Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

TheBookPatch.com

Additional Locations

Phone: (480) 941-8355 Fax: (480) 941-2710 7048 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 http://www.thebookpatch.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers publishing and book services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TheBookPatch.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

12 Customer Reviews on TheBookPatch.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 11
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 12

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 13, 2012 Business started: 09/11/2009 in AZ Business incorporated 09/11/2009 in AZ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Victor J. Ostrovsky Sr., President Mr. Jerome J. Karcher Sr., Vice President of Web Development
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Victor J. Ostrovsky Sr., President
Business Category

Publishers - Book Books - New Printers - Letterpress

Products & Services

TheBookPatch.com offers the following product(s): Print on demand soft cover perfect and spiral bound books

Alternate Business Names
Wilshire Press, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TheBookPatch.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4400 N Scottsdale Rd

    Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (480) 941-8355

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7048 E Main St

    Scottsdale, AZ 85251

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We placed an order February 9, 2015... It is March 17, 2015 and we still do not have our product. After our initial order on Feb 9, the expected delivery date was not going to meet the deadline for an event we needed our product for in AK. We made a phone call on the morning of February 10 and explained the situation. They would not stop the order, so we requested the order shipment address be changed to our office location in CA. They asked for us to send them an email with this requested change; which we did within an hour. Later that morning, we received a confirmation email that the request was noted and our order would be sent to our CA office address and that the shipping charges would be adjusted on our credit card to reflect the revised shipping cost. On the morning of Feb 13, we received an email confirming our shipment had left The Book Patch printing port on it's way to Alaska. I immediately called and left a message, and sent an email asking them to stop the delivery and correct the address to redirect the shipping destination. We didn't hear another thing from them, until we left several phone calls over the course of one day. Speaking with both ****** and *** they continue to shift blame and responsibility to - from each other, both making promises to get them shipped to our CA address and correct the charges on our credit card right way. We have a trail of email promises of the four boxes of 100 workbooks being picked up from the AK location, complete with shipping tracking numbers - but today 5 weeks later, the four boxes are STILL sitting in the AK office DESPITE several phone messages and email messages with NO REPLIES and no response in having them picked up. Our most recen email from ****** on March 2 was that the books were being picked up on the 3rd with a delivery promise of the 4th - again complete with tracking #. Today our AK office told us they were told by ****** that they would be picked up on Friday, March 13 - sent overnight air, but today March 17 they are still sitting in the office awaiting pick up for delivery to our CA office. We would like the books picked up from the AK office and delivered to our CA office THIS WEEK. We expect a credit on our credit card for the shipping charges to AK of $157.43, and an apology for the amount of time and major inconvenience we have spent tracking this down. In all the online printing experiences I have had over the last 15 years I have never experienced such irresponsibility and poor business practice, follow through and integrity.

Desired Settlement: We want our books by Monday, March 23 and we want a credit of $157.43 on our credit card by this Friday March 20, 2015.

Business Response:

We provide a clear cancellation option on our website and that is orders can be cancelled until midnight the day of the order as we start production on the books after midnight. The customer asked to cancel the order the following day when most of the product was already in production. As our system is automated we said that we will make an effort to implement the change and we did so however the automated system overrode the change we attempted to make. The allegation of us not responding or shifting blame is baseless as we attempted to correct the mistake the customer made as soon as we could. It must be remembered that we did not ship to the wrong place or didn't not ship correctly. It is clearly marked on our website that it takes 2-3 business days and the shipping time is also available under shipping options clearly marked. I would like to make the point that books were printed in a timely fashion according to the order and shipped to the correct address on time. In fact they arrived on time as well. We agreed to do things above and beyond what a normal business can be asked to do in order to correct a customer's mistake. We ordered *** to pick up the boxes from Alaska and have them shipped to California as the customer asked for. In fact we prepaid for a pick up that *** attempted three time as the Alaska recipient would attest to and every time at great expense to us there was something wrong that we could not control. The first time the *** would not pick up because it was a **** package. The second time they did not bring the correct label and the third time they brought an empty label and the Alaska recipient did not know what to fill in. As we are making this attempt we were constantly harassed  by the customer and we tried very hard to reply politely as we did. We then finally decided that there was no viable solution to this matter in normal channels so I personally called the recipient in Alaska and provided them on good faith my personal credit card number and asked that they contact ***** and ship the packages ro California which they did. As for reimbursing the customer for their initial shipping charge our accounting department will issue a refund this week. Even though by correcting the customers mistake we spent over $500 from our own. As the shipment has long arrived in the hands of the customer I'm surprised they did not have a courtesy to notify you that they actually got the books. Thank you If you have any more questions feel free to call me at *** ******* or reach me by email at **********@thebookpatch.com

12/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** indicates delivery 10/27 at 2:33 pm, but where it went I don't know. I put a credit hold on the payment with my credit card company and contacted the Book Patch, they indicated to me that somewhere in the fine print that they are not responsible for shipping, will not contact **** to file an insurance claim, because they do not insure their shipments, and essentially I am out of luck. I live in an inner city neighborhood where my neighbors are transient renters so if they got the box they are not giving it back. The **** has lost many things shipped to me so this doesn't surprise me. I rechecked the website and could not find the shipping disclaimer. I would have preferred they shipped with ***.

Desired Settlement: I want the books I paid for. I don't see why they ship this way if they are a legitimate business and don't stand by their business ethics

Business Response: The order in question was shipped on time using the shipping method the customer selected **** media mail.
In our shipping section we clearly state "**** Media Mail Delivery times are not guaranteed. We will not be able to locate or refund orders lost during delivery."  The link to that statement is ************************************
There was no eror in the shipping adress and the packedge went to the adress the customer provided.
According to the **** ****** the package was delivered.

The customer stated that she had problems in the past with **** and would have prefered we use ***. It was the customer who selected **** Media mail as the shipping method as we offer in addition to Media mail, **** Parcel Mail, **** Priority, **** Priority Mail Express, *** Ground, *** 3-Day Select, *** 2-Day Air, *** Next Day Air, *** Expedited all available in a dropdown on the shopping cart.

We send thousands of parcels with *** and **** and are vigilant about taking responsibility when it is our mistake. In this case it appears the customer wanted somehow that even though they selected one method of shipping (the lowest priced) that we would ship it in another method.

I do believe this complaint should be addressed to the **** ******.

We do track and assist our customers when a package is lost, however we cannot do anything when the **** ****** states it was delivered.

Thank you

****** *********

The Book Patch team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I can't say the matter has been resolved, at least not to my satisfaction. I've never dealt with an online company that didn't insure delivery of it's products, nor encountered the smug indifference of their customer service. It's a financial blow to me during this holiday season, but who at the Bookpatch cares. 


Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: Allow me to view the facts in this
complaint.

1. We all agree that an order was placed
and a method of shipping was selected from at least seven options available by
the customer.

2. It is a fact that we have printed
the order on time and shipped it to the address the customer provided using the
method of shipping she had selected.

3. We have confirmation from the ** **** ****** that the package was in fact delivered within the timeframe the post
office promises.

4. It appeared **** ******* had previous
packages sent to the same address stolen by her neighbors according to her and
yet she used the same address again.

5. We make it very clear in on our
website that Media Mail is not guaranteed to arrive.

6. There was a surprise in **** ********* part that even though she selected **** media mail (the lowest priced
shipping option) that we somehow would ship it ***.

7. In her response she does not
despite the fact nor bring any new facts to light except claim she is not
satisfied (which is understandable but should be addressing the **** *****  or maligning our reputation by
saying that we are smug because we will not acquiesce to her unreasonable
demands.

All I can say is that to us it feels
as if she is trying to use the BBB to black mail us into complying with an unreasonable
demand.

Respectfully yours

****** *********

TheBookPatch