Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Merchants Information Solutions, Inc.

Phone: (602) 744-3700 View Additional Phone Numbers 301 E. Virginia Avenue, Suite 4000, Phoenix, AZ 85004 http://www.MerchantsInfo.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business provides pre-employment background screening and assessments/integrity testing and consumer and business identity theft solutions.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Merchants Information Solutions, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Merchants Information Solutions, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Merchants Information Solutions, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1963 Business started: 02/15/1912 in AZ Business started locally: 02/15/1912 Business incorporated 02/15/1912 in AZ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Russ Johnson, President Mr. James Collard, VP of Operations Mr. Jim Collins, VP of Sales Mr. Stephen Swope, VP/CFO & Treasurer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. James Collard, VP of Operations
Principal: Mr. Russ Johnson, President
Business Category

Credit Reporting Agencies Employment Service - Employee Leasing Drug & Alcohol Screening & Testing Identity Theft Protection & Prevention Services Screening - Background & Employment Credit Services

Alternate Business Names
Merchants Recovery Solutions Inc.
Industry Tips
Employment

Additional Locations

  • 301 E. Virginia Avenue, Suite 4000

    Phoenix, AZ 85004

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have been customers of Merchants Information Solutions, Inc since 1999. We use their service to run credit reports on potential tenants. WE are subject to their inspection of how we maintain the credit reports and have had routine inspections in the past. On Thursday August 14th, we received a call from Merchants stating that an inspector would be call us immediately as they needed to inspect our records within 24 hours or they would suspend our service. Late in the day, an inspector for Merchants called wanting to schedule our inspection. We asked if Friday afternoon was OK. He replied that this was not an urgent matter and that he would call next week to schedule the inspection. On Monday August 18th, we were notified that our Merchants credit screening account was suspended when we attempted to access the site. We immediately contacted ***** in the compliance department at Merchants to find out what the problem was. She stated that since our inspection was not conducted within the 24 hour period that our account would be suspended until the inspection was performed. We responded that it was their inspector who refused to come out and inspect not our refusal. She apologized and said she would have him contact us immediately. As of Tuesday August 12th at 11:00AM, the inspector has still not contacted us. We have placed numerous calls to ***** at Merchants asking for help. She keeps promising that he will call us immediately, yet we cannot get him to call us. They have shut us down and are keeping us from conducting our business.

Desired Settlement: Reactivate our account immediately

Business Response: We received your letter dated August 20, 2014 via postal mail on August 25th.

Mr. ******** is correct that Merchants Information Solutions, Inc. (MIS) did suspend the tenant screening account for his business due to compliance issues related to a change in the physical address of the business. Our dealings concerning this matter have been exclusively with a woman named ****.

Our records show a physical inspection of the premises was completed on August 21st and the account was reinstated the same day when we received notice from the inspection vendor.  In addition, the account has been used at least one tirne since reinstatement.

Given these facts we believe the matter is now resolved and the complaint by Mr. ******** has been addressed.

Please contact me if you have any questions or some matter remains outstanding.

Thank you.
*** *******
Vice President


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Merchants Information Solutions, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)