Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download

BBB Accredited Business since

A-Authentic Garage Door Service Co.

Phone: (623) 516-1522 Fax: (623) 516-1688 22051 N. 23rd Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85027 http://www.arizonagaragedoors.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is a garage door repair and replacement company.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A-Authentic Garage Door Service Co. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A-Authentic Garage Door Service Co. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

18 Customer Reviews on A-Authentic Garage Door Service Co.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 16
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 18

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 29, 2001 Business started: 09/15/1999 in AZ Business incorporated 09/15/1999 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC)
1700 W. Washington Street, Ste. 105, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azroc.gov
Phone Number: (602) 542-1525
Fax Number: (602) 542-1599

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Darrell Peruch, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darrell Peruch, Member
Business Category

Garage Doors & Openers Garage Door Repair OVERHEAD GARAGE DOORS

Alternate Business Names
A Authentic Garage Door Service Co. Authentic Garage Door Authentic Garage Door Service Peruch Investments, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A-Authentic Garage Door Service Co. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 22051 N. 23rd Avenue

    Phoenix, AZ 85027 (623) 516-1522

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Spring broke on overhead door. Serviceman was on a mission to up-sale from the beginning. workmanship was poor. ***** had to come in and adjust door. June -23-2014 Ones spring broke on Garage door. Tenant could not open door. Serviceman was called and was on a mission to up-sale this repair from the beginning saying he was not allowed to repair this without putting on two new springs, brand new rollers and etc. Bill ended up being in the $ 500.00 range (original invoice is in the files of the home owner who is at a church in Texas for a few more months )for new springs and a new entire unit. Both springs and new arm had to be installed according to this service guy even tho only one spring was broken. Then new roller track guides for the door had to be added according to this guy or he could not warrenty it. We paid the bill under duress but paid it. a month ago I called the office and I think spoke to the owner of the company but they could not even find the work order or any information on the address and the service repairs. I was mad but let it go and now we had to call in A ***** repairman for help. He was quick and efficient and his bill was one half of what we anticipated. Everything was out of adjustment, spring tension, rollers, etc. After the ***** man was done it runs like a brand new door. The motor even sounds much quieter and smoother in its operation since it now does not have to work as hard.

Desired Settlement: I feel that not only was I over charged originally. But if the owners office could not find any paper work on the address and the service call when I tried to get a warranty call taken care of. That leads me to think that the service man may have just pocketed the money and did not even turn in the paper work. The office may not be unaware of the problem with his repair/sales person. I want A-Authentic to as the least pay me for the new Service call of $ 129.00 and my time to handle this pr

Business Response:  I spoke to the customer today and informed him that I agree and would send him a check for the $129.00 that he requested.

Thank You,

******* ******
A-Authentic Garage Door Service Company

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/16/13, I contacted A-Authentic Garage Door and explained that my garage door was stopping and not opening properly requiring several stops and starts to raise my door. I disclosed that I thought the springs were broke.On 12/17/13 at approximately 5:45pm, ******* the Technician stopped by. We entered my garage and I lowered and then raised the garage door - the motor worked perfectly.******* disconnected the cord and manually lowered and raised the door. He stated, "the springs are fine and the door is balanced. The problem is your motor - too small and too fast. You need a 3/4 hp motor." I responded that the 1/2hp motor had worked perfectly since 1993 and the current motor had worked perfectly too, since 2008.He offered to increase the motor force setting but discovered that the setting was already at max. He advised using silicon on the rollers and mentioned that I could reduce the noise by switching over to nylon rollers. He then requested payment of $65.00 for four minutes of jabbering.After he left, I contacted A-Authentic and complained that he had not performed any work in four minutes. He completed the invoice checking off that he had inspected the Springs, Rollers, Cables, Drums, Bearings, Gears, Header, Sections and Concrete without performing this work. I mentioned that a previous company, A-1, provided the lubricant and/or replacement of the rollers as part of the service call.The female receptionist responded we charge $65.00 regardless of any work. She stated, I will check the GPS for time at location and call the Tech and I will call you back. And, she stated, he offered to replace your motor.Today is 12/20/13. No return call. I was ripped off by this company and the Technician attempted to increase the fraud by selling a motor that was not needed.Thanks A-Authentic for your dishonest service in the State of Colorado.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund my $65.00

Business Response:  Mr. *******,

Let me start by saying if my company was the "rip off" company you describe then ******* would have sold you springs that you thought were broken but were not! The force on your motor is at "the max" and still won't lift your door ( that is balanced) so I would tend to believe you do have a motor issue. As for saying he "didn't preform work" That is a visual inspection done while lift the door manually, which you stated he did! You were told when you called that there was a $65.00 service call but you failed to mention that in your letter.

I will refund your money.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ***** *******

As stated, this company did not perform any work and did not call me back when I complained. I have received their refund and their negative response.  Thanks.

 

1/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I scheduled a service call from them because I got a coupon in the mail offering "Free service call with repair". I was not home when they came, but they charged my wife for both service call AND repair. When I contacted A-Authentic, an argumentative lady told me that the coupon only applies if repair involves parts replacement. That is not stated anywhere on the coupon, and I told her so, but she insisted that this was their policy. Clearly my garage door needed a repair, since I could not even close the door prior to their repairs.

Desired Settlement: Refund of service call charges.

Business Response:   To whom it may concern,

Mr. ********** called us out on 12/6/2013, There was no repair needed, Just lubrication and adjustments. Our coupon CLEARLY states "no service call WITH repair". I have been doing this for 15 years and value my customers but we did exactly what we were supposed to. Had he needed a repair the discount would have been given immediately!
 
Thank You,

******* ******
A-Authentic Garage Door Service Company

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Since my door would not even stay shut before the repair, clearly what you call an "adjustment" would be considered to be a repair. The argument presented by your representative was that it is your policy to call your work a "repair" only when I buy parts, but this policy is not mentioned on your coupon anywhere. If that is really your policy, you should clearly state so on your coupon. 

Regards,

**** **********

 

 

Business Response:

Hi Alexandria,
 
As a GOODWILL gesture I will refund Mr. ********* the $65.00.
 
Have a good day!
 
******* ******

12/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called the company about my garage door opener that didn't work. They gave me a price over the phone of $279.95 plus $50 per hour for labor. He asked me if I wanted an additional remote for an extra $37.95 which I agreed to. When he was installing the garage door opener, he said that he recommended good springs-that mine were not good. Mine were only a couple years old and the other garage door company that had come out several times before never said that I didn't have good springs. He asked me if I want him to adjust the springs for $100.00 and I said no that's too much money. But I somehow got the feeling that if he didn't adjust them, that the work wouldn't be under warranty, so I had him do it. Then when he handed me the bill to sign, he had added all these extra charges that I wasn't told about. The charges are as follows: "take down and haul away charge of $25.00" "lube the door & hinges for a charge of $19.95". I'm 80 years old and I feel like these guys took me to the cleaners. I found that I can get the same thing done with my regular company Sun City Garage Door Service for approximately $200.00 less. But this was a weekend and they weren't open and I hurt myself twice trying to lift the door open. My usual company is very reputable and I thought by the ads that this company had on the internet "licensed,bonded,insured" that they were too. By the way, he only adjusted one side of the springs and it took him about 4 minutes.

Desired Settlement: I believe I should get a refund of the 2 charges that I was never told about and another $50 refund for the spring adjustment. Please help me with this injustice. Thank you.

Business Response:   I will gladly refund the amount you requested but please understand that if you hurt yourself TWICE by trying to lift the door you did need springs! That is probably the reason your old opener failed and would also cause the new one to fail. I am sorry that you feel taken advantage of but I stand by the work suggested. As for my technician not telling you about additional charges, He should have gone over everything with you prior to completing the work and I will make sure he understands this! Thank you and have a great day!

Darrell Peruch
A-Authentic Garage Door Service Company

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ********


 

11/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 8/1/12 a serv. man came out and said the loud bang noise was from the side track where the wheels move. He said we only had one spring and the unit needed two to make a balanced pull on the track. Now a month later the loud bang is back. The tech said now it is coming from the trolley that it is wearing out and will soon break. It seems he should have checked that a month ago. I can't believe in one month that the trolley got so worn out it is causing a different loud bang noise when the door is opened and closed. I think he should fix the trolley, for the cost only of the trolley, because the labor should be included from the initial service call. Or maybe nothing was wrong with the springs that I paid $240 for. So the service man either put in a part I didn't need and or didn't take care of the problem causing the noise.

Desired Settlement: Either refund me the cost of the springs I didn't need or replace a new trolley for the cost of the trolley, which is $20

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.

The business has responded and I am very happy with them,

Thank you,

***** ****

 

 

11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable