Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AZ Dog Works

Phone: (623) 696-8848 PO Box 42322, Phoenix, AZ 85080 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This business provides obedience dog training.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AZ Dog Works meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AZ Dog Works
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 2004 Business started: 11/01/2003 in AZ Business incorporated 07/18/2013 in AZ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. J.R. Cook, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. J.R. Cook, Member
Business Category

Pet Training Pet Sitting Services Pet Services Pet Training - Dog Pet Day Care Dog Daycare Pet Exercising Service

Alternate Business Names
AZ Dogworks, LLC

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 42322

    Phoenix, AZ 85080


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August of 2014 my husband *** and I signed a contract paying $1,300 to ** **** for a month of puppy boarding training services. It did not work out for us to keep our dog. ** offered to keep the dog, and in exchange, help us look for a new dog and when the time comes train ***** for free in lieu of the money we had already spent. We found a new dog, introduced ** to get his opinion. ** loved him so much he wound up adopting him for himself, refused to give him to us when we asked for him saying it was "too late", did not answer any of our calls, texts, or e-mails for weeks, and has gotten angry at us for reaching out telling us to never contact him again. I have since asked for my money back, to which once again, no reply. Absolutely unprofessional treatment towards us when all we sought was help. I want my $1,300 back that was promised in our new agreement as it is clear I will never get help finding a dog or training a new one.

Desired Settlement: I want ** to refund the money we spent on puppy training as he now has two dogs that he wouldn't if it wasn't for us, and $1,300 for nothing.

Business Response: Client listed purchased a high energy, police-type dog, for life in an apartment (Dog 1: Belgian Malinois). Client paid me for 4 weeks of training, of which they received.

This dog received a full set of Obedience, Manners, Potty-training, and Socialization training during the 4 weeks. Everything they agreed to in the original contract.

Upon completion of training, they offered to give me Dog 1 because it wouldn't leave their cats alone. There is NO contract agreeing that I would grant a refund in trade for them giving me Dog 1, or that I would offer any free training beyond that. They gave me Dog 1 free and clear - all of his breeding paperwork, shot records, and other paperwork. They paid me to train him, and I did. Anything beyond that is not a part of the already fulfilled training contract.

The Client contacted me some 5 months later, telling me they are interested in a new dog (Dog 2) and asked if I'd help evaluate it at the Rescue (****). At no charge to them, I met the husband of the Client and the **** Rescue location the afternoon before Thanksgiving. They inform me at the last minute that they were leaving town Friday morning (day after Thanksgiving) and if I would go pick up and pay for Dog 2 and adopt it before anyone else grabbed it. I agreed, and paid for the dog, and adopted it under my name until the client returned from vacation (1 week later). I had told them that I liked this little pup, and if they didn't want him, that I would keep him. But it would be after they returned and tried him at home first.

When the client returned from their week-long trip, they took Dog 2 home for 3 days. They brought it back to me, very upset, because he too was chasing their cats, and said they needed time to think about if they wanted him. I told them I'd give them 2 days to decide before they needed to make a decision since I was the one who paid the adoption fee, and was the one taking care of it. Four days later the husband texted me that I SHOULD KEEP HIM, and that they couldn't have another dog who chases their cat. I said I would be happy too, especially since my family already fell in love with him.

In summation, this client is very indecisive about whether they can keep a dog or not. With both dogs, they told me to keep them. It's that simple! This client is upset because I won't play the back-and-forth game with them while they try to make up their mind. The Rescue organization won't let them do it, and neither will I. They need to accept the outcome of their decisions and move on, especially since it involves other people, and an animal.

In regards to both dogs, I told the Client I would take the dog if they no longer wanted to keep it (to keep as my own or rehome it). In BOTH cases, the Client told me to KEEP the dogs. In both cases, the Client made the decision to relinquish the dog to me. I did not steal or trick them into giving up these dogs. They did it on their own free will.

Several days after telling me to keep the adopted pup, the husband started texting me, saying that they changed their mind...AGAIN! This happened 3 weeks after I originally adopted the pup from the Rescue organization. Since the Client told me to keep the dog, I had made it a part of my family, and wasn't going to cater to their indecisive whims. I told them I was keeping him (based on the conversation where I was told I could keep him). The Client and her husband continued to text me multiple times per day saying they wanted to dog. The husband even stopped by my personal house twice without notice and left a note on my door.

Worried that I now have two irrational, indecisive clients harassing me about the deal they made (but didn't want to honor), I told them to stop contacting me and stay away from my home. I even had to block their numbers from my phone and email.

In summation:
They paid me to train a dog (Dog 1). I trained Dog 1. They couldn't keep the dog. They gave me Dog 1 and all of his paperwork. I now have to feed and house a dog I wasn't looking for.
They wanted a new dog. I adopted it from the Rescue since they were out of town, so that no one else would. When they returned, they took Dog 2 home. They returned the dog to me 3 days later, telling me they needed to think about it. 4 days after that, they told me to keep it. I did! 

I can't be held accountable for people who can't decide if they wish to keep an animal or not. Just because they may have second thoughts after telling me to keep the dog, doesn't mean I am obligated to give it back. It's not fair to the dog or my family to play these kinds of games.

The fee they paid to have Dog 1 trained was used to train Dog 1, and is in no way related to Dog 2.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

** goes into redundant detail about the dogs when his keeping them is not my issue. My issue, is that I paid $1,300 for dog training--which yes, I did receive--and was told since we gave our dog up (which he failed to mention he was more than happy to take, he wanted our dog from day one of meeting us and constantly joked about keeping him and giving us one of his dogs that he no longer wanted in his place), that he would train another dog for us when we got one. I thought this was very kind on his part. Everything that happened with the second dog is nothing to do with right now.

We never asked him to adopt the puppy for us. I texted him after we met the puppy letting him know we were interested, and asked if he'd meet him with us. He said yes. I also told him we were not sure about adopting him as we were going out of town in three days. When he met the puppy with my husband, he asked if we were taking him home and my husband said no, reminding him that we couldn't because we were leaving. So ** OFFERED to adopt the puppy, not for us, but because HE wanted him if we didn't. We never asked the rescue for anything or even told the rescue we were taking him home. That never happened. When ** OFFERED, my husband said sure and told me about it later. In fact, while we were out of state, ** texted me telling me he was coming up with names for the puppy, how much he loves him, and how lonely he is though he owns several dogs and willingly gave up one of his recently. He made it very unprofessionally clear just how much HE wanted the dog, before we were even able to bring him home.

When we took him home it did not work out with our cat after a few days so yes, we sadly gave him back on Monday December 1st.  ** told us we could have until the "end of the week" to decide. We texted him that Saturday saying we wanted him. When we did so, ** was straightforward with exchanging the adoption paperwork and money for him, but was clearly upset and even then, said the dog wouldn't need training (truly, he didn't need much, this was not a lie), but we were still wanting to make sure we got what we were promised. ** did not want to train him for fear of getting more attached more than anything else. We only wanted training help with our cat. He refused to help us, saying it wouldn't work, for what it was worth we agreed he was probably right and officially said he could keep him.

It was not to my knowledge until about a week ago that, in between that time and filing this complaint, my husband had actually reached out a few more times about getting the puppy back to surprise me. I guess he reached out more than once, a few times ** did not reply, other times he said it was too late. Understandable. However, once I became aware of this, I too reached out to ** to see if we could talk about it. I knew deep down there was no way we were getting the puppy. Really all I wanted was to talk about how he could possibly help us further. We are not his responsibility. I was just under the impression we had a relationship to the point where I could reach out asking to talk, and he would reply.

Evidently, I was very mistaken. I only texted ** once, in a very natural manner including thanking him for his help, before he "blocked" me. My husband only went to his house (which we have been invited to countless times, and is less than one mile away), to ask if he had gotten our messages as he had not replied. The note he left simply said "Please give me a call". ** acts like we were being hostile and aggressive, when really, we just wanted to talk even to see if he had suggestions on where else to look or breeds to look into--things he had mentioned he could help us with previously. The way he stopped contacting us altogether, and then was the hostile one texting us like a coward instead of calling us--and texting in all caps with exclamation points, was completely uncalled for.

The man has two dogs he DESPERATELY wanted, neither of which he would have without knowing us, and on top of that, $1,300, and he couldn't return a simple phone call? This is no way to run a business and I want an apology and my money back. I'm not blaming him for what happened with the dogs, I'm not saying any of that is his fault. All I'm saying, is that I did nothing to deserve him being hostile to us before shutting us out completely and not fulfilling his end of the deal.

********* ******

Business Response: This complaint is not valid.

The Client hired AzDogWorks, LLC in July 2014 to train their puppy for the amount of $1300 (some 5 months ago). The training was completed after 4 weeks, and our signed Agreement was fulfilled. The Client acknowledges this.

No further money exchanged hands, and no other Agreements or Contracts were entered with this Client and AzDogWorks, LLC!!! All business with AzDogWorks, LLC had been concluded! 

Any other arrangements pertaining to the dogs beyond the completed training were of a personal matter, and not a part of any business agreement. Therefore, I do not feel a refund of any amount is due to this Client.

This Client chose to surrender their dog to me after training as a personal matter, and is no way tied to any original paid agreement (completed training) with AzDogWorks, LLC. 

I did offer the husband to return the first dog (Dog 1 mentioned earlier), but he declined, and admitted that dog wouldn't suit their lifestyle due to his size, energy levels, and intense drives.

Therefor, I believe that azDogWorks, LLC fulfilled their original obligation that the Client paid for (4 weeks of training for $1300), and no refund is warranted.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AZ Dog Works
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)