Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Smoochie Poochie Dog Grooming, LLC

Phone: (480) 984-1212 Fax: (480) 984-1638 10653 E. Apache Trail #103, Apache Junction, AZ 85120 http://www.smoochiepoochiedoggrooming.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers pet grooming services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Smoochie Poochie Dog Grooming, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Smoochie Poochie Dog Grooming, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 14, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2005 in AZ Business incorporated 11/24/2010 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Maricopa Enviromental Service Department
301 West Jefferson Street, Phoenix AZ 85003
http://www.maricopa.gov/envwebapp/type_search.aspx
Phone Number: (602) 506-3011

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Debra Ray, Owner Ms. Tracey Ray, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Debra Ray, Owner
Business Category

Pet Grooming Pet Services

Alternate Business Names
Smoochie Poochie Smoochie Poochie Dog Grooming

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Smoochie Poochie Dog Grooming, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10653 E. Apache Trail #103

    Apache Junction, AZ 85120 (480) 984-1212

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 04/29/2013 brought 2 dogs into the establishment for grooming. Picked up the dogs that evening and the dogs seemed fine. The next day both dogs were licking areas on their bodies, one was licking his hind feet and the other dog licking his private area. Later on that evening on 04/30/2013 I noticed blood on one of the dogs. Further examination on the dog with the wound about his hind feet area the fur had been shaved down to the skin. And it was ***** The other dog I flipped over and noticed it had a bare patched shaved down to the skin also, where as the skin was splitting. both dogs were whinning and up all night with this condition. Early the next morning I called the Vet. And had my dog the one with damage to his legs at the vet at 10:00 A.M. on 05/01/2013. The vet said that his injuries were caused by RAZOR BURN, that the groomer had caused. When I got home I called smoochie poochie groomers. And the owner said she would get back to me. I then packed BOTH dogs up and went down there. So, this is the thing. One dog with the wound around the scrum area they said he had some kind of wort there, ridiculous, my boyfriend and I have had that dog for 5 yrs. never had anything like that. Then they said it was from scootting. What dog scoots on its private area. The other dog they had admitted to the damage. The owner then refunded 57.00$. That's the problem. The Vet cost was 109.18. The doc.52.75,one medication 24.68,and the other medication 31.75, plus the grooming services I paid for was 70.00$ which totals 179.00$ the refund of 57.00$, I feel was an insult.

Desired Settlement: I think an additional refund of 122.75 would be appropriate to make the situation whole.

Business Response:   This woman took the one dog to the vet because it was vomitting . I have a copy from the vet stating this.  She did not take the other one because there was nothing wrong with him. The vet stated the problem with the dog was he ate foam and grass. The "razor burn" was wrote as "mild clipper burn" and the vet gave her medicine for it. I and my employee saw the dogs and the burn was very slight. She was having a fit and being unreasonable so I paid her for the medicine she bought.  She insisted she wanted money for her dogs "pain and suffering" which was from her not watching her dog and her dog getting into something in her yard. As she stated the dogs where fine when they left here and fine the whole next day until they got sick from the grass.  I also have a customer who witnessed her unruly behavior and   got upset and told her to leave. I do not feel she needed the medicine to begin with or even if it was for the burn but I paid her anyway. You may want to ask her to see pictures of these alleged injuries you will see there was nothing to worry about or have a vet bill for. She was happy with the grooming when she left and we even removed the ticks from her friends dog and used all natural tick shampoo free of the extra charge to help them out.   If you need the vet papers please let me know I will fax. Thanks, **** ***

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,


****** *****

 My dog was taken to the vet because I did not know what to do about the bleeding that resulted from the razor burn that had occurred under the care of the groomer. As far as being rude in her shop , yes I was upset, but kept my composure. There were 2 women (I presumed were the owners) AND a customer, Who came in after this ordeal was over with, there giving her opinion to nothing. She wasn't even there for the main discussion that occured My main concern was that I would get a refund for the whole  Vet visit resulting from the groomer which was 52.00$, the medication I had paid for plus the cost of grooming. I did not mention once the pain and suffering only to what was fair. The grooming because I have had dogs for YEARS and have never had my dog come home in the condition he was in. AND YES, the hind legs of my dog was bleeding and YES the other dog DID indeed have skin shaved off his private area. It was a mess. This cost me a vet bill, a groomer bill also 2 days off work to care for these animals.  . And why was that groomer who worked on my dog fired anyway and the owner made a point of disclosing that information to me.