Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Happy Paws Pet Grooming and Boarding

Phone: (928) 246-1765 11411 S Fortuna Rd Ste 201, Yuma, AZ 85367


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pet grooming and boarding services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Happy Paws Pet Grooming and Boarding include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Happy Paws Pet Grooming and Boarding
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 16, 2014 Business started: 02/02/2012 in AZ
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Desiree Apodaca, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Desiree Apodaca, Owner
Business Category

Pet Grooming Pet Supplies & Foods - Retail Pet Services Pet Boarding - Dogs Pet Jewelery Pet Kenneling Services Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Exercising Service


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11411 S Fortuna Rd Ste 201

    Yuma, AZ 85367 (928) 246-1765

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We used Happy Paws to board our 2 dogs for 7 days. When we picked them up our one dog was hurt. He was limping and not using his left back leg. They stated they had no idea how it happened. We did not receive any phone calls from them saying he was hurt, did not offer to pay for a vet to look at him. They said they would call us the next day to checkup on his condition, we did not receive any phone calls. We were charged full price for his boarding. I texted the owner because she was on vacation. The staff member that was there when my husband picked the dogs up called the owner about our dog but stepped out to talk to her so my husband has no idea what was said. Eight days later, still no phone calls from them. Our dog is still not back to normal. We are not very happy with Happy Paws or its staff. We trusted them to care for our dogs.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund of boarding. Happy Paws should pay for a visit to our vet and if something serious is found they should pay for his care.

Business Response: Hello,  in response to the complaint I spoke with ***** Puetz the first time on the 11th or the 12th of June while i was on vacation. I spoke to her again on the 15th and on the 16th, I had horrible reception since we were in Yellowstone so the final conversation was thru text message.  The very last text was sent by me and I had asked her to please keep me informed.   I called on July 14th and left a message as well and she hasn't returned my call.  Also she stated that my employee went in the back to speak to me out of ear shot which was also untrue since I could hear the customer talking in the background.  I have enclosed the screen shot of when I called as will as the last message which was sent already.  The customer is labeled as ******  which is one of the customer's dog's name.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Our dogs were in the care of Happy Paws.  Marley was the dog that got hurt.  We have no idea how it happened nor does the owner.  She just thinks she does. Yes we did send those text to each other.  I now know we will never kennel our dogs without signing a contract which Happy Paws does not have you do.  The owners futher follow thru did not take place until after this complaint was filed.  I don't read anything stating how the owner is going to resolve this. I asked for his boarding fee to be refunded but looks like the business does not want to take responsibility for his injuries. 

Regards,

***** ***** 

Business Response:

Our dogs were in the care of Happy Paws.  Marley was the dog that got hurt.  We have no idea how it happened nor does the owner.   She just thinks she does.

I'm pretty sure that he landed wrong when he jumped,  how exactly am I being blamed for something out of my control? I can't tell a dog to stop jumping when he is excited.  The last time he was out to play he was fine and playing with his sibling!    Yes we did send those text to each other.  I now know we will never kennel our dogs without signing a contract which Happy Paws does not have you do. I do have a contract but when you dropped off the dogs you were already waiting for me and in a rush,  I rushed over to meet you knowing I was late and you gave the dogs to me,  you were out the door before I even had a chance to put the dogs on the other side of the gate.  The owners futher follow thru did not take place until after this complaint was filed. I asked you to keep me informed because you said you were going to take him to the vet!  You did not keep me informed,  instead you filed with the BBB so you can get your boarding for free.  I'm sorry your dog's were happy,  played with, fed and inside a building with AC, it wasn't until the last day he hurt himself,  because after talking to both girls he was walking normal.  I don't read anything stating how the owner is going to resolve this. I asked for his boarding fee to be refunded but looks like the business does not want to take responsibility for his injuries. Once again I can't tell a dog to quit jumping,  how can I take responsibility for his injuries when I had no control over to what he was doing!!!! He is a young, hyper dog  you didn't bring me an elderly dog who sleeps all day!

I'm sorry that she feels this way but I have called her and left a message. I am sorry that her dog had hurt himself while at the facility while I was away.  It was bad on my fault for not having her sign our paperwork but I was late meeting her since I was trying to pack so we could leave and she was in a rush. I felt that she was a "good customer" and I already had kept her waiting when she had to leave town and didn't want her to be upset that now I was keeping her longer to fill out our paperwork. I spoke to the girls and they said that the dog was playing and running around just fine, I can't keep a dog from jumping and acting like a dog. For all we know the dog could have heard the parent's voice and was jumping so hard because he was excited. I asked her to keep me informed, I was extremely busy with family stuff and she had chosen not to keep me up dated like I asked. I can't call her everyday and ask for an update. I do have a family, I have 4 children that need me when I'm not working and a household to still run. All she had to do was shoot me text to say she took her dog to the vet, drop by and tell me what they said. I was the one who made contact last with her.

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Happy Paws Pet Grooming and Boarding
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)