Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

LifeCare Solutions

Phone: (480) 446-9010 Fax: (480) 446-7695 View Additional Phone Numbers 4601 E Hilton Ave # 100, Phoenix, AZ 85034 http://www.preferredhomecare.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides medical equipment, supplies, nutrition and therapy services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LifeCare Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LifeCare Solutions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on LifeCare Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 26, 2014 Business started: 12/10/1997 in AZ Business started locally: 12/10/1997 Business incorporated 12/08/1997 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Environmental Health
4605 E. Elwood Street #402, Phoenix AZ 85040
Phone Number: 602.364.3118
Fax Number: 602.364.3146

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Scheven, Co-CEO Ms. Christina Winkle, Risk Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Martha Palmer, Customer Service
Business Category

Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies Oxygen Producing Equipment Oxygen Therapy Equipment Home Health Services Oxygen Wheel Chairs

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

LifeCare Solutions has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4601 E Hilton Ave # 100

    Phoenix, AZ 85034 (800) 636-2123 (480) 446-9010

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a breast pump through this company. My insurance provided authorization to this company, months prior to the delivery of my child. The authorization allowed me to receive the pump free of charge. From the beginning the customer service through LifeCare Solutions was negligent. It took multiple calls on my part after the birth of my first child to even get the order completed successfully. They stated on multiple occasions that the authorization from my doctor had not come through, but upon contacting my healthcare provider, I was told the information had been sent to them multiple times. Once the order was successfully placed (February 20, 2015), 12 days after the birth of my child, days that I did need this pump, I received the pump fairly quickly. According to my invoice, the pump was received 2/23/15. I used the pump from that time until March 14, 2015, when it stopped functioning. The pump stopped working after midnight Saturday morning. This company is not open on the weekends so I was forced to go out and buy a pump out of pocket as I exclusively pump and would be unable to wait until Monday to attempt to exchange, for the health of my child. If I do not pump, my baby cannot eat. I contacted this company on 03/24/15, ten days after the pump stopped working. After explaining my situation multiple times, requesting that I be reimbursed for the pump that I had just spent out of pocket money on, and getting quite frustrated in the process, I was told that the customer service rep I was speaking with had consulted with her manager and was authorized to send me a shipping label and once I mailed the broken pump back to them, my account would have a credit (the amount my insurance company had paid directly to them) and that I would be reimbursed this dollar amount. I waited a couple of weeks for the shipping label and it was never received. I contacted again in late April and talked to a wonderfully helpful rep. She confirmed that all of this was noted on my account but wasn't sure what had caused the delay with the shipping label. She said a manager would be following up with me. I was never contacted by anyone to resolve this issue. On May 19, 2015 I contacted the company yet again and was told that a manager by the name of ********* had reviewed my account and had determined that I contacted them beyond the time that the pump was within warranty for their company, 30 days. I was not contacted by anyone about the company coming to this decision. I promptly told them this was incorrect and went on to go through documents, including the invoice with dates I received from this company with my pump, and additionally downloaded phone records so I could note the precise dates I had spoken with different people. I called 29 days after the pump was received by me and therefore was within my warranty, although at no point in time was I ever told that the warranty on this product was only 30 days. The fact that I contacted within 30 days was confirmed multiple times through the phone conversations I had with different reps when I initially called in March, otherwise they would have directed me to the manufacturer from the beginning, instead of offering to exchange the pump for a new working pump. During my conversation with a customer service rep on May 19, 2015, they stated that nothing in my account noted that I was going to be reimbursed, or that a shipping label was ever going to be sent to me, only that because the complaint was received after the warranty time frame, that it was a manufacturer issue and I would need to contact them. I stated that this was unacceptable and found it hard to believe that nothing on my account noted my prior conversations. I also stated that I had documentation to prove that the initial call to say the pump had stopped working was within 30 days of receipt. I was told that I would need to contact *********, the customer service manager as she is the one who noted that I was not within 30 days and that she was the person to resolve my issue, although she was not in the office at that time. I requested multiple times to speak to any manager or supervisor available to try to resolve this issue as I had been waiting multiple months. I was told no managers were available. I requested any direct phone number or extension so I could call back and be connected directly to a manager or supervisor and was told that was not possible, but that someone would call me back. I was passed through to *********'s voicemail and I did leave a message requesting a call back urgently on 05/19/15. At this time I have not received any call back from ********* or anyone for that matter. I contacted LifeCare Solutions again this morning, May 20, 2015. I requested to be passed directly to ********* and was told that she was not available. Instead the rep went through the notes on my account and again told me it was noted that I did not call within 30 days and that I would need to contact the manufacturer. I explained that I had already had this conversation countless times and that I would appreciate being passed to ********* or an upper manager, supervisor, or anyone that could resolve my issue. I was told that a lead named **** would contact me and I am currently still waiting. As a new mother, a first-time mother, I find this company and their practices to be completely shameful. Like there isn’t enough on the plate of a first-time mother, they have to complicate things ever more by having absolutely no follow-through, and being deceitful to top it all off. I am convinced that the notes that were placed on my account when I called on March 24, 2015 were deleted after someone came to the decision that I missed my window and called beyond 30 days. And I find it completely unethical that I was not contacted to be updated on this information. If I am expected to go without a breast pump for two days while I wait for them to exchange this for me, that is 100% unrealistic, unacceptable and frankly very upsetting. If I can’t pump, by baby doesn’t have the opportunity to consume breast milk. I do understand that I could have gone out to buy formula, but if I did that I also run the risk of losing my milk supply. As a medical supply company, I would assume they’d have people to assist with these emergency type situations and am upset and disappointed by the handling of this issue from the beginning. The fact that they do not follow through is a problem in itself, but they have completely ignored and brushed off my repeated attempts to have my problem resolved.

Desired Settlement: I expect to be reimbursed the dollar amount that my insurance company paid to LifeCare Solutions for the pump that broke almost immediately after it was received. Frankly, I expect to be reimbursed in full the amount that I paid for my current pump.

Business Response: I am responding to the service complaint #******** filed by ******* ******** against Lifecare Solutions for DOS 02/23/2015 regarding a breast pump.

******* ******** explains in her concern that she made several attempts to have her pump exchanged, returned and or refunded because it malfunctioned and stopped working within 4-10 days of receiving. After reviewing our files, I concur that ******* ******** reached out with an appropriate request. The pump could have been exchanged, returned and or refunded. Supervisor – ********* Melcher notated the account for patient to deal directly with the manufacturer ****** as the manufacturer warranty policy prefers however, Lifecare Solutions could have mediated and addressed this concern on their behalf.

I reached out to ******* ******** by phone on 05/22/15 at 9:30am to apologize for the inconvenience Ms. ******** incurred and to also come to an agreement. I am fulfilling her request to have her insurance refunded for the pump since it was not usable. I also offered to fulfill her request to refund her for the expense of a comparable pump she paid for out of pocket. Ms. ******** will need to provide me with a receipt in order to process. She has agreed to send me a copy by email. I do believe I was able to resolve this concern and will address with my customer service team. 

Please let me know if you have any questions regarding any of the above. 

2/19/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct 6, 2014 my husband **** ***** had hip replacement surgery at ** ********** ******* ******. On Oct 7, 2014 per his doctors request Life Care Solutions delivered a walker and a commode to his room. When I arrived later in the day we told the nurse that we did not need the commode as we already have two of them at home. She removed the commode from his room. A few weeks later we rec'd a bill for the co pay on the walker and the commode. I paid the co pay on the walker and deducted the co pay for the commode $13.24 and sent a note to Life Care explaining the deduction. A few weeks later we rec'd a past due notice for the $13.24 with an additional $15.00 late fee. I called Life Care and spoke with *********. I explained the whole thing to her and she put me on hold. When she came back on the line she told me that my husband had signed for the delivery and she couldn't understand why I was calling. I ask to speak to her supervisor or office manager and was informed that she did not come in until 9am. I ask her name and was informed that it was *****. I called back at 9:30 and ***** still was not in. After explaining the whole thing to the operator she sent me to *****'s voice mail so I could leave a message. The outgoing announcement on *****'s voice mail stated that I should leave a detailed message and that she would get back to me in two to three business days. Three days later I had not heard from ***** so I called Life Care and ask for her. After explaining the whole thing again to the operator she put me on hold to wait for *****. When the person answered the phone I was speaking to the same person I had spoken to the first time I called Life Care, *********. She said she was ***** but it was the same person whom I had spoken to the first time. She said the exact same thing to me about my husband signing for the delivery. My husband was absolutely positive that he had not signed anything so I ask her to send me a copy. I have rec'd the delivery receipt copy and it probably is my husbands signature on it although it is far from his normal signature. It is clear that he was impaired by the medication he was on. I am not going to pay for the co pay on the commode that we did not take home from the hospital. Life Care has already threatened me with collection but I am not paying for something I don't have! I am also going to contact the insurance company and tell them that Life Care has billed them for something that we did not take home from the hospital. I have a major issue with the idea that Life Care comes in to a patients room the day after major surgery, while the patient is under the influence of major pain medication and asks them to sign anything. This does not seem right. My husband does not remember signing for the delivery and he shouldn't have to remember anything from the day after surgery!

Desired Settlement: Life Care needs to contact the hospital and ask what happened to the commode. I bet they find out it was returned to them by ** **********. They need to credit our account for the $13.24 and eat the late fee of $15.00. The need to stop delivering to patients that should not be signing anything because they are under heavy pain medication. They need to have someone else sign for items delivered rather than the patient. No banker or car dealer would want a signature under these same circumstances.

Business Response:

The copay has been adjusted off the ******* account and the ******* have been contacted by the LCS staff in ** to communicate this information.

Thank you,

12/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been waiting WEEKS for a CPAP mask due to mine being broken. The staff asked me to get a new prescription from my doctor, which I did. Staff STILL did not fill my order. They claim to have called me, but I never received any messages. In the meantime, I have been going to sleep each night not knowing if I will wake up. I have severe sleep apnea and must wear a mask. Also, staff could be much more courteous and understanding. On my last call, I spoke with a supervisor whom I told that my life was in danger. She told me that she would not send me a mask until I sent yet another prescription from my doctor. She said she was concerned that I might return it (which I would have no reason for doing)! Really? Is that the value Lifecare places on human life?

Desired Settlement: In cases like this, Lifecare should contact the doctor the same way a pharmacist would contact the doctor for a prescription refill. It's exactly the same situation. Lifecare should let patients know when their orders are on hold. Perhaps they had an incorrect phone number for me, but they could have also contacted me via email, through my doctor, or via postal mail. I also require a written apology from the CEO and assurance that patient care will be their main focus in the future.

Business Response: A Life Care Solutions (LCS) supervisor was finally able to contact *** ******** about his need for a new Cpap mask. We had tried to contact him earlier but had not connected until recently. The supervisor apologized to *** ******** and explained that his order could have been handled better. We agreed with his suggestion that a courtesy fax back to the physician acknowledging receipt of the order was a good idea. His new mask has been sent out and we received a voice mail from him yesterday saying that he appreciated the resolution of the issue and that upon receipt of the rest of his Cpap supplies he would be completely satisfied. His additional Cpap supplies have been sent out which he will receive within 2 days of mailing.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I still have not received my mask. 

Regards,

**** ********

11/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My mother ****** ***** is a dependent of my late father who was retired Air Force and she recently moved with me since she is developed in her years. She had to have ankle replacement surgery and we had to get a wheelchair from LifeCare Solutions. We were originally told that ******** would cover the wheelchair but ended up renting in on our own due to incorrect process in filling out paperwork at hospital. We went to LifeCare Solutions to rent the wheel chair so I could get her home and enable her to get around until ankle heeled. We had numerous problems getting LifeCare Solutions to 1)Pick up the chair and they kept billing us after they were supposed to pick it up. FINALLY, they picked up the chair in May or June 2014 but they kept billing us. Just when it seemed everything was fixed, we received another bill stating we owed money (FOR A CHAIR WE NO LONGER HAD). I called and they said they would fix everything. My mom has ******** and onset of **********. I explained that this was Senior Financial Abuse and they said they would fix it. Now today, 10/22/14, I receive a call from someone asking to schedule a pick up fo the wheelchair. I asked them "What is wrong with you people, you already picked it up a few months ago". At the end, he stated that he did not intend to have this kind of discussion so early in the morning. I told him we should not be having it anytime of day because you should not be calling and harassing us for a product that you have already picked up. He wanted to know if my mother still had the paperwork showing it was picked up. I told him that they did not give her anything. This can only mean that they are going to continue to bill us because they have no record they picked up the chair. This is a battle between ****** ****** who dispersed the chair and whatever office services the ****** ****** area. They went back and forth for two months before coming to pick up the chair. I stopped paying them back in April because that is when I requested chair to be picked up but they did not come out for another month and half. They need to fix their records and get their act together.

Desired Settlement: They need to fix the situation by getting their records in order. ****** ****** and ****** ****** Service Area need to communicate to resolve this issue. We do not want to receive anymore bills OR phone calls requesting to pick up the wheelchair. Also, we do not need rude people being sarcastic on the phone about what type of phone calls they don't need early in the morning. Someone should retrain that person or teach them some manners and make them apologize for speaking to a customer that way. I work for the health industry and we are not allowed to treat our members that way.

Business Response: The pick up issue has been fixed, billing issue has been resolved and account was placed at a zero balance. 

11/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
10/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After waiting a month for Lifecare Solutions to contact me about how to obtain my CPAP machine and supplies, when it was only supposed to take 7-10 working days to hear from the company, my doctors office instructed me to call the Irvine, CA office myself. The first time I called the girl who answered the phone said that the person who handles my case was gone for the day and that she would call me back within 48 hours to set up an appointment for me. This was on a Monday, so I wait until Wednesday before calling back since I never received a call back. This time the girl explains that I am covered 100% by my insurance and have no co pay. She offers me one appointment time and I explain that I work that day and will need a different appointment time. She says again that a representative will call me back within 48 hours to set up a different appointment time. I asked her why she only offers one appointment time and if I can just talk to the representative handling my case now and she says "I offered you an appointment time and if you cannot make that time then you will have to wait for a representative to call you back". I still have not received a call back and have never dealt with a business that offers one appointment time only and blatantly lies to customers by saying someone will call them back but no one ever does.

Desired Settlement: I would like to obtain my CPAP machine and supplies that my insurance covers.

Business Response: There is no excuse for Ms. ***** having to wait numerous times for a response from a customer service representative at Life Care Solutions(LCS) to schedule a delivery and setup of a Cpap machine. We have two ways to set up new Cpaps, one where the member comes into our office, the other where we send a Respiratory Therapist to a persons residence. The scheduling is done by two different departments at LCS which may explain why the call back was not handled timely.

The General Manager at LCS called the member and offered his assistance and scheduled her Cpap setup for 11 am on 10/10. He is also going to personally speak to her after the setup to make sure her issues were resolved, that she is satisfied with the service and to apologize for the delay in service. LCS is moving toward an improved scheduling service that will resolve some of these issues going forward. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,
****** *****

9/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeated errors in billing. they turned me over to collections after the amount in question had been paid. When I contacted therm they searched their files and found that it had been paid. Three months later the collection co. called again saying I hadn't paid it. I sent collection co. a copy of the bank transaction. Today I got a bill from them for something from May of this year. Since I didn't request or require anything from them in May, I am not going to pay.They picked up my wifes c-pap machine in April and continued to charge us for it through May June and July. I saw the discrepancy in July and contacted them They agreed to take the charges off the bill but didn't do it till October. They are hard to deal with and refuse to put what service was rendered on their statements.

Desired Settlement: I want them to cancel any charges from May of 2013 and to start putting a description of services or products on their statements

Business Response: The LifeCare Solutions (LCS) account in question does not have an outstanding balance at this time. The payment for two different accounts was received on December 30, 2013.
 
The statements do have the description on the first statement that is mailed out to patient, statements after that do not.
 
An attempt to contact Mr. **** by a LCS Supervisor was made on June 16th but no answer. A message was left requesting a return call.
 
Best Regards,
**** *********
Regional Account Manager

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Account was sent to collections due to a misapplied payment, due to an error on their part. We received a bill in my husbands name (**** ********) dated May 14, 2013. It was for a cpap copay of $61.23 plus a$15.00 late fee, which totaled to $76.23. The service date was 01/14/2013 and it was marked FINAL DEMAND. It said if payment was not received within 10 days of the letter, the account may be filed with the credit bureau for failure to pay. Therefore I made a payment of $76.23 on May 23, 2013 on their online website using the account #*******. I received a collection notice November 15, 2013 regarding this very same bill. I called LifeCare Solutions on Dec.3, 2013 and spoke with ********. She said the payment of $76.23 I made was applied to the February billing statement instead. She also said the company sent our account to collections before the 10 day grace period stated in the letter. Our account was paid in full on Dec. 2, 2013. I was even able to pay off the collection amount with them. My problem is that I need the company to correct or assist in correcting the negative action on our credit report. ******** said all she could do was notify the collection agency of our payment. That is not acceptable. They need to notify the credit reporting agencies of their error and have them remove the negative action. I have all the corresponding bills and receipts in my possession as do they. They should do the right thing and fix this.

Desired Settlement: Reverse negative action on our credit report due to misapplied payment on their part.

Business Response: A LifeCare Solutions (LCS) representative spoke to ****** ******** in December and explained the problem. The account was sent to collections in error as patient husband’s account was credited for all payments. The ******** have three accounts set up in our system causing one to have a credit and the other’s sent to collections.  LCS did pull patient from collections and applied the open balance to the correct accounts. LCS apologized for the inconvenience this put the family through.
 
Best Regards,
**** *********
Regional Account Manager

6/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were quoted a price for a product in which we paid and then were charged 6 months later with additional charges. we were mislead about the pricing In October 9, 2013, this company contacted us after my husband was released from the hospital and said they could supply us with a needed medical equipment. We were quoted a price and this was all we were told. We accepted the price and the product was delivered. Now, 6 months later we receive a bill saying we owe an additional amount. When we contacted the company they basically said they could do nothing about this and that we had to pay this price. We feel we have been scammed and taken advantage of in our time of need. If we had been told up front that there would be possible additional charges or what the total cost of the equipment was, we would not have bought it. We offered to return the equipment, but they will not accept it.

Desired Settlement: We would like the business to take responsibility for their lack of communication and for misleading the customer on the price of their equipment. By waiving this extra cost or at least trying to work with the customer.

Business Response: Life Care Solutions (LCS) verifies insurance coverage at the time of each order. Mr. ***’s Cigna coverage for Durable Medical Equipment was that Cigna would pay for 80% of the allowed amount with the patient being responsible for a 20% co-payment after any exclusion or deductibles had been satisfied.  Based on this information, Ms. *** was charged a estimated co-payment,   amount of $16.92. After billing the claim to Cigna we were advised that the 2013 deductible had not been met.  The claim was processed in January 2014 and patient was sent an explanation of benefits from Cigna at that time.  We followed up with a bill in February.   This was 4 months after the product was provided but not unusual for medical billing.
 
Mrs. *** did call our office twice in March, at which time it was explained that her charges were applied to her 2013 deductible.  
 
As a result of Cigna applying the claim to the 2013 deductible, we billed Ms. *** $88.87 which was the remainder of the allowed amount since she had already paid the $16.92. LCS continues to insist that this is the amount due.
 
Please let me know if any other information is required for this issue and thank you for the opportunity to investigate Ms. ***’s concerns.
 
Best Regards,
**** *********
Regional Account Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

None of this was explained to me. I was simply contacted by lifecare solutions and told a commode (medical equipment) would cost me about 16-17$. Had I known that it could be more because my deductible was not met then I would not have agreed to get it from this company. I would have rather purchases it myself from a local drugstore for much less. I ended up having to pay almost $100. That is not fair! They may have policies in place for billing insurance but it should have and needs to be communicated to the customer. I do not accept their resolution because they did not explain any of it to me and mislead me on the price of the commode. I hope they do not do this to other customers because many people cannot afford it. Thank you!

Regards,
**** ***

Business Response: In response to Ms. ***’s comments, attached is the delivery ticket signed by Mrs. *** showing the amount owed for the co-payment was $16.92. There were two pieces of equipment delivered, a commode and a cane. Until we filed the claim we had no idea that the deductible had not yet been met. So we would not have been able to predict the total amount due until the claim was filed with Cigna
 
In the patients file the dates of March 23rd & 24th show telephone conversations with Mrs. *** discussing how Cigna applied the amount billed to her deductible.
 
The notes also reflect a previous BBB complaint # ****** discussing the same billing issues. The complaint was closed after the response was received by The BBB.
 
LifeCare Solutions suggests that Mrs. *** contact Cigna for an explanation of her benefits. Standard language in health plan benefits make the patient responsible for deductibles and co-payments. We do not agree with her assertion that she was misled by LCS staff.
 
Best Regards,
**** *********
Regional Account Manager

5/8/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon initial phone and email conversations, Life Care Solutions stated that they were an in-network provider of respiratory supplies with ****** **** *****, which meant they had signed a contract with Anthem to provide medical supplies to ****** **** ***** customers at an agreed amount of financial reimbursement. Life Care Solutions also confirmed they could provide the specific respiratory supplies on our required list for my daughter Lily. Life Care Solutions requested prescriptions from my daughter's primary care physician. Once we provided the prescriptions from the physician, the company b**** using multiple invalid excuses for why they could not process our order. When we continued to push and probe, they company's GM finally admitted to my wife that they did not want to provide supplies to my daughter because her need and the physician prescription for one medical item on our list (tracheal suction catheters) exceeded their baseline approval numbers from **** *****, which meant they would have to submit for special approval with **** ***** for the additional prescription amounts. This is something our previous supply company had done without problems. Unfortunately, our previous supply company no longer carries respiratory supplies. The GM of the Irvine office then told my wife candidly that they did not make enough reimbursement money from **** ***** for that particular item to justify the extra effort needed for the special approval with **** *****. When we b**** bringing this matter to the attention of **** *****, the GM of the Irvine office then started proclaiming that the reason they were not going to provide us with supplies was because his headquarters in AZ was telling him that in the future they may not be carrying that particular item any more. I do not believe the GM's latest excuse. If Life Care Solutions has received a valid prescription from my daughter's physician and they currently have the medical supplies requested in the prescription, they should provide those medical supplies according to their ****** **** ***** contract and reimbursement schedule. The GM of the Irvine branch told me that he would work with **** ***** to help us find a supply company to service my daughter; however he has not even followed through with this.

Desired Settlement: I want Life Care Solutions to provide my daughter with the items and amounts in her physician prescription like they are supposed to according to their ****** **** ***** contract.

Business Response:

I would like to apologize for the frustration that Mr. **** has experienced and assure him that it is never the intention of LifeCare Solutions (LCS) to provide less than satisfactory service to our patients and their families. This has been a unique case and LifeCare Solutions is doing its best to meet Mr. ****’s needs. It is my belief that this matter has been settled.

I spoke with our General Manager, *******, who provided additional information on this patient’s account. Mr. ****’s explanation makes it sound as though LCS made a final decision based on revenue and has refused to assist. However, ******* has been actively working with Mr. and Mrs. ****, as well as their case manager, *****, from the insurance company. The issue that ******* faced is that Mrs. **** initially requested a monthly order of 200 catheters and they all had to be from a specific vendor. The first problem that he faced with this request is that the allowable amount from the insurance company is only 90 catheters per month. Second, while we do carry the vendor specific catheter, it is not the only one we have and often we have to accept others from our suppliers, based on what they have in stock.

When ******* spoke with *****, the case manager, the amount had increased to 300 a month and he feared that this customer’s expectations of amount and specific brand could be setting us up for failure. He did try to assist in locating another vendor that could adequately meet the ****’s needs, but was unable to do so. He has since been actively working with the insurance company to obtain approvals for the larger order amount, as well as the supplier to ensure the large stock of specific brand catheters are ordered on a monthly basis. While he was working on this, Mr. **** was still waiting to hear the final decision, which is understandably frustrating. ******* and LCS recognize that he wants the best for his daughter and is willing to fight for it; and we truly want to provide the best assistance and service we can, to our patients. ******* has worked out an arrangement to supply Mr. **** with as many catheters as he has in stock on a continual basis until the large supply orders start coming in regularly. ******* has also obtained the necessary insurance approval for these bulk orders.

All of this has been communicated to Mr. **** since this complaint was filed. It is my belief that the issue is now resolved. I hope that this matter with the Better Business Bureau can be closed. If for any reason this is not a satisfactory resolution, please contacted me directly and I will do my best to further assist.

Respectfully Submitted,
********* ** ******
Risk Manager
Preferred Homecare, LifeCare Solutions,

2/14/2014 Delivery Issues
10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service