Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Porter Electronics

Phone: (480) 626-1394 Fax: (480) 339-6059 PO Box 5930, Mesa, AZ 85211 http://www.porterelectronics.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Porter Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Porter Electronics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Porter Electronics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 09, 2011 Business started: 05/10/2005 in AZ Business incorporated 05/10/2005 in AZ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Paul T. Porter, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul T. Porter, Member
Business Category

Home Electronics Electric Equipment & Supplies - Retail Internet Shopping

Products & Services

Porter Electronics sells the following brand(s): Canon, HP, Kodak, Panasonic, Sony

Porter Electronics offers the following product(s): PDA's, Printers, Projectors, Cameras

Method(s) of Payment
Paypal, Visa, Mastercard, AMEX, Discover
Refund and Exchange Policy
60 Day Exchange Policy
Alternate Business Names
Porter Joint Venture Group, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Porter Electronics has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 5930

    Mesa, AZ 85211

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a thermal printer from their website, did not hear anything from them for several days. Sent the a message using their website contact form, no response. They do not list their phone number on their website i had to dig in order to find it, called the number and there is no options to speak with anyone.

Desired Settlement: cancel the order and refund me my money, I did not want to have to file a formal complaint however there was no other way to reach the company and they failed to respond to my inquiry

Business Response: This should be resolved with customer.   Unfortunately due to inventory we were unable to get this quickly to him.  

-****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

I do accept resolution for this but i do want to make it clear the main reason for filing the complaint was the lack of a phone number and slow response from the business, it makes people nervous when they don't get a response and cannot find a phone number to call the business and your credit card is already charged.

Regards,

**** ****

 

3/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 2nd, 2014 I ordered a new VHS tape player for Porter Electronics. I received a order confirmation and my Paypal account was charged. When more than a week passed and I had not received the item I checked back with the company and received an automated email advising the my order had shipped. This was on February 11th. On February 12 I used the Tracking number to attempt to track the package but UPS advises a Label was issued but as of February 19th at 9PM Pacific they have not received a package for shipment. I have sent three emails and left two voice messages with Porter Electronics and have not received any contact.

Desired Settlement: I would like to cancel my order and have my Paypal credited.

Business Response:

Prior to this complaint, we are not showing any incoming calls that we received from this customer.  I do show that on Feb. 19th we did get a call and this was resolved over the phone.  A full refund was issued back to the customer. 

11/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Friday May 24, 2013, I purchased an overhead projector that stated on Porter Electronics website that it was going to be new. I purchased it for $169.99. When I recevied the overhead projector it was definitely not new. It was used with dings all over it. I then contacted Porter Electronics asking if there was a mistake in the one we received. They told us no that they are a used electronics dealer. It does not state that anywhere on their website that is visible. I asked to return it since they did not sell any new ones. I made sure I was not paying for shipping or the restocking fee that was stated on their website for all returned merchandise. They told me that I did not need to return it and that they would issue me a refund back on the credit card used. This all happened between August 20th and August 26th. I received notice that I would get a refund on August 26th. I still have never received a refund as of today October 21st. I emailed them on October 9th and even called them and I have gotten no response at all about the refund. We would like the refund to happen.

Desired Settlement: Receive a refund of 169.99 dollars back on the credit card we used to purchase.

Business Response:

A full refund has been issued back to this customer.  The complaint can be closed.  Issue has been resolved.