Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers online electronics and accessories for your television.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Channel Master, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Channel Master, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Channel Master, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 2012 Business started: 11/30/2010 in DE Business started locally: 01/01/2012 Business incorporated 11/30/2010 in DE
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Coty Youtsey, Managing Member Mr. Joe Bingochea, Director of Public Development Ms. Jodi Carroll, Office Manager Mr. Isaac Valenzuela, Sales and Marketing Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jodi Carroll, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Coty Youtsey, Managing Member
Related Businesses
PCT International, Inc.
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers Electronic Power Supplies Television & Radio Parts - Retail Electronic Instruments Video Equipment - Supplies & Parts Home Electronics Cable & Wire Harness Assembly Electronic Testing Equipment Wire & Cable - Non-Electric Amplifiers Antennas


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Channel Master, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2065 W Obispo Ave Ste 103

    Gilbert, AZ 85233

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a Channel Master DVR unit and after 10 months the unit started having issues. I contacted the Support Department and was advised on several ways to try to correct the issue. This was done several different times and the issue was not resolved. I contact the Support Department again and was advised to return the unit to Channel Master for repairs and/or exchange. I followed the return instructions provided by Channel Master...obtained a RA number. I shipped the unit back and had to contact Channel Master 10 days after shipping to confirm that they did receive the unit. I was advised at that time the unit was being tested for the issue. After 10 more days, I contacted Channel Master again via e-mail and was advised the unit was still being tested. I called and a customer service rep stated that he was aware of this same issue being found in other units but did not know how the company was going to handle my unit. I was advised I would hear from the company shortly about a resolution. After another week and no word, I tried contacting Channel Master again via e-mail and phone and still do not have an answer whether unit has been repaired or will be replaced. Since the unit is only under warranty until approximately mid-April, timing is crucial to have this resolved. Channel Master has had the unit for 4 weeks which should be sufficient time to resolve the issue or replace the unit.

Desired Settlement: Since Channel Master has had the unit for such a lengthy time, a replacement unit should be provided as soon as possible.

Business Response: The following response has been emailed to the customer:

Hi ***** and *****

First off, Than You so much for your patience and assistance in this!!

We've been unable to reproduce this issue in the lab.

We are wondering if you would be willing to help us a little further. After discussing in depth with the design engineers, we cannot rule out the hard drive as contributing to this issue.

I'd like to send you a hard drive along with your DVR+, and see if this still occurs. I'd send one of my 1BT Seagate’s from the lab that I have never had any issues with. I tested your unit with this drive.

If you are willing to give it another try, it may help to solve this once and for all.

We need a system that routinely fails/locks up, like yours. (Mine does it every 1-3 months.)

What I'd ask you to try is, reconnect everything as normal, including your Seagate 1TB drive.

Start using it and see if you can make it malfunction.

Once it fails, please check your TV. Even though the screen is blank, I think the DVR+ may still be putting out a signal. On your TV remote, push "Info", or "display" and then you should be able to see the resolution displayed. e.g. 1080p, 720p, 480p etc. Please make note of this.

Do a power cycle to regain operation, and see how long it takes to lock up again.

Do a power cycle one more time and note how long it takes to happen the third time.

This time, perform a factory reset. Go back to playing it as normal and see how long it takes to lock up again.

Perform a factory reset again and see how long it takes to happen again.

This time, remove/disconnect your external drive, then perform a factory reset.

Once it has finished and you are back to live TV, connect my test Seagate drive. Then let me know if it continues to lock up while using my test Seagate Drive.

I know that this is a lot to ask of you...

If this is just too much, I'd certainly understand.

We can process a refund for you if you've had enough.

Please let me know and whatever you decide, I'll get it rolling tomorrow.

Thanks so much for your patience and assistance!!!!

***
Kind regards

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

That response was addressed to ***** & *****. My name is ******. Also the response to ***** and ***** is similar to the response I received from channel master. Some how the standard response is we don't find anything wrong. The problem is your storage unit or your TV. I am rejecting this because it is not addressed to me.

Regards,
****** *******

Business Response: Mr. *******,

I apologize.  The response sent previously was an error on my part.  I have looked at your ticket in Channel Master Support, and a replacement DVR was shipped out last week.  I have asked Tom Erickson to send the tracking information for that shipment to you through the Support Ticket.  

Kind Regards,
**** *******

11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: New DVR+ with Wi-Fi adapter. Bottom line, the Wi-Fi does not do what it supposed to. Many emails and little help later, it still does not work and customer service does not respond.

Desired Settlement: Someone to contact me and actually assist resolving the problem to conclusion. That would save us both time and improve my attitude.

Business Response:

*** ******** was contacted today (10/31/14) by someone in our Technical Support department.  His issues have been resolved to his satisfaction.

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought this CM **** *** on 08/15/2012, and its hard disk is already non functional, remote is working intermittently. I am very dissatisfied with this product and I would like my money back. I paid 361.78 $ for it, and its nothing more than a paper weight now. It didnt even last for two full years

Desired Settlement: I want my money refunded in cash, I am willing to ship it back if that helps

Business Response: The CM-**** *** is covered by a one year warranty.  Mr. **** ******** purchased his unit 8/15/2012.  At this point the product has been out of warranty for well over a year. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ********

 

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ******* *** and within a few months it was determined to be defective. It was replaced with a reconditioned unit which starting to have similar problems as the first unit. Many communications were made between Channel Master and me and even had this unit sent back to their service department for repairs. It took over 6 weeks to even get a response from them when my unit was in their service department. When I received it back, all of the same issues were still present. Even when I talked with the service advisor after receiving it back, there only response is to do a factory reset. That did not correct anything. During the discussion, the service advisor stated that they knew there were significant software problems with this model and a new one was in development. The company developing the software was not the same one that did the development for the ******* but the company that developed the software for the ******* of which I have one and have had no problems with it since I purchased it. I sent a letter to the President of the company and did not receive a written response. Rather Channel Master had the service advisor call me and state "sorry, the unit is out of warranty" and that message came from the President. Here is a company that knows they have a defective product on the market, string you along until you are out of warranty, and then say "sorry". I have requested a response in writing and have not received any communication from them. It has been over a month.

Desired Settlement: After spending the high cost for the original unit, time involved with phone calls and messages, shipping costs for the two units to go back and forth, and their inability to service the unit and make it a useful ***, I would like a full refund of the purchase price of the ******* or a replacement of the unit with their new model, ***+. Even with the new model, ***+, a person has to purchase a hard drive to record tv programs. The old ******* had a built in hard drive to record the programs and that is why the ******* was almost twice the price of the new ***+. I would hope that the newer ***+ software developed by a different company would work much better than that of the *******.

Business Response: We are sorry to hear that Mr. **** is disappointed in our product.  We have offered to test Mr. ****'s unit in our lab.  If the unit functions properly in our lab, then the problems he is experiencing have to do with the customer's environment, which we do not have any control over.  If the unit is found to be defective, we will happily replace it.

Best Regards,

**** *******
Channel Master

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

**** ****


 The last response received from Channel Master was a personal phone discussion with the Service Representative, Mr. ****** *****, on either Jan 16th or 17th.  I called him to determine the quickest way to obtain a replacement unit while mine was in for service.  During this phone call, Mr. ***** stated that the offer to have me send in my unit was no longer available and that the response from the President of the company was, "the unit is out of warranty and there is nothing that Channel Master will do for me".  Channel Master needs to get their story straight because someone is not giving either you or me the correct response.

Dated Jan 17, 2014
 
******,
 
Obviously after our discussion today, I will not be sending my unit back.
 
I want Channel Master's response to my letter, the statements that you made, in writing from either you or preferable from the President since that is the recipient of my letter.  I would expect that response by COB today since it has been finalized.  The President can send the response via e-mail since you have my e-mail address.
 
I have NOT received any response after the phone call discussion.  Apparently they refuse to put their response in writing.
 
**** ****

 

Business Response:

We have offered to test the unit in our lab.  If the unit is defective we are happy to replace it.  If it is found to be working properly, we will return it to the customer.  This offer to resolve the complaint comes directly from our Vice President, and is still available to customer, should he wish to return the unit. 

 

Kind Regards,
 

**** *******, Office Manager

7/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On December 19th 2012 I purchased a Channel Master CM7400 online for $380 + $10 delivery costs. I received this device on December 24th and started using it after January 1st 2013. The devivce failed hard in April of 2013. After woring with their online and then telephone repair service department they requested that I send them the device. I did so at my costs of approximatwely $20. i have a confirmed receipt by the USPS. Channel master never contested hat they didn't receive the device but instead admitted that they lost the device. After an extended period of looking for the device they then told me that they had no new devices to send me - even thought it was still for sale on line, after offered me $200. I feel I am owed either a replacement device - new or newer model if that is all they have or a full refund. None of the probelm is due to anything I did.

Desired Settlement: Either a replacement device - new or newer model if that is all they have or a full refund

Business Response: We will be refunding the customer $380.00 - the amount paid for his original unit - by the end of the week.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I  consider this complaint resolved. Thank you for your help.

Regards,

**** ********


 

 

6/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received my ChannelMaster CM-4228-HD antenna and one piece, a wingnut type screw was missing. The remaining seven wingnuts screws were very loosely attached and it's not a surprise why one of them fell off either during shipping or during packaging. I asked customer service for a simple request of sending me a single wingnut screw. Besides ChannelMaster having a 90 day warranty and being such a simple request for a five cent part that I was surprised to see it refused. I sent multiple queries and the customer service acted like it was my problem, and they had no reason to help me. I don't see how a BBB accredited company can ignore such a simple request. I'm not sure I want to keep this antenna now. If this is how I can expect to be responded to as a customer of ChannelMaster, I don't want to risk having a real issue with the antenna knowing that they'll likely try the same tactics.

Desired Settlement: All I want is one wingnut type screw for the CM-4228-HD antenna. My mailing address is: ******* ****** *** ******** **** *** *** ***** ** *****

Business Response: We are shipping 4 sets of wing nuts to the customer today (1/28/13) - Tracking #1Z1***************.

11/2/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In less then 30 days the CM7400 DVR had a harddisk failure I contacted the company immediatly they kept telling to do resets and factory restore to defaults. It was trick because when the is no data on harddisk the unit worked fine. But when it starts to record data it has probelms I didn't find for a few weeks the problem was not they knew by the error messages. They put me off to let the 90 day warranty to run out. I have written many times and 1 person from the company called he said we know of the problems and are working on them they scammed me and then he hung up!

Desired Settlement: Replace unit because the disk error occured in the 1st 30 days with 90 day warranty but their support kept putting me off. The 1st ticket number I wrote of failure was number 4540 and now the numbers are to 23000. I looked on the web nothing but complaints something should be done about this company!

Business Response:

Please see correspondence below between customer, ****** ******; and our tech support representative, **** *****.  I believe that as of this morning, the matter has been resolved.
 
 
 
 
 
From: ***** ****** ******************************
Subject: ****** ******
Date: August 9, 2012 3:28:55 PM MST
To: ***** *********** ******************************
Reply-To: ******************************

<!--[if !supportLists]-->·                                 <!--[endif]-->**** and Channel Master TV 
I humbly ask for forgiveness as I let my anger get the best of me! I apolgize 
for any feelings that were hurt you are Good and Truthful people thank you. 
******
________________________________ 
From: Answer Center <*****************************> 
To: ****** ****** ********************** 
Sent: Wed, August 8, 2012 4:50:52 PM 
Subject: [<st1:place w:st="on"><st1:placename w:st="on">Answer <st1:placetype w:st="on">Center] Re: Fw: UPS Tracking Notification, Tracking Number 
****************** (ticket #*****)

August 09, 2012 08:01 am

User photo

<a style="cursor: pointer;" title="blocked::http://channelmaster.zendesk.com/users/95598903 Click here to view this user's profile." href="http://channelmaster.zendesk.com/users/95598903">Channel Master Tier 1 Technical Support 

Channel Master

<!--[if !supportLists]-->·                                 <!--[endif]-->Your unit is on its way

Shipped VIA: UPS 
Tracking number: ******************
Regards, 
**** ***** 
Tech Support Lead 
Channel Master 
www.channelmasterstore.com 
www.channelmastertv.com

August 08, 2012 04:50 pm

User photo

<a style="cursor: pointer;" title="blocked::http://channelmaster.zendesk.com/users/95598903 Click here to view this user's profile." href="http://channelmaster.zendesk.com/users/95598903">Channel Master Tier 1 Technical Support 

Channel Master

<!--[if !supportLists]-->·                                 <!--[endif]-->Ticket #***** "Fw: Request received: Fw: [Answe..." was closed and merged into this ticket. Last comment in ticket #*****:
What do you want to hear the DVR is in route to it should be there by 
tomorrow by end of day per UPS what else can I say UPS said they would notify 
recipient.

<!--[if !supportLists]-->·                     <!--[endif]-->

<!--[if !supportLists]-->o                                            <!--[endif]--><img id="_x0000_i1040" class="thumbnailed" title="blocked::http://channelmaster.zendesk.com/attachments/token/foqkyuywta4wwnh/?name=******_******_8-2-12.gif ******_******_8-2-12.gif (not public)" alt="******_******_8-2-12.gif" src="cid:image002.gif@01CD7643.B00B4F30" width="80" height="46" apple-width="yes" apple-height="yes" style="border-width: 0px; border-style: solid;" /> ******_******_8-2-12.gif (quick view)

August 08, 2012 04:49 pm


11/2/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased this product online on August 23. Paid for it via paypal and have received two emails from CM asking about customer service. They show that I have not paid for it, but my paypal account confirms that I have paid for it. I have called them four times and have left multiple messages. They have not returned my call, and I am concerned that I am being scammed. I have never purchased something online to receive such terrible customer service. I want a refund of my money and an apology. Pathetic.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to call me, so I can get this resolved. Not asking too much I would say ...

Business Response:

Below is the delivery information regarding unit ordered:

***** ******
**** ******** ****** ********** ** ***** ****** ****** ************

Shipped 9/5 – UPS: ******************

Delivered On: Tuesday,  09/11/2012 at 11:50 and left on porch


Also - ***** ***** from Channel Master left a voicemail for ***** on September 21st to find out if he has been taken care of.  As of today (September 28th), we have received no response from ***** ******.

10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable