Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Deer Valley Credit Union

Phone: (602) 375-7300 Fax: (602) 375-7333 View Additional Phone Numbers 16215 North 28th Avenue, Phoenix, AZ 85053 http://deervalleycu.org/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a credit union that offers savings, checking and money marketing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Deer Valley Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Deer Valley Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Deer Valley Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 26, 1995 Business started: 04/01/1971 in AZ Business started locally: 04/01/1971 Business incorporated 04/25/2002 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N. 44th Street, Ste. 310, Phoenix AZ 85018
http://www.azdfi.gov
Phone Number: (602) 771-2800
Fax Number: (602) 381-1225
consumeraffairs@azdfi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robb Scott, CEO Mr. Mark Trumpp, Vice President of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robb Scott, CEO
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Trumpp, Vice President of Marketing
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Loans - Small Business Mortgage Brokers

Industry Tips
Advance Fee Loans Reverse Mortgage: What to Know

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Deer Valley Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 16215 North 28th Avenue

    Phoenix, AZ 85053 (602) 375-7300 (602) 375-7318 (800) 528-2428

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We applied for a home loan for $140k. We provided all required financial data. We were given a good Faith estimate for 140k.. We were required to pay $400 for an appraisal. Our home appraised at $241k. @60k more than expected in the original good faith estimate. That was in our favor. After our out of pocket expense for appraisal we recieved a counter offer for @85k. This is unethical. Ultimately, we were told that our financial info was incorrect. I would have never paid $400 for an appraisal if they would have done their due diligence with our financials. In summary, if Deer Valley applied due diligence regarding our income, the Good Faith Estimate would have been adjusted before we paid $400 for an appraisal. Lastly, we applied for loan in April and counter offer was in mid June. There was plenty of time to properly review our financials. In fact, they did a hard credit check twice on us individually due to their negligence in reviewing loan in an untimely matter. So not only am I out $400 for appraisal, my credit score has been severely compromised . I would have never followed thru with appraisal if we had known the true amount they were going to offer. I know a Good Faith estimate can change...but almost 50 percent? It's borderline criminal if you ask me.

Desired Settlement: Refund for my out of pocket expense for appraisal.

Business Response: Regarding complaint by ******* ******. Mr. ****** applied for a first mortgage loan. In our application process he was unable to provide proof of income to support the amount of income he entered on the mortgage application. We had to reduce the loan amount commensurate with the proof of income provided by Mr. ******. We have withdrawn his loan application, and the $400 for the appraisal was absorbed by the credit union and credited to his account on July 14th.