Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Share Accounts (savings)
Money Market Accounts
Share Certificates
Credit Cards
Home Equity Lines of Credit
Motorcycle Loans
Personal Loans
Vehicle Loans


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SunWest Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for SunWest Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SunWest Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1969 Business started: 06/01/1937 in AZ Business started locally: 06/01/1937
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
http://www.ncua.gov
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

Business Management
Mr. Brian Gorman, Vice President Mr. Jeff Morrow, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Morrow, Director of Marketing
Principal: Mr. Walter Synowiecki, CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions


Additional Locations

  • 11839 N 28th Dr

    Phoenix, AZ 85029 (623) 925-9710 (602) 866-1100

  • 1253 S Gilbert Rd

    Mesa, AZ 85204

  • 16879 N 75th Ave Ste 103A

    Peoria, AZ 85382

  • 302 E Mcdowell Rd Ste 100

    Phoenix, AZ 85004

  • 650 N Estrella Pkwy

    Goodyear, AZ 85338

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a personal loan for the amount of approximately $1,300.00 in May, 2013 in order to pay off most of my existing credit-card debt. All but one of my credit cards actually received a full payoff and this outstanding credit card is the Rewards Zone ********** offered by **** ***. I have spent several months trying to figure out where this payment in the amount of $258.60 was sent to. I had been working through ******* *** and **** **** both of which are or were current vendors for the **** *** ********** and about (2) two weeks ago they determined that the check was cashed by ** ****** and ****** a bank I have never had affiliation with and never advised my personal loan administration "******** to send the check to. The agent did not have any recollection or record of where she sent my payment to and because of that mistake, I am not only paying for money I never actually received* **** *** has sent me to collections and my credit score has been severely damaged. In the wake of being advised that ** ****** and ***** cashed my check which they also had no business doing because I do not bank with them,I have tried to contact their payment department and "Good Faith" accounting department with no followup what-so-ever and I am just not having any luck getting this situation rectified so that I can move on with my life and start rebuilding my severely damaged credit portfolio.

Desired Settlement: I would like Sunwest FCU to do one of two things and they are listed below: 1. They need to contact ** ****** & *****, find my payment on my behalf and pay the entire balance owed to **** *** which includes any and all late fees associated with delinquency on the account. 2. They need to replace the $258.60 they lost and send the check directly to me so I can pay off **** *** however, in this case I would be eating the cost for the late fees and due to the circumstances, Sunwest should really consider this option BUT I am willing to take on that cost IF I can get this money replaced and Sunwest would need to work with ***** to get their money back. I am truly grateful that Sunwest approved a personal for me however, this has proven to be more of a burden than anything and I would really like to do business with your company. Please make this right, I really do not think I am asking that much, Thank you, ******* *****

Business Response: Mr. *****,

Thank you for reaching out to us. While I do not have any new information to share with you at this time, we are researching the issue. This process should take about a day to complete. After the research is finished, we will mail you a letter containing any additional information we have discovered as well as suggested next steps. If you do receive this letter by Monday, December 9th, please call our Member Information Center at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

**** ******
Director of Marketing

SunWest Federal Credit Union
***** ** **** *****
******** ** *****

Consumer Response:

Hello,

I have received a written letter from **** ******, Director of Marketing for SunWest Federal Credit Union. I sincerely appreciate SunWest being the first organization I have dealt with thus-far to actually offer some sort of resolution and by resolution I mean providing resources to repair my credit and advising me to contact ***** Bank. I would however like to set the record straight in regards to this comment that was incorporated in the letter "Our records indicate that a few weeks after the deposit failed to show on your statement, you spoke with ******. During that conversation, she offered to stop payment on the check and re-issue it. According to our records, you declined that offer." This statement is completely untrue due to the fact that had ****** offered this to me, I would have taken the offer in a heartbeat rather than to going through all of this and I would have made that decision 100 times over. No, the fact is ****** did not offer this to me, not one person in your organization offered this to me, all anyone ever offered was to send me the front and back of the check which has not helped in the least thus-far. Again, I really do appreciate your swift and resolution oriented response however, I will ensure never to go through ****** or anyone in the **** ****** location for my banking needs and will advise others to stay away as well. Your main location at ****** *** **** ****** seems to know what they are doing...

Sincerely,

******* *****

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *****


 

 

7/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues