Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides financial services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Arizona Central Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Arizona Central Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Arizona Central Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1939 in AZ Business incorporated 09/19/1939 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N. 44th Street, Ste. 310, Phoenix AZ 85018
http://www.azdfi.gov
Phone Number: (602) 771-2800
Fax Number: (602) 381-1225
consumeraffairs@azdfi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Bronwyn Medley, Vice President & Chief Marketing Officer Mrs. Janet C Moodie, Vice President, Operations Mr. Todd Pearson, Sr. Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Janet C Moodie, Vice President, Operations
Business Category

Credit Unions


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Arizona Central Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1805 W Chandler Blvd

    Chandler, AZ 85224

  • 1948 S Woodlands Village Blvd

    Flagstaff, AZ 86001

  • 2020 N Central Ave Ste 100

    Phoenix, AZ 85004 (602) 264-6421 (866) 264-6421

  • 2521 N West St

    Flagstaff, AZ 86004

  • 3350 S Price Rd

    Tempe, AZ 85282

  • 4451 S White Mountain Rd Ste D

    Show Low, AZ 85901

  • 5552 W Glendale Ave

    Glendale, AZ 85301

  • 6901 W Bell Rd

    Glendale, AZ 85308

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/14/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I refinanced with AZ central credit union in order to reduce my monthly payments despite the fantastic service I received from **** ******** This has proven to be a mistake due to the outrageous added cost of CPI. With **** ******* I paid 548.00 a month, I am now struggling to pay 604.00 a month in what was originally a 419.90 monthly bill. When I switched to ACCU I had *********** *nsurance, a company I had been with since 2012. Six months went by with no issues. I did receive mail from ACCU requesting the title to my vehicle, once I received said title I mailed it to ACCU, that was the only contact I received from ACCU. In July 06 2015 a CPI of over 3000.00 was placed on my loan sky rocketing it past the original loan amount of 20000.00, I did not find out about this until 27th of July by logging into my account online. I switched from *********** to ***** gaining the needed coverage *********** *ailed to grant despite a huge rise in monthly payments. I spoke to a clerk at a Tucson location about how to add my new insurance and I was informed to bring in the policy. This I did, however a different clerk was there and gave me entirely different directions, informing me that my insurance should contact the credit union and that I would be credited for the extra amount paid and the CPI removed. I was handed a green paper with instructions on it, which I followed. On Sep, 14th, 2015 a debt adjust appeared on my auto loan of 888.00 leaving the remaining amount of the CPI 2140.00. I contacted the credit union multiple times asking for the CPI removal and if I could do anything to have it removed. I was informed that the CPI remained on there due to a lapse in coverage from 11/13/14 to 7/29/15. I emailed multiple copies of the old insurance documents stating that I maintained insurance but switched due to failure to provide proper coverage despite multiple attempts. "Unless you provide us with evidence of insurance coverage required by-your loan/lease agreement with us, we may purchase insurance at your expense to protect our interest in your collateral. This insurance may, but need not, also protect your interest. If the collateral becomes damaged, the coverage that we purchase may not pay any claim that you make or any claim that is made against you in connection with the collateral. You may later cancel any insurance purchased by us, but only after providing us with the evidence that you have obtained acceptable insurance coverage elsewhere as required by your loan/lease agreement with us." I have contacted the credit union multiple times and it is always the same run around. This entire experience has been beyond frustrating and I do not feel as though Arizona Central Credit Union values their customers time or money. I am exhausted and I have maintained insurance as well as have GAP insurance, when the required coverage was not granted I switched to an insurance company that provided the needed coverage. There is no reason for the CPI, especially not 2140.00 for a period of time that has long since past. Any more run around and I may just give into the temptation to drop my car off at the credit union with the keys and say "no more, it's yours,".

Desired Settlement: All I desire is the CPI refunded and to be credited for the extra I have paid.

Business Response: Arizona Central Credit Union acknowledges receipt of the complaint from ***** * *******  The loan for the 2012 Ford Escape was opened November 13, 2014 with an original amount of $20,000.  All applicants are required to sign loan documents including a Supplemental Insurance Provision that clearly details insurance requirements  of “comprehensive and collision insurance against loss or damage on the personal property that is securing your loan in an amount sufficient to cover the credit union’s interest in the collateral”.  ***** *igned this document and provided a copy of a *********** Insurance ID card.

Through regular review of loan files, it was discovered that ***** did not carry collision coverage with *********** Insurance.  We issued a letter April 28, 2015 stating we were unable to accept the policy for this reason.  The letter also offered several ways for ***** or her agent to provide proper proof of insurance to avoid our purchasing insurance on her behalf.  We did not receive a response to this letter and another letter was sent May 26, 2015 with the same request for information of proper coverage.

*****’s policy with *********** renewed June 3, 2015 and we received a copy of the declarations page detailing coverage.  Again, there was no collision coverage listed on the policy.  The third letter dated June 23, 2015 indicated Arizona Central Credit Union purchased coverage to protect our interest in the collateral and would remain in effect until satisfactory evidence of insurance was received.  This is common practice for financial institutions to protect their collateral.  The insurance purchase price of $3,028 was added on July 6, 2015 which increased the payment from $419.90 to $679.81.  The policy purchased by Arizona Central is a one year policy and the monthly payment amount is increased for only 12 payments, not the life of the loan. 

***** obtained a new policy with ***** *n July 29, 2015 with the proper comprehensive and collision coverage and the collateral protection insurance obtained by AZ Central Credit Union was cancelled.  A refund in the amount of $888 was applied to the loan and a new letter sent September 15, 2015 (this letter was sent back RETURN TO SENDER) stating our policy has been cancelled however any lapse in coverage would be the responsibility of the member.  Because we did not have satisfactory evidence of collision coverage from November 13, 2014 until July 29, 2015, the premium amount was reduced to  $2,140 and is still due and payable by the member in the form of increased monthly loan payments of $603.59.  If payments of $603.59 are continued, the remaining policy amount of $2,140 will be paid in full as of June 2016 and the payment will decrease to the original amount of $419.90 provided proper coverage is maintained.

Arizona Central Credit Union clearly disclosed the required insurance coverage and made several attempts to notify ***** of the missing coverage before purchasing our own. 

There are several options available to ***** to reduce her payment and we would be happy to discuss these with her.  She should call and speak with Traci S***** Director, Support Services at 6************

Consumer Response:

At no point did I ever receive any contact about the insufficiency of the insurance, the only contact letters I received from Arizona Central Credit Union were that asking for the title of my vehicle. Arizona Central Credit Union has both my phone number as well as my email address, at no point were either of those methods used to contact me. I never received those letters, I moved in February, however my mail was requested to be forwarded a phone call was utilized to change the address with the Credit Union. However due to another move the address was never changed, the address I originally had was left in the system. I changed my new address online this time. 

Despite the times I have contacted Arizona Central Credit Union never once did they disclose the information provided to BBB to me. I have emailed multiple times about the CPI, each time being told to send my insurance info for that period of time in and nothing more.

The amount of CPI makes even less sense, if the CPI was purchased in the beginning of July and proper insurance coverage was obtained in the end of July, that means over two thousand dollars is being charged for a period of time that has passed before the CPI was ever purchased. How does that protect the investment of the Credit Union if there is active proper insurance maintained?

 

Business Response: While I understand Ms. ******** concerns, the amount of the premium covers the entire period the vehicle did not have collision coverage.  She misunderstands the information provided.  The only letter that was returned was noted in our original response, so it is safe to assume the other letter were, in fact, delivered.  Lastly, this is a hard charge, paid to an insurance company and not something we are able to waive as a gesture of good faith.  I have attached the acknowledgement/agreement disclosing all the terms Ms. ****** is now disputing.  Unfortunately, the credit union position has not changed.

9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged a $10/month inactive account fee. I was not notified of this fee. It occurred for 6 months without my knowledge.

Desired Settlement: Return of $60

Business Response:

This fee is disclosed on the Fee Schedule provided to all members.  In addition, the month before charging this fee, we mail a letter to our members notifying them all they need to do is contact us to ensure this fee is not charged.  *** ******** spoke with our Solution Center on 9/1/2015 and all the fees refereenced in her complaint were refunded.  We also explained how they are calculated and how to avoid them. 

9/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a Savings account with ACCU , they charge me from June 2013 to June 2015 $421.95 in fee with out sending me any letter about amount on those fee or any statements. I didn't receive any statements from years the last statement when I have is from March 2006. I July 2015 I get a letter in the mail that they will close my account in October 2015 .

Business Response: In response to the complaint referenced above, I offer the following explanation.

The fees *** ******* is referring to are: (Note all fees are disclosed in compliance with State and Federal regulations)
$5.00 Single Service Fee:  Charged when members only have one account.  
$10.00 Inactive Membership Fee:  Charged when a membership has no activity, on any account, for 12 months.

*** ******* had a savings account and a loan which was paid off in December, 2011.  We waive the Single Service Fee for 12 months after a loan is paid off, so he began being charged this fee in December, 2012.  Total he was charged for this fee was $165.00.  12/2012 through 8/2015.

*** ******* began being charged the Inactive Membership Fee in June, 2013.  We sent him a letter making him aware of the pending fee the month before he was charged.  Total he was charged for this fee was $260.00.  6/2013 through 8/2015.

The letter *** *******  refers to in his complaint is the regulatory requirement that we notify members when they have had no activity for 36 consecutive months.  We are required, by law, to escheat funds from these dormant accounts to the State of Arizona.  *** ******* would have been able to claim his funds from the State.

I will confirm that *** ******* was not receiving a paper statement in the mail, he had enrolled in electronic statements.

I contend that *** ******* did have a responsibility in this situation, however, I believe the credit union did as well.  Our team should have explained and educated *** ******* when he came in to close his account and discussed a compromise and offered him a refund.  Which is what I am doing effective today.

I have reopened *** *******’s savings account and deposited $275.00.  The fee refund is broken down as follows:  The 12/2012 fee of $5.00, ½ of the fees assessed in 2013 for $60.00, ½ the fees assessed in 2014 for $90.00 and all of the fees assessed in 2015.

It is never our intent to over-fee our members, I hope *** ******* feels this is a fair and equitable compromise.

10/22/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am so angry I cannot begin to tell you. ******* ******* Credit Union, offers a skip a loan payment once a year. I paid the 25.00 processing fee and they approved it. ***** Bank called me and told me my bank account was overdrawn by $119.00. They processed the loan payment on my car for 289.00 anyway. I called them, they told me to stop payment on it, which I did (30.00) later. They credited the money back into my acct the next day, now they are sending me collection notices for the same payment. They say I was credited twice by them, which is an absolute and total lie. They must employ third graders to do finance there. Any idiot would see that I would have a credit balance surplus of 289.00 had that been the case. There was no credit by my bank only the original amount these scheisters credited. I hate these people and wish I had never refinanced with them. I would rather pay a higher finance rate than to deal with these yahoo's!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am going to a locale branch tomorrow and am going to raise holy hell!!! I will go to Channel 13 News, Facebook and plan to post on my companies website what incompetents they truly are. Duh where were these people edumicated, not in any school, I went to, an yes the misspelling was intended because they are so incompetent!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: Fix it, get their sorry asses educated, refund the 25.00 processing fee, the stop payment fee of 30.00, and give me another skip payment. I feel this is the least they could do for all the time and energy it has taken to try and deal with this situation.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Arizona Central Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart