Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Arizona Federal Credit Union include:

  • 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 13
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Arizona Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1988 Business started: 01/01/1936 in AZ Business started locally: 01/01/1936
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N. 44th Street, Ste. 310, Phoenix AZ 85018
http://www.azdfi.gov
Phone Number: (602) 771-2800
Fax Number: (602) 381-1225
consumeraffairs@azdfi.gov

Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Ms. Ann Burns, Senior Vice President Ms. Kristin Leabo, Marketing Department Mr. Jason Paprocki, Chief Operating Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Kexel, Senior Director of Marketing
Business Category

Credit Unions Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

Alternate Business Names
Arizona Federal

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Arizona Federal Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1125 E. Southern

    Mesa, AZ 85204

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12401 N. Cave Creek Road

    Phoenix, AZ 85022

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13055 W. Rancho Santa Fe Blvd.
    (Inside Wal-Mart)

    Avondale, AZ 85323

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1311 W. Chandler Blvd.

    Chandler, AZ 85224

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1457 W. Southern Avenue

    Mesa, AZ 85202

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    15625 S. 48th Street

    Phoenix, AZ 85048

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1675 E. Elliot Road

    Gilbert, AZ 85234

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2020 N. 75th Avenue
    (Inside Wal-Mart)

    Phoenix, AZ 85035

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2650 W. Ross Drive

    Phoenix, AZ 85027

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2700 W. Baseline

    Tempe, AZ 85283

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 W. Jefferson

    Phoenix, AZ 85003

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    333 N 44th St

    Phoenix, AZ 85008

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3396 N. Hayden Road

    Scottsdale, AZ 85251

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4403 E. Broadway Road

    Mesa, AZ 85206

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5151 N. 19th Avenue

    Phoenix, AZ 85015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5485 W. Northern Avenue

    Glendale, AZ 85301

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5505 W. Bell Road

    Glendale, AZ 85308

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7227 S. Central Avenue

    Phoenix, AZ 85040

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    855 W. Baseline Road

    Tempe, AZ 85282

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 60070

    Phoenix, AZ 85082

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/17/16 I used "Bill Pay" to pay my rent of 501.78. I have been using "BP" for years and have not had a problem with it. However, on this occasion the check sent by AZFCU to my landlord was never received. I learned about this from being contacted by the landlord telling me I was past due on rent as it was due on 3/28/16. In the past my rent checks have always been received within 3 business days of money being removed from my account. I was told that they do not care about lost, stolen or checks that have not been sent and would be charged a $50 late fee if my rent was not received by 4/1/2016 at 5pm. I contacted AZFCU to find out what happened and was appalled to find out that the live checks they send out do not have any tracking information nor require a signature upon receipt. This is upsetting since the money is deducted from my account when check is sent. So, I am out 501.78 and in jeopardy of paying a late fee. To make matters worse I was charged $35 to cancel the check, to get MY money back to my account, so I could withdrawal it to pay for my rent. The $35 charge is ridiculous! AZFCU cannot provide any proof this check was sent or tracking information if it was. AZFCU also over markets the “Bill Pay” service as safe, secure and dependable. However, I am punished when it is not dependable.

Desired Settlement: I expect an apology and refund of the $35 fee.

Business Response: Our records indicate that Mr. N***** called us to explain the situation on 3/31/16. We provided a solution which would have been to complete research as to where the check had gone, block and reissue if necessary and attempt to resolve any issues that might arise with his landlord (payee) as a result. Mr. N***** stated that he wanted it blocked immediately, which carries a $35 fee. We explained this to Mr. N***** and he still opted for the immediate stop payment. As this was his request, the $35 fee is applied.

Consumer Response:

Waiting would have resulted in a late fee for $50 from my landlord, as they are not responsible for lost, stolen or checks never sent. However, I will still require tracking information proving the check was sent for legal purposes as I do not trust AZFCU anymore as the check could have never been sent and/or unlawful fee charged to me. I need to protect myself and other members who trust the bank to handle our money in an appropriate manner. Please provide all tracking information that proves  the **** had received the check and was in route. As of today 4/11/2016 the check has not been received which points to never being sent. This manner could be resolved quickly once I receive my fee back.

Business Response: As previously stated in our communication with Mr. N*****, Bill Pay items are processed through a third party vendor. We guarantee delivery in that we will provide assistance in the rare event that an item is lost or not received, we will advocate for our member. Mr. N***** seems to agree based on his own statement that he has "been using BP for years and has not had a problem with it."  The attached letter explains when the item was sent, has the check number, amount and payee. The items are not sent via priority mail ands thus do not have a **** tracking number. We have refunded the $35 stop payment fee as of 5/16/16. This fee would not have been charged through our normal research process. 

6/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have banked with this credit union for over 9 yrs and i am very upset that they time and time again continue to first complete debits before credits so that you have to pay overdrafts and when my car payment was late twice in 3 yrs that the take money from my checking account called payment sweeps and then makecyou pay overdrafts for bills that come in afterward this is ridiculous i will make my payments there is no reason to takecmy money meant to pay for other bills and then charge me 30.00 overdrafts when my bills come in!! There has to be something i can do this is fraud. And then when i have 1 credit card payment automatically withdrawn. That i have to pay multiple overdraft fees after they sweep my car payment and my credit card tries to submit fir payment anf of course there is no money now so they charge me 25.00 3 times (everytime) the bank submits. And after i signed over and over again to not to overdraft my account!and suddenly my form is always missing this is a joke i am beyond livid with this company i am a single mother trying to get by and they are making my financials way worse.there has to be something we consumers can do

Desired Settlement: I would like my nsf fees refunded and a new form to sign for no overdrafts in the future and for them to stay out of my checking account!! I also will be making a complaint with the arizona department of financial institutions. Right now wuth my bills and sime unexpected bills i incured due to deaths in my family i used my credit cards to pay for now i am stuck with the bills and had to consolidate my cc to 1 loan and am financially stressed and they would not help me get a lower interest rate to get me back on my feet im done with what i thoughtbwould be lifetime bank you dont treat your customers like this!

Business Response: Our records indicate that the auto loan that Ms. ***** has with us has been past due in perpetuity for the last 2 months. We have documentation to show that we attempted to contact Ms. ***** at the phone number listed on her account, but the multiple calls were not answered and Ms. ***** did not contact us to set up payment arrangements. When this happens, we have no choice but to complete a payment sweep to resolve the deliquent loan amount. Unfortunately, if there are outstanding authorizations when this is done, they are still paid and if the account goes negative as a result, fees are assessed. Further we have refunded multiple fees in the past 6 months and Ms. ***** has been explained that further fee refunds will not be granted. The loan is currently past due. Please contact our Risk Management team at ************* to discuss payment arrangements due to financial hardship. Thank you.

4/11/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have 2 overdraft fees from iTunes taking money off my account but iTunes credit me back on 03/29/16 and you guy's stilled the refund me for the fees also I dispute a charge for 68.00 and still haven't been credited back on top that your customer services rep are rude.

Desired Settlement: Be refunded Back

3/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/29/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged $2400 to sell my stock. This is stealing from me.I was not told up front that there was a charge. I want my money back, with a small charge.This is why they do not tell you about it. They work with the AZ. Federal credit Union. I will not do business with them any more. I want people to know how they are. All Finerial Adviser are bad, with other people money.They steal from you.

Desired Settlement: Put money back in my account, only.At the credit union.

Business Response:

Due to fact that this complaint concerns investments which are provided through Arizona Federal but not insured like deposit products, a member of our investment team will be reaching out directly to you to attempt to resolve the issue. Thank you.

Consumer Response: The Bank is letting the advisor do business at there Bank. They should close him down!I will take money frm this Bank, cause they steal from you, close them down!

Business Response: Due  to the highly regulatory nature of investments, this complaint is being handled directly through a member fo the investment team to ensure compliance. We demonstrated cost and provided advice. As previously stated, investment products are not insured the same way deposit products are, thus there is inherent risk in investing. This was demonstrated to the member and agreed upon at the time the investment product was purchased.

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approximately 3 weeks ago , I spoke with Deana C*** at the Arizona Federal Credit Union in ****** ******** about a car loan. I completed an application and my wife was contacted on the phone also because she was to be used as a co owner on the application. I was quoted a rate of 2.24% and was told if I used their contracted auto center to make the purchase I would get a reduction of .25% less making it 1.99% I then contacted Noel R****** Sales Consultant, at Members Auto Center, per Deana's suggestion, to begin looking for a car for us. After 2 weeks he contacted me saying he was having difficulty finding me a car equipped as I desired. Although there were New Cars that was equipped as I requested. We then decide on a car and a take delivery date and time was set up at the AZFCU branch in Apache junction; Thurs, 1/21/16. Noel R***** had brought the car to the branch, we drove it and accepted the car at that time. Deana C*** then began the paper work and informed us that the monthly payment would be $326 and cents. Later during the signing of the documents the interest rate we were expecting and was quoted was now 2.99% and the monthly payment grew a whopping $99 extra.; $425 and cents. This to me sounds like a bait and switch tactic. Waiting till there is almost no going back on the delivery and increasing the costs substantially. I am very upset with their handing of the situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like my monthly payment adjusted to what was quoted initially

Business Response: Our records indicate that this issue has been resolved. Thank you!

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ****

 

8/25/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 06/19/15 I received a letter accepting my settlement offer. This letter stated “An update to our credit bureau will be made within 30 days from receipt of payment”. I sent the settlement on 07/03/15 and the cashier’s check cleared from my credit union on 07/09/15, however Arizona Federal Credit Union has not kept your agreement to update my credit report. I have received a copy of my ********, **********, and ******** credit reports and the entry is still showing a late, charge off with an outstanding balance on all three reports! Disturbingly the last updated date shows that this incorrect information was last reported on August 3rd! This is a full month after the payment was received and the payment was reported. Why was the status not updated at that time?

Desired Settlement: Please immediately update the credit file with all 3 bureaus, to reflect that the account has been settled, as you promised would be done within 30 days.

Business Response: ********,

We have submitted our updates to the three credit reporting agencies. Please keep in mind that updates can take anywhere from 45 - 60 days to be reflected on your credit report from each of the agencies. The item in question is still showing as being disputed currently which may also delay the update from posting. If you have further questions, please feel free to reach out directly to our Risk Management team for assistance at ###-###-####. Thank you.

Sincerely,
Arizona Federal

7/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After going through a settlement process with AZFCU, the bank issued a ***** to BOTH my wife and I for the full amount of the debt forgiveness. This is not the proper procedure. The ***** may be issued in both our names on one form, of they may split the total amount between the two forms for each of us. Because they have issued a ***** to each of us individually, the *** is now demanding additional taxes to be paid based on the two ****** being issued.

Desired Settlement: I expect AZFCU to issue an amended ***** to reflect the actually amount of the debt forgiveness, not twice the amount by issuing two ****** for the full amount. I would prefer one ***** showing both our names as opposed to individual ******.

Business Response: We have provided a voided ***** to the *** on your behalf to clear up the duplicate amount. You will find a copy attached. We will now consider this issue to be resolved. Please contact us at ###-###-#### if you have further questions. Thank you for your membership!

7/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have financed several items over the years with AZFCU. We were hit but the economy downfall and had to have them work with us on one of our car loans while we also had a credit card with them also.. They closed the credit card account down back in 2007 and we have been making payments every since. two years ago we paid off our car loan with them where we keep the agreement with them that if we did not pay our credit card payment on time they would repo the car.. They said in the State of AZ that they were well within the rights to do that so scared we scrapped by and always paid on time.. Since paying off the car we have been making double payments towards the credit card now for two years and went from a 15k balance to now what I thought was to be close to 1900.00 when I logged on yesterday I noticed that my payment was there every month but they were charging me 25.00 fee for if it were late by a few days.. I thought we had a grace period. I called and they said that they would make the request for the 100.00 in fees to be refunded and when I looked today nope just one was refunded.. I am very upset and on the verge to taking them to court for charging fees like this..

Desired Settlement: I want to have the rest of the late fees refunded and I want a copy of our original contract with them on the credit card agreement.. As it stands now I have no intention of paying one more penny to this company until this is resolved if not I will look into legal action.

Business Response: We have refunded an additional 3 fees to bring the total of fee refunds to $100. Please note that your **** ******** account does not have a grace period. Payment is due on the 2nd day of each month. Payments received after the 2nd will be considered late and will incur a late fee. Further late fee refunds will not be given. Attached you will find a copy of the original loan contract. Thank you for your membership; we will now consider this matter to be resolved.

6/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2008, my husband was in a motorcycle accident and we got behind on our bills. My Arizona Federal Credit Union credit card account was charged off in May of 2009 in the amount of $651 and in March of 2010 I settled the account for less than the balance owed. Nothing more has been reported on my credit report for the last 6 years and I considered the matter closed. In February of 2015, however I received a letter from ******* ******* *********** ********** offering to settle for 25% of the balance owed. I responded with a letter on 03/23/15 stating that I did not believe I owed any money due to the previously agreed upon and paid settlement amount. I asked for written documentation of the debt that they claimed I owed. Two weeks later, I received a voicemail on my business phone. The caller stated that he could not provide the information that I requested in writing but could discuss it with me by phone. I responded by sending another letter in which I explained that I am entitled – per **** **** ********** ********* laws - to receive WRITTEN documentation of any debt that is claimed I owe if I was disputing it, which I am. I also advised that I would only communicate in writing, to protect my rights and advised the collector not to contact me by phone and specifically not to contact my place of business. Since then, I have missed 2 calls from the same number, but no messages were left. I still have not received written proof of the debt and have received no explanation for why the debt shows as charged off in May of 2009, has not been reported for the past 6 years and I have received no communication from Arizona Federal but now, 10 months before the debt expires, all of a sudden I am being contacted again. There is no record or mention of my settlement. On May 11, 2015, I requested a copy of my ******** Credit Report and Arizona Federal is reporting the account as being charged off for a 2nd time in May of 2015. How can the same account be charged off twice? Also, it is being reported that I missed a payment in May of 2015. I believe that Arizona Federal is using ****** **** ********** ********* by trying to collect on an old debt that was previously settled, calling me after a request to stop telephone communications and by not provided written documentation of a disputed debt in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement: Please remove the recent report of a missed payment for May 2015 and reflect this account as settled for less than the amount owed.

Business Response: Our records indicate that the credit card in question still has a balance owed. There was a separate loan that was settled upon and paid for less than the balance owed, but there is a remaining outstanding balance on a charged off Visa credit card in the amount of $651.37. This charged off balance has been reporting on the member’s credit report since the time it was charged off 1/8/2010. If the member has proof that she paid her loan, or a copy of her credit report that shows this loan not reporting we will review the documents.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The response is typical of my struggles in dealing with Arizona Federal Credit Union, no one takes the time to understand the real problem. Yes, I did have two loans with Arizona Federal. They were both charged off in January of 2010, as stated in the response. It is my believe that I settled both accounts with Arizona Federal Credit Union at the same time. I did not realize that only one of the accounts was reported as settled until I received a letter from AZFCU in February of this year. Since I did not receive the settlement agreement in writing, I began researching for proof that both were settled, however this was 5 years ago and I'm not sure which of my accounts I paid with. I asked AZFCU to send me what documentation they had and they refused. While continuing to research the matter, I received an email from my credit monitoring service that 2 NEW CHARGE OFFS had been added to my ******** credit report. I was confused because I have worked hard to rebuild my credit and all of my open accounts are current. I received a copy of my credit report from all three bureaus and, low and behold, AZFCU had reported TWO NEW CHARGE OFFS. To further complicate matters, all of these accounts start with the same 7 digits because they were associated with my member number and the remaining digits are masked so there is no way to clearly identify which account I am referencing so that someone can understand my issues.

I am continuing to search for proof that I settled both accounts buy my complaint to the BBB was regarding AZFCU's refusal to provide documentation and the erroneous reporting to the credit bureaus. Here are my problems:

1.) Credit Card Account: This was charged off in 2010 for $651 - that is correct, and confirmed in the response, although I believe I settled this debt and am looking for proof. However, the same account and trade line was reported to have been charged off AGAIN in May 2015 for $804. Let me be clear. The SAME account and the SAME trade line was reported to have been charged off TWICE by Arizona Federal Credit Union. The definition of "charging off" a debt supports that this cannot be true. AZ Fed can continue to try to collect on a charged off debt but they cannot claim to have charged it off multiple times on the same trade line and for different amounts each time. They did not charge off $651 AND then charge off $804 five years later on the same account.

2.) Personal Loan: This personal loan had a balance of $261 when it was charged off in 2010 then I settled it and that is correctly reported as paid for less than full. However, a second trade line was added this month for the same account, stating that it was charged off in May 2015. These are two different trade lines for the same personal loan, with different statuses. Once again, if they correctly state in their response that this was settled, how can it be charged off for a second time this month.

This is new information that was added this month. According to ********, ******* and **********, I have two NEW charge off accounts. I have attached a document showing how the two accounts are being reported.

While I continue to look for documentation that both loans were settled, I would like for AZFCU to provide me with whatever written documentation they have. I would also like AZFCU to adjust their entries to all 3 credit bureaus to reflect the correct charge off date for account #1 and to remove the duplicate entry for account #2 that incorrectly states that it was charged off this month. The original entry for account #2 is correct: charged off in 2010 then settled for less than full.

Regards,

******** *****

Business Response: Since receiving the original complaint from this member, and since the most recent communication through the BBB on 5/22/2015, Arizona Federal has received a letter from Jennifer stating she was unable to locate proof that she settled the remaining outstanding debt. She has offered to settle the debt at a specific dollar value. Arizona Federal has accepted this offer and will submit the debt as “settled for less than due amount” to the bureau when the payment is recieved.
 
We are considering this matter as resolved outside of the BBB and will communicate to the member outside of the BBB from now on.

5/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had multiple accounts for ten years now. I currently have a deposit account, and expense account, and a miscellaneous account. When I initially started banking with this company it was great. I have moved around the country, ran businesses out of these accounts. I move money constantly between accounts and have upwards of twenty transactions a day come out of my expense account and have held over 20,000$ in my deposit account and average about 2,000 to 3,000 in it. Today is the last straw. Over the years this company has gotten less and less customer oriented. I have been charged over draft fees for being 35 cents off, overdraft fees because they withdrew automatic billing before putting in deposits in my account, overdraft fees because a gas pump put 100$ as pending in case I spent that much on gas when my account never even went negative, and yesterday when my account was charged for being 1.00$ short while I had over 1000$ in my other account. This company has developed an "I got you" approach to making money off of its customers or share holders... One time specifically the representative stated that it didn't matter how little the amount was that I overdraft even if it was once cent, it was not their fault and they would not refund the overdraft charge unless it was their fault and that it didn't matter if I had 5 grand in a connected account, it wasn't in the account when the automatic payment made it overdraft. Additionally, the time when my account never even went negative and I was charged an overdraft fee, the representative made it seem like it was a very big deal and she was doing me a great favor that no one should be doing. I have 7 kids, own multiple homes, and start and sell businesses. I do not have time for a bank that is out to get its customers and do not have their customers best interest at heart. This bank used to, but its business model changed I guess. I have since started storing the majority of my money in my personal vault at home because I feel better not letting this company hold on to my money that will take it from me at the first opportunity. I have subsequently opened up a local account in Mississippi. This new recent account has reminded me of the way Arizona Federal used to treat its customers.

Desired Settlement: If this issue is not resolved, I will be moving my primary accounts that I have had for around ten years to my new bank. I am tired of being taken advantage of and this bank spinning it like they have either done nothing wrong or are doing a favor to the customer for returning the money that they take. The most recent overdraft was on 11 may 2015 from account ******

Business Response: This issue has been resolved and the member was satisfied with the outcome.

3/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have 3 accounts with AZ Federal, 1 checking, 1 auto and 1 current charged off checking. I have been a member for over 10 years with a consistent direct deposit coming in biweekly. Recap: * Negative checking account I agreed to pay $50.00 a month on, I have a current active checking account and a current auto loan. I have gone into the branch twice to set up the auto deduct on the auto loan and the negative checking account. The entire amount was deducted twice, I am not financially able to pay the entire amount without incurring more debt. I called last month and explained the events that took place, I again indicated take $50 a month I can not pay the balance, set it up automatically, I was placed on hold and told all is taken care of. This month again the entire amount is deducted, I called and was transferred to an 'risk' agent named **** who indicated the branch does not have permission to set up arrangements at all so she wasn't sure how that happened. I explained in detail my continued struggle with the auto deduct for my negative checking account and auto loan, explained this last time I went I was assured it was set up. Your agent attempted to explain in a very demeaning tone and manner that I because one account is active and has funds and is being used I signed and agreement that your financial institution can withdraw funds to bring any account in a positive standing. I am not disputing that however as a customer who has made an attempt to resolve my negative account, I am not running or hiding, I have called and visited your branch personally. I explained if there are efficiencies and a disconnect between the branch and your 'risk' department I as a customer should not feel that negative effect nor be treated as if I am not an active and current customer. **** was attempting to be condescending with her questions, she had a 'put you in your place' tone rather than stepping back and attempting to offer the quality of service your institution markets it will provide. **** from the beginning of the call used words as 'concerning, risk' which was extremely upsetting, used dirty questions to try to make a point 'didn't you realize you had an extra $50.00 in your account' and '$50.00 a month will take you forever to pay off?' I have been with your institution for over 10 years, forever is a good thing right? I explained I was aware and noticed this is why I have come into your branch because I noticed the extra $50.00 and the car payment. I was on hold for 15-20 minutes so she could research my notes, implying I was not being truthful rather than research my account history, rather than review the length of time I have been a member, rather that research the amount of money that has come in and out since I have been a member, rather than research my ability to pay, I have been with my employer for 14 years, I have received a biweekly direct deposit since day one with your institution.

Desired Settlement: I would like the amount deducted to pay off the negative checking account deposited back into my current and active checking account. I would like $50.00 a month deducted from my current checking and applied toward the negative account. Big picture training for your agent, your branches do an awesome job of being great stewards of your brand and there is an obvious disconnect with your 'risk' department which is a shame. Social media can quickly take your marketing investment down, your staff should be mindful of this and treat members with respect.

Business Response:

Hello -

We have contacted the member directly and come to a resolution that both parties have agreed upon.

Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

Arizona Federal

1/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back on 5-23-2014 I called the bank to pay my final bill and close the account which had a "0" balance in it and they went ahead and processed another bill that came in and did not close the account as requested.I have not made a deposit to this bank in over 2 months for the sole reason I do not live in Arizona any more and have not for 10 years. So now they are putting service fees against me and put it into collection.I called today to let them know I will be sending a check via mail to pay Geico bill they processed which is $ 127.00 but will not pay any of there fees as this account should have not paid any out with no money in it. I feel all charges should be dropped as they did not do there job correctly and close the account out.How do banks pay out money when there is no money in the account and has not been in over 2 months?Please help if you can,Thanks

Desired Settlement: Take off all fees !

Business Response: Please see our attached response. Thank you.

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I decided to close our accounts with AZFCU after almost 20 due to repeat compromises of their computer system where our identity was stolen and checking account compromised. Because of that wife I went to the bank to close our checking and savings account. We were told they were closed. Within a month we were notified that our account had an over draft. We contacted the bank to ask how a closed account could have an unauthorized charge. We got a horrible excuse and were assured once again that our account was closed and even provided a check for total balance at one point. This scenario repeated itself two additional times and each time we were told our account was closed. Today when I received yet another over draft letter and I contacted the bank to be told, they COULD NOT close my account why I had monies due on a credit. I had never heard this before. I asked why do you continue to allow unauthorized charges to an account that we were told was closed three times and we do NOT have checks, debit card, nor do we know the account number. I told them that this policy of telling me my account was closed but keeping it open and there by allowing unauthorized charges that I am NOT aware of, will cause a hit on my credit and I would hold them response. It seemed with their response that they did not care as they told me to go to the bank and file a dispute. This is unacceptable. I now bank with ***** and ****. Both banks have told me that this practice is not acceptable and that there is NO reason they can not close my account to all charges at my request.

Desired Settlement: I want my account closed and written confirmation that no charges of any kind will hit an account that I was told on NO less then 3 occasions was CLOSED.

Business Response: Our records indicate that the account was closed on 5/19/14 and all fees that may have been incurred were refunded. The member no longer has an account relationship with us and we have mailed him correspondence advising him as such. We consider this issue to be resolved.

5/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a member with Arizona federal since 2006 and I took out a credit card for 5,000.00 and the card is maxed out. each month I paid 135.00 plus but not more that 145.00 each month. my car has been maxed since then, but I always pay my payments. the last two months my payment went to 202.00 and some change. the first month I didn't address it because I was on vacation, and this month I paid and right away the system told me my payment the following month would be the same. I have talked to someone on email and they told me because it was over limit, well since 2006 I use the available balance each month because interest will take it. This has not been a problem before since 2006. Now I did speak to someone live. A call center supervisor stating and telling me why. apparently they did a system up grade and now the system calculates the interest etc. I said so the system is assuming I'm going to be over payment because its already calculating my next payment. Long story short, he said to wait until the 2nd week of June for the system to cycle. I do not believe any of this information to be true at all I need help and a reconciliation department to look into this.

Desired Settlement: I need help and a reconciliation department to look into this and offer better guidance as to why for 6 years this didn't happen and now after a system upgrade, now the payment has jumped drastically. I need something in writing an explination why not before and now.

Business Response: Thank you for providing us with Ms. ******'s concern. 

On May 15, 2014, we spoke with Ms. ****** over the phone. During our conversation we clarified the information that appears on her Visa account statement and the required payment amount. The payment amount Ms. ****** is to pay has always shown correctly on her statement. 

An opportunity to establish payment arrangements was offered during the conversation; however, Ms. ****** declined setting up an arrangement. Unfortunately, all viable options were provided but we were not able to reach a resolution. 

Having had the opportunity to speak with Ms. ******, we consider this matter to be closed. Thank you for the opportunity to address her concern. 

Sincerely, 

***** ******** 
Member Response Consultant

5/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to AZFCU, an inquired about opening an account. the guy was so rude to me I never opened the account. Now AZFCU is charging me each month for not having a balance, but I never opened an account. They need to dismiss the charges, I don't have an account with you! In addition you ran my credit, I never gave you permission to run my credit-I never opened an account. Remove this inquiry it cost me points on my credit report!

Desired Settlement: Remove charges and remove inquiry on my credit report!

Business Response: Dear Ms. ****:

I have attempted to reach ***** by phone and left voice messages requesting a call back. To date, I have not receive a follow up call. It would be greatly appreciated if ***** contacted me at ***** ******** so I could address her concerns. 

Sincerely, 

***** ********
Member Response Consultant

4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Arizona Federal Credit Union froze my husband's card from making a purchase from ***** on 2/24/14. He received a message explaining that there was possible fraud on his card and asked him to call. He called and they read the charge which was not fraud at the time, so they unfroze his card. The next day (2/25/14) we checked our account and there were 2 additional charges at Frys and a charge at QT for a total of $206.71. We were told that AZFCU would look into this and it seemed like an inside job at work. We cancelled our card and got a new one. We are now receiving notice that our claim was declined. We did not make these purchases and need them to be reversed ASAP.

Desired Settlement: We need to be refunded the $206.71 charges that were not made by us. AZFCU needs to contact ***** if they have issues and not blame the customer for money they did not spend. This was fraud and both the bank and us reported it.

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ****: 

Thank you for providing us with Ms. ******'s concern. 

The transactions in question are currently being investigated by our Card Disputes team. They have been in contact with her regarding the status of the dispute. Should Ms. ****** have any concerns or questions regarding this investigation, she should contact our disputes team by phone at ###-###-####. 

Thank you for the opportunity to address this matter. 

Sincerely,
***** ********
Member Response Consultant 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We have been in contact with ***** from the dispute response team as well as going into the branch to sit with someone and we have gotten nowhere. We are very upset at how we have been treated and the shortness and lack of customer service we have received. We have been dealing with this for months now and are uneasy that someone has (as of now) been able to get away with 3 charges ($61.71, $101.91 and $43.09) on our account using our money. There was original fraud reported to us on 2/18/14 by AZFCU. They even put a hold on our card. We had to run home and get a check to buy our groceries. We called the bank back and they said that possible fraud had been detected and our account was frozen. They verified the purchase and it was our purchase so they said it must have been a glitch but after that we were worried and checked our account and found 3 more charges that were not ours and reported them right away. I just don't understand how they could report fraud to us and then we report fraud to them and they deny it saying that "it does not fit normal fraud patterns". On top of that yesterday, my husband went to the branch again and was pulling $200 out of the ATM to pay our sitter and nothing ended up coming out of the machine. He immediately went inside to let the bank know and they said they don't service the ATMs so we have to file a complaint and they could not give us our money until they investigate it. Now we are out over $400. Now we have to disputes open and $400 that was taken from us and we did nothing but be responsible citizens. This all needs to be cleared up immediately. We will seek legal action if we need to against AZFCU if needed. This is horrible customer service. We just want all of our rightful money back.

Regards,

******* ******

Business Response: Thank you for your patience during your **** Debit/Credit Card dispute investigation. We have completed our investigation and have issued a credit of $206.71 to your account. A withdrawal of $50.00 was also processed which represents the maximum amount of your liability for unauthorized transactions as disclosed in the Arizona Federal Credit Union Membership Agreement.

If you have any questions regarding your dispute, please contact us at ###-###-####.

Sincerely,

Card Services

Arizona Federal Credit Union

1/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have paid off my motorhome loan that I got through Arizona Federal Credit Union and they will not give me the title. They say there is another account in my name that has a negative ballance, the contract I signed with them on the motorhome loan was for the motorhome, nothing else.I have been trying to sell it but, cannot without the title.

Desired Settlement: I want this to go on their record, showing their poor business dealings, AND I want the title to my motorhome.

Business Response: Re: ***** ***** #*******

Dear Ms. ****:

Thank you for providing us with Mr. *****’s concern.

Mr. *****’s loan agreement includes a Cross-Collateralization clause which expands the credit union’s secured interest in the collateral to include other obligations he has to the credit union, even if the auto loan is paid in full.

Because of a negative account balance, this clause was exercised and the lien release was
withheld. The negative balance has since been paid and on December 13, 2013, a lien release was processed. Mr. ***** should receive this within 10 business days.

Thank you for the opportunity to address this matter. Sincerely,


***** ********
Member Response Consultant

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First of all, I cannot find any such "clause" in my contract. Putting that aside, it is now 12/29 and I have not recieved my title yet, when according to their letter they processed it on 12/13. I have not moved our changed any of my contact information that they have on file.

Regards,

***** *****


 

 

Business Response: Re: ***** ***** #*******

Dear Ms. ****:

Thank you for providing us with Mr. *****’s response.

We identified an internal breakdown that resulted in the lien release not being sent as previously communicated. We apologize for this error. A rush request was submitted on January 2, 2014, and the lien release was mailed to him via *****. Mr. ***** can expect to receive this delivery by January 8, 2014.

Thank you for the opportunity to address this matter. Sincerely,

***** ********
Member Response Consultant

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I have received the needed paperwork and consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *****


 

 

10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Arizona Federal Credit Union
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart