Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Canine Country Club?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Canine Country Club

Phone: (602) 244-8171 Fax: (602) 244-8707 2332 E. Washington Street, Phoenix, AZ 85034 http://www.caninecountryclubandfelineinn.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides kennel, boarding, day care, exercising, and grooming services for dogs and cats.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Canine Country Club meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Canine Country Club include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Canine Country Club
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1953 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1953 Business incorporated: 08/10/2007 in AZ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Greg Donahue, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Donahue, Member
Business Category

Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Exercising Service Pet Grooming Pet Sitting Services Pet Services Pet Boarding - Dogs

Alternate Business Names
Canine Country Club and Feline Inn GDL, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 2332 E. Washington Street

    Phoenix, AZ 85034 (602) 244-8171

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm writing to the ****** because quite honestly I don't know who else to contact. Enclosed is a copy of my letter to Canine Country Club regarding the resent stay for our dog ***** and
her condition when I picked her up after her stay. I don't know what agency issues license to business like this but who ever it is should do a through inspection and make sure the facility
is clean and bug free. I talked with the owner, **** ******* (not sure of the last name spelling). He told me how they inspect each dog when they are released for ticks. I told him that was
not true because our dog was at the vets shortly after release and had several ticks and the vet was not able to remove all of them. It has taken a month to finally get rid of these bugs
from our dog and our carpeting. If you can help with th is problem for other people the community will be very appreciative. The least a dog owner can expect when trust their animal to any kennel is that it be clean.

Desired Settlement: I would expect a response to the letter and some sort of help with the expense we have had as a result of your kennel.

Business Response: Dear ***,

In response to the complaint, I spoke to Mr. ******* at length a few weeks ago.  I explained to him our cleaning processes, pest control processes and inspections.

Every day beginning at 6:30, 6:00 during the summers, we begin our cleaning process and are involved with it all day long.  This includes a complete sanitizing of the spaces the dogs utilize daily.  Since our runs are indoor/outdoor spaces, the dogs are free to go inside and out 24/7 and thus we are cleaning throughout the day, every day including holidays.  Twice a month we have professional exterminators come in to spray the entire facility in an effort to keep pests away.  This is an ongoing process because again our spaces are indoor/outdoor.  Even with all these efforts, we cannot guarantee that a dog won't get a tick while here.  For this reason we offer ********* **** (the leading tick treatment in the marketplace) to clients at our cost so they can be given an additional level of protection.  Some choose to have it applied, some are already treating the dogs and others like the ******* choose not to.  ********* **** will not only kill the ticks within 48 hours but they will also kill any that come from eggs carried by another tick.  We try hard to cover all the bases.

Again, since we cannot control the environment, we have inspections of the animals when they arrive and when they leave.  We are checking for injuries, ticks or anything out of the ordinary.  I explained this to Mr. ******* and as you can see in his complaint he said that we did not inspect *****.  I spoke to the kennel tech who brought ***** up prior to speaking with Mr. ******* and she told me that she checked ***** and the logs support that she did (see attached logs).  I have no reason to disbelieve her since she is so committed to the animals.  She hopes to be a Vet Assistant someday and does it because of her love of animals.

While I don't doubt Mr. ******* word that ***** had ticks, I tried to explain all of this to him and how it is impossible to achieve the perfection he thinks we should have.  We are always looking for better ways and after speaking to him, I purchased a larger and brighter inspection lamp for the groom room to help the staff improve upon their performance.  We are inspected multiple times a year and have always received a great grade.  These inspection are random and without notice. 

We despise ticks and are sorry if ***** received some while here. 

**** *******

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9727213, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In answer to your letter of 10-01-13 the dispute has not been settled with Canine Country Club. I have not heard from Mr. ******* except through ***. We are still finding ticks on our dog and in our house.
**** **** **** ******* has treated our house and property twice and will be here tomorrow for the third time. Needless to say this has been a very bad experience. If the Canine property was treated as Mr. ******* indicated this would be a controllable situation.There is one major problem and that has to do with inspecting the dog when it was released. ***** was was infested with ticks when we got her home. Two days later I had her at our Vets and they removed several. If ***** had been checked for ticks they surly would have been found. When we are satisfied that the ticks are gone then I will present Mr.
******* with the total cost then we can end this. I appreciate the work that *** did in this dispute.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: I am in receipt of Mr. ******* response.  I understand his feelings about his dog having ticks as we go to great measures including offering individualized treatment for each dog.  This treatment is the ONLY way you can be sure a dog will not get ticks.  As I mentioned to Mr. *******, our facility is an indoor/outdoor facility and we cannot guarantee that a dog will not get ticks regardless of the efforts expended.  You can ask the same of any vet's office and they will tell you the same if they understood the facts.  While he stated they have never had ticks before, a dog is exposed anytime they go outside.  That is why these products are available.  I have never disputed that the dog could have received the ticks here,but she could have gotten them anywhere.

When we check for ticks, we check the fur, ears, toes and any other spot they might hangout.  This is not a guarantee that we can identify all ticks but is a best effort to find them.  Until a tick attaches itself to the dog, they are very small and difficult to find.  Mr. ******* continues to state that this inspection was not done and I stand behind my employee who said she did it.  She is a caring and loving dog person who hates ticks like all of us.

In a sign of goodwill, I will refund the entire fee paid of $141.63.  All of this could have been avoided by accepting the offer of ********* for a fee of $16-our cost.  I will place a check in the mail to Mr. *******.

11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We dropped our three dogs off on Friday, 9.21.2012. We left instructions for them to be kenneled together and that if the eldest, 14, got too hot to move her into the air-conditioned suite, as she has some health issues. On Saturday, they called to say that the two of the dogs got into a minor scrap over food, but they checked everyone over and their were no injuries. The older dog, they said, had a small limp in her front paw, but they nothing wrong with it. We figured it might be the arthritis that she has in that paw, and so figured, based on their description, all was well. When we got the dogs back Sunday at 5:30pm, all three have eye infections. Our eldest, they said, seemed a little small, so they gave her her own room. When we got her, she was in shock. Her front leg is seriously swollen from a deep puncture wound, that has matted hair from oozing. She was almost totally despondent. She also has a small clip on one ear. They told us when they gave her back that they bathed her, because she seemed uneasy (not sure who baths a dog because it makes them calmer). They did not bath her to calm her, they bathed her to wash all the blood off from the wounds they never told us about. Had we known Saturday, we would have had her taken to a vet. She is now in an emergency clinic for a severe infection in her leg (also a severe infection that swelled like a balloon in 24 hours, and from the reviews I have now read, probably due to how unclean the place is), and severe dehydration. She is on an IV to hydrate right now, and this vet visit is costing us about $550. What's worse, had we been held up on our way home, and we got there after they closed, she likely would have died from both the shock and dehydration.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to pay part of the vet bill. I understand that a dog fight can happen, but her condition was severely exacerbated by the poor treatment she received and their lies to us about her condition. I would also like them inspected. I have read many reviews online, which I wish I read sooner, and I am not the first person to have a complaint of their dangerously poor care.

BBB Response:

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

In this customers complaint, they claimed we lied to them about the scope of injuries.  I spoke to both the wife and husband separately.  In both calls we discussed what happened and our willingness to help with their bills even though the injuries came from their own dog's interaction.  I asked the husband what our motivation for lying to them since the injuries were from no fault of ours?  Two of their dogs attacked the third.  They had asked that they be placed in the same run even though we were later told that they fight sometimes.  Most customers that have dogs that fight usually inform of this in advance or at least ask us to separate them.  That did not happen with these dogs.

Sequence of events:

The three dogs checked in on Friday morning the 21st.  We were told that "if" the older dog was having any heat challenges she could be moved to the air conditioned suites.  We made note of that and monitored accordingly.  Saturday evening around 5:00, two of their dogs attacked the third and had her in their grasp when we broke it up.  They were separated immediately.  All the dogs were checked for injuries.  At that time it was observed that the older dog was limping.  The older dog was given more food (We do this because we were uncertain if the others kept her from eating) and water.  Per our procedure when ANYTHING out of the norm occurs, the owners were called and the observed injuries reported.  (Why we would lie about injuries inflicted by their dogs is still a mystery to me.)  Based off of the discussion with the customer, it was determined to leave them apart and keep an eye on them.  Here the customer thinks we misled them about the scope of injuries.  We reported what was observed and had no reason to do anything but.  We have several emergency clinics and vets offices we use when something happens and services are needed.  Saturday evening in conjunction with the owner it was determined that this was not necessary.  Our caretakers checked in on the older dog several times through the night and she did not seem to have any stress due to heat nor additional complications from being attacked.

Sunday morning our manager checked on the older dog while doing her rounds.  The dog seemed to be favoring the leg still so she got down on the ground with her to get a closer look.  She did not want to let her leg be looked at.  In an effort to determine whether there was further injury than noticed the night before, the dog was given a bath so we might be able to get a closer look.  It was determined that since the customers were coming in later in the day and the dogs condition had not deteriorated since talking to the customer, we would wait for them.  The dog was checked on throughout the day and she continued to move around her run with the same limp.  The customer claims that we should have moved her to the air conditioned suites.  We felt that she was doing fine in the evaporative cooling.  I told the customer as well "Why would we not mover her if we thought she needed it" .  Our actions are always based off of the well being of the pet.  We don't make decisions on whether the owner will reimburse us for the vets cost, we make them based off of the pets health.

After picking up the dog, the customer elected to take her to the emergency room.  We continued to followup on her condition and I spoke with the wife and then the husband on separate occasions.

Due to our concern for the dogs condition, I phoned one of the vets we utilize and described every step in the dogs stay.  I also explained that  the customer felt we were responsible for the pets dehydration.  I wanted to be sure that we had done everything properly in the opinion of a veterinarian.  She thought we had acted properly and the customer could have directed us to do something differently.   After talking to the vet, I spoke to the husband and discussed again the step by step.  Even though we felt strongly that we had acted properly, I offered again to pick up the charges associated with the dehydration.  He said he would speak to his wife and get back to me.  The complaint you sent was my next notice.

Many dogs come through CCCFI every month and everything we do is directed at making their stay the best possible.  When something happens, we take action immediately.  When complaints occur we try to adjust our process or procedure to keep those issues from occurring again.  Regardless of fault.  In this case, I told the husband that we had modified our follow-up communications process to better include the customer in the decision making process.  He appreciated that change