Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Insight

Additional Locations

Phone: (480) 333-3000 Fax: (480) 813-4310 View Additional Phone Numbers 6820 S Harl Ave, Tempe, AZ 85283


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The company sells computers and accessories through retail outlets and mail order.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Insight include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Insight
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business started locally: 01/01/1986
Business Management
Mr. Mark Rogers, Associate General Counsel Mr. Eric Crown, Chief Executive Officer Mr. Tim Crown, President Mr. Erik Merkow, Director of Customer Programs Sherri West, Paralegal Scott Wright, Manager of Client Services
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Rogers, Associate General Counsel
Business Category

Computers - Dealers Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Computers Hardware, Software & Services

Alternate Business Names
Hard Drives International I D I - Insight Direct, Inc. I.D.I. - Insight Direct, Inc. Idi - Insight Direct, Inc. Insight Computers Insight Enterprises Insight Enterprises Inc Insight Software T C Computers.Com Tc Computers Toshiba Accessories Treasure Chest Computers

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1305 W Auto Dr

    Tempe, AZ 85284

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1325 W. 51st Street

    Tempe, AZ 85252

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2415 S Roosevelt St
    (warehouse)

    Tempe, AZ 85282

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6820 S Harl Ave

    Tempe, AZ 85283

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 78825

    Phoenix, AZ 85062

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. In Jan 2014, Insight placed incorrect ad on its Online store, stating that a specific configuration of Lenovo W540 was "in stock". 2. I placed online order, and was led to believe delivery of my laptop would occur in a 4 to 5 days. 3. After two days, I received email saying the laptop was not "in stock", delivery would be after 25 days. 4. I called Insight and cancelled the order. They agreed to refund me immediately. They also asked me to 'refuse delivery', in case the laptop was still delivered accidentally to my house. 5. One month later, the laptop was delivered to my house, and I 'refused delivery'. 6. The next day, my credit card was charged approx $2352.41 for the laptop! 7. I called Insight, spoke to Customer Service / Returns department. They said they would process the refund immediately. 8. In the following weeks, I called Insight repeatedly, but have not received any refund. 9. After 6 weeks, Insight told me they cannot refund the money to me unless Lenovo approves the return! 10. To summarize: Insight sold me the laptop promising a fake 'in stock' status, and has now charged my credit card, and refuses to process the return. I have no way of knowing when I will get my money back! This is one shady company indeed!

Desired Settlement: Need full refund asap!

Business Response: Many apologies on your hassles with this issue, Mr. *****.  The Legal Dept is working to get you a full refund. 

1/15/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The worst customer service I have ever experienced. Long hold time, hang ups, and no resolution to the problem. Reason: lost computer. I had purchased a ******* satellite model#************* serial# ********* on 11/28/12. In October I sent the computer for repairs and received it back with same issues. Sent back for it was still having the same issues on 11/19/13. Received an email that it was received by Henry at the repair center and that he would need to confirm shipping address on 11/25/13. I told him I was still having issues with the computer and would like fixed, I was then directed to technical support when after being on hold for a total time of a hour spoke with a case manager who claimed he would not be helping me and sending the computer back on 12/2/13 ref# *************. Today 12/16/13 called asked whether or not computer was going to be shipped back, after being on hold for 42 min, I spoke with a case manager, terrible phone reception on their end, who was a lady who said I had to contact the repair dept ( I have sent 2 emails since the 2nd no response), claimed I sent it unauthorized therefore they couldn't find record of receiving the computer?? When I asked her for her name because i would like to make a complaint, she hung up on me.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to deal with ******* any more and would like a refund for my computer they cannot find.

Business Response: To what company and address did Ms. **** send the computer?


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Insight
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)