Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Credit Union West?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Credit Union West

Additional Locations

Phone: (602) 631-3200 Fax: (602) 631-3435 View Additional Phone Numbers Corporate Center  5811 W. Talavi Blvd., Glendale, AZ 85306 http://www.cuwest.org View Additional Web Addresses

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Credit Union West is an award-winning financial cooperative in Arizona with a mission to enhance quality of life for consumers and small businesses throughout Maricopa and Yavapai counties.  Credit Union West is a member-owned, full-service financial organization committed to providing financial services and cost savings by helping our members achieve their financial success. With over $500 million in assets, we offer an innovative, relevant and integrated financial product range to meet the needs of over 50,000 members.  For more information about Credit Union West, please visit our website, www.cuwest.org.

At Credit Union we enhance quality of life by helping our members, employees and community achieve their goals by establishing long-term, high-trust relationships through sound ethical advice and superior service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Credit Union West meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Credit Union West include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Credit Union West
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 1973 Business started: 05/01/1951 in AZ Business started locally: 05/01/1951
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N. 44th Street, Suite 310, Phoenix AZ 85018
http://www.azdfi.gov
Phone Number: 602-771-2800
Fax Number: 602-381-1225
consumeraffairs@azdfi.gov

Type of Entity

Not For Profit

Business Management
Mr. Robert MacGregor, President/CEO Ms. Karen Rock, Executive Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jaime Burt, Administration Manager
Principal: Mr. Robert MacGregor, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions Investment Advisory Service Loans Loans - Small Business Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Real Estate Loans Credit Services Financial Services Business Services - General Mortgage Lender Credit Cards & Plans

Products & Services

Credit Union West offers the following product(s): Mobile Banking, Online Bill Pay, Pre-Owned Auto Auction, Shared Branching , Small Business Banking, Youth Savings Account

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Alternate Business Names
Luke Federal Credit Union
Industry Tips
Advance Fee Loans Reverse Mortgage: What to Know Seminars and Workshops

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Credit Union West has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • Arrowhead Branch  20155 N. 67th Avenue

    Glendale, AZ 85308 (602) 631-3200

  • Avondale Branch  503 W. Van Buren Street

    Avondale, AZ 85323

  • Cactus Branch  6777 W. Cactus Road

    Peoria, AZ 85345

  • Corporate Center  5811 W. Talavi Blvd.

    Glendale, AZ 85306

  • Cottonwood Branch  1672 E. Cottonwood St, Ste C

    Cottonwood, AZ 86326

  • Heritage Branch  2402 W. Grant St.

    Phoenix, AZ 85009

  • Luke AFB Branch  13708 W. Glendale Avenue

    Glendale, AZ 85307

  • North Mountain Branch  350 E Dunlap

    Phoenix, AZ 85020

  • Prescott Branch  528 W Gurley St.

    Prescott, AZ 86301

  • Prescott Valley Branch  8640 E. Highway 69

    Prescott Valley, AZ 86314

  • Sun City West Branch  19436 N R.H. Johnson Blvd

    Sun City, AZ 85375

  • Surprise Branch  16765 N. Litchfield Road

    Surprise, AZ 85374

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 621-0287(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I INCURRED SEVERAL NSF FEES IN WHICH I TOLD THEM I HAD MADE A BANKING ERROR. i WAS UNABLE TO MAKE IT IN TIME TO THE BANK THAT DAY.THEY TOLD ME THEY DO NOT REVERSE NSF FEES UNLESS IT IS THEIR FAULT. THAT IS NOT TOTALLY TRUE AS THEY HAVE REVERSED SOME NSF FEES IN THE PAST AS A PROFESSIONAL COURTESY. BUT TO SAY THEY DON'T AT ALL IS LESS THAN HONEST. I HAVE BEEN A MEMBER FOR OVER 30 YEARS AND AM A 100 PERCENT DISABLED VETERAN WHO WAS ONLY ASKING FOR A LITTLE ASSISTANCE IN THIS MATTER.

Desired Settlement: REVERSAL OF THE NSF FEES OF 4 X 35.00

Business Response: Hello,

Is it possible to receive an estension on our response due date in order to research the complaint throughly?

***** ****
Administration Manager
Credit Union West

Business Response:

Credit Union West ("CUW") has received, reviewed, and meaningfully considered the complaint registered by **** **** regarding Not Sufficient Fees ("NSF") resulting from him continually writing checks and transferring money from his account when there were insufficient funds to cover the checks and transfers. As you are aware, CUW takes concerns from its members very seriously and, if possible, attempts to reach amicable resolutions.

As an initial matter, Mr. **** is requesting the reversal of four ' Overdraft Privilege (ODP) Fees' rather than NSF fees. In connection with Mr. ****'s checking account, he joined CUW's ODP Program. Under the ODP Program, rather than automatically returning, unpaid, any ofMr. ****'s non-sufficient checks or transfers, CUW may, as a discretionary courtesy and not a right nor an obligation on CUW's part, pay the insufficient items. However, paying the subject items will create an overdraft in the subject account. Thus, Mr. ****'s nonsufficient checks were actually paid by CUW in lieu of being returned to the merchant due to insufficient funds in his account. As part of the ODP Program, Mr. **** agreed to pay fees for each paid ODP item by CUW.

Mr. **** provides, " I incurred several NSF fees in which I told them I had made a banking error. I was unable to make it in time to the Bank that day." Mr. **** is implying that he made a simple error and made a deposit to cover his insufficient checks and transfers. This is untrue. Mr. **** did not make a simple error and, more importantly, he did not and has not placed sufficient funds in his account to cover all of the insufficient " internet check/online transfers". In fact, since this complaint has been filed , three additional ODP items have been paid by CUW maxing out his ODP limit. Additionally, ten more insufficient transactions have been received and are now being returned as NSF. Put simply, Mr. **** is writing checks and making transfers from his account that has insufficient funds for his transactions.

In other words, Mr. ****'s account has not had sufficient funds in it to cover his overdrawn account created by his insufficient internet/online banking transfers. This is not a simple error and his claim that "he was unable to make it to the Bank that day" is irrelevant because he never deposited sufficient funds in his account to negate or otherwise avoid the ODP fees. Accordingly, CUW is not going to reverse the ODP or NSF fees as the account is and continues to be overdrawn.

12/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I scheduled to make a payment to my ******** credit card using my checking account with Credit Union West. The Bank Routing number and Checking account number were provided to ******** card to make an ACH payment. The numbers were provided correctly. The credit union adds suffixes to distinguish the separate accounts. I have a Savings Account, Money Market Account, and a Checking Account. All three have the same account number with the exception of the number listed at the end. I have documentation that shows I submitted to have the funds pulled from my checking account, however the transaction went through on my Savings account instead. The savings account did not have the funds to cover the transaction. The checking account did have the funds and the correct numbers were used to set up the transaction. Upon contacting the credit union, I was initially referred to the credit card company. A representative called me and then we did a conference call in with the credit card company. The representative from Credit Union West kept insisting that the numbers were either entered incorrectly by me or by the credit card company. I believe Credit Union West defaulted the transaction to go to the Savings account and not the Checking account as selected. This caused the overdraft on the account. The Credit Union West representative said they would split the cost with me and only charge for one of the overdraft fees. Since I correctly entered the information using the account that had funds in it, I told him this was not acceptable to me. Our conversation ended. I called back to get his supervisors name and phone number. I was told that his supervisor was out sick. I asked for the local branch phone number and the representative said she could not give it to me, but that she could patch the call in to the branch in ********. I spoke to ******* who identified herself as the branch manager. She made a quick judgment without listening to the circumstances. I went to the branch to speak to her in person. Again, she would not discuss it in a reasonable manner. Her answer was "no". At the end of our conversation, she mentioned that she had been busy and that it's too bad I "insisted" on speaking to her right away. I told her that I had not insisted on speaking to her right away, that I had asked for the phone number to the branch and was told they could not give it out, but could patch my call through. It seems the manager was short-handed in the branch as she was working the teller counter. I am requesting an investigation on the transaction and a refund of the $70 fees that were charged. Looking at history for at least the past 12 months, there was always money in the checking account to cover the transaction. I also keep money in the Money Market account, but very little in the Savings account. It is unreasonable that a branch manager would not investigate the circumstances. Branch Manager: ******* ******** Representative: ****

