Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers pet daycare, grooming and pet boarding services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pete & Mac's Recreational Resort For Pets meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Pete & Mac's Recreational Resort For Pets
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 10, 2002 Business started: 11/01/1999 in AZ Business incorporated 04/18/2000 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Maricopa Enviromental Service Department
301 West Jefferson Street, Phoenix AZ 85003
Phone Number: (602) 506-3011

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Gay Barwald, President Mr. Ron Butler, CEO Ms. Chris Flanagan, Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Gay Barwald, President
Related Businesses
Pete & Mac's Avondale
Business Category

Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Exercising Service Pet Grooming Pet Shops

Method(s) of Payment
All major credit cards, checks & cash.
Alternate Business Names
Pete & Mac's Pet Resorts, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Pete & Mac's Recreational Resort For Pets has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 13034 W. Rancho Santa Fe #103

    Avondale, AZ 85392 (623) 536-2303

  • 321 E. Elliot Road

    Gilbert, AZ 85234


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My first encounter with Pete and Mac's establishment, was on the week end of the Labor Day week-end. I took my pet there for boarding on Thursday, August 29, 2013.1 picked my pet up on Tuesday September 3, 2013. On picking my pet up I was advised "he had a scratch on his testicle".

1 took him home and watched him, and then called Pete an Mac's, and asked what had happened? They could not give me a definite answer. Someone a male, called and told me," I could bring him in to get an antibiotic cream to apply to him". I told that person I
would watch him, and it healed sufficiently I thought it was just a mishap. I again took him back on December 20, 2013., for a shampoo and a nail trim. I picked him up about an hour and a half later, and was shown a cut on his right hind foot.

A female, one of the workers called me and asked how did I like the service? I advised her, my pet smelled the same way he did, before I brought him to them. She said "she would tell the person who had groomed him. Or as I say the one who supposedly
groomed him. I was advised that I could bring him back. My reply was, I wouldn't be bringing him back, because I didn't know what else would happen to my pet.

I then spoke to the office manager, ******, I related to her what had happened when I brought him in for a shampoo and nail cutting.
Also, I told her about the cut on his foot and I told her that I didn't know if what had happened was intentional or carelessness. ******, advised me "she would have to do an investigation.". I then called back on January 14, 2014,1 called between 9:15 and 9:30AM. They
open at 6:AM. No one answered. I left my name and phone number. I have yet to get a response. In my estimation they have very poor customer service skills! Pete and Mac's, need to be mindful of who they hire, because their help has given them a terrible name as far as I am concerned.

This is the reason I am issuing a complaint against them. Also, I could not tell if my pet's nails had been trimmed or not. I would like the forty dollars back that was paid to them. As far as I'm concerned, this was payment for non-service.
The name of this establishment is; Pete and Mac's, ***** ******** ***** *** Avondale AZ. 85392- *** ********. www.***********

Desired Settlement: Refund

Business Response: Dear Ms. ******,
My sincerest apologies that your experiences with Pete & Mac's have fallen below the expectation level of you as a customer and of us as a company.  I was disappointed to read your comments and hope all is well with your pup.  We will, of course, issue a refund and mail you a check.

With regards to when our phones were not answered I am not offering an excuse but it was a day when we were having phone upgrades that took much longer than expected.  We attemted to notify clients via our facebook page and putting flyers up in the lobby and I apologize again for your inconvenience.  Your message unfortunately was not received due to the change.
I appreciate you taking the time to let us know of our shortfall.  We will be discussing with our staff the importance of following the customer service protocol and exectations we set as a company so that no other client feels the way you do.

If you would like to give us another opportunity to prove what we can be I would like to offer a free grooming service or a free day of daycare.  We would love the chance to gain back your trust.

Best regards,

*** *******
Operations Manager
Pete & Mac's Pet Resorts

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.



****** ******

 I do not accept the response because, ******, the office manager explained to me "she would do an investigation and she would get back to me". I spoke with ****** January 30, 2014.
I explained to her I was waiting for a call from her about the investigation, that she was doing. I never found out what she uncovered. ******, then advised me "she would be cutting me a check the next day, Friday January 31, 2014. ******, was apologetic. Yet I have not received a check from Pete and Mac's as of yet. I called them, they didn't call me. I would not bring my pet back to them because, I am apprehensive about what would happen to my pet the next time. Surely they can understand this! I know they may be apologetic now, yet as I've said before their customer service needs to be overhauled.


Business Response: It is my understanding that the manager, ******, spoke to Ms. ****** this morning (2/20/14) to follow up on the incident and to confirm the check was received, which I understand it was.  I believe the conversation went well and the offer of a free day of daycare was extended if Ms. ****** should decide to allow us to care for Toby again.

I know that this has served as a learning experience for the staff members and again we appreciate the issue being brought to our attention.  

Please let me know if there is any further follow up needed.

Thank you.

*** *******
Pete & Mac's Pet Resorts 

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Pete & Mac's Recreational Resort For Pets
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart