Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This credit union offers banking, loans, IRA's and safety deposit boxes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Altier Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Altier Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Altier Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 26, 1995 Business started: 07/23/1947 in AZ Business started locally: 07/23/1947 Business incorporated 07/27/1998 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N. 44th Street, Ste. 310, Phoenix AZ 85018
http://www.azdfi.gov
Phone Number: (602) 771-2800
Fax Number: (602) 381-1225
consumeraffairs@azdfi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Harry Mateer, CEO Ms. Brenda McSwain, Director of Administration, Facilities & Training Mr. David L. Skilton, Corporate Officer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Harry Mateer, CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Brenda McSwain, Director of Administration, Facilities & Training
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Mortgage Brokers Mortgage Bankers Banking Services

Industry Tips
Advance Fee Loans Reverse Mortgage: What to Know

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Altier Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1511 N Project Drive

    Tempe, AZ 85281

  • 1650 S Priest Dr

    Tempe, AZ 85281

  • 221 N. 79th Avenue

    Tolleson, AZ 85072 (602) 236-4977

  • 449 Haul Road

    Page, AZ 86040 (928) 645-0963

  • 6846 E. Warner Road

    Mesa, AZ 85212 (480) 324-1033

  • P.O. Box 2447

    St. Johns, AZ 85936 (928) 337-3455

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In living my desire to build a pool i went through california pools to design a pool on my home. They referred me to apply for financing through one of the banks that service their financing needs in this case was Altier Credit Union. I submitted my application and within financing requirements they had Debt to Income guidelines not above 40%. when i calculated my gross income along with my spouses and the monthly recurring expenses it came out to roughly 38-39%. This credit Union, not sure how they do their math said i was at 53%. Not sure how they do their math but they ultimately denied me for the pool financing loan. From my understanding they are suppose to use Gross income not Net Income when calculating DTI. I would like for this to be known as the representative ********* ******* was who advised me this and i would like for them to give me a breakdown on how they came about with the 53% DTI.

Desired Settlement: i want them to review their calculations and explain to me how DTI was 53% if DTI has to do with gross income and not NEt incme as when i did my calculations i was at 39% DTI. If it was their error they need to fix my application for me to fulfill financing

Business Response:

I checked with our Lending Department and we have no record of receiving a loan application under the name “**** ******** ******.”  If the loan application was submitted under her husband’s name, we’ll need his name to search for the loan documents.  If the BBB requires a more formal response, please advise.  Thank you for your assistance.

** *******Director of Administration, Facilities & Training

Altier Credit Union

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed and the application was submitted under ******** ****** *** **** * ****** as i am now married.

Regards,

******** ****** *** ******** ******


Business Response:

In response to *** ******'s statements regarding the denial of her swimming pool loan application by loan officer, ********* *******, the loan application was reviewed by the mortgage loan manager and her findings are noted below:

Income for *** ******'s loan was calculated by using a letter provided by ***** *********** and pay check stubs from **** ** *******.  The combined monthly income was noted as $6,274.00 from these sources.  The debt calculation was determined from an ******** credit report.  Total debt (including the new loan payment of $291 for the swimming pool) was $3,295.00.  Debts divided by income equal 53%.  As you can see from the calculation, gross income was used to calculate the debt ratio.  Based on *** *** **** ******** high debt ratio, the loan was denied.  It is our hope that the information provided will clear up any misunderstanding or questions that Mr. and Mrs. ****** may have regarding their loan application denial.

Consumer Response: from my understanding monthly income should be imputed as income before taxes not after. If that is the case monthly income is being calculated after deductions. Per ************ when using debt to income calculator advices it would be income prior to deductions. Please clarify.

Business Response: I believe we were clear in our previous statement that the loan officer calculated the debt to income ratio based on the applicant's gross income.  Unless the applicant has a new dispute, we now consider this matter closed. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Altier Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart