Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Canine Country Club

Phone: (602) 244-8171 Fax: (602) 244-8707 2332 E. Washington Street, Phoenix, AZ 85034 http://www.caninecountryclubandfelineinn.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides kennel, boarding, day care, exercising, and grooming services for dogs and cats.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Canine Country Club meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Canine Country Club include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Canine Country Club
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 2005 Business started: 02/08/1953 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1953 Business incorporated 08/10/2007 in AZ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Greg Donahue, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Donahue, Owner
Business Category

Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Exercising Service Pet Grooming Pet Sitting Services Pet Services Pet Boarding - Dogs

Alternate Business Names
Canine Country Club and Feline Inn GDL, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 2332 E. Washington Street

    Phoenix, AZ 85034 (602) 244-8171

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just recently went on vacation, and boarded my 2 dogs at the Canine Club, because there was a ******* deal for their establishment. I had never used this company before, nor had I ever boarded my 2 dogs prior to this. When I left the dogs there on April 24th, they were clean, healthy, and up to date on all of their vaccinations. Upon dropping them off, I was informed that the dogs at the club were never brought out of their runs during the day, meaning that they were left to stay in their own feces and urine in their runs. Upon hearing this, I paid extra money to have them brought out of their runs on 2 days for play with other dogs. I was not informed of this charge when I first called in to the establishment. During my vacation I called to check in on the dogs, and was met with one word replies by the very rude desk lady, who did not give me any details of how the dogs were doing. When I finally picked them up yesterday, they both stunk extremely badly, their hair was matted and greasy, and they had terrible breath, and my black yorkie was emaciated and slightly lethargic. Upon bringing them home, they immediately ran to their water bowl as if they had been deprived of water during their time at the club. All of last night and today, my yorkie had very loose, very ***** green diarrhea, and she was lethargic, so I was forced to take her to the emergency veterinarian. They couldn't squeeze her in today, but said they want to see her back tomorrow as she appeared very ill. Never in my life have I read such terrible reviews of a company, and this seems to be a trend of theirs that I have seen all over yelp and other internet searches. My dogs were left to remain in their own filth for 5 days, they were not taken out to go to the bathroom, nor were they fed or watered properly, as my yorkie is 1/2 a pound lighter than she was when I dropped her off, which says alot, as she is only 5 1/2 pounds. I would never recommend anyone to drop their pets off at this place if they actually care for them, and now I am forced to pay extra expenses for a veterinarian to correct the health problems that occurred with my dog while she was there.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of either part or all of the expenses paid for my dogs' stay at this facility, to cover the costs of veterinary bills incurred from leaving my dogs in this dirty establishment. If this cannot happen I will be contacting local authorities and agencies for an investigation of the practices of this business.

Business Response: May 4, 2015

Better Business Bureau
Complaint id #********

Response

I received the listed complaint on Friday and have taken several days to interview all parties as I do with any complaint.

On April 24th we received **** and **** into our facility and escorted them back to their run.  As part of our daily activity, we inspected them upon arrival.  Both were observed to be injury and tick free as well as clean and healthy.  The dogs were placed in our 400 building, which is designed for small dogs.  They had a run that was 3 ½ feet by 18 feet, the largest space for small dogs in the valley.  This is an indoor/outdoor space- our most popular.  They were given clean and fresh water bowls.

Ms. ****** suggests that she gave her dogs day care because if she didn’t they would be left in their poop and urine all day.  Nothing is further from the truth.  The first thing we do every morning is to pick up the poop throughout the whole facility.  Since the dogs have access to their outdoor space 24/7, they go outside to poop on their own schedule.  This is usually early in the morning.  After we pick up the poop, we Sanitize EVERY space EVERY day for the health and well being of all of our guests.  Since dogs tend not to poop just once a day, we are picking up after them all day long.  The staff is instructed “If they see poop, pick it up”.

The day care she says she was not informed of when she called in is strictly an option.  Every customer is given the choice of adding this service to their stay but is not forced to do so.  Fifty percent of our customers do and a like amount don’t.  It is offered as a way to make the dogs stay more enjoyable since they get to interact with the other dogs.  The charge for this is $12 for four hours of play per dog.  She chose to add two of these days to her five-day stay so you can see there were days she chose not to.

When I received the complaint, the first thing I did was look at the kennel card to learn about the food issue since she says one of the dogs lost a half-pound while here.  Losing weight is not uncommon in particular because the amount of activity and stimulation dogs receive while here is usually greater than they receive at home.  Both dogs had their own food and the instructions we received were to feed them each 1/3 cup in the morning and evening.  The kennel card reflects this was performed every day here.  If they had eaten all of their food and were observed to still be hungry, we would have used our own food to supplement at no additional charge.  A small percentage of our clients do not bring food with them even though it is recommended and we feed them with our food at no extra charge.

Ms. ****** claims that her dogs were left in their own filth for five days.  Again nothing is farther from the truth.  Anytime a dog is observed to be dirty, we would take them to our groom room and clean them up.  Since she had two day care days, we would have had an additional chance to observe them if this had happened.  On the day a dog is going home, our groomer checks all of the dogs first thing in the morning.  This provides an opportunity to clean them if needed.  Our groomer said they were not filthy as suggested in the complaint during her morning check.  In addition to the morning check, every dog is given a second inspection at his or her departure time.  The senior associate who brought them up said they did not smell of urine or poop and he actually carried them in his arms, something he would not do if they had poop on them.  They may not have smelled bath fresh but this certainly could be attributed to two days of playing in the yards with other dogs.  If she thought they needed to be cleaned, we could have and would have taken them back for a quick bath.  All she had to do was ask.  It is customary to offer exit baths for a small fee and we even provide them at no charge for stays in excess of seven days.

When a customer arrives, the first thing we do is make sure we have emergency contact information in case there is an issue.  If a dog has diarrhea, the office is notified and we will attempt to contact the customer.  No diarrhea was observed while the dogs were here.  If they are scared, they might be moved into the office if they are a small dog like these were.  That was not a problem either.  Quite the contrary.  They enjoyed their time in day care and had the staff smitten with them.  All was good.

As for the rude lady on the phone, my experience tells me that everyone has their own opinion of what rude is based off of the moment at hand.  Our staff genuinely cares for all of the animals and enjoys communicating that to customers.  I don’t want to speculate as to what may have led to this feeling but I know it is not a common impression.  I work with the staff regularly on customer service issues and I’m sorry this was the impression left.

While I am confident that everything was handled properly and the dogs were in good care, I will reimburse Ms. ****** the cost of her day care since she seems to feel she was coerced into doing it.  I also personally saw the dogs daily while they were here and they seemed happy and healthy the whole time.  Since Ms. ****** lives close by, I would be happy to provide complimentary baths for both dogs at a time of her choosing.

**** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Canine Country Club
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)