Desired Settlement: Refund of two $35.00 charges for a total of $70.00

Business Response:

Credit Union West ("CUW") has received, reviewed, and meaningfully considered the complaint registered by ***** **** regarding her request for a fee reversal created by her selecting an account with insufficient funds. As you are aware, CUW takes concerns from its members very seriously and, if possible, attempts to reach amicable resolutions. This dispute arises out of Ms. ****** December payment to ******** Card from her CUW Savings account which, at the time, had insufficient funds to cover the payment. After reviewing the complaint, her account history, and related documents, it appears that Ms. **** is confused regarding the transaction. Ms. **** claims that she has documentation claiming that "shows [she] submitted to have the funds pulled from [her] checking account, however the transaction went through on [her] Savings account instead" which had insufficient funds to pay the transaction. A review of her account evidences the ******** payment Auto Debit was set up Ms. **** to withdraw from her savings account in the month of November, which successfully cleared. The review also demonstrates that the December payment was also setup by Ms.**** to clear through her Savings account. More importantly, on December 29, 2014, a conference call with ******** Card, Ms.****, and CUW was conducted regarding the payment issue. The ******** Card representative confirmed that Ms. **** initiated the payment online and that Ms. **** actually specifically instructed ******** Card to withdraw the funds from her Savings account. Thus, the error was created by Ms. **** who specifically selected that her Discover card payment be withdrawn from her Savings account in both November and December. Even though Ms. **** created the error by incorrectly directing ******** to take her payment from her Savings account, please be advised that CUW will reverse the $70.00 fees. Thus, the $70.00 will be refunded to Ms. **** as a courtesy.

Should you have any questions or need additional documents, please feel free to contact me. Thank you.

10/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Greeting, I have been long time customer of Credit Union West and just have a saving account and checking. I have ***** ***** and had a car loan that needed to be refi at Credit Union West. I then applied for a car loan and with my credit score over 700+ and perfect payments my whole life the Banker ****** had falsely qualified myself to the point I got declined. I showed my pay stub and it is always over a certain amount and she decided to round down over 10% of my check and decided to not include my additional income causing myself to get declined. She is not properly inputting correct info because I was not looking for additional services and she pushed us away for no reason. I'm not saying that I am setting up complaint for getting declined, I am saying she is falsely imputing info on documents to decline. I will now visit location and close all accounts. This credit union is a scam and falsifies info. Thanks,

Desired Settlement: I would like to be properly qualified my someone experienced in DTI and not personally decline for personal reasons. I was solely declines because of income and its because ****** at branch wrongfully imputed info and should be fired. I'v been glad with all services at Branch but hers. If no help I will cancel all account and continue to file reports of this branch fraud and my experience through all reviewing departments. Please Help!!!! Thanks ******* ***** ###-###-####

Business Response: Credit Union  West ("CUW") has received, reviewed, and meaningfully considered the complaint registered by ******* ***** arising out of her loan application and being denied for a loan. As you are aware , CUW takes concerns from its members very seriously and, if possible , attempts to reach amicable resolutions. Please address all future correspondence to me to ensure a timely response.

In her Complaint , Ms. ***** claims that her loan application was improperly denied. In this regard , Ms. ***** provided two complaints. First , she states that the information that she provided in connection with a car loan application was improperly input by CUW. Second, Ms. ***** claims that all of her income was not considered . This letter will address each complaint. Of course, CUW will happily provide detailed information and documents , if necessary , but to protect the privacy of Ms. *****, this letter will provide a broad response to her complaints.

In connection with her claim that CUW did not consider all her income, CUW could not consider certain income. Ms. ***** has been at her job since October 14, 2014 and makes an hourly wage. While Ms. ***** does work some overtime, CUW could not include that sum in the calculation because she has been at the job less than a year.

Ms. ***** claims that CUW improperly input some data  which affected her debt to income ratio. Ms. ***** is correct in that CUW inadvertently input some data. However and more importantly , the mistake actually benefited Ms. *****. Based upon her complaint , CUW recalculated her debt to income ration and discovered that it was actually higher when the correct figures were input. A high debt to income ratio is a critical and important component of any decision regarding loans. She also received two loans in February which also increased her debt ratio .

Pursuant to her request, *** ****, CUW's Vice President of Lending, personally reviewed  her loan application , the calculations, and other related  information.   Unfortunately ,Ms. ***** did not qualify for the requested loan under CUW 's underwriting parameters. Mr. **** has personally telephoned Ms. ***** and discussed CUW 's decision and issues raised in her complaint. Thus, it is CUW 's understanding that the complaint has been resolved and, although Ms. ***** ultimately did not receive the loan, she understands the reasons why she was denied.

Should you have any questions or need documents, please feel free to contact me. Thank you.

4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a horrible experience with Credit Union West. Anytime there was any adversity with getting my home equity loan approved, they were ready to cancel my file. They canceled my file without my approval. I was willing to provide all necessary documents and they never responded to my questions.

Desired Settlement: I want them to reconsider my application for a home equity loan. I want a call from a senior manager to resolve this.

Business Response: Credit Union West ("CUW") has received and reviewed the complaint registered by **** ****** regarding his loan application. As you are aware, CUW takes concerns from its members very seriously and, if possible, attempts to reach amicable resolutions and has done so in this matter. 
In the "Desired Settlement" requested by *** ******, he wanted "a call from a senior manager to resolve this." On March 17, 2014, *** ****, CUW's Vice President of Lending, personally telephoned and spoke with *** ******. 
*** ****** and *** **** had a detailed and amicable conversation regarding *** ******'s loan application. *** **** requested (and received) additional information and personally reviewed *** ******'s loan application. Thereafter, *** **** responded to *** ****** within a few hours after receiving the additional financial information. 
Thus, from CUW's perspective, the issue and outstanding complaint have been satisfactorily resolved. Contact with me with any questions. 
 

11/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Monthly incentive is to complete 10 debit card purchases to receive a higher rate on interest on our checking accounts. I complete the required purchases of 10, but one did not clear until April 1st. I was deny the higher interest. The purchases were made on 03/30, and 03/31. Its not my fault that they didn't clear the credit union.

Desired Settlement: Monthly interest to my account!

Business Response:

From: ***** *****
Sent: Friday, April 06, 2012 4:46 PM
To: '<st1:st1:personname w:st="on">complaints@arizonabbb.org'
Subject: Response to a Complaint

 

To Whom It May Concern:

 

 

Credit Union West is in receipt of your communication referencing the ID number above. 

 

The issue was the denial of a higher interest rate on his monthly statement, based upon certain criteria being met.  According to his complaint, the customer felt it was the fault of the credit union and not of his lack of meeting the requirements.  I have spoken with the customer and explained what happened that resulted in his not receiving the higher interest rate, due to his not meeting all the criteria.  At the same time, although this was not a Credit Union West error, in the effort to provide our members with the highest level of member service, I re-calculated the interest to what it would have been, had he met the criteria.  This new interest amount was $4.60.  We had paid the customer.45 cents for his March balance, thus, the difference in what he was paid and what he felt he should have been paid, was $4.15, which I credited to the customers account. 

 

At the close of our conversation, the customer communicated that he was satisfied with the resolve to his situation. 

 

Please notate your records to the satisfactory resolve of this issue. 

 

If you have further questions, or need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me, either by telephone or e mail, as listed below. 

 

Respectfully,

 

 

***** *****

VP/Chief of Branch Operations

Credit Union West

602-631-3405-P

602-749-2967-F

<st1:st1:address w:st="on"><st1:st1:street w:st="on">**** *** ****

<st1:st1:place w:st="on"><st1:st1:city w:st="on">********, <st1:st1:state w:st="on">AZ <st1:st1:postalcode w:st="on">**********

 

"Credit Union West...So Much More Than Money"  

 

üPlease consider the environment before printing this email or attachments

 

4/16/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable