Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of TheBookPatch.com?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

TheBookPatch.com

Additional Locations

Phone: (480) 941-8355 Fax: (480) 941-2710 7048 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251 http://www.thebookpatch.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers publishing and book services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TheBookPatch.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TheBookPatch.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on TheBookPatch.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 13, 2012 Business started: 09/11/2009 in AZ Business incorporated: 09/11/2009 in AZ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Victor J. Ostrovsky Sr., President Mr. Jerome J. Karcher Sr., Vice President of Web Development
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Victor J. Ostrovsky Sr., President
Business Category

Publishers - Book Books - New Printers - Letterpress

Products & Services

TheBookPatch.com offers the following product(s): Print on demand soft cover perfect and spiral bound books

Alternate Business Names
Wilshire Press, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TheBookPatch.com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4400 N Scottsdale Rd

    Scottsdale, AZ 85251 (480) 941-8355

  • 7048 E Main St

    Scottsdale, AZ 85251

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2015 Delivery Issues
12/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** indicates delivery 10/27 at 2:33 pm, but where it went I don't know. I put a credit hold on the payment with my credit card company and contacted the Book Patch, they indicated to me that somewhere in the fine print that they are not responsible for shipping, will not contact **** to file an insurance claim, because they do not insure their shipments, and essentially I am out of luck. I live in an inner city neighborhood where my neighbors are transient renters so if they got the box they are not giving it back. The **** has lost many things shipped to me so this doesn't surprise me. I rechecked the website and could not find the shipping disclaimer. I would have preferred they shipped with ***.

Desired Settlement: I want the books I paid for. I don't see why they ship this way if they are a legitimate business and don't stand by their business ethics

Business Response: The order in question was shipped on time using the shipping method the customer selected **** media mail.
In our shipping section we clearly state "**** Media Mail Delivery times are not guaranteed. We will not be able to locate or refund orders lost during delivery."  The link to that statement is ************************************
There was no eror in the shipping adress and the packedge went to the adress the customer provided.
According to the **** ****** the package was delivered.

The customer stated that she had problems in the past with **** and would have prefered we use ***. It was the customer who selected **** Media mail as the shipping method as we offer in addition to Media mail, **** Parcel Mail, **** Priority, **** Priority Mail Express, *** Ground, *** 3-Day Select, *** 2-Day Air, *** Next Day Air, *** Expedited all available in a dropdown on the shopping cart.

We send thousands of parcels with *** and **** and are vigilant about taking responsibility when it is our mistake. In this case it appears the customer wanted somehow that even though they selected one method of shipping (the lowest priced) that we would ship it in another method.

I do believe this complaint should be addressed to the **** ******.

We do track and assist our customers when a package is lost, however we cannot do anything when the **** ****** states it was delivered.

Thank you

****** *********

The Book Patch team

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I can't say the matter has been resolved, at least not to my satisfaction. I've never dealt with an online company that didn't insure delivery of it's products, nor encountered the smug indifference of their customer service. It's a financial blow to me during this holiday season, but who at the Bookpatch cares. 


Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: Allow me to view the facts in this
complaint.

1. We all agree that an order was placed
and a method of shipping was selected from at least seven options available by
the customer.

2. It is a fact that we have printed
the order on time and shipped it to the address the customer provided using the
method of shipping she had selected.

3. We have confirmation from the ** **** ****** that the package was in fact delivered within the timeframe the post
office promises.

4. It appeared **** ******* had previous
packages sent to the same address stolen by her neighbors according to her and
yet she used the same address again.

5. We make it very clear in on our
website that Media Mail is not guaranteed to arrive.

6. There was a surprise in **** ********* part that even though she selected **** media mail (the lowest priced
shipping option) that we somehow would ship it ***.

7. In her response she does not
despite the fact nor bring any new facts to light except claim she is not
satisfied (which is understandable but should be addressing the **** *****  or maligning our reputation by
saying that we are smug because we will not acquiesce to her unreasonable
demands.

All I can say is that to us it feels
as if she is trying to use the BBB to black mail us into complying with an unreasonable
demand.

Respectfully yours

****** *********

TheBookPatch

2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was various issues I complained to a company representative about concerning a product I had ordered through their book publishing site. Mainly these issues dealt with quality of print in which the representative told me what they receive is what they print. He advised me a refund would not be given for "content (including misspelled words, grammatical errors, etc.), its formatting, design or overall appearance and will not provide refunds for those reasons." That was understandable from my perspective. However another issue with my order was that the print was for a 128 page book and I received a 108 page book. According to their Return Policy "If you received damaged, defective, or incorrectly packaged items, we are happy to provide a replacement copy. Please notify us within 30 days of purchase through our Contact Us page. Be sure to include the order number, date purchased, description and photos showing issue (required before proceeding with replacements)." I received a defective order and followed their instructions. I'm entitled to a reprint. I contacted the company regarding this issue various time and 2 weeks later I have yet to hear a word from them.

Desired Settlement: At this stage I would much rather have a full refund. However, according to their return policy, I'm at the very least entitled to a complete and fulfilled order reprint.

Business Response:

I looked up your order (#****) and saw that it was for one book titled “Anderson Fine Premium Beer” with 128 pages that was placed on 5/17/2012 and shipped 5/17/2012.

 

Per your complaint (Case #9******), you indicated that you were talking to a representative fromTheBookPatch.com and nothing was ever resolved. We think we know who you were dealing with at that time and he is no longer with our organization.

 

Your complaint states that at this point you would like a full refund but are also willing to receive a new complete book. I would like to work with you on completing the request for a replacement book and before submitting a reprint request I would like to get your approval on this.

 

Once I hear back from you I will either issue the refund or submit the reprint request. I hope to hear from you soon,

 

Since it has been so long since you ordered this book I can not refund your money to your credit card but I will have a refund check issued and sent to you. Before doing so I need to verify address to send the check to. The address below is the shipping address from your order, please let me know if this address is still good or not. If not please send a new address. Once I hear back from you I will send the check out right away.

 

Sorry again for the improper customer service you experienced and rest assured that if you decide to do business with us again you will not have that experience again.

 

 

Jay Karcher

VP of Web Development
jkarcher@thebookpatch.com