BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona

BBB Accredited Business since

Providence Training Institute

Phone: (602) 606-8879 Fax: (623) 670-5965 9189 N 59th Ave Ste 2, Glendale, AZ 85302 http://www.ptihealthcollege.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers medical vocational and career training service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Providence Training Institute meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Providence Training Institute include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Providence Training Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 18, 2009 Business started: 08/22/2008 in AZ Business incorporated: 08/22/2008 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Board Of Medical Examiners
9545 E. Doubletree Ranch Road, Scottsdale AZ 85258
http://www.azmd.gov
Phone Number: 480.551.2700

Arizona Commission for Post Secondary Education
2020 N Central Ave, #650, Phoenix AZ 85004-4503
http://azppse.state.az.us/contact_form.asp
Phone Number: 602.258.2435
Fax Number: 602.258.2483

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Roger Olade, Executive Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Olade, Executive Director
Business Category

Nurses Schools Schools - Academic - Colleges & Universities Schools - Business & Vocational

Alternate Business Names
Providence Training Institute, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 9189 N 59th Ave Ste 2

    Glendale, AZ 85302

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I drafted a Letter of Concern to Dr. ***** at Providence Training Institute with recommendations to improve processes on April 24, 2012 and never received a phone call from him regarding the issues below. I enrolled at PTI on 2/10/2012 and the start date of classroom training began on 3/13/2012. The complete experience was unsatisfactory and unprofessional. Specific issues are (1) Substandard teaching methodology; (2) Poor instruction; (3) Lack of monitoring students during PCT Externship/Follow-up with students; (4)Double standards for students; (5) Inflexible scheduling; (6) Changes to program after enrollment date without signed acknowledgment from students; (7) Lack of response to inquiries; (8) Refund for externship included CNA duties which were supervised by a Caregiver and I am already a Licensed CNA. Thus no training dollars expended by PTI for my first half of externship which was solely for CNA familiarity. Furthermore, a CNA is a higher level of qualification than that of a Caregiqver and this was very evident during my Externship with which protocol and standards were not followed.

Desired Settlement: Initial refund was 538 which included CNA Externship and should not include CNA Externship because I entered the program as a Licensed CNA by the State of Arizona and was already employed as a CNA at the time of enrollment. I expect another refund check with "no Externship hours served."

Business Response:

The above complaint is from a former student/customer. We issued her a refund despite the fact that she did not qualify for a refund under our published refund policy, because she had done more than 50% of her required 240hrs for the patient care technician program. She does not qualify for any more refund from our institution.
She received and cashed the check for $538 about 2 weeks ago. 
She has been problematic with more than our institution and has filed complaints against the Nursing Home she did her externship.
 
Thanks
***** *****
Executive Director
Providence Training Institute

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

***** *****


 

 Good Morning,

      I have all emails to show that I was not a problem I did however address issues that I had with the school.  Every complaint I have is documented along with the reply from the school.  I am not the only student that has and is having the same issue's with the school, I am also not the only student who has witnessed abuse at the place the school sent us to do our externship. I have videos to prove the abuse at the site of externship as well.  I chose to go to this school for my PCT not for my CNA because I already have my CNA I paid for my PCT not my CNA.  The school never provided to me the externship for my PCT.  The externiship or hours completed that I should not be charged for where for a CNA not a PCT.  I did not sign anything saying I had to re-do my CNA.  Please ask PTI to provide the BBB with some form of signed document by me saying I agree to re-do 160 CNA hours.  As students we were promised from day one that we would learn the skills needed for a PCT and with only less then 100 hours to complete the course I still don't have those skills and was never sent anywhere to aquire them. 

 

Jodie Wyatt, CNA

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.