This business is not BBB accredited.

Lee's Quality Counter Tops Inc.

  ! There is an alert on Lee's Quality Counter Tops Inc. !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers installation and manufacturing of counter tops.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lee's Quality Counter Tops Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC)
1700 W. Washington Street, Ste. 105, Phoenix AZ 85007
http://www.azroc.gov
Phone Number: (602) 542-1525
Fax Number: (602) 542-1599
On 12/4/2012 BBB confirmed that Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC) suspended the license of Lee's Quality Counter Tops Inc..

On 10/16/2014 BBB confirmed that Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC) suspended the license of Lee's Quality Counter Tops Inc..

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

Countertops Manufacturers & Producers

Alternate Business Names
Lee's Counter Tops (Former Name)
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spent $878.72 on kitchen counter tops. It is starting to come apart at the back splash and some damage around the sink. They sent someone out to look at it and he tried to accused me of getting new cabinets. That is not true. When I asked if their was any thing the company could do he said no. He told me to sand it and seal it my self. I asked 3 different times if he could or would do anything and he said no. He also tried to say the sun damaged it . That cant happen because I have a huge roof overhang. Their is no direct sun on the counter tops. I am stuck with counter tops that are less than 2 years old and falling apart.

Desired Settlement: To solve the problem.

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had placed 2 orders for bathroom countertops. One for the master bath (2sinks and guess bath one sink (cultural marble white). Picked up countertops on 6/16/2012 and had them installed by another person.The guess bathroom is not used often and never notice a signifcant stain at the bottom of the sink. I called ****s on 9/21/2012, 5 days after the 90 days. S/w ****** and he stated "don't worry it will be taken care of"). They sent someone out to inspect on 9/25/2012, that's the way it's made. After several attempts to settle this with the owner, he never s/w with me, had several excuses by ****** that he was not available and when I was told he will be closing on 10/2/2012, I was told he had already left for the day. My other sinks are fine, they could have made an affort to replace. They should not have sold me the item with the stain noticable.On 10/7/2012, made a complaint to the AZ ********* ** ***********. They came out on Oct 30, 2012 to inspect and the owner from ****s never showed up. Received a ltr from ** *********** dated 11/01/2012 stated "the *** does not have jurisdiction in this matter," because they didn't install them as a contractor. I appealed with another ltr as stated I could, dated 11/6/2012, for review. On 11/14/2012, received a phone call and letter from *** ******,Inspector, he s/w his supervisor and they couldn't do anything regarding this matter. #*********.

Desired Settlement: Replacement first or a refund of $334.50. I will pay for my own installation.

Business Response:

******* *******,
Response to complaint ID# *******
1) ***** ******* received a proposal for 2 cultured marble bath counter from Lee's Quality Counter Tops Inc. 5-18-2012. Total cost was $872.00 + sales tax. At this time she reviewed the color choices that we offered.
2) On 6-4-12 we received a call to place an order. We were given her color selection, final sizes, style of sink bowl and type of faucet. She also gave a credit card # for the deposit in the amount of $ 475.00.
3) On 6-5-2012 the credit card was run and the material was ordered. on 6-14-2012 a phone message was left that the counters were ready for pick up. On 6-15-2012 we were contacted by the customer to pay the balance with a credit card and that "Gary" will pick up the counters on 6-19-2012. I think Gary was her contractor.
4) The customer did contact our office 9-21-2012 and said that there was a problem with 1 of the counter that she had bought. We send out the cultured marble manufacturer to inspect on 9-28-2012. The report that was given to us was that the counter was fine and that what the customer was seeing was part of the material. Cultured marble is made in a mold and the material is mix in a mixer with different colors selected by the customer and poured into the mold. There is"t any way to pour this material into any special pattern, it is a random color. In our showroom we have a 4 foot by 5 foot display board as well as a sample counter (same color that this customer selected). On the display board there are a total of 3 notices that say "FINAL COLORS MAY VARY" this notice spans across the display board 5 foot and is at average eye level from the floor at 5 foot 4 inches. According to our notes, the customer wasn't happy that we were not going to replace the counter and that she wanted to speak with myself. I was not in and told ****** that she would call later to speak with me directly. ****** updated me about the conversation they had and so I keep all of this customers job packet on my desk.I didn't receive a call for her and had the job packet filed away on 10-13-2012.
5) On 10-15-2012 the customer filed a complaint with the ******* *****. against ******** ***. and that there would be a job site inspection on 10-30-2012 @ 2:00 pm. After reading the complaint I pulled the job packet for a review and saw that the complaint was for a project that we did not install. I contacted the *****. inspector a Mr. *** ******* and asked if he was aware that our company had only supplied the material for this project and had not been the contractor. He did not know this and said that the *****. had no jurisdiction in this matter and that we would not need to attend the inspection.
6) In the complaint to the *****. that top #1 has 2 sink bowls with 1 good and the other slightly darker, and the counter in question the sink bowl is dark and very noticeable. In the complaint to the *** top #1 both sinks are fine and counter   # 2 has a " SIGNIFICANT STAIN & WE SHOULD NOT HAVE SOLD HER THE COUNTER WITH A STAIN THAT NOTICEABLE"
7) In response to this complaint, # 1 from the time that her agent picked up her counters until the time we were called to inspect the counters in her home. 6-19-2012 until 9-28-2012 we had no idea where these counters were.# 2 If this so called stain in the counter was that noticeable why didn't her contractor and or herself contact us with this problem before they were installed and had the plumbing installed. We have inspected the counter in the customers home and now have responded to 2 complaints from the *** & *** for something that is so noticeable that she had for over 90 days.
 ******** ***. has been a counter top manufacturer for over 30 years in the Phoenix area and I feel that all this person wants is something for nothing and is willing to change the story with each complaint that she makes. She has also told us on in a phone conversation that she will go to the media, maybe that's next.
 
******* ***
Lee's Quality Counter Tops Inc.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


I would like to say that this is the first response I have received since I purchased the countertops.  The letter that I received from the *** dated 12/23/2012, stated, *** was unsuccessful in obtaining a response from your company.  Therefore,  an unanswered dispute will have adverse affects on it's rating's.  So now you have decided to speak up!

I have not changed my story.  If you would examined my compliant from the  ********* ** ***********, I stated that " my master bathroom has 2 sinks, one had a slight discoloration but didn't show much.  It's the guess bathroom which appear in a large dark area where it drains..... This color is completely different from the overall countertops.  You may have areas of color discolorations, but when it's a very large area in one part of the sink, it does make a difference...

To the phone calls, in which I could fax a copy of the dates to the ***, you never returned my calls.   Called on 9/21, 9/25, 9/29 , 10/1 , 10/2/2012 3 times that day.  The same message was given to me, he's not here.  I have caller ID, you never returned or left me a msg.

Regarding the whereabouts of my sinks?  They were installed the same day of pickup and your inspector indicated that's the way they are made.  So now you're saying they were damaged?  You are changing your story....

Company's are suppose to keep the customer satisfied.  You haven't even tried.!  My installer has done business with you in the past, and now he is disappointed and not recommending your company to anyone due to the way I have been treated.

I have 2 other avenues to reach out to and 1 was recommened by the ********* ** ***********.

I would like you to attempt to make one other single sink for me to settle this claim.  The cost is minimal $334.50.

 

Regards,

******* *******

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lees made new kitchen and bath countertops for me 2yrs4mos ago. The countertop laminate in the kitchen has separated from the underlying particle board and moisture has caused the board to swell and become warped - unfixable. After my complaint and their inspection they refused to do anything except charge me full price to replace the counters. Their reason was that the counters must have been "abused" by having water on them. These countertops are around the sink and the only cut in the laminate is at a mitered corner about two feet from the sink itself. I have offered to split the cost but have not heard back from Lees. I feel countertops should last longer than 2.5 years. I also feel that any moisture seepage at a joint near a sink should be addressed by sealing, caulking, and the pitch of the countertop. ****** **

Desired Settlement: Replacement of countertops with a 50/50 split on cost.

Business Response:

This e-mail is in response to complaint I**# *******
 
a)  Lee's Quality Counter Tops Inc. was contact April 2010 by ****** ********** for a quote to manufacture, install and remove existing kitchen and bath counters at *** ** ******** * ** **** *** *****. Our outside sales rep ***** ***** did an in home estimate for this project. Total cost was $1789.60 plus tax.
b) This project was accepted by ** ********** and production was started in April 2010. On May 5, 2010 this project installed by our installer. Job was completed and balance for project was paid in full. We were contacted a few days later for a service call. Minor drywall repair and re-calk counters. This service call was completed May 17,2010 after we were able to gain entry to the property.
c) In September 2012 we were contacted by ** **********, saying that she had a problem with the counter tops. Once again our outside sales rep ***** ***** went to this properly to inspect the problem. What he found was a badly water damaged miter corner. It showed the water abuse had been happening for quite some time. ***** asked my option on this matter and after reviewing all the information I informed him that the the only solution would be to re-quote the project for the damaged area. This was completed and the customer was informed of the cost of $ 588.41 plus tax. This included a 10% discount and the estimate fee of $ 35.00 was not included.
d) Yes laminate should last longer than 2 years and 4 months, If it is maintained with just a little care. Moisture at seams is the leading problem with laminate counters and by using minimum care there should be no problem.
e) It appears that this is a rental properly for ** ********** and not her own residents. I feel that if she is looking for a 50/50 split on the cost she might take it up with her renter. If this problem had been addressed when the it was first noticed they would have been a chance to do a repair. And not waiting almost 2 1/2 years. 
f) Lee's Quality Counter Tops Inc.has been manufacturing laminate counters for over 30 years in the Metro Phoenix area and has been a member of the BBB for many years, but we are also licensed with the state of Arizona Registrar of Contractors # license # 115439 and the warranty for this type of problem is a maximum of 2 years at best.
 
Thank you 
******* ** ***
President
Lee's Quality Counter Tops Inc
**** ** ********* *** ******** *** ***** ************