Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Briggs Family and Cosmetic Dentistry

Phone: (480) 948-7670 Fax: (480) 991-7168 6920 E Shea Blvd #201, Scottsdale, AZ 85254 http://www.briggsfamilydentistry.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This dental practice offers cosmetic and restorative dentistry services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Briggs Family and Cosmetic Dentistry include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Briggs Family and Cosmetic Dentistry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 30, 2009 Business started: 10/01/1973 in AZ Business incorporated 11/01/1977 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Board of Dental Examiners
4205 N. 7th Avenue, Ste. 300, Phoenix AZ 85013
http://www.azdentalboard.org
Phone Number: (602) 242-1492
Fax Number: (602) 242-1445
information@azdentalboard.us

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Dr. Bradley A. Briggs, DDS Ms. Janet Briggs, Co-Owner Dr. Roger A. Briggs, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Bradley A. Briggs, DDS
Principal: Ms. Janet Briggs, Co-Owner
Principal: Dr. Roger A. Briggs, President
Business Category

Dentists Dentistry - Cosmetic


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6920 E Shea Blvd #201

    Scottsdale, AZ 85254 (480) 948-7670

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business first said procedure was covered under insurance, then after work was finished, said was not covered, then sent bill for full price after agreeing to a discounted price. Then, said they didn't receive insurance card until after work was completed. Then, said would send to health insurance and would send proof of submission but did insurance said no submission and I receive no proof.

Desired Settlement: resolve dispute

Business Response:

Roger A. Briggs, DOS, Ltd. Bradley A. Briggs, DDS

February 1,2016

RE: TO #********

********* ** *** called our office to make an appointment with us on 7-16-15. At that time, we gathered some personal information, and were told she did not have insurance info. She informed us that she was driving, and would call back with the info. See Exhibit A, attached, We then wrote an extensive note in our schedule on that same date. We scheduled her for a New patient consultation on July 17th at 9:20 am.

Stephanie came in for her appointment on July 17,h, and provided us with BCBSAZ as her Insurance info, and did not even put in the insured birthdale. As you can see from Exhibit B attached, it was our staffs handwriting that changed it to Delta, and with an insured birthdatc. Stephanie's own handwriting shows mis-information. Stephanie came in the office in pain, and we informed her that we would take a $50.00 payment as that was a typical deductible, we would let insurance close, and balance bill her. She agreed, and a filling was placed to relieve her from pain.

After the fact, we were given the Delta information, it was faxed to us after the appointment.

On 7-28-15, we sent an invoice to the patient, as the services were not covered by her dental insurance. Unfortunately, wc can not be responsible for the patients' treatment when we are not provided with the correct information.

Statements were sent to the patient on 7-28-15, 8-6-15, 8-31-15, and 10-2-15. On 10-8-15, we informed the patient that if the balance was not paid, it would be turned over for collections. Another statement was sent to the patient on 11/12/15. Wc had no response, and turned it over to Transworld, the company that does our collections.

Our office spoke with **** ********, her husband, and told him as a courtesy, we would try to put the exam and x-ray through Medical insurance. See attached Invoice dated 11/23/15, showing Credit adjustment of $107.00, as it was being billed to Medical Insurance claim. Exhibit C Attached. We had asked Mr. Campbell to pay the $160.40 upon receipt, and we would wait on the $107.00 to see if Medical Insurance would cover it.

Medical and Dental Insurance were billed on the patients behalf, both explaination of benefit attached. Exhibit D and H. Both of these go to our practice and to the patient. Both state "not a covered service." It is clear that the balance is the patients responsibility.

The patient claims in the complaint that neither was it submitted, but that he also received no proof of submission. The insurance company sends every patient the BOB, as well as we sent him a certified copy, which was signed for on 1-26-16. Exhibit F Attached. There is no valid reason for this complaint.

The patient called and stated she was on disability, they were in financial difficulily, and could we simply write off the balance. We did the service per the patient request to get her out of pain, and they are making claims against our company that are simply not valid. The patient has paid the bill to stay out of collections, and we felt it settled at that point.

Please clear our company of any wrongdoing in this matter.

Sincerely,

***** ******

 

Consumer Response:  1. My wife did not go in pain but needed to fix a delayed procedure and decided to try Briggs as we were searching for a new dentist for our family.

2.  Briggs was provided insurance before appointment and was told by the front desk the procedure was covered.
3.  Briggs never called BCBS insurance to file a claim as BCBS reported that no claim was ever submitted.
4.  Briggs never asked Mr. ******** to pay the $160.40 and wait for the rest, Briggs demanded full $267 be paid up front and would have to contact BCBS for the balance.  When Mr. ******** called BCBS, they claimed no submission was made.
5.  The certified signature in the attachment is for the receipt sent from Briggs after final payment of $267 to Briggs, not the insurance company, as stated in the letter.   In this letter Briggs promised to email and mail a copy of the receipt and insurance submission.  Briggs never emailed anything and in the letter only provided receipt, not insurance submission.

This mishap would have gone away quickly with general niceties and a good "bedside manor", but Briggs denied any wrongdoing from the beginning and returned with smears and story changes each turn of event.   Then, respond with new facts to the story, as per their attachments.   Very disappointing
****

9/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were quoted a specific amount for a surgical dental procedure. We re-confirmed the amount prior to moving forward to ensure that all costs were correct and that the out of pocket expenses were accurate after their billing department had spoken to our insurance company. The procedure was complete and we paid for all out of pocket expenses prior to leaving the office. A few weeks later we received a random bill from them for over 400.00. After inquiring and explaining what we were quoted, the billing specialist stated that she would look into it and follow-up with us. This never happened, so we assumed it had been corrected. After a few more months we received a statement showing a past due balance, again we called the office and spoke to the billing specialist who this time tried to explain that insurance only covered a specific amount and that the amount that they quoted at the time of surgery was incorrect. I stated that we were not going to pay it because we already paid the amount that we were told was due at time of surgery and that was the amount we agreed to. She again stated that she would investigate and call us back. the call never came but again a past due statement arrived. I called the office and asked to speak to the office manager, was told that she was not available but that ********* would investigate and call me back. She follow-up with me a few days later to advise that after researching it that we owed the money and that the first amount was wrong. I finally gave up and paid the amount to ensure that our stellar credit rating as not tarnished. Advised that I could not believe that Dr. ****** did business this way. She took the payment and said she understood that we would no longer be using them. This is absolutely bait and switch and they feel that they can get away with this. The amount was agreed to prior to the surgery and should not be able to be changed after the fact, even if they made a billing error that showed the incorrect amount to be paid from the insurance company. That was there mistake and not minem

Desired Settlement: I should not be responsible for the erroneous 400+ dollars.

Business Response: In response to Mr. ********** complaint regarding our billing practices.
 
We strive to give our patients excellent customer service in all aspects of their care.
 
On 10/08/2013 we presented the patient with a proposed treatment plan for a total of four procedures totaling $2810.00.  The patient signed the treatment plan which very clearly states, “Insurance coverage is only an estimation.  Guarantor is responsible for all treatment not covered by the insurance.”  As a courtesy we verified the patient’s insurance benefits and eligibility.  The patient paid $2054.80 at the date of service. Delta paid $225.00 towards the total on 11/06/2013.  We are contracted as Delta Premeir providers and as such we wrote off a total of $116.00.  This leaves a balance of $414.20 which was the patient’s responsibility as per the proposed treatment plan.   
 
We do our best to ensure that our patients understand the services we provide as well as the fees we charge.  No medical practices are ever able to guarantee what third party contracts are going to pay.   Insurance companies themselves will not do so.  On any pre determination of benefits there is always a disclaimer that there is no guarantee of payment.   This is what Mr. ********** insurance company did in this instance. 
 
Mr. and Mrs. ******** called our office three times to discuss their bill.  Each time they were told of their financial responsibility.  They were sent seven statements by mail.  On 07/31/14 Mr. ******** paid the outstanding balance and reported they would not be returning to the practice.  We respect his decision regarding his care.
 
 
********* ******
****** Family Dentistry


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Briggs Family and Cosmetic Dentistry
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)