BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central, Northern and Western Arizona

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers online electronics and accessories for your television.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Channel Master, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Channel Master, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Channel Master, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Channel Master, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 20, 2012 Business started: 11/30/2010 in DE Business started locally: 01/01/2012 Business incorporated: 11/30/2010 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Coty Youtsey, Managing Member Mr. Joe Bingochea, Director of Public Development Ms. Jodi Carroll, Office Manager Mr. Isaac Valenzuela, Sales and Marketing Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jodi Carroll, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Coty Youtsey, Managing Member
Related Businesses
PCT International, Inc.
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Electronic Power Supplies Television & Radio Parts - Retail Electronic Instruments Video Equipment - Supplies & Parts Home Electronics Cable & Wire Harness Assembly Electronic Testing Equipment Wire & Cable - Non-Electric Amplifiers Antennas


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Channel Master, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1715 W. Sunrise Blvd.

    Gilbert, AZ 85233 (877) 746-7261

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ******* *** and within a few months it was determined to be defective. It was replaced with a reconditioned unit which starting to have similar problems as the first unit. Many communications were made between Channel Master and me and even had this unit sent back to their service department for repairs. It took over 6 weeks to even get a response from them when my unit was in their service department. When I received it back, all of the same issues were still present. Even when I talked with the service advisor after receiving it back, there only response is to do a factory reset. That did not correct anything. During the discussion, the service advisor stated that they knew there were significant software problems with this model and a new one was in development. The company developing the software was not the same one that did the development for the ******* but the company that developed the software for the ******* of which I have one and have had no problems with it since I purchased it. I sent a letter to the President of the company and did not receive a written response. Rather Channel Master had the service advisor call me and state "sorry, the unit is out of warranty" and that message came from the President. Here is a company that knows they have a defective product on the market, string you along until you are out of warranty, and then say "sorry". I have requested a response in writing and have not received any communication from them. It has been over a month.

Desired Settlement: After spending the high cost for the original unit, time involved with phone calls and messages, shipping costs for the two units to go back and forth, and their inability to service the unit and make it a useful ***, I would like a full refund of the purchase price of the ******* or a replacement of the unit with their new model, ***+. Even with the new model, ***+, a person has to purchase a hard drive to record tv programs. The old ******* had a built in hard drive to record the programs and that is why the ******* was almost twice the price of the new ***+. I would hope that the newer ***+ software developed by a different company would work much better than that of the *******.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that Mr. **** is disappointed in our product.  We have offered to test Mr. ****'s unit in our lab.  If the unit functions properly in our lab, then the problems he is experiencing have to do with the customer's environment, which we do not have any control over.  If the unit is found to be defective, we will happily replace it.

Best Regards,

**** *******
Channel Master

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

**** ****


 The last response received from Channel Master was a personal phone discussion with the Service Representative, Mr. ****** *****, on either Jan 16th or 17th.  I called him to determine the quickest way to obtain a replacement unit while mine was in for service.  During this phone call, Mr. ***** stated that the offer to have me send in my unit was no longer available and that the response from the President of the company was, "the unit is out of warranty and there is nothing that Channel Master will do for me".  Channel Master needs to get their story straight because someone is not giving either you or me the correct response.

Dated Jan 17, 2014
 
******,
 
Obviously after our discussion today, I will not be sending my unit back.
 
I want Channel Master's response to my letter, the statements that you made, in writing from either you or preferable from the President since that is the recipient of my letter.  I would expect that response by COB today since it has been finalized.  The President can send the response via e-mail since you have my e-mail address.
 
I have NOT received any response after the phone call discussion.  Apparently they refuse to put their response in writing.
 
**** ****

 

Business Response:

We have offered to test the unit in our lab.  If the unit is defective we are happy to replace it.  If it is found to be working properly, we will return it to the customer.  This offer to resolve the complaint comes directly from our Vice President, and is still available to customer, should he wish to return the unit. 

 

Kind Regards,
 

**** *******, Office Manager

7/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 19th 2012 I purchased a Channel Master CM7400 online for $380 + $10 delivery costs. I received this device on December 24th and started using it after January 1st 2013. The devivce failed hard in April of 2013. After woring with their online and then telephone repair service department they requested that I send them the device. I did so at my costs of approximatwely $20. i have a confirmed receipt by the USPS. Channel master never contested hat they didn't receive the device but instead admitted that they lost the device. After an extended period of looking for the device they then told me that they had no new devices to send me - even thought it was still for sale on line, after offered me $200. I feel I am owed either a replacement device - new or newer model if that is all they have or a full refund. None of the probelm is due to anything I did.

Desired Settlement: Either a replacement device - new or newer model if that is all they have or a full refund

Business Response: We will be refunding the customer $380.00 - the amount paid for his original unit - by the end of the week.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I  consider this complaint resolved. Thank you for your help.

Regards,

**** ********


 

 

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received my ChannelMaster CM-4228-HD antenna and one piece, a wingnut type screw was missing. The remaining seven wingnuts screws were very loosely attached and it's not a surprise why one of them fell off either during shipping or during packaging. I asked customer service for a simple request of sending me a single wingnut screw. Besides ChannelMaster having a 90 day warranty and being such a simple request for a five cent part that I was surprised to see it refused. I sent multiple queries and the customer service acted like it was my problem, and they had no reason to help me. I don't see how a BBB accredited company can ignore such a simple request. I'm not sure I want to keep this antenna now. If this is how I can expect to be responded to as a customer of ChannelMaster, I don't want to risk having a real issue with the antenna knowing that they'll likely try the same tactics.

Desired Settlement: All I want is one wingnut type screw for the CM-4228-HD antenna. My mailing address is: ******* ****** *** ******** **** *** *** ***** ** *****

Business Response: We are shipping 4 sets of wing nuts to the customer today (1/28/13) - Tracking #1Z1***************.

11/2/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In less then 30 days the CM7400 DVR had a harddisk failure I contacted the company immediatly they kept telling to do resets and factory restore to defaults. It was trick because when the is no data on harddisk the unit worked fine. But when it starts to record data it has probelms I didn't find for a few weeks the problem was not they knew by the error messages. They put me off to let the 90 day warranty to run out. I have written many times and 1 person from the company called he said we know of the problems and are working on them they scammed me and then he hung up!

Desired Settlement: Replace unit because the disk error occured in the 1st 30 days with 90 day warranty but their support kept putting me off. The 1st ticket number I wrote of failure was number 4540 and now the numbers are to 23000. I looked on the web nothing but complaints something should be done about this company!

Business Response:

Please see correspondence below between customer, ****** ******; and our tech support representative, **** *****.  I believe that as of this morning, the matter has been resolved.
 
 
 
 
 
From: ***** ****** ******************************
Subject: ****** ******
Date: August 9, 2012 3:28:55 PM MST
To: ***** *********** ******************************
Reply-To: ******************************

<!--[if !supportLists]-->·                                 <!--[endif]-->**** and Channel Master TV 
I humbly ask for forgiveness as I let my anger get the best of me! I apolgize 
for any feelings that were hurt you are Good and Truthful people thank you. 
******
________________________________ 
From: Answer Center <*****************************> 
To: ****** ****** ********************** 
Sent: Wed, August 8, 2012 4:50:52 PM 
Subject: [<st1:place w:st="on"><st1:placename w:st="on">Answer <st1:placetype w:st="on">Center] Re: Fw: UPS Tracking Notification, Tracking Number 
****************** (ticket #*****)

August 09, 2012 08:01 am

User photo

<a style="cursor: pointer;" title="blocked::http://channelmaster.zendesk.com/users/95598903 Click here to view this user's profile." href="http://channelmaster.zendesk.com/users/95598903">Channel Master Tier 1 Technical Support 

Channel Master

<!--[if !supportLists]-->·                                 <!--[endif]-->Your unit is on its way

Shipped VIA: UPS 
Tracking number: ******************
Regards, 
**** ***** 
Tech Support Lead 
Channel Master 
www.channelmasterstore.com 
www.channelmastertv.com

August 08, 2012 04:50 pm

User photo

<a style="cursor: pointer;" title="blocked::http://channelmaster.zendesk.com/users/95598903 Click here to view this user's profile." href="http://channelmaster.zendesk.com/users/95598903">Channel Master Tier 1 Technical Support 

Channel Master

<!--[if !supportLists]-->·                                 <!--[endif]-->Ticket #***** "Fw: Request received: Fw: [Answe..." was closed and merged into this ticket. Last comment in ticket #*****:
What do you want to hear the DVR is in route to it should be there by 
tomorrow by end of day per UPS what else can I say UPS said they would notify 
recipient.

<!--[if !supportLists]-->·                     <!--[endif]-->

<!--[if !supportLists]-->o                                            <!--[endif]--><img id="_x0000_i1040" class="thumbnailed" title="blocked::http://channelmaster.zendesk.com/attachments/token/foqkyuywta4wwnh/?name=******_******_8-2-12.gif ******_******_8-2-12.gif (not public)" alt="******_******_8-2-12.gif" src="cid:image002.gif@01CD7643.B00B4F30" width="80" height="46" apple-width="yes" apple-height="yes" style="border-width: 0px; border-style: solid;" /> ******_******_8-2-12.gif (quick view)

August 08, 2012 04:49 pm


11/2/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this product online on August 23. Paid for it via paypal and have received two emails from CM asking about customer service. They show that I have not paid for it, but my paypal account confirms that I have paid for it. I have called them four times and have left multiple messages. They have not returned my call, and I am concerned that I am being scammed. I have never purchased something online to receive such terrible customer service. I want a refund of my money and an apology. Pathetic.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to call me, so I can get this resolved. Not asking too much I would say ...

Business Response:

Below is the delivery information regarding unit ordered:

***** ******
**** ******** ****** ********** ** ***** ****** ****** ************

Shipped 9/5 – UPS: ******************

Delivered On: Tuesday,  09/11/2012 at 11:50 and left on porch


Also - ***** ***** from Channel Master left a voicemail for ***** on September 21st to find out if he has been taken care of.  As of today (September 28th), we have received no response from ***** ******.

10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/17/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a channel master 7000PAL DVR on 4/26/2011 from walmart.com. In October-November the DOVR became unresponsive and unusable. I emailed Channel Master on 11/11/2011. Mr. **** ******* was very quick in sending me a warranty replacement. In February 2012 the replacement DVR starts having the same problems. On 3/5/2012 I email Channel Master about the issues. On 3/18/2012 Mr. **** ***** sends me a warranty replacement form to fill out. I email the filled out form on 3/19/2012. Two weeks go buy then Mr. ***** emails me a label to return my DVR. 4/3/2012 I mail the DVR to Channel Master. 4/23/2012 I email Mr. ***** and inquire about my DVR. 4/25/2012 Mr. ***** emails me and says he will look into it, this is the last time I have heard from Mr. *****. I emailed him 3 times from 4/25 to 5/1, no response. I don't find it acceptable that a company would get me to send them their broken product and then not send me a replacement, refund, or even return my emails.

Desired Settlement: I started off wanting a replacement, but due to the horrible customer service, I think a refund would be better. The product only worked around 6 months and the replacement worked even less. I'm afraid if I were to get a replacement it would stop working in a few months and I would be back to dealing with getting that one replaced. I would be happy with a refund of half of the paid value $300, so $150. I would accept a replacement only if it comes with another year warranty.

Business Response: Thank you for the heads regarding the claim from **** ****. This was an internal issue on our side where our system did not properly reference the receipt of his defective unit for which he was expecting a replacement. After looking int the issue manually we were able to confirm the receipt and have since shipped a replacement unit out to Mr. ****.

UPS Tracking: ******************

I've relayed this info to Mr. **** and have asked him to contact me directly with any issues - Please confirm with him that he is satisifed and contact us if any more info is needed.

Thank you again for your time and attention.


Best regards,

***** ***** ************ ************************


5/2/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to get a warranty replacement for their cm7001 tuner since Mar 9 2012. It suddenly quit working. their phone cuts you off without connecting to anyone. I received several responses to my e-mails and all they will say is " we do not have any available, when we receive some we will contact you". I think they are a dishonest company and are not interested in taking care of their customers. Any help you can give me would be appreciated.Regards,***

Desired Settlement: Either refund my purchase price or repair the failed unit

Business Response:

We  send the Replacement cm7001 tuner to the customer  soory for the delayed response

 

 

thankyou

***** ******