Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Symbius Medical

Phone: (623) 780-8686 Fax: (623) 780-1887 View Additional Phone Numbers 2311 W Utopia Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85027 http://www.symbiusmedical.com/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers medical equipment and wheel chairs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Symbius Medical meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Symbius Medical include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Symbius Medical
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1995 in AZ Business incorporated 07/07/2008 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Environmental Health
4605 E. Elwood Street #402, Phoenix AZ 85040
Phone Number: 602.364.3118
Fax Number: 602.364.3146

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Natalie Franklin, Compliance Manager
Business Category

Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies Scooters - Medical Wheel Chairs

Refund and Exchange Policy
1 year manufacturer's warranty.
Alternate Business Names
PRN Medical Services Arizona, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Symbius Medical has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2311 W Utopia Rd

    Phoenix, AZ 85027 (877) 396-6235 (623) 780-8686

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Symbius Medical supplied me with **** sleep apnea equipment and breathing mask and accessories. An account rep. brought me the equipment to my home and fitted me for a full facial mask and instructed me on using the device. The after a month of use I contacted Symbius for support with the device and mask functionality. The response was from Symbius was that they could not address the device prescription as written and I needed to contact the prescribing service ******** ***** services ( closed). ******** approved a mask change to a nasal mask. The Symbius rep again came to me house again for fitting. On Jan 12th or 13th the rep contacted me to check to see if the air delivery issue was corrected. I explained that the new mast change did not satisfy the air supply issue. I explained to the rep that I would go back to the full face mask and contact my doctor as to get a new sleep study done that could address the issue more specifically. During the discussion the rep asked if all my personal information is the same and the insurance is still ** of **********. I stated no I changed insurance that I went under the ********** ********* ******** and my insurance had changed to ***** ** *******. During this discussion I explained to her that I had received a total of 3 deliveries of mask and accessories and didn't need them. This was specific to the point I did not need any more supplies and I was requesting a new sleep study. On March 12, 2015 I received "again" a new box of mask supplies I didn't need. On May 8, 2015 I received a bill from Symbius for $395.36 for the delivered supplies The billing date of March 11 is noted. As I gave the rep the new information and that I did not need anymore supplies I contacted Symbius only to find out they again tried to submit bill to my insurance but that with the new *** insurance debacle the cost would be not covered but applied to my deductible. I had not way to know this and Symbius never contacted me in a timely manner and therefore I was billed and that the billing date was after the Symbius billing statement date and that the bill was 30 days later and that exceeded the 30 return policy. Therefore I get hit with a bill I should never have received. Symbius stated they can do noting even though the supplies are not opened.

Desired Settlement: As I feel the rep has all the information and is the Symbius agent ... I feel the company should communicate with the rep and accept the return this order of merchandise and credit the bill. The rep did not complete the service in a responsible manner. Symbius still has not given any reason to how the timely issue is my fault and the why the rep is not responsible for anything. This merchandise is NOT time sensitive and I just want to return the packaged supplies.

Business Response:

Symbius Medical's Reimbursement Manager, Jodie B******, reviewed the client's account, concluding based on the evidence in file that billing was appropriate and the client previously refused to set up a payment plan for the amount owed by him.  Ms. ******* sent the attached letter of resolution (protected health information redacted) and we remain open to setting up a payment plan for our client.

Sincerely,

Natalie F******** ***

5/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011 I broke both of my ankles. The hospital arranged to have medical equipment sent to my house. A wheel chair and an adjustable bed were delivered. The bed proved to be highly uncomfortable and was returned the next day. The wheel chair was kept and used. In the subsequent months we received no bills or documentation regarding the rentals. Just over a year later I received a bill for all of the months at once with the explanation that my insurance had denied the claim and I was responsible for the balance. Symbius had waited too long to file the claim and my insurance denied it on those grounds. The wheelchair would likely have been purchased outright if the claim had been submitted in a timely manner. Having reached my out of pocket maximum that year the insurance would have paid the claim in full had it been submitted in a timely manner. When I refused to pay they sent the bills to collection. Not as one bill, but as over a dozen separate collections each adding derogatory statements to my credit.

Desired Settlement: I want Symbius to cease collection activities and have the derogatory records removed from my credit.

Business Response:

I received this complaint this morning, and sent same to our Reimbursement Manager to review and process pursuant to Symbius Medical's complaint policy.  She determined that since the equipment was returned and the account was old, despite the fact that the client was appropriately billed per his insurer's requirements for the rental months he had the equipment is his possession, we would settle the client's account and remove him from collections per his request. A letter of resolution was sent to the client directly this day.  ***

8/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was set up through my doctor's office to receive automatic shipments of hydrophilic cathethers and I was contacted by Symbius when another shipment was going to be on it's way. When Symbius contacted me sometime late in May or early June, I informed the the caller that I no longer needed anymore shipments. Several days later a shipment arrived anyway it was left on my front step. I called Symbius to informed them a second time that I did not need anymore shipments and the individual that answered the phone told me that she was going to make a note of it. However, i still received shipment arrived at my door. I received a bill in the mail regarding payment for the shipment because my insurance company refused to pay for the last two shipments which I requested that I no longer needed. Therefore, Symbius is billing me to foot the bill. I placed a call to Symbius to inquire why I was receiving a bill and I spoke with ********* on 7/15/14. ********* informed me that my insurance company did not pay that portion of the bill and I was responsible for the bill. I informed ********* that I contacted Symbius on two occasions requesting that the shipments be stopped and did not therefore I feel that they should eat the cost of the shipments. I even told him that I had not opened the shipment and that I could return them. He in turn told me that he could not accept them or send me a return authorization # because it was pass their 30 day return policy. I told him I was not aware of any 30 day return policy. He asked why did I receive the shipment if I knew that I did not need them. I told him I thought they were covered by my insurance company, therefore, there was was reason for me to be concerned about returning them. ********* still refused to accept the shipment of catheters and I am still being billed for what I originally asked to no longer be sent to my address. ********* told me that he could not find anything in their system showing where I requested to have the shipments stopped. I explained to ********* it is not my fault that the employees that his company did not do there job therefore I should not be responsible for paying this bill in so many words or less. I did not write the names down of the two individuals I spoke with because I felt that by me calling and taking care of things on my end that they would do the same but to no avail.

Desired Settlement: I am asking that Symbius stop billing me for the products they sent me and to eat the cost of the shipped product or as I mentioned earlier I could return the shipment because I shill have not opened the product. However, I don't feel that I should be responsible for paying for a product I did not ask for because I no longer needed them this is why I asked that they stop shipping them. Therefore, I feel that Symbius should be willing to settle this disagreement the right way. If they are not willing to settle this matter, I would like to have this matter posted on their website to show their unfair business practices. Thanks for your consideration in this matter.

Business Response:

This client's complaint was forwarded to Symbius Medical's Reimbursement Manager, ***** *******, for review.  Ms. ****** called the client, discussed the issue and sent a letter of resolution addressing her issues on August 13, 2014.

4/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was required to purchase a nebulizer through Symbius on April 29, 2013 (today is April 23, 2014). I wanted to pay when the company dropped it off but the delivery person said Symbius would go through my insurance; she did not have an invoice, rather she just told me the insurance may cover the charge so I should wait for the process to complete. I never received anything from Symbius, never heard from them again. No invoice, no letter, no phone call. Until yesterday, April 22, 2014, ONE WEEK shy of a year that I received the nebulizer that I figured had been covered by my insurance. Please note, I have not received an invoice as of yet, rather my insurance notified me that they denied the April 9, 2014 claim on April 21, 2014 (Ameriben, in the amount of $256.20). I itemize my taxes. This obviously did not get itemized. AND NOW I HAVE TO PAY FULL PRICE OUT OF POCKET for something that I tried to pay for a year ago. This is not a way to run a business and I do not understand their A+ rating.

Desired Settlement: I want the letter to provide an explanation for Symbius taking nearly a year to finally bill my insurance in addition to an apology for the incompetence. If I find that it is worth amending my taxes, I would like Symbius to pay for having them amended, as I have already paid once for the tax preparation service. I want a written guarantee that the amount for services ($256.20) will not go to collections as I will be paying the bill once I receive a paper invoice. Nor will I be paying any sort of late fee as they were the ones who were late.

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned a product and per my phone conversation, it was received in their system on August 14th, 2013. I have repeatedly called and been promised a refund, but on December 3rd, 2013, there is still no refund. I don't understand why a refund should take almost 4 months and this company is not able to follow-up on verbal committments that 'the check will be in the mail'

Desired Settlement: Refund the money to myself and my insurance company

Business Response: Thank you for forwarding this complaint.  Our Reimbursement Manager received the client's call concerning this matter on December 3, 2013, and Symbius Medical takes full responsibility for our error in failing to timely process the refund.  A refund was issued immediately once the issue was raised, and a letter of apology was sent to our customer this day.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** ****


 

 

9/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried twice to get my account with this company corrected. I have broken down specific billing dates and items with the amount of my checks and the dates the checks cleared the bank. Received equipment and mailed check in amount $78.07 for months 12/11/12-5/11.13. Another statement arrived covering 5/29/13 - 6/11/13 and I paid with a check for $28.26 as those were the correct amount I should be charged. I wrote on my statement explaining the discrepency. A third statement arrived still showing the 6/11/13 charge owing. Again I wrote a long note breaking down the various payments and dates the checks cleared the bank. I specifically requested they correct their records. Today (9/13/13) a statement arrives and the 6/11/13 amount is still shown as owing. Ho wcan I have confidence in this company billing for what are true charges? Are there other customers incurring the same problem but paying them because they do not check the accuracy of the statement as I do?

Desired Settlement: Bill me only what I actually owe as I am keeping current on the payments in good faith. I expect this company to treat me as their customer in good faith. If they have a problem with their billing department they need to find the problem and resolve it.

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******


 

 

1/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Provided a deposit of $212.56 in August and after returning the equipment we are still waiting for a refund of $82.59. Our insurance paid on Sept 24, 2012 and October 4, 2012. I have called the company at least 4 times since the equipment was returned and they keep telling me that it is in process. I my opinion, over 2 months to wait for a refund is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund

Business Response:

My response letter mailed to the customer today: 12/27/2012

 

**** ** ****** **** ******** ******* *****

Phone:  ***** ********

Fax:  (623) 780-1887

Email:  www.symbiusmedical.com

 

 

Date:  December 27, 2012

 

***** *******

 

***** ** ***** ** ****** ***** ****** ** *****

 

RE:  Symbius Medical Account:  *****

 

 

Dear Mr. *******,

 

 

This letter is in regards to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau on December 7, 2012 regarding a refund of $ 82.59.

 

I show that you called on 9/20/2012 and spoke with ******, collections representative, and she informed you at that time that there were claims pending with your insurance carrier.  She informed you that once the claims are processed and in the event you didn’t have further balance owed per the explanation of benefits a refund would be issued. 

 

I showed that you called on 10/2/2012 and spoke with *****, collections representative, and inquired about the claim status.  ***** informed you that you could check the status of the claim on line.

 

I showed that you called on 10/18/2012 and spoke with ****** again.  She informed you that there were still two claims that were open pending processing.  She informed you again that once the claims are processed and in the event you didn’t have further balance owed per the explanation of benefits a refund would be issued. 

 

Your claims processed and paid on October 30, 2012.  The payment was posted to the account on November 1, 2012. 

 

On November 15, 2012, a refund request in the amount of $ 83.59 on your behalf was submitted for approval.

 

On December 3, 2012 the refund of $ 83.59 was approved and submitted to the Accounts Payable department to issue a check to you.

 

On December 6, 2012 I show you called and spoke with *****, collections representative.  She informed you that the refund is approved to be issued.  She informed you that it could take up to three (3) weeks to be mailed out. 

 

On December 12, 2012 Symbius Medical issued a check on for $ 83.59 on check *****.  The check was  mailed to ***** ** ***** ** ****** ** ***** ****** ** *****.

 

 

Your account has been corrected and there is no balance open on your behalf.  I sincerely apologize for the inconvienence you have endured and I hope that I have been able to rectify your issues today. 

 

Please don’t hesitate to contact me should you have any further concerns. 

 

 

Sincerely,

 

***** ** *******

 

***** ******* | Reimbursement Manager

 

**** ** ****** **** ********* ** ***** ** ************ * ** ************ * ** ************ ***************************

 | www.SymbiusMedical.com

 

cid:image001.jpg@01CA8867.C0FEE620

  ***** *******

| Reimbursement Manager

**** ** ****** **** * ******** ** ***** ** ************ * ** ************ * ** ************ *************************** * **********************


CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE - This e-mail transmission and any documents, files or previous messages attached to it may contain information that is confidential. If you are not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified that you should not read it and that any disclosure, distribution or use of the information herein is STRICTLY PROHIBITED. If you have received this transmission in error, please immediately notify the sender by return e-mail and delete the original transmission and its attachments without saving. Thank you

 



At Symbius Medical we are dedicated to improving the quality of life for our customers by providing exceptional service, education, and compassionate care for the communities we serve.

  ­­