Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Truwest Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (480) 441-5900 View Additional Phone Numbers 1667 N. Priest Drive, Tempe, AZ 85281 http://www.truwest.org View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a full service financial institution.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Truwest Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Truwest Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Truwest Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 14, 1997 Business started: 08/01/1952 Business started locally: 08/01/1952 Business incorporated 08/12/1952 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N. 44th Street, Suite 310, Phoenix AZ 85018
http://www.azdfi.gov
Phone Number: 602-771-2800
Fax Number: 602-381-1225
consumeraffairs@azdfi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Daniel F. Desmond, President/CEO Mr. Ian Schulder, VP of Risk Management
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel F. Desmond, President/CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Ian Schulder, VP of Risk Management
Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Planning Consultants Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Mortgage Brokers Credit Cards & Plans

Alternate Business Names
Mecu-West Truwest
Industry Tips
Reverse Mortgage: What to Know

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Truwest Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1667 N. Priest Drive

    Tempe, AZ 85281

  • P.O. Box 3489

    Scottsdale, AZ 85271

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The truck I bought with financing through TruWest Credit Union did not have the right coverage from my Insurance company. Mind you it had full coverage insurance just missing one piece which was a simple mistake on the part of my insurance company. TruWest sent me a letter saying they wanted me to fax them proof of insurance. I misplaced the first letter (Busy with a full time job, part time college, wife two kids)so the next month they sent me another letter. I faxed them the proof of insurance I had and was told everything was taken care of when they called me. The next month I get the letter again so I called my insurance to have them talk directly with TruWest to get this problem resolved. I stayed on the line until my insurance and TruWest were satisfied that the problem was corrected. The next month I get a statement for my truck and $6000.00 had been added to the amount and my payment went from $520.00 to over $1000.00 a month. I call TruWest and they tell me the $6000.00 was added to the loan because I had a lapse in insurance of 157 days, yes 157 days= $6000.00 of past insurance, not future insurance. My insurance company got them to come down on the amount to $3800 for 157 days of past insurance all the while I am being told that the amount is going back to our original deal and my payments would return to normal. Today, 8 months later I find out that none of this is true and I still owe the $3800.00 and have to pay $840.00 dollars a month on my $520.00 budget for the next year to pay it or loose the truck. According to Amber who I just spoke to they would rather repo the truck then take the fee off. Nice doing business with you TruWest.

Desired Settlement: Take of the $3800.00 and return my payments back to the amount agreed upon.

Business Response: The borrower did not have full insurance coverage, missing one piece.  The borrower had only comprehensive coverage and did not place collision coverage until March 2014.  The borrower claims his insurance agent erred and we advised that a simple letter from the agent verifying that would suffice.  The borrower refused to obtain the letter.  We contacted the borrower's insurance agent directly and verified that the collision coverage was not placed until March 22, 2014.  Therefore, the borrowers insurance coverage was lapsed from September 28, 2013 through March 22, 2014. 

Pursuant to our loan agreement, which the borrower agreed to (the agreement entails more than just the payment amount), the borrower must maintain insurance that covers the vehicle.  Since the coverage lapsed, we placed insurance to cover the vehicle, again pursuant to our loan agreement.  The borrower must pay for that insurance.

Sincerely,


*** ********
VP, Risk management

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

TruWest credit union must not realize that comprehensive coverage is insurance, because I sure was paying for it every month. Not having Collision was a mistake by my insurance company. I did not tell them to leave it off so obviously it was a mistake on their part. I did not refuse to obtain a letter, my insurance will not put it in writing. TruWest did not initially make contact with my insurance, I put my insurance in contact with them. This was done after months of letters being sent to me by TruWest credit union and me calling TruWest credit union to find out what the problem was. When I spoke with the employees of TruWest on the phone after receiving the letter to contact them they told me to fax proof of insurance, which I did and continued to receive letters. After receiving another letter I would call TruWest credit union and they would tell me to fax proof of insurance. When I told them I did they told me to disregard the letter the problem was fixed then. Then I would receive another letter the following month. After three months of this "I" called my insurance agent to have her call TruWest credit union to try and figure out what the problem with the insurance was. The next month statement is when the $6000.00 was added to my loan and my monthly payment doubled to over $1000.00 a month. At this point I feel TruWest credit union saw an opportunity to make more money off of me and the reason I sent in this complaint. TruWest calls this fee "Insurance" but when I spoke to Amber and asked since I had already been charged insurance, could I drop the insurance with my company to offset the added amount, she said no I would be charged another $6000.00. This does not sound like insurance but a loophole for profit or punishment. All of this could have been fixed early on if TreWest credit union employees had been able to tell me exactly what the problem was. I would also like to ask how is it that I pay $1200.00 a year for Collision and Comprehensive insurance on this truck now, but you charged me $1000.00 a month for Collision? also what kind of "Insurance" covers a period of time that has already passed. As stated earlier the reason for this complaint is I feel that TruWest credit union is ripping me off and I will not be satisfied until the rest of the money $3800.00 is taken off of my account and my payment returned to what we had agreed upon when I bought the truck.  I was making all of my payment as agreed upon and feel like I have done nothing wrong to be treated like this.
Regards,

***** **********

Business Response: The borrower refuses to understand that he did not have full insurance - comprehensive does not protect the car.  He also refuses to accept any responsibility for this, repeatedly blaming his agent.  We have had instances where an agent makes a mistake and they acknowledge the mistake.  In this case, the agent has refuese to do so, which indicates the mistake was the borrowers.  The insurance lapsed, we were forced to provide coverage.  The borrower, per his contract, must pay for that coverage.

9/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This credit union opened a debit and credit card for me without me signing the application. Because I said I was interested in learning more the credit union assumed I wanted to apply without my signature.

Desired Settlement: Compensation for pulling my credit without my authorization, also compensation for the time I had to wait in the credit union to close the accounts I never opened.

Business Response:

On August 24, 2013 (Saturday) at 12:45, Mr.  ***** came to a branch.  He was referred by his wife, seeking to recieve $50 for a refer a friend campaign.  Unfortunately, during the application process, Mr. ***** failed one of the regualtory required screening tests, in this case, an OFAC review and was referred to another department for approval.  Mr. ***** was told we could not open the account and would need to get an approval on Monday to proceed in opening his account and applying for his Visa
card (which they discussed).   Mr. ***** was further advised that if she gets the approval she will have everything ready for him to come in and sign the application and make the initial deposit on Monday. Mr. ***** provided all personal information for his Visa application. Mr. ***** said he would come in and sign the application on Monday after his first day on a new job.

Once the account was approved, we left several messages for Mr. ***** but he never responded.  Eventually, we closed out the account because Mr. ***** never returned our phone calls. 

Based on the above, we had a permissible business purpose to pull Mr. *****'s credit report. 

Sincerely,



*** ********
VP, Risk Management

8/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Truwest Credit union regularly reports negative credit information on my name that is wrong. They continued to report negative information on my accounts that are closed. My repeated request to remove the inaccurate information from my credit report have been rebuffed.

Desired Settlement: Report accurate credit information under my name according to the law. That is to accurately report the accounts' closed dates and to stop adding new information to closed accounts.

Business Response: Mr. **** and his then wife jointly opened a TruWest Credit card.  The credit card agreement states that all borrowers are jointly and severally liable for any balance.  The ****s divorced and the divorce agreement states that Mr. ****'s now ex-wife is liable for the remaining credit card balance.  As we have explained to Mr. ****, that agreement is between himself and his ex-wife.  TruWest is not a party to that agreement and is not bound by that agreement.  Mr. **** remains contractually liable for the balance and TruWest is reporting this.  In fact, TruWest would be violating the Fair Credit Reporting Act if we did not report this information.

Mr. ****'s option to clear his credit report is to pay the remaining balance and pursue his ex-wife for the money under their divorce agreement.

Sincerely,

*** ********
VP, Risk Management

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


Truwest, myself and Trang Le entered into a settlement agreed on December 1, 2011 on the outstanding credit loan amount.  This agreement was recorded by the Superior Court of Arizona.  The agreement, attached to this message, states the following:
  - Truwest accepts less than full amount of the loan and forgive the remaining balance
  - Truwest will report the the credit bureaus within 30 days of satisfaction of the agreement
       (full payment of the agreed amount) that the loan is closed and settled 
  - Our end of the agreement was fulfilled on January 3, 2012 and the fact was recorded on February 2, 2012
       (see the attachment)

Truwest did not fulfill its end of the agreement by reporting to the credit bureau as agreed.  Now it choose to ignore that legal agreement by asking for the remaining amount of the loan not covered in the settlement amount in order to stop reporting new negative information on this loan.  

The bottom line is: the credit line account is closed and settled for less than full amount, and Truwest continued trying to collect the money it agreed to forgive/write off by continue to report negative information.  Truwest's bully collection tactic is illegal.  Not everyone who is a target of Truwest collection have the understanding and resource to push back at their illegal behavior.  The public will be best served by having this kind of complaint against Truwest made public.   

Regards,

**** ****


 

 

Business Response:

My apologies.  Rather embarrassingly, the previously provided answer applied to a different borrower. 

 

Mr. **** is correct.  TruWest has not been correctly reporting his settlement.  We have repeatedly tried and failed to correct the error. We believe we have finally corrected the reporting error and have contacted the three credit bureaus to confirm that the accounts are reporting correctly. 

 

We apologize for the error and inconvenience.

 

Sincerely,

 

*** ********

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ****


 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

My initial complaint was filed on 3/16/2013 and Truwest agreed to resolve the issue on 5/3/2013. The BBB case number was: *******. The complaint is about inaccurate credit reporting stemming from my loans with Truwest. After waiting for my credit information to update, I found that only one of the two accounts Truwest had agreed to report accurately were reported accurately. The home loan account reported the foreclosure date of November 2012 when the actual date is May 2011.

Stop reporting credit information on my home loan account after the foreclosure date of May 2011.

Regards,

**** ****

 

 

11/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried several times to make an over the phone payment and was turned down. It has caused me on several occasions to be charged a late fee. I have also been talked to with disrespect on several occasions by the collection department when I had to speak with them because of being turned down to make a regular payment over the phone. If there is a representative available to speak with and look up my account, they should be able to take a payment. Also, every time I call from my cell phone, Tru West's automated system hangs up on me. I have to call from a friends number every time. Over several years I have had numerous late fees due to this issue and been talked to with disrespect from the collection department several times, including managers!!!I only want to make a payment and there are very limited option in order to do so. There is no online option if you do not have a checking account with Tru West. If I am calling to make a payment they should allow me to make one.

Desired Settlement: 20.00$and an apology.

Business Response:

Mr. ****,

After review of your account, we found that there has not been any communication from TruWest Credit Union to you per your request made on July 18,2011. All communications regarding your account have originated from you to TruWest Credit Union, for the purpose of making your monthly payment via our phone payment option, with the most recent call from you taking place on October 16,2012.

Your payment history reflects that you make your payments well after the contractual due date, as well as after the 10 day late charge period. In fact your payments are made between the 11th and  23rd of each month. Based on this we will not waive any fees on this account.

 

If you would like to avoid fees in the future, we suggest you make your payments no later than your contractual due date, which is the 1st of each month.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

*** ********

VP, Risk Management

11/2/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have experienced repeated and excessive overdraft service fees on my checking account with TruWest Credit Union in Tempe, AZ. I have not been able to understand nor have they really tried to explain their debit card transaction posting policy which tends to bunch several transactions on one day which collectively would be more than the checking account balance. Instead of posting transactions singularly and then only charging an overdraft service fee on those specific transactions that cause the balance to truly go over, they decide the collective amount of transactions on any given day as a whole is more than the account balance and charge overdraft service fees on each and every one of them, even if some could have posted individually and not caused the negative balance. I know some merchants do not send transactions to the banks the same day but it appears transactions are held by TruWest and grouped. This situation is worsened by the fact that their "new" service of providing online customers with a listing of pending transactions on their accounts does not seem to work. I was made aware of this online service by a TruWest employee over the phone on my first complaint call about the excessive overdraft service fees and checked it online regularly after that to try to avoid causing a negative checking account balance. I have yet to see any actual pending transactions listed when I check my account online, knowing I had made purchases.

Desired Settlement: Ideally I would like a refund of excessive overdraft service fees and a detailed explanation of how TruWest Credit Union posts their customer's debit card transactions to their accounts.

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint received from ***** *****, in regards to the overdraft fees on the Checking account.

TruWest Credit Union posts all Master Debit transactions as they are received from the merchant.  All Point of Sale (POS) transactions are debited from the account immediately when the transaction is processed.  Master Debit transactions (signature based) may take a couple of days to debit the account, but those funds are placed on hold when the transaction is initiated with the merchant.  The funds are on hold until the transaction debits the account or up to three days, whichever comes first.  Since these funds are placed on hold, the member is able to see their actual available balance.

Our members are given the option to authorize TruWest Credit union to pay overdrafts on ATM/Debit transactions for a fee if there are not sufficient funds in the account to cover the transaction.  They also have the option to have ATM/Debit transactions declined if there are not sufficient funds in the account to cover the transaction.  ***** elected to have her ATM/Debit transactions paid.

Our members are always provided with the balance and actual available balance on their account.  We provide various ways for them to access their account information.  They may access their account information through Online Banking, Telephone Banking or by calling the TruWest Contact Center. 

6/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2-17-12: I found 3 fraudulent charges on my checking account from Panama totalling. $450.00. I was horrified and went to local branch to file a complaint. I received forms in mail to dispute, signed and mailed back (2copies). First week of May I got a shady phone call from a woman speaking with thick foreign accent from out of town number asking me to fax my signature that day to her. I replied that if she were from fraud dept.to send me forms in mail for me to sign. She replied I needed to sign immediately and fax directly to her. I did not believe this could be an actual fraud dept. especially since my charges were from a foreign country and this person spoke with a foreign accent/out of state number and insisted I fax my signature and not mail with legitimate forms. May 17, the $450 charges were deducted from my checking acct. Upon going to local Truwest branch they said there was nothing they could do for me!! I'm out this money due to the shady, unprofessional way their so called fraud dept. handled my fraudulent charges. I feel they didn't properly protect my privacy and I feel the manner is which this situation was handled was absolutely, unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I do believe TruWest should have refunded me for these fraudulent charges and taken responsibility for the way their fraud dept. handled my dispute. Knowing I had foreign charges on my acct. and then allowing someone with a thick foreign accent to call me from some out of town phone number to have me fax her directly that day, was unbelievable. Unprofessional; Lolita Duncan left me a message on my machine that I could not even understand whatsoever, (I was convinced it was spam call).

Business Response:

Dear consumer:

Given your relationship as a long time TruWest member, as a one time courtesy, we have issued you a $450 credit.  In the future, if you are at all unsure as to whether TruWest is contacting you, please reach out to us in one of the various ways you reached out to us after the provisional credit was removed i.e. at a branch, by phone, by email to numerous public email addresses, by facebook posting or this BBB complaint.  If you had done that shortly after the "suspicious" phone call, we would have been able to obtain the necessary paperwork, maintained your credit and TruWest would have been able to get reimbursed for the fraudulent transactions.

Sincerely,

 

Ian Schulder, VP Risk Management