BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home warranty services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Platinum Home Warranty meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Platinum Home Warranty include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Platinum Home Warranty include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Platinum Home Warranty
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 10, 2012 Business started: 12/12/2011 in AZ Business incorporated: 12/12/2011 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Insurance
2910 N. 44th Street, Suite 210, Phoenix AZ 85018-0725
http://www.id.state.az.us
Phone Number: 602.364.3100
Fax Number: 602.364.2400
consumers@azinsurance.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Matthew D. Widdows, Member Ms. Brooke Hoyt, Vice President of Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthew D. Widdows, Member
Business Category

Home Warranty Plans

Alternate Business Names
Platinum Home Protection, LLC
Industry Tips
Home Warranty Plans

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Platinum Home Warranty has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2933 N 16th St

    Phoenix, AZ 85016 (602) 733-5000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 871-2339(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Platinum Home Warranty sent me invoice ****** dated 8/2/2013 but sent it to me June 2014, nearly a year later. The invoice is for services from last summer, July 2013. At the time, I paid the required service fee of $60 and Platinum had never asked for any additional money so I was very surprised to get an invoice nearly a year later. The invoice has two service fees listed for the same date 7/25/2013 for a total of $120. Per my contract, I pay 1 service fee per incident and this was paid in full at the time of the incident. The company had to make several attempts to fix the problem, which was with the air conditioning unit. The multiple visits however were for the same air conditioning issue and were a direct result of the service technician's failure to diagnose the problem and accurately fix it. I had to get a second opinion from an outside company on the problem. Platinum used the information I gave from the other company to then come in and fix the AC because their own technician didn't understand how to fix it. Fortunately the other company waived their service fee or else I would have had to pay that on my own. Platinum's inability to fix the problem in a timely manner resulted in me having to discount the month's rent for my tenant who was with out AC and I was at a loss of $200. I called Platinum several times about the invoice. They were supposedly looking into it and would call me back but I have never heard from anyone. Then I received invoice ****** for a service fee 5/23/2014 that was also already paid. I called the company and they confirmed it was paid but didn't know why an invoice was sent.

Desired Settlement: I want a letter from Platinum Home Warranty that confirms my service fees have been paid and I do not owe them anything. I also want $100 for the loss of rental income because they were unable to fix the problem in a timely manner. I lost $200 total in rental income total but I will split the difference because my tenant was slow to report the issue.

Business Response: Dear Mrs. ******,

We are very sorry to hear about your negative experience with Platinum Home Warranty. We always strive to go above and beyond in the services we provide. Your business is important to us and we appreciate your feedback and opportunity to assess what we could have done differently to have made this experience a positive one. We have waived the invoice in question and additionally will issue you a check for $100 to your billing address on record to help with the loss of rental income. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention so that we could resolve this for you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******

 

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I extended my home warranty to cover my evaporative cooler - cost $50 per year. My renewal month is January. I called for service in April. I was told the unit could not be repaired because the motor had to be replaced that was no longer available. Apparently, the unit would not be replaced either as per Platinum. I had to contact Platinum a number of times just to get that information. The contract states that equipment would be replaced or cash would be given of equal value if the unit could not be repaired. Another section of the agreement states that if a part is not available, they are not required to replace it. That is a serious contradiction. If you cannot repair the unit for whatever reason, it should be replaced. When I asked for my $50 to be refunded, they refused explaining that the unit is still under warranty. How? Then a bill of $60 was then sent to me to cover the service charge. An email was sent to Platinum's Customer Service Department - again, no response. I had to call again and again, but received no satisfactory explanation nor closure to my claim. How can a home warranty not cover this unit? Was any research done to find this part?

Desired Settlement: Either the evaporative unit be replaced or a cash settlement

Business Response: We completely understand your concerns regarding your Evaporative Cooler and would like to be able to make the necessary repairs. When we sent out our contractor they found that both the motor and the control board needed to be replaced. Unfortunately, they were not able to find any information on your unit. They are able to match up a generic motor but cannot obtain enough information to order the control board. Without any information we are at a loss for how to make the necessary repairs. What we would like to do is send a different technician to your home to see if they are able to match up the needed control board or find any sort of part number that the original vendor was unable to locate. We will have a service coordinator reach out to you to schedule this with you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until 07/22/2014 for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ********

 

4/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
4/21/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable