This business is not BBB accredited.

Anthem College

Additional Locations

Fax: (602) 264-8391 View Additional Phone Numbers 16404 N. Black Canyon Hwy #180, Phoenix, AZ 85053 http://www.anthem.edu ! Anthem College is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Provider of post-secondary education.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Anthem College
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1970 Business started: 11/01/1965 in AZ Business started locally: 11/01/1965 Business incorporated 09/01/1982 in
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tatsiana Tuchinsky, VP, Regulatory and Legal Affairs
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Tatsiana Tuchinsky, VP, Regulatory and Legal Affairs
Business Category

Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities

Alternate Business Names
Anthem College Online The Bryman School of Arizona

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1000 Corporate Drive #500
    Corporate Headquarters

    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33334

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16404 N. Black Canyon Hwy #180

    Phoenix, AZ 85053 (602) 328-2800 (602) 889-2700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Anthem College formerly known as High Tech Institute is not responding to my request for my transcripts. I attended High Tech Institute around 2002 when it was located in ******** ******, **. The Anthem school is no longer in Minnesota and I am having the hardest time locating my transcripts. I have sent request via the Request form on Anthem college web site and still I have not heard from a representative and the current school that I am enrolling in is stating that they haven't received anything from them as well.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate it if Anthem college can locate and release my transcripts to the Instituting that I am requesting them to go to.

10/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attended Anthem College Online in 2006-2007. While I was attending, I was called back into the military and put back on active duty. I was put on a military deferment for the time I was on Active Duty. When I was done with the Army for the second time and was ready to get back to school, Anthem College didn't offer the major I had been going for as a degree anymore. They only offered it as a certification! I had spent a ton of money trying to get a DEGREE, not a CERTIFICATION! And then they wanted to charge me for the class that I had to stop taking due to the Army, even knowing that class wouldn't help towards the DEGREE I wanted, nor would it help me earn a certificate that they were suggesting I should go for. Then on top of that, all the money I had spent on the degree I would never get, wouldn't be able to go toward the certificate. In other words, I would have had to start over again. Now I'm out of a GI Bill, I have no degree, and I have creditors calling me because I refuse to pay for a degree I was never given the opportunity to finish earning. All I want is them to give ****** *** back their money!

Desired Settlement: I would have liked to finish my degree, but I would settle for them to give ****** *** back their money or give it to me so that I can give them back their money. Either way I would be happy.

9/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attend College at Anthem on their online program. I was 4 classes from completing my bachelor program and the school closed with out formal notice on 09/01/2014. I have tried attending other school but Anthem Education group has put me in a financial hardship. They have completely drained the remaining amount of my pell grant. I will only have pell grant options for one more semester. After this semester, I will only have 5,000 in Stanford loans to utilize toward my degree (which have to complete another 2 years to finish it at another school). I'm going to have to find a way to come up with over 9,000 to finance the remaining portion of my degree.

Desired Settlement: I want my pell money returned to me so that I can finish my bachelor degree. I also want the money that was invested in my degree program to be returned to me as well due to the inability of me to complete my degree program on a timely manner due to the closure of the school. I don't feel it is fair that I have to suffer and try to find other ways to pay for my degree when I was almost finished. I don't understand why I'm being punished (financially) due to the schools poor money judgment.

9/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a former student of the Anthem Online program. After graduating from the Anthem Brookfield location I was approached by Anthem Online to continue my education and pursue my BA. I signed up and started March of 2014. The program was filled with technical issues, scheduling conflicts with teachers and incomplete coursework. My education is important to me so I muddled through. Three months into the program I discovered that I was misled as to how long my BA would take. I decided to grit my teeth and forge on. After nearly six months I had had enough and left the program in August of the same year. The Anthem Online program uses a third party (***********) for much of their material including text books, assignments and tests. Most of the assignments were incomplete (as in the questions cut off in mid sentence) or contained errors that I found as a struggling student but that the instructors had no knowledge of. Many of the tests lacked information needed to answer questions such as links to graphs or charts. Again, as a student I was bringing this material to the instructors when they should have known ahead of time. I spoke with instructors and staff members several times and I was assured that everything would be corrected. However nothing was ever done. After leaving I contacted the school and spoke with several people regarding the issues with the program. I refuse to pay for a broken, incomplete system. I firmly believe that they failed to live up to their end of the contract formed when I signed up for school.

Desired Settlement: I insist on having all payments made to the school since beginning the program returned to me. I also insist that all grant money taken from FAFSA returned so that I might pursue my education elsewhere. Further, I insist that all student loans tapped for the online program be repaid. I consider anything less to be unacceptable.

1/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started attending Anthem College in July 2006. I am from Louisiana and due to hurricane we were out of power and I was terminated from the program. I tried numerous times to get accepted back because I was paying almost 20,000 in student loans. I was finally accepted in 2013 and started September 2013. Before I started I made it real clear I wanted to finish my education but could not afford much more student loans and needed to know the total I would be paying BEFORE I started. Anthem College financial aid made me aware I was eligible for Pell grant and I had to pay nothing out of pocket and therefore I didn't have much more to borrow through department of education. I am starting my 4th class and I just received a phone call saying I don't qualify for Pell Grant and I have to borrow 10,500 and pay almost 2,000 out of pocket. I pretty hurt. I don't understand how they can tell me one thing then go back on there words once I already started. I can not afford that and want my education. I let her know I have a ill son who will be having surgery Jan 13 and Ill be out of work for a while and I don't have that kind of money. Can you please figure this out and how come they changed after I already started now I need money.

Desired Settlement: Figure out to get Pell Grant and where I am not paying out of pocket, which I can not afford.

Business Response: We appreciate the opportunity to respond to the concerns raised by Ms. ***** ****** (previously enrolled as ***** *********.)  We take all comments from current and former students seriously and value their input. According to our records, Ms. ****** returned to Anthem College Online in September 2013.  Based on her Free Application for ******* ******* *** (*****) she was eligible for the Pell Grant program.  However, when her file was selected for verification it showed that she had not included her husband’s tax return and thus his income was not included in that etermination.  Once the paperwork was received for her husband, it was determined that she was no longer eligible for the Pell Grant Program.

It is our position that the change in the Pell Grant eligibility was not the result of an Anthem College policy, nor was it the action of a staff member, but rather ******* ******* *** rules.  

We are committed to the success of all of our students and will continue to work with Ms. ****** to explore all financing options to ensure she can complete her education. We believe that this response addresses the circumstances of Ms. ******’s complaint.  However, if you require any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 
Best,
****** ** ***********
Director of Campus Compliance
Anthem Education

9/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was over charged for my tuition & anthem is more doing anything to fix the problem. I also asked for whatever loans I had left over to be returned to me & they did not allow me to receive them.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that I was over charged to be returned

Business Response:

Anthem College appreciates the opportunity to respond to Ms. ******’s complaint, related to the balance of her ledger card.  We have reviewed Ms. ******’s ledger and has identified the issue that lead to her complaint.  We have made all necessary adjustments,  including a refund to Ms. ****** on September 10, 2013. 

 

We believe that this matter is now resolved and no further action is required.   However, if any additional information is required please don’t hesitate to contact me.

 

Thank you

******** *********

VP-Regulatory and Legal Affairs

Anthem Education


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Anthem College
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart