Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Platinum Home Warranty

Phone: (602) 733-5000 Fax: (602) 733-5001 View Additional Phone Numbers 2933 N 16th St, Phoenix, AZ 85016 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.platinumhw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home warranty services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Platinum Home Warranty include:

  • 16 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Platinum Home Warranty include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Platinum Home Warranty
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 10, 2012 Business started: 12/12/2011 in AZ Business incorporated 12/12/2011 in AZ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Matthew D. Widdows, Member Ms. Brooke Hoyt, Vice President of Operations Ms. Carol Perry, Member
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Brooke Hoyt, Vice President of Operations
Customer Contact: Ms. Carol Perry, Member
Principal: Mr. Matthew D. Widdows, Member
Business Category

Home Warranty Plans

Alternate Business Names
Platinum Home Protection, LLC
Industry Tips
Home Warranty Plans

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Platinum Home Warranty has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2933 N 16th St

    Phoenix, AZ 85016 (602) 733-5000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/5/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: company refuses to resolve issue with refrigerator/freezer that now has more problems than when we first contacted them. After 11 repair visits that we felt was way over the top in taking advantage of us-as HW was informed by one of their repair companies they sent- problem could not be fixed with this refrigerator. One repair company came 8 times but on the 3rd try-they made more problems than the original call. We were even informed by one of the Supervisors that came out to our house-if problem was not fixed THIS time, it was going to be the Last time and we would get a check for $25.00 for food spoilage (we have yet to see that check) and they would pay us $1,000.00 for a new appliance even though their policy states up to $1500.00 replacement value. Now they are trying to tell us that they have exhausted all funds due us except $500.00. We had nothing to do with what they spent-it was their choice and not agreed by us. Problem has not been solved

Desired Settlement: We would just like the check of $1500.00 sent to us and we will get what we want and shop where we want. After that the case would be closed. I have also written to the Attorney General-Mark B*******. My husband and I feel we have been treated unfairly and have wasted enough of our generous time which resulted in many days and hours of our time.

Business Response: We are quite saddened to learn of the complaint filed by Ms. T******, as we have diligently tried to assist with her refrigerator issue.  We completely sympathize with Mr. W***** and Ms. T****** and have done everything that we can to try to help them.  We have invested over $1000 towards this repair which far exceeds the policy limit. We understand that sometimes, things just don’t go as intended and sometimes, you just have to bend the rules a little bit.  This additional offer of $500 towards a new refrigerator was a good faith gesture because we value their business and do not feel it fair to penalize them for the decision to try to repair an appliance that ended up not being able to be fixed.  We are more than willing to work with Mr. Walzak and Ms. T****** and are still prepared to offer them a $500.00 reimbursement towards the purchase of a new refrigerator as outlined in their policy coverage terms and conditions.  We are also prepared to help them shop for a new refrigerator and or reimburse them for $500 towards a new unit from any vendor they choose. Please reference the full timeline of events in the uploaded attachment.

Consumer Response: As you are aware in our letter-we did NOT want to pursue the matter of fixing any further than the initial 4 times of someone to come out here and TRY to keep fixing. Now we are getting food frozen AGAIN and have to keep throwing new stuff away at OUR expense!!. We still never even received the measly 25.00 check that they promised for "food Spoilage" at the time of them coming out. Eleven TRIES to fix something that they were even informed by one of their own repair hired companies-IT CANNOT BE FIXED, this company STILL insisted they bring the 1st company back to try to fix it. Not only did the 1st company make things worse for us in the first place, but now it is again freezing things we buy and nothing has been fixed!!!!!!.  How dare they put the amount of money THEY spent because they wanted to keep 'trying' and they are taking that against us???  What kind of Fraud is this. They certainly don't hesitate to take our money for what what their policies state. Their policy states $1500.00 cash or product equivalent and within a reasonable time to fix something. Trying 11 times and being told we didn't want them to even try anymore and waste their time and ours is not 'reasonable' . What about our time of accommodating them when we exhausted all our patients especially after being told 'IT'S NO USE"!!!.  What they spent on 'trying to remedy a lost cause' is none of our concern. We are willing to settle for the $1500.00 and put in our own funds to buy a product that we won't have to keep tossing food out and will get ice etc. I think everyone knows that $500.00 is NOT acceptable and their policy says nothing of that sort!. Also-the least amount we were at one time willing to accept only just to finish with them on this product was $1,000.00 which we were informed by (a supervisor of some sort) that after that visit when she was here-the company wasn't willing to spend more time. Eleven times was way over and above a reasonable time for a non-fix problem.  

Business Response: Please reference the attached contract, F: COVERED SYSTEMS AND APPLIANCES, 16. Kitchen and Household Appliances, C. Limits. For policies that have built-in refrigerators, which Ms. Traskos and Mr. Walzak do not have, the maximum coverage for this appliance is $1,000.00 which we have extended to them the higher limitation.  Also, please reference D: LIMITATIONS OF LIABILITY, 6. Maximum Liability of Platinum Home Protection, A. that states “PLATINUM has the sole right to determine whether a covered system is repaired, replaced, or given a cash disbursement.”  To date, we have invested $1,388 into repairs for this refrigerator and are still willing to offer an additional $500 towards replacement even though after all repairs were completed we were unable to verify that the alarm was still sounding.

12/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a warranty call, was told that the issue would not be covered as it was pre-existing. PHW contacted me to offer repair at an additional charge. At that time I was not informed of a 'fire hazard' nor was my husband, who was present at the home during the service call, nor were we informed that the technician did wiring work & disconnected the heating function of our HVAC unit. When the unit would not turn on, it had worked before the call, we called PHW again. We had to make several calls to get a call back & enlist the sales rep. Were told that the service would not be covered and that the tech who was out to the house didn't touch anything. When we argued that point, we received a second call back saying that yes the tech did some re-wiring and that the heating would not be functional. Again I enlisted the sales rep and she had June the Customer Advocate call me back. June was offensive and provided yet another story as to what the technician did to our home. She proceeded to tell me that the technician, John, told my husband that he had to rewire the unit because it was a FIRE HAZARD. When I asked why no one from the company informed me of this, she proceeded to tell me that she spoke with the tech and that he assured her that he told my husband. When I pointed out that why would my husband put my family at risk, and not disclose this vital information, she informed me that she believed her tech and didn't know why my husband would put his family at risk. We provided additional documentation to support that this was not pre-existing. Took 2 days for June to call, only after enlisting the sales rep. June and the tech spoke with my husband and the tech said he never said it was a FIRE HAZARD and thought that thought that it it was not heating season so he didn't tell us (it was November). They are refusing repair and don't seem to care that they have lied repeatedly regarding what's been done to my house. Their rep may have caused more damage

Desired Settlement: Repair the issue, have my heating functional and a/c functional. Honor the warranty.

Business Response: In response to the complaint from December 2, 2015, from Holly R****, we provide the following:

***** * **** ***, **********, ** *****
Policy date: 10/13/2015
Date of the service: 11/6/2015

We are very sorry to hear that the homeowner was disappointed by the level of service that was provided by our company during the three short weeks they had warranty coverage.  We pride ourselves on the excellent care and attention we give to our clients and safety always comes first.  In this case, when arriving at the property we found the HVAC unit "hotwired" (meaning the unit was wired directly to the reversing valve so that the unit would run constantly in cooling mode and would not shut off, nor operate in heating mode). We took the steps that we felt were necessary to ensure the safety of the homeowners while the homeowners discussed whether to repair or replace the 25+ year-old unit. The homeowner indicated that they would like a full refund on this policy and because customer satisfaction is of utmost concern to us, we refunded the full warranty policy in the amount of $800.00.    

10/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/16/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our air conditioner was running non-stop and the temperature in the house was rising. We called our Home Warranty company and requested service. A technician was dispatched and determined that the unit was freezing over and there was most likely a freon leak. He 'charged' the unit by adding 4 lbs of freon and said that we would hear from the HW company within a few days for next steps for repair or replacement of the Frigidaire unit. In the meantime, the AC was temporarily fixed (although still leaking freon!). 3 days later, I called the HW company again to find out was going on and when the unit would be repaired. They indicated that they needed to send a different technician out to find the leak (the first technician did not have the tool required to find a leak). They indicated they would call back by the end of day to schedule. The next day, I called back (since they didn't again) the HW company and was able to schedule a technician to come out to the house to find the leak on Friday of that week. The technician found the leak (or at least pointed and said, "it must be back there in the coils" because it was not visible with only the front cover off. He indicated that due to the age of the unit, he would recommend replacing the unit. I requested a buy-out quote on the unit instead of a repair and he told me that someone from the HW Company would be in-touch. 4 days later, I called the HW company to find out what the status of our claim was. ****, the Service Manager, told me they were having difficulty finding the part because of the age of the unit and were unable to fix the condenser at this time. He was still looking for the part. I again discussed a buy-out option on the unit to replace it, instead of repair it. **** told me he would sent me a quote for the replacement of the unit with the buy-out discount included by the next day. 2 days later, I called **** (cell phone) and requested the buy-out quote again. He indicated he would send it to me by end of day. **** sent me a quote for a new unit: $6,950!!! Minus my discount of $1,500 which would then equal: $5,450! This was for a 5 ton unit 13 SEER. I told him his quote was ridiculous and that I could get a 5 ton unit with a higher SEER for a lower price without the DISCOUNT they were offering. **** said that he needed to discuss a buyout with his boss and that he could still not find the part. **** told me that they needed to find the part, in order to estimate the repair, the cost of the repair would dictate what the buy-out offer was going to be. Again I questioned, what part is it that you cannot find? He said a condenser. The next day I called the HW company (main number) and requested the buy-out quote. **** was unavailable so they had me speak to ******, ****'s Manager. ****** told me that because they were unable to find the part, they were unable to estimate a buy-out and the unit was out of warranty (their policy is that if the unit is so old that they can't find a part, it is no longer covered.) I requested to know what part it was that they had been unable to find, since **** had told me they were going to replace the condenser and the technician had said the leak was in the coils. ****** said that she would review my claim with **** and someone would get back to me. 3 days later, I called **** (no call back again again - no one ever actually gets back to you when they say they will.) **** told me they found the part!! (Miraculously) and that they could come repair the unit for the price of a service fee ($60) plus a recovery and disposal fee ($450). Once the unit was fixed it would no longer be covered under warranty (because of the age of the unit). AGAIN, I requested a buy-out quote. **** seemed confused and said, but now we can fix it. I told him (as he had told me), now that you have found the part, you can estimate the cost of the repair and the buy-out offer. He agreed and told me he would email the buy-out offer the next day (Saturday). On Monday, I called the main line again (No quote or call or email on Saturday as promised). ***** was unavailable but ***** the Customer Care Manager told me they were working on the offer and would email it by the end of day. THE NEXT DAY I called again. This time ***** told me they would email it within 5 minutes. 4 hours later the email arrived. This is EXACTLY what it stated: Part(s) Cost + 4 hours of labor to complete this job -$450 disposal & recovery fee _________________________________ $406 Cash out amount offered They included a new quote for a Ruud 5 ton split gas 16 SEER at $7,141 - $1500 (discount) = 5,641 I called back almost immediately and asked 'what was the cost of the part and the labor?' She would only give me a total amount of $956 for the repair. I questioned the disposal and recovery fee. WHAT would they be disposing of and recovering - - I would actually have to pay this fee to the company that would actually be doing the replacement of the unit so this amount should be included in my buy-out. She was confused and stated that was policy. So a few days later, my husband calls and speaks with *****. …. On July 17th, ,the air conditioner wasn't working again. We were still waiting to hear back on the buy-out. I called to have the system charged and was told that they would not do that since we had not either repaired or replaced the unit. After multiple additional phone calls, my husband was finally able to speak to ***** (first she was in a meeting, then she ran out for lunch, then on a call..). After arguing with her again, ***** agreed to waive the disposal fee $150 of the $450 fee since they were not disposing of anything. We argue that not only are they not disposing of anything they are also not RECOVERING anything!!! This company is a nightmare to work with. Has still never given us a detailed quote for the repair including the actual part they used for the buy-out quote. We obtained an independent estimate for the repair which was $2200. He indicated costs of parts and labor to be about $1400. We had this same company install a better AC unit - Ruud 5 ton split gas SEER 16 for $5,300. We finally agreed to the crappy buy out of $556. And here we are 3 months later... I've called 3 times for the buy-out check and have still never received it. I've been told we will have it in the mail today. I've been told it will take 2 weeks to process. And today I was told that someone would call me back (that was 5 hours ago). I'm now filing a complaint with the BBB and if I do not hear anything within 5 days, I am going to file a complaint of fraud with the AZ Attorney General for the amount of $956.00 which should have been the buy-out amount based on the cost of the repair as warrantied by Platinum Home Warranty.

Desired Settlement: I wish to receive the buy-out amount of $956.00 on the AC unit that was warrantied under the contract that I entered into with Platinum Home Warranty.

Business Response: We are so very sorry that you feel the cash out offers presented were unacceptable.  We felt we were going above and beyond by attempting to research the coil that was needed by going off of other parts numbers on the unit since your condenser model and serial number were missing, which would normally be an exclusion of coverage. We realize this is a lengthy process but one that was necessary. The quote you received for repair from another company includes retail markup on parts and labor costs.  Because we have our own technicians we are able to keep these costs to a minimum and cash out offers are based on the repair that is needed.  This afternoon a check was post marked in the amount of $956 as requested.  Please allow a few days to receive the check because of the holiday weekend.

8/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 4, 2015 at 10 am, I noticed that my kitchen sink wasn't draining properly. I tried clearing the drain for any debris that might have been stuck. I ran the garbage disposal. Every time I did, water began seeping out of a wall more than ten feet away from the sink and poured onto my new hardwood floors. I immediately called Platinum Home Warranty, as their platinum warranty was included with the purchase of my home ten months prior. Once I reached the customer service representative, I was told that they would page a technician and they'd have someone out shortly. I waited more than five hours before calling Platinum Home Warranty back and asked if they still intended on having someone out. They paged the technician again, and she finally called. She told me that it was not an emergency situation, and I would have to wait until Monday. I was a little annoyed, but I ultimately agreed. The next day the leak in the wall was significantly worse and had begun to damage my flooring and drywall. Given the damage and the smell of stagnant water that had begun to attract insects, I considered it an emergency. I called Platinum Home Warranty again and said I would pay the weekend service fee. They said they would page the technician. An hour passed without a call from the technician. I called again. Another hour passed. I called a third time. It got to the point where the customer service representatives knew my phone number. But still, no technician called. Fed up, I called a different plumber who was able to come out within 30 minutes, clear the drain, and take care of the leak in the wall. It's Monday morning, more than 3 hours after the company's start time, and no one has called me.

Desired Settlement: Plumbing is clearly included in my warranty, yet no one has responded to my service call. While I did not pay the $60 service fee, $545 was paid upfront to Platinum Home Warranty in August of 2014 to resolve any home matter that was covered under the warranty. I want that money back. The negligence of the company and inability to communicate and provide a least an ounce of service has caused considerable damage to my home. I will have to rip out and replace a significant portion of my hardwood floors and have drywall replaced. With all things considered, I'm not sure what that $545 got me, because it certainly wasn't any sort of insurance on simple home repairs.

Business Response: We are very sorry for any damage that had occurred in your home.  You'd originally placed your service call on a holiday. Holidays and weekends are reserved for urgent repair items that are categorized the following way:

29. Urgent Repair Items

Air conditioners,furnaces, heat pumps, refrigerators, emergency plumbing leaks, or hot water heaters.
   
30. 24-Hour Service Guarantee

Urgent Repair Items receive top priority meaning a service provider will arrive at property within 24-hours of the time of initial service request. Urgent service requested on Sundays or Holidays will allow for a 48-hour waiting period for a service provider.

The on call dispatcher received a message in the morning of July 4, 2015, from our answering service stating you had issues with your kitchen sink which is considered non-emergency.  Since there was no mention of flooding at that point the on call technician was not called upon. Then later the answering service informed the on call dispatcher at 4:00pm that same day that you’d called in again.  She returned your call at which point you’d told her that “there was food in the wall”.  Our dispatcher went over the fees with you for weekend service at that time, which are two times the normal rate. It was then noted that you'd declined the $120 fee for emergency service. Our dispatcher then advised that she would call you back Monday morning to schedule at the normal $60 rate.  We then received another message from the answering service at 5:00pm July 5, 2015, which is after business hours, that stated you had flooding. A follow up phone call was made by our dispatch department on Monday morning July 6, 2015 and the dispatcher was informed that the problem had already been resolved. We are very sorry for any confusion and inconvenience this caused. We wish we would have been able to service you.

Your policy has been cancelled and the cancellation fee is being waived.  You will be refunded for the prorated amount of your policy.

We do hope that you see the value in your warranty since an additional claim was called in on your policy a few days later for your air conditioning and we had someone there the same day to fix the problem. We strive to get to every customer expediently and provide them with the very best service possible. 

8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our Sink keeps getting clogged. We have called Platinum Home Warranty because we purchased the complete plan for 2 years in a row. They sent out servicemen who did not have the equipment or skill to fix the job and then billed me for a job that was not completed. They claim we need to pay for a camera to look at our pipes and They refuse to send the plumber to unclog the main pipe. They told us they are not going to keep paying someone to come out. They state we have roots but this is not the case. They told us we would have to take care of this on our own so we hired a plumber who fixed the problem in a couple hours because he had the right equipment and skill and we ended up having to cover our own plumbing which is clearly covered under our warranty. PHW should not charge for warranty service if they do not have the skill and equipment to fix common problems. To top it all off the customer service reps are extremely rude and left my wife extremely frustrated with a lake of care for there clients.

Desired Settlement: I want my warranty refunded and I want nothing to do with the company.

Business Response: We are very sorry that you feel you've not had satisfactory service from our company.  Our company has been at your property on a few occasions for your sink running slow or being blocked.  The first service call we show for your kitchen sink being clogged was April 10, 2014.  This was 2 days after your policy started.  We also have service calls on April 16, 2014 for the same issue of the kitchen sink running slow.  On March 27, 2015, we again sent out a plumber to clear the kitchen drain.  He ran a snake through your plumbing 30 feet into the home but after that point was unable to get past a blockage.  We chose to get a second opinion at no cost to you.  The second company was also not able to get past the blockage from the ground level clean out. Our blockage coverage is limited to snaking from ground level clean outs however they went above and beyond by getting on your roof to clear the drain from your rooftop vent. Even then they were unable to clear your drain at which point they recommended camera service, a non covered item. On July 10, 2015 we were contacted because water was backing up into your shower drain at which point our service department asked if camera service had been completed as recommended.  We fully believe that the original recommendation for camera service is an accurate one as you've had 3 different occurrences for slow drains in your home in the last 2 years. This would be a helpful baseline in telling the story as to what is going on with your drains so that we can better address the issue at hand. We realize the camera service is an added expense to you but is vital in getting this situation resolved for you. Please let us know if we can assist you in setting up this service.

When you renewed your policy, you'd elected a 4 month payment plan.  You currently have 1 remaining payment for that plan. We've cancelled that payment for you. We are also waiving the $50 cancellation fee and will be refunding the prorated amount for the remainder your policy term.

4/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been requesting itemized billing and explanations of charges several times now. I have yet to receive anything detailed and when I do receive anything it is yet another bill that this company fails to explain. The work provided does not add up to the billed charges and the office manager, accountant, and customer service agent all have different explanations and deceptive practices. I was told I was paid in full, then given a bill amount of an additional 145.00, after being credited for overpayment when the job involved more work. The "bait and switch" practice is all I really see going on when dealing with this business. Things they have covered previously suddenly are not. They cover what they want when they want, and charge erroneously and without justification. i had a plumbing repair that I wasn't told about until after they repaired it which they claim wasn't covered, and yet still they fix it? I didn't approve it but had to pay it. No one in the office will give any detail and reply " we will reciew the phone calls and get back to you". Further investigation I'm sure would uncover some aspect of fraud within this company

Desired Settlement: I want the service charge and the cartridge parts/fee, and labor to open a 1x1 opening in the wall. A total of 308.00. I am unaware of the breakdown since I never received itemized billing and the office at this point writes up invoices with "for repairs" as the breakdown

Business Response: We’re very sorry for your concern in this matter.  The Basic home warranty plan you had elected when starting your policy only covers plumbing blockages.  Any work needed outside of clearing blockages would be considered non-warranty work. Explanations of the charges were sent with every estimate for needed work which in turn was approved each time.  Here is the chain of events that took place during your claims process:

The initial appointment was to have our plumber diagnose the leak under the bathtub.  With all diagnosis appointments, a $60 fee is required.  Reference to this required charge can be found in your policy Terms and Conditions, Section 5, Line I: A $60.00 trade call fee will apply for each requested trade. A trade call fee is charged on each trip to the property and includes up to two items, not exceeding a total of 2 hours of work performed. An additional $60 trade call fee will be charged for each item needing repair when exceeding the initial 2 hour/ 2 item per trip maximum. A trade call service fee still applies in the event customer fails to be present at scheduled time of service call, or in the event customer cancels request while service personnel is in route. This fee applies even if the technician’s diagnosis results in complete or partial exclusion of coverage.

As a result of the first scheduled appointment our technician had to open the wall in your bathroom to diagnose where the leak was coming from.  It is our standard practice of being up front with our customers, you were informed by our dispatcher that if an access hole needed to be cut there was an additional charge. Opening up drywall is not a service that is covered under our warranty plans but can be performed by our technicians if needed for a rate of $85 per hour.  It states in your policy Terms and Conditions, Section 7, Line I : PLATINUM is not liable for incidental or consequential damages to property or personal injury. Any access required for diagnosis, repair, or replacement, through interior walls, ceiling, floor, roof, etc. are not covered by this contract. It is the Policyholder’s sole responsible for costs and activities associated with gaining required access areas.

Once the wall was opened, our plumber contacted our office requesting an estimate for replacing the waste and overflow in the tub/shower.  The first estimate #****, was sent to you on March 4, 2015 at 9:34 am.  The estimate was for the amount of $391.08 and once approved by you it was converted into a job on March 4, 2015 at 11:50 am.  The full amount of $391.08 was collected by our dispatcher at that time and charged to the credit card number that you provided over the phone.  This estimate specifically states the following in the notes, “Estimate for replacing waste and overflow only. If other findings present themselves additional costs will apply **Drywall not included **Shelf needs to be removed for access prior to our arrival.  An appointment was scheduled by our dispatch department for March 5, 2015 between 2:00pm and 4:00pm.  Our plumber arrived at 3:00pm and started the waste and overflow repair but then he found the job to be much larger than he first diagnosed.  He was only able
to replace the cartridge in the shower and determined that the drains needed to be replaced and floor required a jackhammer.  None of the other work was able to be completed at that time.  The actual cost for the work that our plumber was able to be performed was $163 for the cartridge and 1 hour of non-warranty labor.  You were then told at that time that a credit of $228.08 would be applied to your second estimate invoice.

We then sent estimate #**** to you on March 5, 2015 at 2:58pm for $851.28.  This estimate also included a description of work being done and stated, “Parts to replace waste and overflow, new ptrap, no hub band and ABS pipe as well as jackhammer rental.  Estimate to include: Jack hammering around front of tub floor, Replacing waste and overflow, New ptrap, No hub band and ABS pipe. *Price does not include drywall or any additional items required for repair not listed above.”  This estimate was approved by you and turned into a nonwarranty job on March 5, 2015 at 4:44pm.  The credit of $228.08 was applied towards this invoice.  You then paid $400.00 of the non-warranty work upfront, and $223.20 was collected the day of the job.

It is our standard of practice to collect non-warranty fees generated from estimates up front, separate from diagnosis and non-warranty work that occurs during the diagnosis.  Platinum Home Warranty would never charge your credit card without verbal authorization from you, and charge explanations have never been withheld from you.  At this time $145 is due on your account and are legitimate charges.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

When I renewed this policy I was told it was the same and no changes from the previous year.  So tell me why plumbing fixtures were covered under the warranty the previous year.  This is a sad game of I said/they said.  I did not approve the fixture from this year being covered, I could only approve it after the  it was replaced.  I emailed asking for an explanation or proof that I approved it.  An invoice after it was replaced is all they can provide. Hard to say I approved it after they had already fixed it and didn't call me prior to charging 163.00 for a cartridge?  The office still has not sent an itemized bill.  The invoices they supplied are not a breakdown.  A one word sentence is not a breakdown.  They a grossly overcharging for services provided, and pick and choose what they choose to cover and I have receipts to prove the fact. One year it's covered under the exact same policy but the next year it's not.  that invoice is closed and I won't be surprised if they try to charge me for that as well.  The office staff there still have not sent an invoice.  my next complaint will be to the ******* registrar of contractors, there are some in my opinion some major issues within his company.  They cannot explain or break down a billing invoice in detail and the charges are not explained.  Any other work I've had done is explained in detail what I'm paying for and the price of the services given.  This company has obviously created their own billing system and I question the legality of it.  The warranty they provide is purely scam, I question the contract behind it, whether anything is actually covered, they make their own definitions of what's covered and I will never be doing business with this company again in the future and will advise all others to do the same.
Regards,

****** *********

Business Response: ******,
 
I apologize for the late reply.  **** **** currently on maternity leave.  Attached you will find current and the previous year’s warranty contracts.  As you can see there is no change in the coverage.  I’ve also provided invoices, estimates and the receipts of what our cost was for this repair.  The invoices and estimates provided to *** ********* come directly from our service system, ServiceCEO.  As you can find on Google, this is legitimate web based software for service industry providers. 
 
Platinum is willing to waive $163 on invoice 64181 for the shower cartridge replacement.  This would place a credit of $18 on *** *********’s account.
 
Please contact me for any additional questions.

3/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Platinum Home Warrany continues to harrass me With threatening letters of collections when I have Repeatedly advised them I was dissatified with their Service as well as never entered into a binding agreement For annual service. Service technicians were very unprofessional and quite rude. Platinum Home Warrany goes out of their way to bill customer For services and out of their wayto not cover items they deem As pre-existing conditions. It was my understanding that sevice contracts were monthly And could be canceled at any time yet they continue to bill me With the threat of collections althougj we haven't done business or Had them out but once or twice and they have not been out to the home To make repairs in over a year.

Desired Settlement: Stop harrassing letters of threatened collections or provide proof of signed contract Or agreement

Business Response: Allwarranty agreements with Platinum Home Warranty are a yearly contract.  The Terms and Conditions specifically state in Section 2: Coverage Terms and Conditions, B: COVERAGE PERIOD, 3. Buyer(s) Coverage Terms, Line A: All contracts are for the duration of (1) full year unless otherwise indicated on applications. This information is clearly provided in written form on our website for the public to reference and in the contract we mail out to you upon signing up. We unfortunately do not and never have offered a month-to-month policy.  At the time that *** ******* called into our office on 3/12/14 he agreed to a Platinum Premium Plan with Built-in Pool coverage with Water Softener coverage added.  The total cost for the plan was $670.  He opted for a 6 month payment plan with a $36 processing fee which totaled $117.66 per month for the 6 months. The first payment was made on the day of the order, 3/12/14.  Within one week of the policy start date, he would've received a Welcome Packet in the mail that included a copy of his contract with Platinum Home Warranty and a booklet of the Terms and Conditions of his policy where the reference above can also be found. The five remaining payments were to be charged to the credit card that was provided to the Platinum representative over the phone at the time that the order was originally placed.  All remaining transactions were scheduled for the 5th of every month from April to August of 2014.  Payments were received for the months of March, April, May and June.  When the 7/5/14 payment was run it was unable to process successfully.  On 7/14/2014 an attempt was made to contact *** ******* to collect the 7/5/14 payment.  Our billing department was unable to get a hold of him. Again on 7/22/14 our billing department left a message to collect payment.  On 8/5/14 our billing department made contact with *** ******* and were told that he was going to pay the balance for July and August on 8/22/14.  He did not call back in on that date.  On 9/11/14 he was contacted again by our billing department and they were informed that he was dealing with other financial issues and would be able to call back on 9/19/14 with payment for the two outstanding months. He again did not call in on the promised date to make the remaining two payments.  Our billing department again attempted to contact *** ******* on 9/22/14 to collect payment.  After 8 unsuccessful attempts to collect the outstanding balance, all remaining scheduled credit card transactions were removed from our system and the remaining balance was sent to him as a past due invoice.It wasn’t until this past month with regret that we mailed *** ******* an invoice and marked it ‘Pending for Collections’ after exhausting all other efforts.  Platinum Home Warranty did their due diligence to collect payment in the months of July, August and September.  When the account was 60 days past due, *** ******* was subject to the following terms of his policy contract:  C:REQUESTING SERVICE5.Requesting Service and Filing ClaimsL. Failure to pay service fee will result in suspension of coverage until the service fee, and all related collection cost, has been paid in full. This contract shall be considered void while any service fees are outstanding.M. Collection efforts are billed at $120.00 per hour, plus other related expenses. A one-hour minimum will be assessed to all collection processes, in addition to any fees charged by any 3rd party collection agency engaged to collect any and all fees owed.N. Contracts under suspension are not eligible for refunds.O. Policyholder agrees to be liable for all court and legal fees associated with the collection of any outstanding fees over (60) days.All customers also have the right to cancel their policy at any time. Reference to this can be found in Section E: TRANSFER, RENEW or CANCEL, 11. Right of Refusals and Contract Cancellation, A. The Policyholder can cancel this contract at any time. AND B. In the even Policy holder chooses to cancel coverage, a prorated refund will be given to Policyholder of record within (90) days of receiving a written cancellation notice, less any unpaid service fees.  A $50.00 administrative handling fee will also be assessed.  No such written request was ever received from *** ******* during the 12 months of his policy.  Therefore at this time, there is an outstanding balance for $235.35 due on his account and is a legitimate amount due.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I agree to pay no more than $235.35.
Divided into two monthly payments starting in April and paid in full by end of April if that is agreeable.

Regards,

*********** *******

 

12/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our toilet keeps getting clogged. We paid 60 with Platinum on Nov 6 th. Since then it's the 3rd time the toilet is clogged . They refuse to send the plumber to unclog or replace our toilet. They told us they are not going to keep paying someone to come out. Our warrenty states we are still covered within 30 days of the complaint. Our warrenty also covers replacing the toilet . They claim we need to pay for a camera to look at our pipes. However for common clog problems the toilet is replaced first before the main line is examined . They state we have roots but this is not the case. We do not have sewage coming up in our drains and it's only one toilet in the house that has this problem. They claim black stuff is evidence of roots but after researching this the black stuff is common mold that grows on any human biodegradable substance and is common .

Desired Settlement: Unclog and replace the toilet

Business Response: We are very sorry to hear about the trouble you are having with your toilet. It was the technician's opinion that was sent to your home prior that a camera service would be needed to rule out any issues with your line prior to replacing the toilet at your home. After you called in on December 2nd and speaking with you further and hearing your end of the story, Platinum decided to go ahead and send out another company to diagnose and provide a second opinion. To our understanding that technician is scheduled out to your home today, December 4th to assess and provide Platinum with an update on his findings. If the technician finds the toilet is in fact bad, you do have toilet replacement coverage and the warranty will in fact replace the toilet. If however his findings are that of the first technician, then you will need to have the camera service performed and then provide those findings to Platinum at which point we can look at what can be done to correct the issue. We will certainly be in touch with you in the next day or two to update you as to the outcome of the second diagnosis. We look forward to working with you and getting this issue resolved.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and this has been resolved as of today.

****** ********

 

9/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Several months ago I contacted Platinum Home Warranty for an issue with my pool, which is covered by policy. When technician arrived he claimed he could not remove cover to look at part that was broken and rudely said "they are not going to pay for this anyway, this is a waste of my time" He abuptly left without telling me and never securing my gate allowing my dogs to escape. I immediatly called their offices (after I rounded up dogs from neighbor) to complain and request a competent repairman. I explained the situation and the person I spoke to seemed upset by the way I was treated but she was not in charge and needed to speak to a Supervisor. I did receive a call from ******** and was told they only use this one particular pool repair service and there was no one else to send in my area, ******. I asked if then could someone else out of my area be sent because I felt threatened by this particular repairman who was so abbusive. Again was told I would have to wait for another call from yet another person about my request. I then received my last call from ******** and was informed she spoke to the powers that be and NO they could not or wound not send anyone else. I disputed that I have paid for a home warranty and that answer was not exceptable, agin I was told that someone higher would contact me. I never received that call, after several messages and no returned calls I simply gave up and "rigged" up a temporary fix to my issue. My problem is now more than 3 months later I have received a bill from them for $60.00. I DO NOT owe them any monies, they never looked at my problem let alone fixed it, by the "technicians" own admission he could not even open the pool part. I left a message informing them agian of the situation and that I intend on NOT paying for a service never rendered. Again no one has returned my calls.

Desired Settlement: $60.00 charge removed.

Business Response:

We are very sorry to hear about this experience with our vendor. They are typically very professional and courteous.  Because of your experience, we reached out to you on June 12th by leaving you a message letting you know we approved for you to use a vendor you were comfortable with. We further explained the process of how to submit a quote so that we could get your repairs approved through the warranty since they were an outside vendor and were awaiting this documentation. We would be more than happy to waive the service call fee given this situation.


?

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** *******

 

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought home warranty for 2 home properties. Critical terms on limits were not disclosed by the sales agent. Within 2 days, I called to cancel the transaction, was asked to send email. Sent the email. I am expecting full refund with no cancellation feeds - 2 transactions of $ 470 each

Desired Settlement: Immediate full refund on credit card. Cancel the 2 transactions.

Business Response: We are very sorry to hear that you wish to cancel. We did receive your request and are currently processing it. It is our typical policy to charge a cancellation fee but we will go ahead and honor your request and waive this fee on each of your properties. Please allow 3-4 weeks to receive your refund check.

7/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Platinum Home Warranty sent me invoice ****** dated 8/2/2013 but sent it to me June 2014, nearly a year later. The invoice is for services from last summer, July 2013. At the time, I paid the required service fee of $60 and Platinum had never asked for any additional money so I was very surprised to get an invoice nearly a year later. The invoice has two service fees listed for the same date 7/25/2013 for a total of $120. Per my contract, I pay 1 service fee per incident and this was paid in full at the time of the incident. The company had to make several attempts to fix the problem, which was with the air conditioning unit. The multiple visits however were for the same air conditioning issue and were a direct result of the service technician's failure to diagnose the problem and accurately fix it. I had to get a second opinion from an outside company on the problem. Platinum used the information I gave from the other company to then come in and fix the AC because their own technician didn't understand how to fix it. Fortunately the other company waived their service fee or else I would have had to pay that on my own. Platinum's inability to fix the problem in a timely manner resulted in me having to discount the month's rent for my tenant who was with out AC and I was at a loss of $200. I called Platinum several times about the invoice. They were supposedly looking into it and would call me back but I have never heard from anyone. Then I received invoice ****** for a service fee 5/23/2014 that was also already paid. I called the company and they confirmed it was paid but didn't know why an invoice was sent.

Desired Settlement: I want a letter from Platinum Home Warranty that confirms my service fees have been paid and I do not owe them anything. I also want $100 for the loss of rental income because they were unable to fix the problem in a timely manner. I lost $200 total in rental income total but I will split the difference because my tenant was slow to report the issue.

Business Response: Dear Mrs. ******,

We are very sorry to hear about your negative experience with Platinum Home Warranty. We always strive to go above and beyond in the services we provide. Your business is important to us and we appreciate your feedback and opportunity to assess what we could have done differently to have made this experience a positive one. We have waived the invoice in question and additionally will issue you a check for $100 to your billing address on record to help with the loss of rental income. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention so that we could resolve this for you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******

 

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I extended my home warranty to cover my evaporative cooler - cost $50 per year. My renewal month is January. I called for service in April. I was told the unit could not be repaired because the motor had to be replaced that was no longer available. Apparently, the unit would not be replaced either as per Platinum. I had to contact Platinum a number of times just to get that information. The contract states that equipment would be replaced or cash would be given of equal value if the unit could not be repaired. Another section of the agreement states that if a part is not available, they are not required to replace it. That is a serious contradiction. If you cannot repair the unit for whatever reason, it should be replaced. When I asked for my $50 to be refunded, they refused explaining that the unit is still under warranty. How? Then a bill of $60 was then sent to me to cover the service charge. An email was sent to Platinum's Customer Service Department - again, no response. I had to call again and again, but received no satisfactory explanation nor closure to my claim. How can a home warranty not cover this unit? Was any research done to find this part?

Desired Settlement: Either the evaporative unit be replaced or a cash settlement

Business Response: We completely understand your concerns regarding your Evaporative Cooler and would like to be able to make the necessary repairs. When we sent out our contractor they found that both the motor and the control board needed to be replaced. Unfortunately, they were not able to find any information on your unit. They are able to match up a generic motor but cannot obtain enough information to order the control board. Without any information we are at a loss for how to make the necessary repairs. What we would like to do is send a different technician to your home to see if they are able to match up the needed control board or find any sort of part number that the original vendor was unable to locate. We will have a service coordinator reach out to you to schedule this with you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until 07/22/2014 for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ********

 

4/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had an issue with my heater back in November. This company sent out an electrician who could not fix the issue. The electrician said the company would send out a AC/Heater guy to fix the issue. They did not make contact with me for two weeks, I then called them. They sent out the heater guy and he fixed my problem, a month after the electrician came out. A week later I get a bill for the Heater/AC guy. I called to ask why I got a bill because I never got a bill for the electrician and never knew there was a fee associated with the home warranty. The girl told me I could email the manager to ask them to waive the fee since they didn't tell me about the fee. No one responded. So I thought, oh well, I will just pay the bill. Then I get a bill last week for the electrician! This was a one man job! They sent the wrong person to do the job who attempted to mess with the fuses but it never fixed the heater! They didn't even bill me for the electrician until I brought it up in my email because they never warned me of a fee when I called in twice to have someone come out! I called and spoke to a ******** who said she would personally talk to the manager. THEY STILL SAY I OWE TWICE because the electrician messed with the fuses...of course they tried, the were the wrong guy for the job. Still it was one job, it took two people. That is the company's fault, not mine.

Desired Settlement: Waive the electrician fee that you mistakenly sent to do the AC/Heater guy's job, this was a one man job. Warn people that there is a $60 fee on the phone when they make an appointment. Act professionally and make contact with your customers when they reach out to you! And don't attempt to bill a customer who honestly told you about the whole situation, you forgot to bill her or are just attempting to bill extra and now you're just trying to make an extra buck.

Business Response: We are very sorry to hear about your issues regarding the electrical items as well as the AC unit. We did send an electrician to the home as it was reported that one bedroom and a hall had no electricity. A fuse was changed and reported to us that the problem was in fact corrected. It was then later brought to our attention that the HVAC unit was also not working. We immediately sent out an air conditioning technician and he worked to rewire the thermostat. Normally, this would result in two separate fees as the thermostat issue is a separate issue from the hall and bedroom not receiving electricity as well as requiring two different trades to complete the jobs at hand. For your troubles and the confusion, we are more than happy to waive the $60 service call fee. We look forward to servicing you in the future.

 

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Platinum because my AC unit was leaking, they sent out a tech, he said my drip pan would probably have to be replaced but he put extra 'sticky tape' on it which should help with the leak for a little while. He took measurements of the pan because he was pretty confident it would have to be replaced. He told me if it started leaking again I could call in and order the pan since he took the measurements. My AC started leaking again so I called Platinum, they told me the pan isn't covered under warranty, I told them I would still like it fixed and asked for a quote on what it would cost to replace. They said since it's not covered under warranty it's not a priority for them. I waited several days, they never called me back, I called them again and they said they would need to send someone out to measure because they do not have the measurements the first tech took. ***** ******* called and talked to them and they told him I would not have to pay another co-pay since they lost the measurements the first time. I called to confirm I would not be charged again. I then received a bill in the mail and called and spoke with ********, she said I was being charged because they came out 3 times. I only had 2 people come out, she then looked at the notes and saw they cancelled the service call because we already knew what the issue was (new pan).******** was not willing to help me so I asked to speak to a supervisor, she said I had to send in an email to express my concerns with the bill, I asked for a name of a supervisor she would not provide me one, she eventually said she would have someone call me back but it would not be today. In my opinion this is very poor customer service. I paid the co-pay for the first visit which they took the measurements for the pan. During this visit the tech put 'sticky tape' on the pan for a temporary fix, I was willing to pay for the cost of the pan since it wasn't covered under warranty but they didn't want to be bothered to do a job that they did not cover. The second tech had to come out because they lost the measurements the first tech took of the drip pan.

Desired Settlement: Remove the $60 charge from invoice ******

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:


First of all, the person that is filing this complaint is not the policy holder on record (see attached). We did however receive a phone call about this and we attempted to reach back out to this tenant to get this issue resolved without a return phone call. We were prepared to waive the $60 billing after explaining the process and why there would typically be a fee for this type of service, so that in the future they would be prepared to pay for such services. We were never able to explain this since our return call went unanswered. We initially went out on 5/1/2013 to respond to an 'AC leaking' call. Upon arriving, the tech found the issue was with the drain pan. He attempted to try to do a fix at that time since drain pans are not covered under the warranty. No measurements were ever taken at this visit since it's not a covered item. We let the tenant know we could return if the small fix didn't hold up but we would have to get the owners approval before doing so since again it is not covered under the warranty. We were contacted later and asked to go back to get the measurements to provide the quote for a new drain pan thus resulting in a second service visit of $60.

We are more than happy to waive this because of the confusion and again were prepared to do so when we attempted to reach out to this tenant. We wished we would have been given the opportunity to sort this out over the phone.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *******


 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Platinum Home Warranty
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart