BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona

BBB Accredited Business since

National Home Warranty

Phone: (480) 428-8800 6720 N. Scottsdale Road #230, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253 http://www.nhwusa.com View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home warranty services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that National Home Warranty meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for National Home Warranty include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on National Home Warranty
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 26, 2012 Business started: 05/01/1986 in NV Business started locally: 09/09/2010 Business incorporated: 05/01/1986 in NV
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Mike Easterly, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Easterly, Member
Principal: Miss. Janie Talledo, Principal
Business Category

Home Warranty Plans Business Services - General

Alternate Business Names
National Home Warranty, LLC
Industry Tips
Home Warranty Plans

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

National Home Warranty has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6720 N. Scottsdale Road #230

    Paradise Valley, AZ 85253 (480) 428-8800

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 10, 2013, I contacted National Home Warranty as our air conditioner in the basement was not working. The repair company sent was ********* *** ************. The service man stated that, after consultation with the warranty company, the repair was not covered as it was a repair of a previously incorrect repair. National Home Warranty stated that they would pay $250.00 of the requested $576.00 repair. I decided to get a second opinion from a licensed repair company, ** ***, and they stated that the part was not installed incorrectly. ** *** installed a new part for $ 375.88 and noted on their invoice that the replacement was not for a part that was previously installed incorrectly. The stated that the install was not required due to a previously bad installation but was due to normal wear and tear and that in their experience this is how the part was installed at the time the unit was placed in service in 1986. I sent an email on May 23, 2013 with a copy of the invoice including a statement by ** *** that this was how the part was installed at the time the unit was put into service in 1986 requesting reimbursement of $375.88 for the air conditioning repair performed under our home warranty. Despite many emails and phone calls over the past six month, we have only received one response stating that the part that was replaced was not how it is currently recommended to be installed, today in 2012 and so they would not pay any amount over $250.00. Despite that fact that they have never once demonstrated that the part was not properly installed at the time it was put in, which is what is stated in the policy. The policy states: " 2. NHW is not responsible for repair or replacement of any system or appliance which is related to: a. A condition which constitutes a violation of current building or similar codes. b. Improper installation, design or previous repair. " In addition, Section F23 states that National Home Warranty will $250 toward preexisting conditions. Not only has National Home Warranty failed to demonstrate that the part was improperly installed at the time of installation or previous repair but they have also failed to pay the $250.00 that they stated they would pay in their contract and in their letter to me on May 22, 2013. In addition, I have had to send many emails and made many phone calls spending hours on the phone and being promised that this matter would be resolved and now six months later nothing has happened. I spoke to ****, who stated that he was an owner, and he stated that we would be taken care of and that he was unhappy with how we have been treated and yet six months have gone by and we are still unable to get resolution to this matter.

Desired Settlement: Based on the above (the fact that we already paid the $55 deductible required for the repair and that the previous repair men’s statements were inaccurate and his assessment was self serving and overly expensive), I am requesting reimbursement for the amount of $375.88.

Business Response:
We thank you for allowing us the opportunity to review and address Mr. **********' complaint.  We respectfully forward our response.
 
On May 13, 2013 we denied repairs on the AC located at ***** * **** ****** based on Section A.1 & F.2.B of our service contract.  That decision was made after receiving a diagnosis from our contractor ********* *** ************ (ROC #******).  

We inquired what the cost would be to correct the not-covered problem, and we extended that price to Mr.**********.  $576.00 was the quote provided.  Section F.23 of our contract
states, NHW will pay up to $250.00 aggregate to repair or replace hidden or unknown pre-existing conditions or code violations in relation to air conditioning.  A check in the amount of $250.00 will be processed and mailed no later than 12/20/13.


Mr. ********** elected to hire his own contractor for a second opinion, whom eventually made the repairs for $375.88.   

As a Service Contract Provider, the only way for us to evaluate equipment properly is to follow the performance standards and installation guidelines which have been established and
set forth by the manufacturer.

In order for a sensing bulb to function properly it must sit in direct contact with the copper suction line and is to be secured by the utilization of copper strapping, not silicone.  Silicone acts as insulator/inhibitor and thus prevented the bulb from performing properly.   

Mr. ********** is adamant that the TXV bulb being silicone in was a normal practice.  The manufacturer’s specifications and directions (provided to Mr. **********) do not mention the utilization of silicone in any manner, either as an adhesive or as a component of the installation process.   Based on our contractor’s diagnosis and our discussions with the manufacturer, we denied the homeowner’s AC claim based on Section A.1 & F.2.B.

After careful consideration, we are denying Mr. **********’ request for reimbursement in the amount of $375.88.  

Respectfully,

***** ** *********
Operations Manager