Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

National Home Warranty

Phone: (480) 428-8800 6720 N. Scottsdale Road #230, Paradise Valley, AZ 85253 View Additional Web Addresses

! BBB Business Review on National Home Warranty is being Updated by BBB !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers home warranty services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

Additional Locations

  • 6720 N. Scottsdale Road #230

    Paradise Valley, AZ 85253 (480) 428-8800


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: National Home Warranty ("NHW") has refused to honor its warranty agreement with me for a claim made on August 5, 2015 after my air conditioner stopped working. NHW has refused to repair my air conditioner as required by the warranty agreement and refused to pay me for the cost of the parts and service for those repairs. Instead, NHW representative ******* ********** informed me on August 7, 2015 that NHW is unwilling to make the repairs because the NHW repairman said it made no sense to repair such an old air conditioner. Given this, NHW is obligated by the warranty agreement to replace my air conditioner unit, but it has failed and refused to either replace my unit or pay me the costs and service for a unit replacement. It has been more than two weeks since I made the initial contact with NHW. *** ********** ended the conversation on August 7th stating that she would notify me on August 10th about the price for a new air conditioner unit. Since then, I have left several messages for NHW , but no one from NHW will return my repeated phone calls about how NHW will resolve my claim.

Desired Settlement: National Home Warranty must perform under its warranty agreement to pay me the cost of replacing my air conditioner unit since it elected not to repair the unit within a reasonable time from learning about the need for the repair.

9/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My contract with National Home Warranty (NHW) states that if repairs, including air conditioners, cannot be completed within 3 calendar days after the report of the claim, NHW will provide a status report to the service contract holder. Nobody has ever provided me with a status report. I have now spent 3 weeks and 2 days waiting for a replacement part they still tell me is on the way. Below is the documentation of my patience with this company. At this point, I expect a replacement of the AC unit as the company states that "the company will replace with a comparable unit meeting current federal, state and/or local government efficiency standard". Sunday 28 June, placed online claim Tuesday 30 June, ********* *** ************ (***) came to check on a leak, Wednesday 1 July, need to buy replacement coil, took *** 5 days to get in contact with the company that sells the parts in Georgia. Tuesday 7 July, *** talked to NHW to approve purchase replacement coil. But it was not approved by NHW until Thursday 9. I repeatedly call them for status report and they told me that they will call me back but they never did. Friday 10 July, *** placed order and I was told that the part should arrive in 2-3 days. Tuesday 14 July, I called for an status update and *** stated that replacement part had just been shipped that day and that it should arrive in 2-3 days. He scheduled installation for Tuesday 21 July. Monday 20 July, I called *** to confirmTuesday's installation and *** stated (again) that replacement has just been shipped, and that it should arrive in 2-3 days. Tuesday 21 July, I called NHW to complain that the ac unit has still not been repaired and no status has ever been provided to me, though the contract states it will provided within 3 days. They told me the Manager was going to call me back before the end of the day, which has happened before and NHW had someone call me back.

Desired Settlement: At this point, I expect a new AC unit to be installed in less than 3 days as stated in the contract.

Business Response:

The replacement part for this particular job was a coil.  When our contractor advised us it would be shipped and available within 2-3 days, we had no idea the high demand for HVAC service, would impact that order.  The supplier was unable to fulfill the order as a result of an increased demand on HVAC parts/equipment, which created a snowball effect.  Our contractor was not advised of a delay until after the fact, and neither were we.    

The coil has since been replaced, band the customer finally has cooling within their home.  We failed to communicate and follow up with our customer, and wish to apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that we have caused.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that while they were able to fix the situation, they certainly did not respond to my complaint. 

The major problem was that neither the contractor or National Home Warranty (NHW) followed through with getting our problem taken care of during the hottest time of the year (in one of the hottest cities in the US), which meant that we could not even use our home for more than 3 weeks. This is not acceptable. The contractor for this job obviously does not have the adequate experience for ordering parts from suitable companies. NHW's contractor would always mention that the replacement part had been delivered without even verifying that this information was true. Additionally, there was NEVER a discussion about the order being impacted by a high demand for HVAC service. I was NEVER informed of this by either the contractor or NHW. This is complete (false) news to me. How is it possible that the contractor will just find out about a delay in the order after more than 2 weeks when he was told that the replacement had been shipped and would be delivered between 2-3 days? Excusing themselves by blaming the supplier is very unprofessional and unethical. It is obvious that an alternate solution should have been taken rather than having me and my family practically on the street.

At this point, the least I was expecting from NHW was honestly recognizing their mistake. I am completely unsatisfied with NHW and the contractors they chose to work for them. And making me and my family go through almost a month of very stressful times does not resolve by providing false excuses. 


******* *******

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 10, 2013, I contacted National Home Warranty as our air conditioner in the basement was not working. The repair company sent was ********* *** ************. The service man stated that, after consultation with the warranty company, the repair was not covered as it was a repair of a previously incorrect repair. National Home Warranty stated that they would pay $250.00 of the requested $576.00 repair. I decided to get a second opinion from a licensed repair company, ** ***, and they stated that the part was not installed incorrectly. ** *** installed a new part for $ 375.88 and noted on their invoice that the replacement was not for a part that was previously installed incorrectly. The stated that the install was not required due to a previously bad installation but was due to normal wear and tear and that in their experience this is how the part was installed at the time the unit was placed in service in 1986. I sent an email on May 23, 2013 with a copy of the invoice including a statement by ** *** that this was how the part was installed at the time the unit was put into service in 1986 requesting reimbursement of $375.88 for the air conditioning repair performed under our home warranty. Despite many emails and phone calls over the past six month, we have only received one response stating that the part that was replaced was not how it is currently recommended to be installed, today in 2012 and so they would not pay any amount over $250.00. Despite that fact that they have never once demonstrated that the part was not properly installed at the time it was put in, which is what is stated in the policy. The policy states: " 2. NHW is not responsible for repair or replacement of any system or appliance which is related to: a. A condition which constitutes a violation of current building or similar codes. b. Improper installation, design or previous repair. " In addition, Section F23 states that National Home Warranty will $250 toward preexisting conditions. Not only has National Home Warranty failed to demonstrate that the part was improperly installed at the time of installation or previous repair but they have also failed to pay the $250.00 that they stated they would pay in their contract and in their letter to me on May 22, 2013. In addition, I have had to send many emails and made many phone calls spending hours on the phone and being promised that this matter would be resolved and now six months later nothing has happened. I spoke to ****, who stated that he was an owner, and he stated that we would be taken care of and that he was unhappy with how we have been treated and yet six months have gone by and we are still unable to get resolution to this matter.

Desired Settlement: Based on the above (the fact that we already paid the $55 deductible required for the repair and that the previous repair men’s statements were inaccurate and his assessment was self serving and overly expensive), I am requesting reimbursement for the amount of $375.88.

Business Response:
We thank you for allowing us the opportunity to review and address Mr. **********' complaint.  We respectfully forward our response.
On May 13, 2013 we denied repairs on the AC located at ***** * **** ****** based on Section A.1 & F.2.B of our service contract.  That decision was made after receiving a diagnosis from our contractor ********* *** ************ (ROC #******).  

We inquired what the cost would be to correct the not-covered problem, and we extended that price to Mr.**********.  $576.00 was the quote provided.  Section F.23 of our contract
states, NHW will pay up to $250.00 aggregate to repair or replace hidden or unknown pre-existing conditions or code violations in relation to air conditioning.  A check in the amount of $250.00 will be processed and mailed no later than 12/20/13.

Mr. ********** elected to hire his own contractor for a second opinion, whom eventually made the repairs for $375.88.   

As a Service Contract Provider, the only way for us to evaluate equipment properly is to follow the performance standards and installation guidelines which have been established and
set forth by the manufacturer.

In order for a sensing bulb to function properly it must sit in direct contact with the copper suction line and is to be secured by the utilization of copper strapping, not silicone.  Silicone acts as insulator/inhibitor and thus prevented the bulb from performing properly.   

Mr. ********** is adamant that the TXV bulb being silicone in was a normal practice.  The manufacturer’s specifications and directions (provided to Mr. **********) do not mention the utilization of silicone in any manner, either as an adhesive or as a component of the installation process.   Based on our contractor’s diagnosis and our discussions with the manufacturer, we denied the homeowner’s AC claim based on Section A.1 & F.2.B.

After careful consideration, we are denying Mr. **********’ request for reimbursement in the amount of $375.88.  


***** ** *********
Operations Manager