Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Arrowhead Collections

Phone: (602) 993-1600 Fax: (602) 993-1401 View Additional Phone Numbers P.O. Box 83087, Phoenix, AZ 85071 http://www.ethicalaz.com/arrowheadcollections


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers medical billing and collection services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Arrowhead Collections meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Arrowhead Collections include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Arrowhead Collections
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 1998 Business started: 10/25/1996 in AZ Business started locally: 10/25/1996 Business under new ownership as of: 11/01/2009 Business incorporated 10/25/1996 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Department of Financial Institutions
2910 N. 44th Street, Ste. 310, Phoenix AZ 85018
http://www.azdfi.gov
Phone Number: (602) 771-2800
Fax Number: (602) 381-1225
consumeraffairs@azdfi.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Randy Ervin, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Ervin, President
Business Category

Collection Agencies Medical Business Administration Medical Record Service Medical Transcription Billing Service

Alternate Business Names
Arrowhead Consultants, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • P.O. Box 83087

    Phoenix, AZ 85071 (866) 993-1600 (602) 993-1600

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "Company" purchased a past due but invalid billing from a local Hospital, for emergency services provided to me by the subject hospital. That billing was invalid because, over my protestations to the contrary notwithstanding, , they purposely failed to follow the Veterans Administration (VA) protocol for rendering such services to military persons enrolled in the . VA Medical program. That protocol requires that any civilian medical facility that provides such to an enrolled veteran first stabilize the veteran only, then secure the VA's instructions to either further treat him/her OR to immediately transfer them to the nearest VA hospital forthwith. The hospital did not ask for or otherwise receive any such instruction(s) from the Phoenix VA. Instead, they opted to admit, treat and keep me as a relative prisoner for three (3) days. Over those 3 days, I asked numerous times when a transfer was to be. No one ever answered me. I informed "Company" of this by certified mail but they opted to severely damage my credit instead of returning the billing to the hospital. My credit was downgraded from about 800 to about 700 as a result.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my billing by "Company" and correct the damage to my credit rating.

Business Response: This bill was for an emergency helicopter transport not a hospital.   Our client's paperwork indicates the patient did not complete the necessary documents authorizing the VA coverage over Medicare coverage.   None the less, we have agreed to delete this account from patient's credit report as if it never happened per his request.   Please allow up to 30 days for the report to be corrected by the bureau.
Sincerely,
******* *****
Arrowhead Collections

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *********

 

7/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have found on my credit report Arrowhead collections linked to an amount of money owed. I have not received a letter in regards to this debt nor have i received a call or any notice about a debt owed to them. It has been reported to all agencies and i want it removed and settled. I have tried contacting this business and their phones just lead to a voice mail and with no returned call back. I believe it was unfair to have reported this debt to all 3 credit agencies and not have a chance for me to speak to someone about this debt or pay or settle it before having it reported. I am in awe of the lack of communication they have with the other party.

Desired Settlement: I WANT THIS REMOVED FROM ALL 3 CREDIT REPORTING AGENCIES and to settle this debt permanently and be able to speak to someone about it.

10/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They put derogatory remarks on my credit report without contacting me about the issue. Never received a phone call or mail informing me I had a bill with them.

Desired Settlement: Take the credit report down.

Business Response:
We have agreed to remove this account from Mr. *****'s credit report per his request.   
We spoke to him today and were able to clarify the specifics of his account.   Please let me know if you require any additional information.
Sincerely,
***** ***** ************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Your company should have contacted me prior to putting derogatory information on my credit report. Your company allegedly sent me correspondence through the mail which I never received.]

Regards,

**** *****

 

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was contacted by the physicians who hired Arrowhead about a medical bill for my daughter. Since I did not recognize the service, I had disputed the claim and requested validation. For validation, I was sent a copy of the same bill which showed nothing to substantiate the claim. I called them back and asked them to send me something with my name on it since it was in my Ex-Wife's name. She was not even present for the procedure or any part of the process leading up to my daughter's surgery. They refused and the office manager yelled at me. A few months later, I got a call from Arrowhead. I asked for the same validation and was given a copy of the bill. I then re-disputed the claim and was told that it would be then placed on my credit. Under the *****, this is a violation.

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome is a) Wipe the balance as it is not valid. b) Strike the record from any credit report.

Business Response: Please be advised we have requested this be removed from your credit record while we resolve this dispute.

Although this debt has already been confirmed by our client, we will request they send a copy of the authorization for this treatment and a copy of your insurance explanation of benefits to you.   This may take several weeks.  

If this is time sensitive, you can quickly obtain a copy from your insurance company (****).   Our records indicate there was a minor patient (listed as your daughter *******) that received treatment on July 22, 2011 and was covered by a policy under your name.   Our records also show that **** insurance paid $902.72 towards the bill indicating they received the appropriate authorization.   The placement to us was listed under ****** ********** so presumably she authorized the treatment.   **** also determined the amount owed.     

We have not added any fees or interest and we are only requesting the amount owed as determined by **** so if you disagree with the amount, they can help you with that.   

Please contact me direct at ************ if we can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
******* ** ***** 
Please notify me as soon as possible if any our information is not accurate.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

****** ********* is the minor's mother and is not the insured and can not authorize treatment nor was she involved or around during this timeframe.  We have long since been divorced and I am the primary custodian of the minor, ******* and handled 100% of any medical decicions for her.  

Acceptable validation of the debt would be a contract, invoice or authorization signed by myself for the service.  Since ****** and I were divorced long before this procedure and it was submitted under her name, you have no legal recourse against me.  The item should be permanently removed from my credit and dismissed.

I am going to advise ****** to also dispute this claim tdue to the reasons listed above.

I/We look forward to your response.

Regards,
***** ******

Business Response: The law is very clear on this subject.   Biological parents and spouses of biological parents at the time of service are legally liable for medical bills incurred by minor patients.  

As far as providing a signed authorization, our client is prohibited from releasing any medical documents until you sign an authorization for release of records with the treating facility's medical records department.
      
Since you and ****** both deny authorizing treatment, both refuse to pay for your daughter's treatment, and this is such a small balance, we are going to cancel this debt and permanently remove it from both of your credit reports in order to satisfy your dispute.  

Please confirm this dispute has been satisfied and feel free to contact me with any questions.
Sincerely,
******* *****
************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******