Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AZ Mediquip, Inc.

Phone: (602) 992-6146 Fax: (602) 788-4216 9449 N 90th St Ste 100, Scottsdale, AZ 85258 http://www.azmediquip.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers medical equipment and supplies.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AZ Mediquip, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for AZ Mediquip, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AZ Mediquip, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 24, 2013 Business started: 11/02/2011 in AZ Business incorporated 11/02/2011 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Environmental Health
4605 E. Elwood Street #402, Phoenix AZ 85040
Phone Number: 602.364.3118
Fax Number: 602.364.3146

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mark Nicotera, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Nicotera, President/CEO
Related Businesses
G & S Medical Services, Inc.
Business Category

Medical Equipment & Supplies Scooters - Medical Scooters - Repair


Additional Locations

  • 9449 N 90th St Ste 100

    Scottsdale, AZ 85258 (602) 992-6146

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the time of purchase of equipment, the company was contracted with **** ***** **** ****** to sell the equipment at a discounted price. This price was not offered to me. In addition, I was told that I needed to process the claim through the insurance myself. This has been almost two years of the insurance company trying to convince AZ MediQuip of their obligation to reimburse me the write off amount of $247.98, which they refuse to do.

Desired Settlement: AZ MediQuip is obligated, per their contract with ****, to refund me the amount of $247.98.

Business Response:

I have been in contact with this customer and **** for the past 18 months. **** has sent several small reimbursement payments to AZ MediQuip, all of which were sent directly to the complainant. The complainant was informed at the time of purchase that we could not bill **** and that she would have to do so directly.

The real issue here is that **** has failed to properly reimburse the complainant. The complainant is focusing on AZ MediQuip as their is no way to lodge a complaint with **** in a public forum. AZ MediQuip has no control over how the complainant submitted their request for reimbursement to **** or how diligent they have been in demanding proper reimbursement (they have reimbursed the item as a rental, not as a purchased item).

In July of 2014, AZ MediQuip sent a letter of resignation to **** as AZ MediQuip no longer met the legal requirements and obligations of its **** contract. Specifically, we were no longer an Accredited supplier of medical equipment and we had also resigned our Medicare contract. While **** took months to recognize our letter of resignation and continued to show AZ MediQuip as an in network supplier, AZ MediQuip would have been committing insurance fraud had it submitted this transaction itself to **** for reimbursement.

My final point is that the complainant purchased these items at a heavily discounted "cash" (as in not through insurance). Had the complainant purchased these items at the standard insurance billable amount, which is in excess of $1,100, AZ MediQuip could easily afford to refund the $247 in question. At the price paid, any refund would make this a non-profitable transaction.

While i certainly understand the complainants frustration with ****, seeking a refund from AZ MediQuip, effectively making the device in question free for the complainant, is not congruent to the original transaction nor any promise made or implied.

 

 

Consumer Response:

I agree that the employee who assisted me informed me that they could not file the insurance for me.  However, there was nothing said about their contract with **** being canceled.  Had there been, I certainly would have gone to a different company.

My understanding of the insurance is for the contracted provider (which, according to ****, AZ MediQuip was on 8/18/14) to sell their product for the agreed upon discounted price.  According to ****, the write off or discounted amount was $247.98, which should have been deducted at the time of purchase.  Their calculations show the total purchase price of $619.98, minus the write off of $247.98.  Then the insurance covers 80% of the remaining amount of $372.  So my 20% total to pay would be $74.40.  At this point, I paid $619.98 and was reimbursed $297.60, which **** sent to AZ MediQuip.  So, at this point, I have paid $322.38.  The difference is the $247.98 that I am requesting to be returned from AZ MediQuip per their legal contract, which should be honored until they are notified of their release from their contact.  This had not occurred as of the date of my purchase.

Business Response:

The Complainant is still not recognizing that the pricing she was offered was not an insurance transaction price but a direct consumer price. As previously stated, had we billed this as an insurance transaction, the product price would have been in excess of $1,100.  The Complainant is asking to have her cake and eat it too.

With regards to the **** website showing AZ MediQuip as an in-network provider, AZ MediQuip has no control over the time frame in which an insurance company updates their website or internal resources as to who is in network and who is not. In fact, we see that typically 50% or more of companies listed as in-netowrk are in fact no longer in business or no longer taking insurance.  How many times have you seen a doctors office state "not accepting new patients"?  It's basically the same situation.

I will offer the Complainant a refund of $100 to close this matter, but I do not agree that AZ MediQuip has in any way been dishonest or unethical in its presentation or statements. This is offer is not negotiable.

Thank you,

Mark N*******

President

AZ MediQuip, Inc.

 

 

12/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I rented a wheelchair from AZ MediQuip for $120.00 per month. The owner told me that he doesn't bill insurance companies anymore, but he was on the **** *********** ***** contracted vendor list. I thought that I would be able to file a claim with ***** myself and it would be no problem since he was under contract with them. When I filed the claim, nothing happened. I called ***** and they told me that they had been in touch with ****, the owner of AZ MediQuip and told him that he needed to file the claim for me as he had been contracted to do. He hasn't done anything and the date of my original claim to ***** was September 30, 2014. The other big problem is that he charged me $120.00 per month and my insurance company told me that his contracted rate of reimbursement was $82.50 per month. That means he overcharged me $37.50 per month. I consider this to be fraud because he was acting on behalf of **** *********** ***** and he overcharged me beyond the rate that he contracted to charge.

Desired Settlement: I need **** of AZ MediQuip to fulfill his contractual obligation with ***** and file my claim for the 2 months of wheelchair rental. I also need him to reimburse me for the difference between the contracted amount and the $240.00 total that he charged me.

Business Response: Regarding the wheelchair rental in question;

I have had no conversation with the customer regarding insurance billing since the original transaction (at which point they would have been accurately told that we do not do any insurance billing). I have not been contacted with any follow up request to bill the wheelchair to ****. I am routinely contacted by **** regarding various customer requests at which time I repeatedly inform them that I have resigned my contract.  I do not recollect a call from **** regarding this specific transaction, but we would have reiterated our resignation had they contacted us. AZ Mediquip resigned its contract with **** effective July 1, 2014.  I cannot change the fact that **** is not reflecting this in their systems.  I cannot bill this chair or anything to ****.

Regarding contracted rates versus my rates; 

Had I been a **** provider I would have been reimbursed per the **** payment schedule with any deductibles or co-pays being the patients responsibility.  I am not a **** provider and am pricing my products competitively in the market place.  The customer was not forced or coerced into renting from my company and my rental rates are ****et competitive. I do not advertise that I accept any insurances and we are very upfront that reimbursement is a patient risk and responsibility.

I very much appreciate Andrea's business and I feel my company was up front and honest about the insurance related issues.  I certainly understand the customers desire to have her product covered by her health insurance plan and the frustration she is experiencing in that process. These frustrations are precisely why AZ Mediquip has exited from all insurance billing transactions.

I encourage the customer to reach out to me directly should she wish to discuss the matter further.

Sincerely,
**** ********
Owner / President
AZ Mediquip, Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AZ Mediquip, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)