Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Canine Country Club

Phone: (602) 244-8171 Fax: (602) 244-8707 2332 E. Washington Street, Phoenix, AZ 85034 http://www.caninecountryclubandfelineinn.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides kennel, boarding, day care, exercising, and grooming services for dogs and cats.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Canine Country Club meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Canine Country Club include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Canine Country Club
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1953 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1953 Business incorporated 08/10/2007 in AZ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Greg Donahue, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Donahue, Member
Business Category

Pet Boarding & Kennels Pet Exercising Service Pet Grooming Pet Sitting Services Pet Services Pet Boarding - Dogs

Alternate Business Names
Canine Country Club and Feline Inn GDL, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 2332 E. Washington Street

    Phoenix, AZ 85034 (602) 244-8171

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just recently went on vacation, and boarded my 2 dogs at the Canine Club, because there was a ******* deal for their establishment. I had never used this company before, nor had I ever boarded my 2 dogs prior to this. When I left the dogs there on April 24th, they were clean, healthy, and up to date on all of their vaccinations. Upon dropping them off, I was informed that the dogs at the club were never brought out of their runs during the day, meaning that they were left to stay in their own feces and urine in their runs. Upon hearing this, I paid extra money to have them brought out of their runs on 2 days for play with other dogs. I was not informed of this charge when I first called in to the establishment. During my vacation I called to check in on the dogs, and was met with one word replies by the very rude desk lady, who did not give me any details of how the dogs were doing. When I finally picked them up yesterday, they both stunk extremely badly, their hair was matted and greasy, and they had terrible breath, and my black yorkie was emaciated and slightly lethargic. Upon bringing them home, they immediately ran to their water bowl as if they had been deprived of water during their time at the club. All of last night and today, my yorkie had very loose, very ***** green diarrhea, and she was lethargic, so I was forced to take her to the emergency veterinarian. They couldn't squeeze her in today, but said they want to see her back tomorrow as she appeared very ill. Never in my life have I read such terrible reviews of a company, and this seems to be a trend of theirs that I have seen all over yelp and other internet searches. My dogs were left to remain in their own filth for 5 days, they were not taken out to go to the bathroom, nor were they fed or watered properly, as my yorkie is 1/2 a pound lighter than she was when I dropped her off, which says alot, as she is only 5 1/2 pounds. I would never recommend anyone to drop their pets off at this place if they actually care for them, and now I am forced to pay extra expenses for a veterinarian to correct the health problems that occurred with my dog while she was there.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of either part or all of the expenses paid for my dogs' stay at this facility, to cover the costs of veterinary bills incurred from leaving my dogs in this dirty establishment. If this cannot happen I will be contacting local authorities and agencies for an investigation of the practices of this business.

Business Response: May 4, 2015

Better Business Bureau
Complaint id #********

Response

I received the listed complaint on Friday and have taken several days to interview all parties as I do with any complaint.

On April 24th we received **** and **** into our facility and escorted them back to their run.  As part of our daily activity, we inspected them upon arrival.  Both were observed to be injury and tick free as well as clean and healthy.  The dogs were placed in our 400 building, which is designed for small dogs.  They had a run that was 3 ½ feet by 18 feet, the largest space for small dogs in the valley.  This is an indoor/outdoor space- our most popular.  They were given clean and fresh water bowls.

Ms. ****** suggests that she gave her dogs day care because if she didn’t they would be left in their poop and urine all day.  Nothing is further from the truth.  The first thing we do every morning is to pick up the poop throughout the whole facility.  Since the dogs have access to their outdoor space 24/7, they go outside to poop on their own schedule.  This is usually early in the morning.  After we pick up the poop, we Sanitize EVERY space EVERY day for the health and well being of all of our guests.  Since dogs tend not to poop just once a day, we are picking up after them all day long.  The staff is instructed “If they see poop, pick it up”.

The day care she says she was not informed of when she called in is strictly an option.  Every customer is given the choice of adding this service to their stay but is not forced to do so.  Fifty percent of our customers do and a like amount don’t.  It is offered as a way to make the dogs stay more enjoyable since they get to interact with the other dogs.  The charge for this is $12 for four hours of play per dog.  She chose to add two of these days to her five-day stay so you can see there were days she chose not to.

When I received the complaint, the first thing I did was look at the kennel card to learn about the food issue since she says one of the dogs lost a half-pound while here.  Losing weight is not uncommon in particular because the amount of activity and stimulation dogs receive while here is usually greater than they receive at home.  Both dogs had their own food and the instructions we received were to feed them each 1/3 cup in the morning and evening.  The kennel card reflects this was performed every day here.  If they had eaten all of their food and were observed to still be hungry, we would have used our own food to supplement at no additional charge.  A small percentage of our clients do not bring food with them even though it is recommended and we feed them with our food at no extra charge.

Ms. ****** claims that her dogs were left in their own filth for five days.  Again nothing is farther from the truth.  Anytime a dog is observed to be dirty, we would take them to our groom room and clean them up.  Since she had two day care days, we would have had an additional chance to observe them if this had happened.  On the day a dog is going home, our groomer checks all of the dogs first thing in the morning.  This provides an opportunity to clean them if needed.  Our groomer said they were not filthy as suggested in the complaint during her morning check.  In addition to the morning check, every dog is given a second inspection at his or her departure time.  The senior associate who brought them up said they did not smell of urine or poop and he actually carried them in his arms, something he would not do if they had poop on them.  They may not have smelled bath fresh but this certainly could be attributed to two days of playing in the yards with other dogs.  If she thought they needed to be cleaned, we could have and would have taken them back for a quick bath.  All she had to do was ask.  It is customary to offer exit baths for a small fee and we even provide them at no charge for stays in excess of seven days.

When a customer arrives, the first thing we do is make sure we have emergency contact information in case there is an issue.  If a dog has diarrhea, the office is notified and we will attempt to contact the customer.  No diarrhea was observed while the dogs were here.  If they are scared, they might be moved into the office if they are a small dog like these were.  That was not a problem either.  Quite the contrary.  They enjoyed their time in day care and had the staff smitten with them.  All was good.

As for the rude lady on the phone, my experience tells me that everyone has their own opinion of what rude is based off of the moment at hand.  Our staff genuinely cares for all of the animals and enjoys communicating that to customers.  I don’t want to speculate as to what may have led to this feeling but I know it is not a common impression.  I work with the staff regularly on customer service issues and I’m sorry this was the impression left.

While I am confident that everything was handled properly and the dogs were in good care, I will reimburse Ms. ****** the cost of her day care since she seems to feel she was coerced into doing it.  I also personally saw the dogs daily while they were here and they seemed happy and healthy the whole time.  Since Ms. ****** lives close by, I would be happy to provide complimentary baths for both dogs at a time of her choosing.

**** *******

10/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm writing to the ****** because quite honestly I don't know who else to contact. Enclosed is a copy of my letter to Canine Country Club regarding the resent stay for our dog ***** and
her condition when I picked her up after her stay. I don't know what agency issues license to business like this but who ever it is should do a through inspection and make sure the facility
is clean and bug free. I talked with the owner, **** ******* (not sure of the last name spelling). He told me how they inspect each dog when they are released for ticks. I told him that was
not true because our dog was at the vets shortly after release and had several ticks and the vet was not able to remove all of them. It has taken a month to finally get rid of these bugs
from our dog and our carpeting. If you can help with th is problem for other people the community will be very appreciative. The least a dog owner can expect when trust their animal to any kennel is that it be clean.

Desired Settlement: I would expect a response to the letter and some sort of help with the expense we have had as a result of your kennel.

Business Response: Dear ***,

In response to the complaint, I spoke to Mr. ******* at length a few weeks ago.  I explained to him our cleaning processes, pest control processes and inspections.

Every day beginning at 6:30, 6:00 during the summers, we begin our cleaning process and are involved with it all day long.  This includes a complete sanitizing of the spaces the dogs utilize daily.  Since our runs are indoor/outdoor spaces, the dogs are free to go inside and out 24/7 and thus we are cleaning throughout the day, every day including holidays.  Twice a month we have professional exterminators come in to spray the entire facility in an effort to keep pests away.  This is an ongoing process because again our spaces are indoor/outdoor.  Even with all these efforts, we cannot guarantee that a dog won't get a tick while here.  For this reason we offer ********* **** (the leading tick treatment in the marketplace) to clients at our cost so they can be given an additional level of protection.  Some choose to have it applied, some are already treating the dogs and others like the ******* choose not to.  ********* **** will not only kill the ticks within 48 hours but they will also kill any that come from eggs carried by another tick.  We try hard to cover all the bases.

Again, since we cannot control the environment, we have inspections of the animals when they arrive and when they leave.  We are checking for injuries, ticks or anything out of the ordinary.  I explained this to Mr. ******* and as you can see in his complaint he said that we did not inspect *****.  I spoke to the kennel tech who brought ***** up prior to speaking with Mr. ******* and she told me that she checked ***** and the logs support that she did (see attached logs).  I have no reason to disbelieve her since she is so committed to the animals.  She hopes to be a Vet Assistant someday and does it because of her love of animals.

While I don't doubt Mr. ******* word that ***** had ticks, I tried to explain all of this to him and how it is impossible to achieve the perfection he thinks we should have.  We are always looking for better ways and after speaking to him, I purchased a larger and brighter inspection lamp for the groom room to help the staff improve upon their performance.  We are inspected multiple times a year and have always received a great grade.  These inspection are random and without notice. 

We despise ticks and are sorry if ***** received some while here. 

**** *******

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9727213, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In answer to your letter of 10-01-13 the dispute has not been settled with Canine Country Club. I have not heard from Mr. ******* except through ***. We are still finding ticks on our dog and in our house.
**** **** **** ******* has treated our house and property twice and will be here tomorrow for the third time. Needless to say this has been a very bad experience. If the Canine property was treated as Mr. ******* indicated this would be a controllable situation.There is one major problem and that has to do with inspecting the dog when it was released. ***** was was infested with ticks when we got her home. Two days later I had her at our Vets and they removed several. If ***** had been checked for ticks they surly would have been found. When we are satisfied that the ticks are gone then I will present Mr.
******* with the total cost then we can end this. I appreciate the work that *** did in this dispute.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: I am in receipt of Mr. ******* response.  I understand his feelings about his dog having ticks as we go to great measures including offering individualized treatment for each dog.  This treatment is the ONLY way you can be sure a dog will not get ticks.  As I mentioned to Mr. *******, our facility is an indoor/outdoor facility and we cannot guarantee that a dog will not get ticks regardless of the efforts expended.  You can ask the same of any vet's office and they will tell you the same if they understood the facts.  While he stated they have never had ticks before, a dog is exposed anytime they go outside.  That is why these products are available.  I have never disputed that the dog could have received the ticks here,but she could have gotten them anywhere.

When we check for ticks, we check the fur, ears, toes and any other spot they might hangout.  This is not a guarantee that we can identify all ticks but is a best effort to find them.  Until a tick attaches itself to the dog, they are very small and difficult to find.  Mr. ******* continues to state that this inspection was not done and I stand behind my employee who said she did it.  She is a caring and loving dog person who hates ticks like all of us.

In a sign of goodwill, I will refund the entire fee paid of $141.63.  All of this could have been avoided by accepting the offer of ********* for a fee of $16-our cost.  I will place a check in the mail to Mr. *******.

11/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We dropped our three dogs off on Friday, 9.21.2012. We left instructions for them to be kenneled together and that if the eldest, 14, got too hot to move her into the air-conditioned suite, as she has some health issues. On Saturday, they called to say that the two of the dogs got into a minor scrap over food, but they checked everyone over and their were no injuries. The older dog, they said, had a small limp in her front paw, but they nothing wrong with it. We figured it might be the arthritis that she has in that paw, and so figured, based on their description, all was well. When we got the dogs back Sunday at 5:30pm, all three have eye infections. Our eldest, they said, seemed a little small, so they gave her her own room. When we got her, she was in shock. Her front leg is seriously swollen from a deep puncture wound, that has matted hair from oozing. She was almost totally despondent. She also has a small clip on one ear. They told us when they gave her back that they bathed her, because she seemed uneasy (not sure who baths a dog because it makes them calmer). They did not bath her to calm her, they bathed her to wash all the blood off from the wounds they never told us about. Had we known Saturday, we would have had her taken to a vet. She is now in an emergency clinic for a severe infection in her leg (also a severe infection that swelled like a balloon in 24 hours, and from the reviews I have now read, probably due to how unclean the place is), and severe dehydration. She is on an IV to hydrate right now, and this vet visit is costing us about $550. What's worse, had we been held up on our way home, and we got there after they closed, she likely would have died from both the shock and dehydration.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to pay part of the vet bill. I understand that a dog fight can happen, but her condition was severely exacerbated by the poor treatment she received and their lies to us about her condition. I would also like them inspected. I have read many reviews online, which I wish I read sooner, and I am not the first person to have a complaint of their dangerously poor care.

BBB Response:

MESSAGE FROM BUSINESS:

In this customers complaint, they claimed we lied to them about the scope of injuries.  I spoke to both the wife and husband separately.  In both calls we discussed what happened and our willingness to help with their bills even though the injuries came from their own dog's interaction.  I asked the husband what our motivation for lying to them since the injuries were from no fault of ours?  Two of their dogs attacked the third.  They had asked that they be placed in the same run even though we were later told that they fight sometimes.  Most customers that have dogs that fight usually inform of this in advance or at least ask us to separate them.  That did not happen with these dogs.

Sequence of events:

The three dogs checked in on Friday morning the 21st.  We were told that "if" the older dog was having any heat challenges she could be moved to the air conditioned suites.  We made note of that and monitored accordingly.  Saturday evening around 5:00, two of their dogs attacked the third and had her in their grasp when we broke it up.  They were separated immediately.  All the dogs were checked for injuries.  At that time it was observed that the older dog was limping.  The older dog was given more food (We do this because we were uncertain if the others kept her from eating) and water.  Per our procedure when ANYTHING out of the norm occurs, the owners were called and the observed injuries reported.  (Why we would lie about injuries inflicted by their dogs is still a mystery to me.)  Based off of the discussion with the customer, it was determined to leave them apart and keep an eye on them.  Here the customer thinks we misled them about the scope of injuries.  We reported what was observed and had no reason to do anything but.  We have several emergency clinics and vets offices we use when something happens and services are needed.  Saturday evening in conjunction with the owner it was determined that this was not necessary.  Our caretakers checked in on the older dog several times through the night and she did not seem to have any stress due to heat nor additional complications from being attacked.

Sunday morning our manager checked on the older dog while doing her rounds.  The dog seemed to be favoring the leg still so she got down on the ground with her to get a closer look.  She did not want to let her leg be looked at.  In an effort to determine whether there was further injury than noticed the night before, the dog was given a bath so we might be able to get a closer look.  It was determined that since the customers were coming in later in the day and the dogs condition had not deteriorated since talking to the customer, we would wait for them.  The dog was checked on throughout the day and she continued to move around her run with the same limp.  The customer claims that we should have moved her to the air conditioned suites.  We felt that she was doing fine in the evaporative cooling.  I told the customer as well "Why would we not mover her if we thought she needed it" .  Our actions are always based off of the well being of the pet.  We don't make decisions on whether the owner will reimburse us for the vets cost, we make them based off of the pets health.

After picking up the dog, the customer elected to take her to the emergency room.  We continued to followup on her condition and I spoke with the wife and then the husband on separate occasions.

Due to our concern for the dogs condition, I phoned one of the vets we utilize and described every step in the dogs stay.  I also explained that  the customer felt we were responsible for the pets dehydration.  I wanted to be sure that we had done everything properly in the opinion of a veterinarian.  She thought we had acted properly and the customer could have directed us to do something differently.   After talking to the vet, I spoke to the husband and discussed again the step by step.  Even though we felt strongly that we had acted properly, I offered again to pick up the charges associated with the dehydration.  He said he would speak to his wife and get back to me.  The complaint you sent was my next notice.

Many dogs come through CCCFI every month and everything we do is directed at making their stay the best possible.  When something happens, we take action immediately.  When complaints occur we try to adjust our process or procedure to keep those issues from occurring again.  Regardless of fault.  In this case, I told the husband that we had modified our follow-up communications process to better include the customer in the decision making process.  He appreciated that change