Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

SunWest Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (602) 866-1100 Fax: (602) 866-1126 11839 N 28th Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85029 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Share Accounts (savings)
Money Market Accounts
Share Certificates
Credit Cards
Home Equity Lines of Credit
Motorcycle Loans
Personal Loans
Vehicle Loans

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that SunWest Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on SunWest Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1969 Business started: 01/01/1937 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1937
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke Street, Alexandria VA 22314-3428
Fax Number: 703-518-6409

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N. 44th Street, Ste. 310, Phoenix AZ 85018
Phone Number: (602) 771-2800
Fax Number: (602) 381-1225

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Walter Synowiecki, CEO Mr. Brian Gorman, Vice President Mr. Jeff Morrow, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Morrow, Director of Marketing
Principal: Mr. Walter Synowiecki, CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Credit Services Financial Services Banking Services

Industry Tips
Advance Fee Loans

Additional Locations

  • 11839 N 28th Dr

    Phoenix, AZ 85029 (602) 866-1100

  • 1253 S Gilbert Rd

    Mesa, AZ 85204

  • 14865 W. Bell Road

    Surprise, AZ 85374

  • 16879 N 75th Ave Ste 103A

    Peoria, AZ 85382

  • 302 E Mcdowell Rd

    Phoenix, AZ 85004

  • 650 N Estrella Pkwy Ste A6

    Goodyear, AZ 85338


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/20/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sunwest Federal Credit Union is reporting a derogatory item on my credit report that is OVER 7 years old. Acct #**** **** **** ***** Credit Card, $555.00

Desired Settlement: The permanent removal of the deragatory item off of my credit report.

Business Response: Today, we requested an Experian credit report on the membership and we are not reporting this account. If another collection agency is reporting, it will need to be directly disputed with them. If you have any questions, please call ************ and ask to speak with collections.

1/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A family member recommend i get a loan through this credit union because of their low rates. So i called and talked to a loan officer named cathy (************. I asked her before running my credit if she was sure i would qualify being an out of state resident. She said with a referral from my family member that i would be able to due to his membership there. she ran my credit and tool all my information and 10 min later called and said i was approved for a loan of about 26k. She let me know what she needed from me and hung up. 30 min later she called back and let me know that my cousin would have to come in and set up an account with me on it to complete the loan process. my cousin made a trip on his off time to help me out, the people at sunwest then told him he didnt need to come in that they could send me documents through the mail to open an account. so i called and gave the person i talked to on the phone all of my info and she said she was sending me the required documents. Alsmost three weeks later i called to let the bank know i havent recieved anything and was told that due to the fact i lived out of state i wouldnt qualify for the loan. I talked to several different people who keep giving me different answers on top of them running my credit score when i told them i didnt want them to run it unless they were sure i would qualify. I am still interested in getting a loan through them if i qualify but every person i talk to gives me different information.

Desired Settlement: i would like to talk to some one who is aware of the credit union bank policies to possibly complete the loan process.

Business Response: We are looking into the issue and will reach out to the individual directly if needed. Due to our member privacy procedures, I am unable to comment on the specific nature of the account.

12/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a personal loan for the amount of approximately $1,300.00 in May, 2013 in order to pay off most of my existing credit-card debt. All but one of my credit cards actually received a full payoff and this outstanding credit card is the Rewards Zone ********** offered by **** ***. I have spent several months trying to figure out where this payment in the amount of $258.60 was sent to. I had been working through ******* *** and **** **** both of which are or were current vendors for the **** *** ********** and about (2) two weeks ago they determined that the check was cashed by ** ****** and ****** a bank I have never had affiliation with and never advised my personal loan administration "******** to send the check to. The agent did not have any recollection or record of where she sent my payment to and because of that mistake, I am not only paying for money I never actually received* **** *** has sent me to collections and my credit score has been severely damaged. In the wake of being advised that ** ****** and ***** cashed my check which they also had no business doing because I do not bank with them,I have tried to contact their payment department and "Good Faith" accounting department with no followup what-so-ever and I am just not having any luck getting this situation rectified so that I can move on with my life and start rebuilding my severely damaged credit portfolio.

Desired Settlement: I would like Sunwest FCU to do one of two things and they are listed below: 1. They need to contact ** ****** & *****, find my payment on my behalf and pay the entire balance owed to **** *** which includes any and all late fees associated with delinquency on the account. 2. They need to replace the $258.60 they lost and send the check directly to me so I can pay off **** *** however, in this case I would be eating the cost for the late fees and due to the circumstances, Sunwest should really consider this option BUT I am willing to take on that cost IF I can get this money replaced and Sunwest would need to work with ***** to get their money back. I am truly grateful that Sunwest approved a personal for me however, this has proven to be more of a burden than anything and I would really like to do business with your company. Please make this right, I really do not think I am asking that much, Thank you, ******* *****

Business Response: Mr. *****,

Thank you for reaching out to us. While I do not have any new information to share with you at this time, we are researching the issue. This process should take about a day to complete. After the research is finished, we will mail you a letter containing any additional information we have discovered as well as suggested next steps. If you do receive this letter by Monday, December 9th, please call our Member Information Center at ###-###-####.


**** ******
Director of Marketing

SunWest Federal Credit Union
***** ** **** *****
******** ** *****

Consumer Response:


I have received a written letter from **** ******, Director of Marketing for SunWest Federal Credit Union. I sincerely appreciate SunWest being the first organization I have dealt with thus-far to actually offer some sort of resolution and by resolution I mean providing resources to repair my credit and advising me to contact ***** Bank. I would however like to set the record straight in regards to this comment that was incorporated in the letter "Our records indicate that a few weeks after the deposit failed to show on your statement, you spoke with ******. During that conversation, she offered to stop payment on the check and re-issue it. According to our records, you declined that offer." This statement is completely untrue due to the fact that had ****** offered this to me, I would have taken the offer in a heartbeat rather than to going through all of this and I would have made that decision 100 times over. No, the fact is ****** did not offer this to me, not one person in your organization offered this to me, all anyone ever offered was to send me the front and back of the check which has not helped in the least thus-far. Again, I really do appreciate your swift and resolution oriented response however, I will ensure never to go through ****** or anyone in the **** ****** location for my banking needs and will advise others to stay away as well. Your main location at ****** *** **** ****** seems to know what they are doing...


******* *****

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.


******* *****



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on SunWest Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)