do that. I have been fighting this for years. I know I'm not the only one who has had a problem with this school. I feel like they prey on innocent people that are trying to make a better life for themselves by taking their money and giving them a horrible education. I'm currently enrolled in a communtity college and I know that I'm going to have to get loans eventually to pay for my RN. I'm okay with that. What I'm not okay with, is Hi-Tech/Anthem college scamming me into a paying a 7000 dollar loan for three months of horrible schooling. I have went to collections several times and now the US Department of education has the loan. They are willing to put it on hold for me until I finish school, but I think that Hi-Tech should just give them back the rest of the money.

Desired Settlement: I want Hi-Tech Institute/Anthem College to send back the money. I should only have to pay for the three months that I was there. Especially since the counselor told me to leave the school. She never explained to me if there was any type of process to get out of the school or if I would have still have to pay for half the program. If they can send back pell grant money, why can't they send back the loan money? That doesn't make since to me. I will pay for the three months of school, but Hi-Tech should send the money to the US Department of education.

Business Response:

Thank you for contacting Anthem Education regarding the concerns outlined by Ms. ******* ********. At Anthem Education, student satisfaction is one of our primary goals and we take seriously all student comments. 

 

In response to Ms. ********** complaint, our office has reviewed her financial aid records against the refund policy that was in effect during her enrollment period, and found no discrepancies or irregularities. 

 

Ms. ******** was accurately charged and all refunds were processed in accordance to our published refund policy. 

 

Anthem Education appreciates the Better Business Bureau contacting us on behalf of Ms. ******* ********. We wish Ms. ******** much success with her future academic pursuits. If I could be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me via email at ******************* or via telephone at ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

 

******** *******, MBA

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

Candie Marshall


 

 

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this school in 2006 until 2007 while it was under the title of ****** *******. ****** ******* also goes by the name of ***** *********. ***** ********* is owned and operated by **** **** *********. Anthem College acquired and now owns and operates all of **** **** *********s facilities. I have been contacting them for over a month now with multiple phone calls, request online, voicemails after being transferred a dozen times, and so forth all to no avail. All that I am requesting is my transcripts from when I attended school, but it seems their customer service representatives refuse to assist in this matter. I have become extremely dissatisfied with this school because of this incident and I want it resolved as soon as possible so that I may continue with future plans for my life. The school got its money and now all I want is the paper work showing my hard work. It should not be this difficult of a process to get transcripts from a supposedly reputable school.

Desired Settlement: All I want is 3 official copies of my transcripts signed, sealed, stamped, and sent to my address so that I may use them for my own intended purposes.

Business Response:

After the receipt of the complaint, Anthem College’s Director of Regional Registrar Operations personally reached out to Mr. **** on a multiple occasions via telephone and email to obtain further clarification on his allegations of poor customer service purportedly provided to him in regard to his requests for transcripts. It is neither Anthem’s policy nor practice to ignore students’ requests for transcripts.  Based on the request in the BBB complaint, Anthem mailed three (3) copies of Mr. ****’s transcripts to him on May 14, 2013. Anthem College considers this matter resolved, and we wish Mr. **** the best of luck in his future career endeavors.

 

******** *********

VP-Regulatory & Legal Affairs

Anthem Education

**** ********* ****** ***** ***

**** *********** ** *****

Direct: ***** ********

Fax: ***** ********

*********************

4/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ANTHEM COLLEGE IN PEORIA WAS HANDLING MY ACCOUNT WITH THEM UNTIL I FOUND OUT IN DECEMBER 2012 THEY HAD SOLD IT TO THERE OFFICE IN FLORIDA, I HAD A PAYMENT DUE IN DECEMBER THAT WAS NEVER WITHDRAWN, I HAD TO CALL THERE CORPORATE OFFICE TO GET A PHONE NUMBER TO CALL TO MAKE A PAYMENT, ONCE I CALLED THE PHONE NUMBER THEY GAVE ME I LEFT PROBABLY AROUND 3 VOICE MAILS AND NEVER ONCE DID I RECEIVE A CALL, FINALLY I CALLED ONCE AGAIN AND SPOKE TO THE RECEPTIONIST **** WHO KEPT TRANSFERRING ME TO A VOICE MAIL THE LAST TIME I CALLED I TOLD HER I KEEP GETTING A VOICE MAIL AND NO RETURN, SHE FINALLY TRANSFERRED ME TO **** WHICH I SET UP A ARRANGEMENT TO WITHDRAW MONEY ON JANUARY 11, 2013 AND AGAIN JANUARY 28, 2013 AUTOMATIC DEBIT TO AVOID PAYING SO MUCH INTEREST SINCE THAT'S WHAT HE TOLD ME BUT INSTEAD I GET DEBITED THAT SAME WEEK ON A MONDAY OR WEDNESDAY CAUSING ME TO GO NEGATIVE WITH MY ACCOUNT SINCE I HAD OTHER THINGS PENDING. I CALLED THEM AND THEY WERE TO PUT THE MONEY BACK AND THEN CALLED THE BANK WHICH THEY END UP CREDITING MY ACCOUNT, BUT THAT WEEK I GOT PAID I HAD TO PAY A LOT OF NSF FEES SINCE **** FAILED TO HAVE HIS MANAGER CREDIT MY MONEY BACK TO WITHDRAW IT ON JANUARY 11,2013 AS PER OUR PREVIOUS ARRANGEMENTS, I ENDED CANCELING MY DEBIT CARD SINCE I NO LONGER TRUSTED THEM WITH MY ARRANGEMENTS. TODAY I CALLED HIM FROM MY WORK LINE ON A RECORDED LINE TO TRY TO BRING MY ACCOUNT CURRENT AND TO SEE WHAT MY REMAINING BALANCE IS, THE ARRANGEMENT WAS DUE DEBIT MY ACCOUNT ON 2-8-13 FOR $130.33 AND THEN I WOULD CALL BACK TO TRY TO PAY HALF OF MY BALANCE SINCE **** HAD OFFER ME A SETTLEMENT OF 1278.19 AT 60% OF MY ORIGINAL BALANCE OF $2130.33 TO BE MADE IN 2 PAYMENTS. ONCE THE LINE WAS DISCONNECTED I RECEIVE A MESSAGE FROM MY BANK LETTING ME KNOW MY ACCOUNT IS IN NEGATIVE STATUS DUE TO A PENDING TRANSACTION OF $130.33 WHICH WAS FROM **** FROM ANTHEM EDUCATION, THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAPPENS, **** CALLED ME BACK AFTER LEAVING HIM A VOICE MAIL TO CALL ME BACK HE SAID HE MADE A MISTAKE AND PRESSED SOMETHING ON HIS COMPUTER. THIS SCHOOL AND THERE COLLECTIONS LACK OF COMMUNICATION AND THEY ARE RUDE. MY ACCOUNT IS STILL NEGATIVE AND I HAVE YET TO RECEIVE A CALL FROM A SUPERVISOR I LEFT A MESSAGE WITH **** SINCE SHE SAID SHE RECEIVES MESSAGES FOR THEM AND RELY'S IT TO THE SUPERVISORS.

Desired Settlement: I WANT MY ACCOUNT TO BE SETTLED, I PAID THEM ON TIME AND SET UP AUTOMATIC DEBITS, NOW THAT ANTHEM EDUCATION SENT THERE ACCOUNTS TO FLORIDA THERE COMMUNICATION WITH ME IS HORRIBLE AND THEY ARE A SHADY TO WITHDRAW MONEY FROM MY ACCOUNT I HAVE NO TRUST IN THEM TO HANDLE MY ACCOUNT AND BANK INFORMATION ANY LONGER.

Business Response:

Complaint Department

 

Better Business Bureau: Complaint ID *******

Date Filed 1/29/2013

 

 

                Anthem College has reviewed the BBB complaint and agrees that Ms. ********** was charged by mistake for payments on 1/8/2013 and 1/28/2013.  These payments were authorized by Ms. ********** however they were charged to the credit card prior to Ms. **********’s verbal authorization.  Ms. ********** authorized the charges on the credit card  on 1/11/2013 and 2/8/2013 however by mistake they were charged on 1/8/2013 and 1/28/2013, a few days early resulting in overdraft fees from the bank.  The two referenced charges have been refunded to the same credit card the same day               

 

Our recommendations to rectify the complaint are as follows:

 

·         Reimbursement to Ms. ********** for her overdraft fees charged related to the 1/8/2013 and 1/28/2013 charges.

o   Ms. ********** must provide evidence of charges.

·         Provide Ms. ********** with the direct line of our Student Accounts Manager (***** ****).  ***** will be handling her account going forward

o   Direct Line ************

o   Email ****************

·         Continue offer of 60% of total balance to pay off bad debt

·         Proper set up of recurring monthly payments

o   ***** **** can set this up if ****** desires

·         Detailed instructions of how ****** can make payments online through www.anthem.edu

 

 

***** ** **********

Executive Director

Anthem College – Phoenix

 

**** ** ****** ****** **** ******** ******* *****

 

Cell – ************

Office – ************

**********************

 

3/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried to reach someone at Anthem College and have gotten no reply. One of their registrar's used two of my e-mail addressess, obtianed via atranscript request, durring a sign up for a social networking site (Irecieved sign up requests and still have them). I feel this is anextreem violation of my privacy as now I am getting emails from thissite. Please help if you can. This is in regards to an employee ofAnthem College Phoenix, AZ. I can supply more details and copies of the requests if needed as well as the name of the violator.Email requests have been recieved through two email accounts as I sent requests from an old address prior to enlisting and getting married and then from the new address once I changed my name and moved.

Desired Settlement: Would like someone from anthem to aknowledge that this has happened, apologize and figure out a way that this does not happen again.