Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Goober Pet Direct

Phone: (480) 668-4994 220 S Mulberry, Mesa, AZ 85202 http://www.gooberpetdirect.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers delivery services for pet foods and supplies.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Goober Pet Direct is in current violation of BBB’s name and logo policy, and has falsely stated BBB accreditation (membership) or referenced the BBB name in an unauthorized manner. Despite the Better Business Bureau's efforts to alert the company. Misuse of BBB trademarks constitutes trademark infringement and is a violation of trademark rights of the council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc. 


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Goober Pet Direct include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Goober Pet Direct
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 12, 2007 Business started: 12/31/2002 Business started locally: 12/31/2002 Business incorporated 12/31/2002 in AZ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher M. Caruso, President, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher M. Caruso, President, CEO
Business Category

Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Bird & Wildlife Supply Shops Pet Supplies & Foods - Wholesale Pet Services Food - Sales & Delivery Animal Health Products Pet Foods - Wholesale & Manufacturers Bird Feeders & Houses Pet Shops

Alternate Business Names
Pet Direct, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    220 S Mulberry

    Mesa, AZ 85202 (480) 668-4994

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Customer service has deteriorated to the point that this 8+ year customer who has spent thousands of dollars with Goober is no longer ordering from them. I placed an order on 6/3 that was supposed to be delivered 6/10. Not only did they NOT deliver but they did NOT even bother to call me to let me know. Then I placed a $134 order on 6/15 and they promised that they would deliver it 6/17. Then they left a message later on 6/15 to say that they were NOT going to deliver the most important item, a case of dog food, on 6/17 and didn't know when they would deliver it. They blamed their poor customer service on their distributors. They used to provide excellent, courteous and dependable customer service but it has been declining over the last year. My recent experience is now reflective of their new normal as this has happened to me several times. I went to my local pet food boutique and bought everything that I had ordered from Goober. If they were interested in providing the service that they promised, they could have done the same thing. Instead they have lost a long-time customer.

Desired Settlement: I want Goober to stop promising services to other customers that they will not provide.

Business Response:

On June 3rd, the customer ordered dog food for delivery on June 10th. The food she ordered is not something we carry in our inventory. We ordered the product from our supplier with a scheduled delivery of June 9th. When the shipment arrived, we discovered our supplier was out of this particular product.  It is our practice to contact the customer as soon as we realize their product will not be delivered as ordered. Unfortunately, due to a very rare oversight on our part, this customer was not called. The customer contacted us and we apologized for not communicating with her regarding her previous order. The customer selected a substitute product and placed a new order on June 15th to be delivered on June 17th. The new product selected was also a special order item. We placed the order with our supplier the morning of Monday, June 15th with an expected delivery to us on Tuesday, June 16th. After we placed the order, we followed up with the supplier to see if all the product was going to be shipped. We discovered that the substitute product the customer had selected was not available and would not be delivered. We quickly researched other comparable products that would be available to meet the scheduled Wednesday delivery date. A few hours after the customer placed the new order and two days before the scheduled delivery date, we called the customer to notify her the product was not available from our supplier and to discuss options that would allow us to still deliver food to her on Wednesday. The customer was not happy that her order was not going to be delivered as planned and did not want to discuss alternatives with our staff, despite several efforts on our part. This was still Monday afternoon and, at this point, we had several options that we could explore to either deliver alternate product from our warehouse or obtain product from other channels before Wednesday. The customer was frustrated and hung up on our customer service person. As an owner, I attempted to contact the customer by telephone. Unable to reach her by phone, I sent her an email offering to help find a way to get food to her by Wednesday. In this email, I also offered a $10 discount on her order due to the inconvenience. The customer responded stating she had already filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I again offered to do whatever it took to get her the food she needed by Wednesday. I continued to communicate by email with the customer on Tuesday. After learning the customer had already purchased her dog food elsewhere, I offered to reimburse her for the total cost of the food purchase. Even though the customer no longer plans to do business with us, we still sent her a reimbursement of $139.81 to cover the cost of the food she purchased at a local pet food store and a small amount for gas expense.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Goober Pet Direct
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)