Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Barbizon of Arizona

Phone: (602) 955-2155 Fax: (602) 955-2928 2141 E Camelback Rd Ste 222, Phoenix, AZ 85016 http://www.barbizonarizona.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business offers modeling education and talent agency services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Barbizon of Arizona meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Barbizon of Arizona include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Barbizon of Arizona
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 22, 2008 Business started: 06/01/1972 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Private Post Secondary Education Board
1400 W Washington St Ste 260, Phoenix AZ 85007
Phone Number: 602-542-5709

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Jean C. Hutchison, President Ms. Amanda Koehler, Director - Accounts Receivable
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jean C. Hutchison, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Amanda Koehler, Director - Accounts Receivable
Business Category

Modeling Schools Modeling & Talent Agencies


Additional Locations

  • 2141 E Camelback Rd Ste 222

    Phoenix, AZ 85016 (602) 955-2155

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter was attending a modeling class thart was 1500 i was under the impression that i paid everything off because at the end of the Class they had a celebration and the insturctor told a room full of people that everyone was paid off and we should hear about the big graduation and the big reherssal in a couple of months, and they once told me that my daughter has a granteed a spot in the angercney.

Desired Settlement: I would like at least half my money back because what they told me was false advertising no one told me that i was behind in any payments and as far as i know my child was already in

Business Response: To whom it may concern:

I am not sure how to respond to her rebuttal because no request was made. We are not in disagreement with her on the price. We have not withheld anything we promised her. If she has any further questions, we'd be more than happy to assist her. She can always reach us at ************. We do our best to make every customer have a wonderful experience!

Thank you,
****** *******

4/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company that I am filling a complaint against took money from my account without my authorization. After contacting the company they declined to help me and every time I call back they hang up. The customer representatives were rude. I feel like I was scammed as the company took money from my account while I had instructed them not to. The amount in question is $305 . This has affected me a lot and am now behind on my bills because I was unaware they were going to take the money.

Desired Settlement: I want them to refund my money as I did not receive any service from them and I had instructed them not to take them money from my account initially and they told me they would not and later went ahead taking money without my knowledge.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:On Sunday, FebnJary 7.,7.014 ***** ******* came to meet with our representatives, *****, with her dad, ******* ********. They decided to sign her up for the Barbizon Training Program. On February3';, 2014,Ms. ********* ****** (*****'s mom) turned in the contract  (see attached) to enroll ***** in the training program. ***** was scheduled to start on February 82014 from 1:30-5:30pm. On February 8'", we ran the deposit of $305.00, as was discussed and agreed upon over the phone on Monday  (2/3);additionally, the charge for the deposit was in accordance with the Credit/Debit Card Authorization Form filled out and signed by Ms. ****** (see attached). The deposit was done on the morning of February 8'" at 8:29 am,which is when our company's payments are processed. A few hours later, around 11:00am,Mr.******** called and spoke with me, ****** *******. He simply notified us that she would not be able to make it that day (2/8).  1  told  him that was perfectly fine and let him know to bring her in on February 22,2014 at the same time and we would start her then. (Our program allows them to make up any missed classes and they get lifetime classes once they have paid the entire tuition; so, changing a class date is never a problem.)  We hung up the phone. It was a very brief conversation that only involved the discussion of her starting the classes and when.On February 19111   2014 (a week and a half later),Mr. ******** called us wondering why his card was charged for the down payment. The first two times he called on the 19'h he spoke with *** ***** one of our other Directors and the third time he spoke with me. We both explained to him that the payment  was already withdrawn because that was when it was originally scheduled for and all that  was discussed was moving the start date for his daughter furthermore, the payment had already been processed that morning (2/8), before he had even called. We also assured him that an additional deposit would not be withdrawn again on the 22"' when his daughter  was scheduled to starting fact, nothing would be owed until March. When he called back the third time and I spoke to him, he added on that he had cancelled and no money should have been withdrawn_ This was the first time he had mentioned wanting to canceL I  told him I can cancel the contract, no problem, but unfortunately that is a non­ refundable down payment, as ***** had explained to him when he signed up. He would have needed to cancel by February 6l" to not owe anything. He  got very irate and started to yell at me. 1   tried to calm him down and continue to explain. The conversation was swiftly  ended because he continued to yell. He and his wife called back the next day (February 20' ). We both spoke with him again, saying the same thing as before. He proceeded to yell again saying that we were not supposed to run his card. After he called a couple times, his wife called. She did the same thing. We tried to very politely explain to them both that we were never given notice to change when to run the deposit and, unfortunately, now it is too late to cancel AND receive a refund of the $305.00. He claims that we did an unauthorized charge to his card (and did so without his knowledge) but we have a contract from them showing that they intended to start the program, we have a credit/debit card authorization showing that he intended to pay the deposit on 2/8, as well as, he gave his credit number over the phone to ***** to have her run iton 2/8. He claims that we hung up on him without notice. If he is referring to the fact that we hung up the phone after discussing this topic with him and his wife each time he called, then yes we "hung up" the phone. Our first priority is to provide the best customer service as possible. So, we are sad to hear that he feels that we were rude. We did the best we could but the situation was out of our hands. 1 disagree that we were ever rude to him; as he continued to yell at us, we did not yell back. Instead, we calmly explained to him the process.Overall, we were here to provide the service to his daughter. We reserved her spot in the class, registered her, and got supplies for her. He did not bring her, but it was not a problem to switch her start date. The problem arose once they realized they did not have the funds for the program. We are sorry that they are struggling financially. However, we did not force them into this contract. The money can't be refunded at this point, as stated in the contract's refund policy. We were here to provide the service. Just like a gym, even if I don't go, I still owe.The gym is open, providing me the service and it is my choice to take them up on it or not. We would be more than happy to have her take advantage of the services we provide. That's what we are here for! We never want some to walk away feeling that we are a "scam". Our customer service practices are held to the highest standards because we want everyone to have a positive experience with us. It's how we have stayed in business for 75 years! Plus, we work hard to maintain our A+ standing with the BBB and our positive reputation in the communityby providing good customer service and a great program. Please do not hesitate to call if any questions arise, my number is 602-955•2155.Thank you,****** *******Director of Accounts ReceivableBarbizon Southwest2141 E Camelback  Rd Ste 222 I  Phoenix,AZ 8501***** ************   * **** ************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

They is so much in their response that is false. First of all when we called to let them know that ***** was not going to attend class we told them not to take any money from the card and they agreed that they would not charge the card unless she showed up for the class.this is the same time that we cancelled and the person we talked to said that we had to write a letter to terminate the contract and they clearly told us they would not charge us the money. we wrote the letter and faxed it to them. I dint see this mentioned in their reply. There story is different and the claim that we were shouting is not true. When we called to ask why they had taken the money that is when they changed everything and started claiming that there is no way the money could be refunded. So contract or no contract we never agreed for them to take money from the card and we did what they asked us to do inorder to avoid being charged.

Regards,

******* ********


 

 

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:   We are sorry to hear that Mr.******** does not feel that the matter is settled. We never told them we would not charge them the down payment. In fact, it was non-refundable by the time he called us on Saturday, February 8th, 2014. We only ever heard about their desire to cancel a week and a half after we had already charged the down payment and the contract was in effect. I have once again attached the contract. It was filled out and signed by Ms.******. As of April 2nd, 2014, we still have not received a cancellation letter.   I have highlighted below the area in the Refund Protection that applies  to this situation:   “The applicant may cancel this contract if cancellation is made in writing and sent through certified mail or hand-delivered to Barbizon Southwest, Inc. c/o **** **********, Owner at the address stated herein. Moreover, it is the responsibility of the applicant to confirm with Barbizon Southwest that they received cancellation notification and:   (1) if cancellation is received within three (3) business days from the date of the applicant’s agreement, but prior to commencement of classes, the applicant shall receive a full refund of all monies paid to date of cancellation;   (2) if cancellation is received after three (3) business days from the date of the applicant’s agreement, but prior to commencement of classes, all monies paid to date of cancellation in excess of $305.00 shall be refunded or;   (3)            if cancellation is received at any time after the class has started the school shall retain the down payment ($305.00) and:   a.       5% of the total sale price if cancellation occurs after the first 4 hours offered but before the 5th hour of class instruction offered b.      10% of the total sale price if cancellation occurs after the 5th hour offered but before the 9th hour of class instruction offered c.       25% of the total sale price if cancellation occurs after the 9th hour offered but before the 12th hour of class instruction offered d.      50% of the total sale price if cancellation occurs after the 12th hour offered but before the 16th hour of class instruction offered e.      100% of the total sale price if cancellation is any time after the 16th hour of class instruction offered”   We are still providing the services that are promised in this active contract. However, we are not looking to charge them any more than the non-refundable down payment, which they have already paid. We are trying to do what is fair to each party. The contract clearly states how to cancel. We did not do anything unethical. We have held up our end of the contract. We are simply looking for Mr. ******** and Ms.****** to do the same. We would love to see********* complete the program, but understand that at this time it is not doable for the family. We are very sorry that they are frustrated with the service, but we did everything we could with the information they gave us. Please do not hesitate to call if you have any questions.         Thank you,         ****** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Barbizon of Arizona
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)