Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Above & Beyond Grooming

Phone: (623) 551-4381 View Additional Phone Numbers 42407 N Vision Way, Phoenix, AZ 85086


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pet grooming services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Above & Beyond Grooming include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Above & Beyond Grooming
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 30, 2013 Business started: 07/11/2008 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Maricopa Enviromental Service Department
1645 E. Roosevelt Street, Phoenix AZ 8500885006
http://www.maricopa.gov/envwebapp/type_search.aspx

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Rick Thatcher, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Thatcher, Owner
Business Category

Pet Grooming Pet Services


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    42407 N Vision Way

    Phoenix, AZ 85086 (623) 551-4381 (623) 551-4382

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted to share this terrible experience that we recently experienced at Above & Beyond Grooming. As a loyal customer for two years at this grooming place, I was shocked that two weeks ago we called to make appointment for our two Pomeranians for grooming. For the past two year that we lived in ****** and taken our dogs here, we always made it very clear that we do not want our dogs shaved. I talked to **** the day I made the appt. and told him that they just need a hair cut and not shave the dogs. He told me to let the groomer know that when we bring the dogs. My husband and my brother took the dogs on the appt. day to drop them off and told **** again that they need a hair cut but do not shave them. After they left, *** the groomer called to ask what we wanted done, again my husband said we just want them to get a hair cut but not shaved. *** then said, you want them cut half inch, so my husband told her yes but not shaved which my husband assumed like any other place that we have been that she was going to cut of half an inch of the dogs hair which is what we have always done here for the past two years. When we picked up our dogs, they were shaved and their hair were uneven around their faces. They did not even smell good like they normally wood when you pick them up at the groomer. WOW!!! I called and left message for the owner about the service and **** called and left me a message but was unable to reach them during business hours so my husband went there on his day off to explain how upset and unhappy we were with the service and asked about a refund. WELL, EVERYONE, I HAVE NEVER BEEN TO A BUSINESS WHERE A MANAGER OR EVEN AN OWNER TELLS HIS 2 YEARS LOYAL CUSTOMER THAT" I AM NOT GONNA ROLL OVER AND KISS YOUR ****. THIS CAME OUT OF AN MANAGER/OWNER OF ABOVE & BEYOND GROOMING. We have filed a complaint with Better Business Bureau and also have contacted a news company to put this ridiculous business on television and will make sure that it will go vital in every social/internet network.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund.

Business Response:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to this unfortunate misunderstanding. Your time, as is my reputation, is valuable. My hope is to find an amicable agreement.

 

The *********** had used our services 3 times in the last 3 years prior to this last visit on 9-19-2013. We keep client cards, which details the grooming we do on each and every client, our frequent clients as well as clients such as the ***********.

 

When Mr. ********** dropped his two dogs Bebe and Roxie to be groomed he requested their hair be cut, which had alerted the Groomer, due to the fact they had never been cut before. It is not uncommon in Arizona heat, and when dogs are heavily matted, which these two dogs were, that owners will request long haired breeds to be cut short for their comfort. The Groomer still wanted to double check this request, so she phoned. Mr. ********* again stated a hair cut. She then asked him if he wanted to go to ½ inch allover. He told her yes. The Groomer did as he requested, not once but twice.

 

Mr. ********** came to pick up Bebe and Roxie, he and another gentleman both stated to me how great the dogs looked, he paid the bill and tipped the Groomers $20.00He had clearly seen the dogs when he picked them up and was very happy. Imagine my shok and surprise when his wife called and left a message during closed business hours, she was clearly upset about the dogs being shortly. I called back immediately no answer at the house so it took me to their voice mail. I left them a message explaining that we did as her husband specified. I didn’t hear anything further until Mr. ********** and the same gentleman that picked up with him showed up at the shop 3 days later. He entered and Mr. ********** immediately began berating my Groomer. He was very agitated, yelling about the groom she had done.

 

My Groomer calmly explained that she had done as her requested and apologized for his dissatisfaction. He continued, so I asked him to speak to me the owner. Mr. ********** just continued raising his voice and being very combative.

 

I asked several times what he thought would be an ample solution, but giving his disposition, he was more interested in escalating the the conflict than resolving the issue.

He never asked for a refund in the entire time he was there. My wife explained that there had to be a miscommunication and said that the dogs were very well cared for and were not harmed, he seamed to calm slightly, even explaining that he has recommended us to his friends because of how we care for the animals.

 

It was concluded that Mr. ********** wanted ½ inch taken off all over, when we were asking if he wanted ½ inch left all over the pets. When he said yes we did as he requested.

Having worked in the service industry for 32 years, I know it is impossible to please each and every person. I have prided myself on resolving those unhappy clients swiftly and calmly. This is my first real complaint, and for 6 years this type of business I’m proud of this record.

 

I truly believe that Above and Beyond is just caught In the middle of a domestic dispute given the facts I have provided.

 

Resolution:

 

If Mr. ********** would like a free Bath and Brush for his two dogs, I will be more than happy to do so in the next 6-8 weeks.

 

If you have any questions please feel free to call me at: ###-###-####

 

Regards,

 

**** ********

Owner