Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

OneAZ Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (602) 452-4800 2355 W Pinnacle Peak Rd, Phoenix, AZ 85027 http://www.azstcu.org View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Loand and Deposits. Financial Services


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that OneAZ Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for OneAZ Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on OneAZ Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 10/01/1951 in AZ Business started locally: 10/01/1951 Business incorporated 11/03/1972 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N. 44th Street, Ste. 310, Phoenix AZ 85018
http://www.azdfi.gov
Phone Number: (602) 771-2800
Fax Number: (602) 381-1225
consumeraffairs@azdfi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Doss, President Mr. Brian Johnson, Vice President Marketing
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
Arizona State Credit Union

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

OneAZ Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1021 N Highway 89 Ste 106

    Chino Valley, AZ 86323

  • 104 E State Highway 260 Unit C

    Payson, AZ 85541

  • 1290 S Normal
    Located on the ASU Main Campus Memorial Union Building

    Tempe, AZ 85287

  • 1335 Gail Gardner Way

    Prescott, AZ 86305

  • 1812 W Monroe St

    Phoenix, AZ 85007

  • 2277 W Guadalupe Rd

    Gilbert, AZ 85233

  • 2355 W Pinnacle Peak Rd

    Phoenix, AZ 85027 (602) 452-4800

  • 2721 S San Tan Village Pkwy

    Gilbert, AZ 85295

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    280 W Main St

    Safford, AZ 85546

  • 321 S Beaver St

    Flagstaff, AZ 86001

  • 4701 W Thunderbird Rd

    Glendale, AZ 85306

  • 5200 N Us Highway 89

    Flagstaff, AZ 86004

  • 550 E Gurley St

    Prescott, AZ 86301

  • 601 W State Route 89A

    Cottonwood, AZ 86326

  • 6501 E Greenway Pkwy Ste 133

    Scottsdale, AZ 85254

  • 7111 Pav Way

    Prescott Vly, AZ 86314

  • 8285 W Union Hills Dr Ste 106

    Glendale, AZ 85308

  • 840 E Southern Ave Ste 101

    Tempe, AZ 85282

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went through the drive-thru teller to cash my check. The teller asked for my debit card, driver's license. I gave them to her, she cashed my check and never returned my driver's license or debit card. She said she had to look for them. The drive-thru closed at 5:30pm I was outside until 7:30pm. I called the police and they still did not produce them. Until this day I have not received them, I called the regional manager, I have spoken to an investigator for the credit union and no one has called me back.

Desired Settlement: I want my debit card and my driver's license back.

Business Response:

ARZ_ST_PMS_®

February 24, 2016

Better Business Bureau

4428 N. 12th St.

Phoenix, AZ 85014-4585

Re: BBB Case *********

To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint filed by **** ***** ********.

We have conducted an internal investigation of **** *****’s visit on February 11, 2016 at our Monroe Branch location. After reviewing the video surveillance footage captured during Ms. ********** visit, we believe the contents in dispute exited the drive-thru container tube in the area located between the driver seat and center console of her vehicle.

We have been in contact with Ms. ******** and have issued a replacement debit card to her. We also offered to cover the cost associated with obtaining a replacement driver’s license, to which she declined.

If there are further questions regarding this complaint, please feel free to contact me at ***** ********.

Sincerely,

Monique P***

Director, Member Care Center

3/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During the first part of January of this year, I was offered a no interest credit card (***** for 18 months by ***** ***** ***k. At the time, I held a considerable balance on my ******* ***** ****** ***** card (also a ****) and according to the terms of this latest card from **, I could transfer the large balance at 3% transfer fee with out any interest for the aforementioned period. So with my new card in hand, I presented the following request to the teller at the credit union: I wish to do a balance transfer of my **** account here and place it onto my ***** ***** credit card. The teller seemed to have some initial problems with the request, and asked another teller for advise. After about a minute the teller handed me a banking transaction slip of paper and stated: There you go...your balance transfer went through. Six days later I discovered that the teller issued a cash advance and not a balance transfer. The word "cash advance" never entered the conversation between me and the teller. I presented the error to a branch manager, but she was unwilling to rectify the matter. The error resulted in a 5% transaction fee which equals approximately 140.00 dollars, which ***** ***** will not reverse.

Desired Settlement: I wish only to receive compensation for 140 dollars, which obviously was the result of an inexperienced employee of the ******* ***** ****** ***** teller.

Business Response:

ARZ_ST_PMS_®

February 17, 2016

Better Business Bureau

4428 N. 12th St.

Phoenix, AZ 85014-4585

Re: BBB Case *********

To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint filed by ****** *******

Based on the information provided by Mr. ****** in his complaint, to take advantage of the discounted balance transfer offered by ***** ***** ***** the transaction would have to be initiated with ***** ***** ***k.

Mr. ****** visited our branch on January 4, 2016, to transfer the outstanding balance of his ******* ***** ****** ***** credit card to his new ***** ***** ***k credit card. We have reviewed the transaction and confirm that it was processed correctly in accordance with our procedures. As a result, we will not issue compensation as requested by Mr. ******.

If there are further questions regarding this complaint, please feel free to contact me at ***** ********* **********

Monique P***

Director, Member Care Center

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have read the findings from Arizona State CU and accept its outcome.  I wish no further action, and thank the BBB for its assistance.

Regards,

****** ******

 

1/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am past due on my credit card account. Unbeknownst to me, they froze my Checking account. As a result, I have checks that are not being honored (ex. Utilities, car and life insurance etc.) even though the money is in the account to cover them. I feel the people to whom those checks are made out are being penalized as a result of this unethical and vindictive action. I am retired and on a fixed income and cannot afford to pay at this time. I want to avoid bankruptcy and am working with a debt resolution company but they tell me they have no control over the checking account practices with regard to the past due credit card.

Desired Settlement: Unfreezing my checking account so the checks to the other businesses can be cashed.

Business Response:

October 2, 2015

 

Better Business Bureau

4428 N. 12th St.

Phoenix, AZ 85014-4585

 

Re: BBB Case #********

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint filed by Robert R******* regarding his credit card account.Mr. R*******’s credit card account was in a delinquent status when he contacted us by phone on September 2, 2015. He informed us that he was not able to meet his repayment obligations with us and was seeking payment assistance from a third party. A hold was placed on the funds in Mr. R*******’s account at that time as a result of the loan delinquency.We received additional information about the third party Mr. R******* is working with to assist him with the repayment of his loans with us. As of September 4, 2015 the hold was removed from the funds in Mr. R*******’s account. We are continuing to work with Mr. R******* to regarding his delinquency, however, recent attempts to reach him by phone have not been responded to.

 

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me at ###-###-####.

 

Sincerely,

 

Monique P***

Director, Member Care Center

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

Robert R*******

 

7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 28, 2015 I contacted ****** ********* (NMLS ID ******) a Home Loan Originator at Arizona State Credit Union (AZCU) to discuss home refinancing options. Mr. ********* as a representative of AZCU was given full disclosure of background information of my wife and myself as well as how the current deed/title was held. (All home information was in my wife's name) . Mr. ********* discussed our situation with underwriting and legal several times to make sure that a home purchase between spouses as acceptable. Each time Mr. ********* assured me that the loan could be completed. Mr ********* ordered an Appraisal ($450) based on this information and charged our account $450.My wife and I waited for final approval and were given a closing date on several occasions. As the closing date started to get closer, Mr. ********* along with the underwriter asked for an extensions, as amendments were needed to previously accepted documents. These documents had previously been through underwriting and were approved but now needed changing at the last minute. Two days prior to the extended closing date, and 60 days into the process I was informed the federal lending guidelines don't allow for the sale between spouses. AZCU and Mr. ********* failed to know lending law from the start of this process and wasted 60 days and countless hours of document preparation. In addition, AZCU ordered an Appraisal of the property under false pretenses, that I was "eligible" for this type of sale, when clearly I was not. Its my assertion that Mr. ********* and AZCU acted in "Bad Faith" by proceeding forward with a loan and charging my account for services which was not eligible from the start. Further, Mr. ********* and AZCU attempted to manipulate and cover up their misunderstanding of the lending guidelines by intentionally stalling the process, and refusing to provide adequate explanation of why the loan was declined two days prior to extended closing. After Pressing Mr. ********* for an explanation, he finally told me of the federal guidelines precluding the sale between spouses. Mr. ********* apologized and stated he asked numerous times both underwriting and his legal department if this loan met approval guidelines, so that he could proceed. Mr. ********* admitted that the loan should not have ever been initiated, and stated he would make sure that the appraisal fee would be credited back to my account within two days. It now has been two weeks, and AZCU has yet to refund the $450 that was fraudulently taken from me. I contacted Mr. ********* to ask about the agreed upon refund (which I have text messages guaranteeing me the refund) and he has responded back with " I will look into it". This is pretty standard practice of stalling with AZCU as I never received a response back. This company and Loan Officer need to be held accountable for their actions and not allowed to provide false information and charge customers based on fraudulent assertions.

Desired Settlement: At minimal Arizona State Credit Union should follow through on the agreed upon resolution by their staff (Mr *********) and refund the charge ($450). The charge should have never been completed had Arizona State Credit Union and its employees not provided fraudulent information regarding loan eligibility.

Business Response: Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint filed by **** ****** regarding his home loan application and deposit refund request.
 
At the time the home loan application was taken, Mr. ****** was advised that due to his past financial events we would need to gather more information through third party vendors, and send for further review for underwriting consideration. After receiving all the required documentation, the loan application was not approved due to current federal lending guidelines. This could not have been known at the time of application, as we did not have all information from the third party vendor reports.
 
The application deposit of $450 has been refunded in full to Mr. ****** as of June 24.
 
A phone message was left for Mr. ****** on June 25, requesting a return call to us should he have any additional questions.
 
Sincerely,
 
 
 
*** *********
Regional Mortgage Sales Manager

10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: contacted company employee last 3 months trying to get copy of appraisal of our home made numerous calls to employee steve ross keeps saying he will mail it today

Desired Settlement: would like a copy of appraisal

Business Response: Good Afternoon,

On October 20, 2014 our Regional Mortgage Sales Manager spoke with Mr. ******.  Mr. ****** confirmed that he had in fact received the appraisal in the mail the previous week.  Please considered this matter closed.

Please call me directly at (602)467-4134 with any questions.

****** ******
Vice President Associate Engagement
Arizona State Credit Union

9/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I initiated a recurring transfer from one checking account to another (both within AZSCU) using online banking. I no longer receive direct deposit into the originating account and have made repeated attempts to cancel the recurring transfer. Despite being able to log in to the site, I cannot access the "Transfer Funds" tab on the AZ St CU banking site where the transfer can be cancelled. I have been met with the following error message each day for nearly two weeks: We'll be back in a few minutes.This service is temporarily unavailable. Please try again later." I contacted the bank via their customer service phone number and requested that the transfer be cancelled. I was informed that the representative could not access a transfer I set up online and was told that I would need to log into my account and cancel the transfer. I attempted to access my account again and received the same error message. Two days later I went to the bank branch in person to cancel the transfer. I was again told that the bankers could not access my online account and that I would need to cancel the transfer online myself. I then sat down with a representative and logged into my account on her computer to demonstrate the error message. The representative said she had never seen that before and proceeded to call the customer service number. When the phone call went unanswered for an extended period of time, I needed to leave for an appointment. I left my phone number for a call back regarding steps to resolve the situation. I never received a call. Finally, I contacted the bank via email and was informed that the error was a result of a "glitch" that was now resolved. The email informed me that I should log into my account. I again logged into my account and received the same error message and was denied access to the transfer tab. I have been attempting to resolve this issue for approximately two weeks. It does not seem possible for me to resolve this issue myself and no steps to resolution have been provided by bank representatives.

Desired Settlement: Cancellation of the recurring deposit and access to all features available via online banking. If the transfer occurs again, waiver/refund of any fees incurred as a result of insufficient funds.

Business Response: *** Response to Complaint #********

We were able to work with the member to resolve the issue on September 2, 2014.  When the member was attempting to log into Online Banking, the issue appeared to be a PIN code not being entered correctly.  This inhibited the member from submitting thier cancellation request.  We were able to work with the member to identify this issue and get the cancellation request formally submitted.

It is our commitment to provide our members with prompt and responsive service.  We appreciate the opportunity to receive feedback from our members so that we may continually provide the ideal member experience through all channels.

1/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeatedly this bank has posted my husbands **** card payment to my car payment and reported him to credit agencies for being late. I have repeatedly called this to there attention and it has been fixed every other month. I have put all of the required information on the payment to make it easy on them. I have tried everything and they are clearly incompetent and should not be allowed to handle anyone's money. Please help me fix this for good!

Desired Settlement: Repair my husbands credit and give us some sort of severance for all of my time that has been wasted with this incompetent bank over the last 2 years!

Business Response: The Credit Union has researched Ms. ******* complaint and responded to her concerning the issues she raised to include the misposting of payments and credit reporting issues. We believe we have resolved those issues for her and a copy of our coorespondence is below.

Dear Ms. ****** Thank you for your patience with our payment processing issues. I have reviewed your comments in correspondence with the Better Business Bureau and agree that we have not done a very good job of handling your account. Unfortunately the most recent problem was traced to a new employee that had not been properly trained. That issue has been corrected and our staff is aware of the problems in the past. I do hope we can continue to avoid mis-posting again in the future and can only advise that putting the exact account number in the memo field when you use a bill pay service may be one way to assure that this does not happen again. I do understand that you have taken care to provide us with the correct account number in the past and accept that the posting problem is our fault. My review of this issue included looking into the request you made to repair your husband’s credit. I can assure you that no derogatory information has been reported as a result of this processing failure. I appreciate your willingness to work with us to solve the issue and can assure you that our staff has received additional training to avoid any further issues. Thank you for contacting us and alerting us to your frustration. We do welcome your comments and understand how inconvenient that has been for you. Sincerely, **** ***** **** ** ***** Senior Vice President Strategy & Brand Arizona State Credit Union **** * ******** **** ** ******** ** ***** ************

12/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an extended car warranty from this branch. I asked them about the mode of payments for this car warranty. They mentioned all the modes of payment, including a credit card. I asked them to use the credit card. I found out many weeks later that I was charged a cash advance fee at my other bank. I was not informed that the credit card was run as a cash advance. The credit union has made it clear that they mentioned this to me, even though there was no mention of cash advance.

Desired Settlement: My cash advance fee at my other institution should be payed by the credit union due to their non-disclosure of using my card for a cash advance. I had the cash in my account to pay for the warranty, and would have done that if I knew they were running a cash advance.

Business Response: Arizona State Credit Union values its members and always strives to provide outstanding service.

A credit of $111.25 has been posted to the account of ****** ******* as requested.

We regret the inconvenience this may have caused.

Thank you for the opportunity to resolve this member service issue.

**** ** *****
Senior Vice President
Arizona State Credit Union

11/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a 100 per cent disabled Veteran..My Check of4 4000.00 is put in my account electronically every month for sixteen years..They told me withdrawals within 48 hours for the 1st. of the month will never be charged with fees..on the last day of Sept..24 Hours before or even after the money was put in my account they Hit me with over $1000 dollars of over fees on my account. I am in the process of fatal Death from complications..I have poor vision and Hearing and they told me this would never take place...They stole $1000.00 of my money

Desired Settlement: of all overfees in excess of $1000.00 dollars

Business Response: Because this complaint involved the alleged theft of funds from a credit union member's account it has been refered for investigation and possible legal action. The credit union has attempted to contact Mr. *****, however has not received a reply from him.

**** *. *****
Senior Vice President

Consumer Response:


 Trying to use threats to intimidate my  wife and I is a great Nazi trick...The Complaint never said any money was stolen...Tell the Federal credit union to stop using High handed tactics to try to scare us...The Arizona Federal Credit Union is just trying to deflect the truth...Arizona Federal Credit Union are Liars..

Business Response: Arizona State Credit Union takes member issues very seriously and although we have placed a call to the phone number in the complaint, we have not received a call back from Mr. *****. In Mr. *****'s complaint he says, "They stole $1,000 of my money". For this reason we have asked for an investigation of this issue. We take such issues seriously and without Mr. *****'s cooperation in calling us back, we cannot take further action.

**** *. *****
Senior Vice President

10/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a home equity line of credit from Arizona State Credit Union and the loan agent told me that she had pulled my title report and that the underwriter had approved the loan on the condition of an appraisal that I had to pay for. Once I payed for the appraisal then they told me that they could not give me the loan because I already had a second mortgage. Since the agent had already pulled my title report and the underwriter had already reviewed the loan and conditionally approved it based on the value of the house from an appraisal the bank should have known they could not give me the loan before they collected $450 for an appraisal that did not matter. Since it was their over site to tell me that all I needed was enough value in the house, which I have, and I would get the loan before I agreed to the appraisal I feel they should refund me they cost of the appraisal. I have tried to work through the bank to get this resolved but the first manager I spoke to summarily dismissed my complaint. I went to the manager above her who has not answered any of my calls. She did call me back once to again summarily dismiss my complaint in a voice mail with out even speaking to me and since then has not returned my other calls.

Desired Settlement: I want the cost of the appraisal to be refunded.

Business Response: RE: ***** *********

The Credit Union has communicated with Mr ********* and taken action to refund his appraisal fee as requested.

**** ** *****
Senior Vice President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *********

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on OneAZ Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart