Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers medical supply services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that STAT Medical Supplies, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for STAT Medical Supplies, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on STAT Medical Supplies, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 10, 2013 Business started: 11/06/1986 in AZ Business incorporated 11/06/1986 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Board of Pharmacy
1616 W. Adams Street, Ste. 120, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azpharmacy.gov
Phone Number: (602) 771-2727
Fax Number: (602) 771-2749

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jennifier Jones, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Christie Freiday, President/CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifier Jones, Manager
Business Category

Medical Equipment & Supplies Compression Clothing/Garments Beds - Electric & Adjustable Beds - Retail Beds - Renting Wheel Chairs First Aid Supplies Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies


Additional Locations

  • 2316 N Stockton Hill Rd

    Kingman, AZ 86401 (928) 753-7828 (928) 718-2122

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had to leave Kingman AZ and live with my daughter in Livingston TX due to health reasons. On March 3rd, in what was to be a visit had turned into a medical crisis and I am now unable to go back to Kingman AZ and need to live with my daughter in TX. She was able to find an oxygen company here and set up out of her own pocket the concentrator and the bottle oxygen I needed for my COPD. When we tried to get these and the ongoing expenses paid by ******** as it had been paid in Kingman to Stat, we are told that Stat had billed ******** for 35 months and been paid by ******** and left the 36th payment not billed for. This left one month on the ******** contract open. So from May 14th 2014 they had not billed ******** but continued to be my oxygen supplier in AZ. I was unaware that by doing this, that left them a loophole, so they would not have to pay for my oxygen in TX nor could ******** pay for my oxygen because they had stopped one month shy of "tapping out". This means that any new company that would be willing to take me on as a customer would not get paid by ******** until the contract runs out in 2 yrs. The Stat Company, according to ******** have to supply my oxygen needs, but Stat refuses to either send oxygen supplies or a concentrator or paid for another company here to supply me with my oxygen needs. All contact by me or my daughter or the new oxygen supplier here in Texas has gone to rudeness or voice mail. I have put in a complaint with ******** but so far that has not helped. I'm 80 yrs old and don't have the breath or the energy to fight with them anymore. And I will have to pay out of my SS check for my oxygen every month. I think what they did and are doing is abusive and possibly fraud.

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay for my oxygen needs every month to the new TX oxygen company like they were paid by ******** all the years I was with them in Kingman AZ. If they are not willing to do that then they need to send me my oxygen bottles every week and send me a concentrator for my home use like I had in AZ.

Business Response: Mrs. ****** (the patient)was traveling on vacation to TX from March 3, 2015 to March 16, 2015.  The patient reserved and picked up a portable concentrator from STAT Medical Supplies on 2/27/2015.  The home concentrator was shipped to TX on 2/25/2015.  It is our policy to verify and maintenance all equipment prior to pickup or delivery and to assure that all are in excellent working condition, as with the case with these two units.  

The family called us on 3/3/15 and stated they did not receive the home concentrator that was shipped.  We tracked the shipping and the package was out for delivery for that day.  It was delivered on the doorstep on 3/3/15 at 6:47 p.m.  Between the phone call from family member and delivery of our equipment, the patient took it upon themselves to go to another oxygen supplier and get set up with that supplier.  The family took it upon themselves to ship back the home concentrator to STAT, paid out of pocket for shipping, although a pre-paid shipping label was provided when STAT originally shipped the concentrator to TX.  They said they never opened the box, so we refunded back the shipping cost of $57.85.

On 3/4/15, the family contacted our office by phone and stated they were set up with another local TX supplier and were sending back our equipment.  The patient was refusing our service when they sent back the equipment.  On 3/6/15, the daughter came into the office and returned the portable concentrator and stated they had another company in TX that was servicing her mother.  The daughter also stated that they had problems with the portable unit on the plane, at which time our certified technician took the unit and serviced it, but found it to be in excellent working condition, no problems were found.  

No other communication on this matter until 3/19/15 when we received a call from the TX supplier demanding to speak with someone now and no one was available to take the call.  They were offered voicemail, but refused to leave a message, and stated STAT was responsible to pay them for servicing this patient.  

I contacted ******* with ******** REF #******* on 3/19/15, explained the situation to her and she took all information and stated she would get with her supervisor and return our call.  On 3/25/15, spoke with ******* at ******** and she stated per the supervisor that per ******** guidelines, if beneficiary wants local supplier in TX and has been set up, the new supplier can bill and receive payment from ********.  Nothing legal that states old supplier is responsible for payment to new supplier since a full 36 months of rental payments was not made.  The new supplier initiated the care of the patient by setting her up with equipment and solely is their responsibility for the continued care of this patient.  The TX supplier has the ability to check with ******** (Same and Similar) for rental months and choose to accept patient or not.  This supplier chose to assume care.  

STAT Medical Supplies did no fraud or abuse in servicing this patient, it was solely their choice to seek oxygen services elsewhere in TX.  It is the new supplier in TX that is now responsible for continued care of service to this patient.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I just got done talking on the phone with ******** from Stat, who said she was the assistant manager. And she informed me that Stat had an inquire from the BBB and didn't I read my email from the BBB. I said that I didn't have any emails from the BBB as yet. I then asked her about providing the oxygen needs for my Mom and she said that as far as they were concerned my Mom had terminated the contract and found another provider here in Texas. And they are not obligated to provide any oxygen needs. I explained that the new provider would not take her on as a client because they would only get paid for 1 month and then no pay for 2yrs. And that my Mom has been paying for her oxygen needs now and we need them to do the right thing and send a concentrator and a portable concentrator or pay the new oxygen company for her needs here. She then went into the fact that Mom was ONLY suppose to be visiting here in Texas, and I explained again that she is unable to travel and would need to stay here with me in Texas due to her health, and she shouldn't be punished for needing to live here now. She then said because we sent the oxygen equipment back that meant we terminated the contract. That is a lie, we were told by Stat we had to send the equipment back and if not then Mom's credit card would be charged for the cost of both the portable and the home concentrator. We had to arrange for a home concentrator because the day she flew into Texas Stat still had not sent the home concentrator to my home and the Stat's home concentrator was not even delivered until after 8pm that night, so how was Mom suppose to breath without her oxygen until then? When I complained to Stat about the late delivery they got rude and told us to send their equipment back IMMEDIATELY or be charged.

We had no idea that Stat billed only 35 months to ******** so now any company can not get paid for taking on Mom's oxygen needs as their client. That Stat is trying to make it seem like we canceled the contract when all we did was send back the equipment under their orders because they said we would be charged for the concentrators. That they are suppose to send a paper ******** that says we canceled, we did not sign any paper that said we canceled, we only sent the equiptment back as they told us to do.

******** said that she would talk to the owner of Stat and call us back tomorrow morning. Then when I asked if that meant she would be sending the needed oxygen equipment, she said she was "terminating this phone call" and hung up.

This is exactly how they act whenever we try and talk with them. And this is why we have put in a complaint with BBB and with ********, we need help to get this resolved and Stat needs to not be able to treat another 80yr old Mom like this.

I'm at a loss as to why Stat has correspondence from BBB and we do not. She made it seem like it is all resolved and they are not going to do anything about providing my Mom's oxygen needs and BBB should have told us about this all ready. 

Regards,
******* ******

Business Response: My name is ******** *******, I am the owner of Stat Medical Suppllies. We were told ******* was going on vacation, from Kingman, AZ, to Visit her daughter in Texas. She had oxygen equipment of Stat's in her home in Kingman, so STAT loaned her equipment to take to Texas for her vacation. On March 6, 2015, ******** daughter brought in ******** equipment from her home in Kingman, AZ.,,she said she was returning ******** equipment, because she was going to live in Texas with her other daughter. I talked to the company in Texas to make sure she was being taken care of, they told me, that they had set ******* up with oxygen on February 27, 2015. We requested our loaner equipment back, since ******* was no longer a patient of ours. We NEVER said we were going to charge ******** charge card. That is not our policy. According to ******** once our equipment is returned and a release of liability is signed (which it was) we are not responsible. Stat did not hear anything from ******* from March 6, 2015, until March 19,2015, when the company in Texas said they were going to bill ******* not ********. The company in Texas should have verified with ******** what billing dates were left to be paid. That is something STAT does before ever giving out equipment, verification of insurance is always the providers responsiblity.

Thank you
******** *******