Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Mollen Immunization Clinics, LLC

Phone: (480) 214-1010 View Additional Phone Numbers 8324 E. Hartford Drive, Scottsdale, AZ 85255 http://www.flushotsusa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

On October 8, 2013, a representative from Mollen Immunization Clinics, LLC indicated to the BBB that the best way for consumers to contact the company is by mail at the address 8324 E. Hartford Drive, Scottsdale, Az, 85255.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mollen Immunization Clinics, LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Mollen Immunization Clinics, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

34 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 11
Billing/Collection Issues 18
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 34

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Mollen Immunization Clinics, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 17, 1991 Business started: 11/01/2007 in AZ Business incorporated 04/04/2008 in AZ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arizona Board Of Medical Examiners
9545 E. Doubletree Ranch Road, Scottsdale AZ 85258
http://www.azmd.gov
Phone Number: (480) 551-2700
Fax Number: (480) 551-2828

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Greg Cohen, Owner/Legal Council Mr. Paul Fishburn, Vice President/Finance Controller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Paul Fishburn, Vice President/Finance Controller
Related Businesses
Ulta Lab Tests, LLC
Business Category

Clinics Laboratories - Medical Medical Testing Companies Health Maintenance Organizations


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Mollen Immunization Clinics, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8324 E. Hartford Drive

    Scottsdale, AZ 85255

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over 3 years ago, I had a flu shot at ******* in Mesa. Exact date was 09/28/2011. 3 months later 12/19/2011 I received the following notation on my statement:***** Patient/Insured health identification number and name do not match. Charge $20.00. On February 6, 2012 a late charge? $5.00...... Have called your phone number (###-###-####) numerous times, left messages and no response. If there in fact is a difference in my health identification numbers and my name please show me the courtesy of returning my call and I will correct any errors. I will not reveal my personal information in an E-Mail. ****** ******

Desired Settlement: Clear $25.00 balance that has been paid by ******** & ****. I do not want my good credit ruined by an unresponsive accounting department

2/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: around 14 months ago I was at ******* in ****** ** Store # ***.There was a table set up offering flu shots and I was told this would be covered by my insurance. Since that time I have be getting letters saying I owe $25.00. The last notice says they will be turning over the matter to credit and collections. When calling in and speaking to a Mollen rep they told me that I could pay with a **** over the phone but they were going to charge me an additional $5.00.

Desired Settlement: I want the $25.00 charge to be waived. The cost was not accurately explained and I feel they are taking advantage of people.

Business Response:

Mollen Immunization Clinics, LLC ("Mollen") is disappointed to learn that Mr. Lewis is upset with the way in which Mollen has billed for the services that Mollen provided to him. Mollen uses its best efforts to provide accurate insurance information at the time of service. Unfortunately, as with any health care provider, Mollen is unable to determine at the time of service whether the health insurer will ultimately pay the claim for the service provided and must rely on the way in which the health insurer processes the claim under the patient's health insurance plan. 

With that in mind, however, as a courtesy to Mr. Lewis, Mollen has terminated its efforts to collect the outstanding balance from him and will mark his account as closed. 

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. Lewis' concerns. Mollen hopes that this response will be satisfactory to him and resolve the concerns that he expressed. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** *****

12/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011, my husband and I received flu shots from Mollen. We paid $25 each out of pocket and then submitted the receipts to our insurance company. Our insurance company promptly paid Mollen, and Mollen sent me a check (after I called and asked for it) for $12.50. Mollen has refused to return the rest of the money we paid out of pocket. I have called multiple times and each time been given either a different reason why I am not due the money or told the money will be sent, but it never is. I have complied with every request Mollen has made, sending in copies of our flu shot receipts, sending proof of payment from the insurance company, calling with a representative from my insurance company (at least 3 times), having the insurance company resubmit all the info, etc. The last several times I have tried to call them (during business hours), no one has been "available" to answer the phone. I have left voicemails and I have emailed and no one has ever gotten back to me.

Desired Settlement: Mollen has a responsibility to pay me back, preferably with interest, the $25 they owe me and my husband. An apology would also go a long way. Additionally, they should answer their phones.

Business Response:

December 12, 2013

Samantha Oberdank
Better Business Bureau
4428 N. 12th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85014-4585

RE:        Complainant:     ******* *****
Complaint No:   *******

Dear Ms. Oberdank:

Mollen Immunization Clinics, LLC ("Mollen") is disappointed to learn that Ms. ***** is upset with the
way in which Mollen has billed for the services that Mollen provided to Ms. Fletcher. Mollen uses its
best efforts to accurately process claims and administer patient accounts.

At the time of service, Ms. ***** indicated that she would pay for the immunization herself and
provided a credit card for such purpose. The Consent Form that Ms. ***** signed states immediately
above the signature for the credit card authorization as follow:

NOTE: If insurance documentation is not provided at the time of service, we will NOT be
able to process an insurance claim at a later time. You will be responsible for payment
in full.

While Mollen believes that the form Ms. ***** signed made it clear that Ms. ***** would be
responsible for payment, Mollen understands that miscommunications occur. As a result, check number
101129 in the amount of $12.49 was mailed to Ms. Fletcher on December 6, 2013.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Ms. ********** concerns. Mollen hopes that this response
will be satisfactory to her and resolve the concerns that she expressed.


****** ********, CFO

Mollen Immunization Clinics, LLC


Sincerely,

12/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sept 4,2012, shingles immunization approved by my insurance co, *****, and Mollen sent me a bill in January 2013 wanting payment. I paid the $220 out of my pocket, contacted my insurance company and they have made continuous efforts to get reimbursement and Mollen does not want to cooperate. At the time of the immunization, they took my insurance card and assured me there was no problem. Now I am out the money and ***** is fighting a battle without resolving the issue on my behalf. ***** informs me periodically they are trying to resolve this but nothing is going forward.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of the $220.00 by my insurance company and Mollen sending ***** all the required information for repayment.

Business Response:
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the concerns expressed by ****** ********.  Ms. ******** received a Zostavax vaccine on September 3, 2012.

It appears that at the time of service, Mollen’s nurse accepted insurance information for ***** from Ms. ********.  It is unclear to Mollen why our nurse did so as Mollen is not contracted with ***** and should not have done so. 

Mollen received reimbursement from ***** in the amount of $110 as a non-contracted provided on June 27, 2013, but Mollen’s nurse should have advised Ms. ******** at the time of service that Mollen was not contracted with ***** and should not have accepted Ms. ********’s ***** insurance information.

Mollen apologizes to Ms. ******** for the inconvenience and will be issuing a refund to Ms. ******** in the amount of $220.00.

Mollen hopes that this resolution is satisfactory to Ms. ********. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have not responded to your last email requesting I respond within 7 calendar days (July30) to my complaint.  I am reluctant since I have been trying to get the reimbursement from Mollen Industries  for seven months.  In their response, they agreed to reimburse me, but until they do I would like to continue the complaint until I actually get the check. You have been much more helpful than I imagined and I am   grateful. I simply don’t trust this company after adding my complaints to all the others.  Thank you for considering my request.

Regards,

****** ********

 

 

12/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We self paid for a ****** vaccine $220.00 and Medical mutual also paid them. We have called numerous times and sent an e-mail and they won't respond in any way. The Ins. check was cashed by them on Sept.10,2013.We only want our refund.

Desired Settlement: We want our money refunded!

Business Response:

December 12, 2013

Samantha Oberdank
Better Business Bureau
4428 N. 12th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85014-4585

RE:        Complainant:     ***** ********
Complaint No:   9774184

Dear Ms. Oberdank:

Mollen Immunization Clinics, LLC ("Mollen") is disappointed to learn that Mr. ******** is upset with the
way in which Mollen has billed for the services that Mollen provided to Mr. Tolvonen. Mollen uses its
best efforts to accurately and correctly administer patient accounts. It appears that Mr. ********'s
refund was not previously issued as a result of a staffing transition in Mollen's accounting department.

Check number ****** in the amount of $220.00 was mailed to Mr. ******** on December 3, 2013.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to Mr. ********'s concerns. Mollen hopes that this response
will be satisfactory to his and resolve the concerns thatshe expressed.


****** ********

, CFO

Mollen Immunization Clinics, LLC


Sincerely,

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ********


 

 

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In ******* on 9/12/2012 and asked if I had my flu shot, I said not yet. Woman said you have Insurance: reply yes, what do you have: reply ***** ****** and *****. Woman said your ****** would pay. reply ok why not. One month later received EOB from ****** stated not payed. Called ****** and they told me that Mollen will need to bill ***** ****** first and if ***** ****** does not pay than they would!. Nine months later get invoice to pay $25.00, which stated Claims Service lacks infomation!. Called and gave information, and was told they do not reconize ***** ****** Health and I need to pay the $25.00 or they would turn it over to collections. They said I signed their form: I am responsible for payment of their services etc. I usually go to my doctors office each year for my flu shot. I never have ever paid for my flu shot. In my case I had both primary and secondary insurance. I see that I am not the only one that has this problem!.

Desired Settlement: I expect them to charge this off and or bill my primary: ***** ****** ******: My member id is ************ community Health systems is the employer. Group is ****. Telephone number is **************, if FCH does not pay than they can bill ****** as they did initially. Mollen needs to do a better job training their reprepresative to better screen potential clients on their Insurance, and in doubt, tell them upfront!. They also need to tell them that the consent form they are signing is more than a form giving mollen permission to give the shot etc.

Business Response:
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the concerns presented by ***** *****. Mr. ***** received an influenza immunization on September 7, 2012.

In reviewing Mr. *****’s file and complaint, it appears that the Mollen associate who administered the immunization to Mr. ***** did not fully understand the distinction between his primary insurer and secondary insurer.  Mollen is indeed contracted with Mr. *****’s secondary insurer, which is ******. 

In order for ****** to consider claim for services provided to Mr. ***** as his secondary insurer, however, Mollen needed to first submit the claim to Mr. *****’s primary insurer, ***** ******, and receive a denial from ***** ******.  Because Mollen’s associate did not collect Mr. *****’s primary insurance information, however, Mollen did not submit a claim to ***** ******.  Because of timely filing requirements Mollen is unable to do so at this time.  Mollen will review the training that Mollen provides to our associates for opportunities for improvement to help them better understand the distinction between primary and secondary insurance coverage.

Mollen apologizes to Mr. ***** for the inconvenience that this situation has caused.  Mollen will write off the outstanding balance on Mr. *****’s account and Mr. *****’s account will reflect a zero balance.

Again, Mollen apologizes to Mr. **** for the apparent misunderstanding by our associate of the distinction between primary insurer and secondary insurer and the inconvenience that this has caused him.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *****


 

 

7/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on Sept 19 2012, I received a flu shot In Centre Alabama at Walmart, the company wa Mollen immunization. I was told there would be no charge for the flu shot since I have Blue Cross Blue shield Federal. I started receiving bills from this company. I call this company several times trying to explain to them what I was toLd. the lady I talked to was rude and hateful, and then turn me over to a collection agency, I have resolved the problem with payment, I think this cOmpany is nothing but a scam and takes advantage of Old PEople.C

Desired Settlement: they were charging me $25, which I had to pay 30 because I use my debit card for payment. I would like that $30 back. I know that don't seem like much money but it is my money.

Business Response:

In response to complaint #*******,

 

*** ******* presented himself at the local Wal-Mart Supercenter #5126 on September 19, 2012. We apologize for any confusion this may have caused. After reviewing the nsurance that *** ******* had presented it appears that it was not a Medicare Advantage plan. Mollen is only contracted to accept Medicare Advantage plans in Alabama. As a one-time courtesy to *** ******* his account will be adjusted and closed. A refund will processed and sent to *** *******.


Billing Manager

Naomi Bahena

5/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a Sam's Club member that got a flu shot with Mollen. I payed for my flu shot and my wife's. We did not go through insurance. Month's later we get a letter in the mail about how we never paid for my wife's flu shot. Now they want me to pay again for her flu shot again despite finding a date error in the paper (by the individual who gave us the flu shot). The hired company who collects the payments (Christine) was extremely rude and had an attitude all over an 18 dollars! I spend nearly $500 per month at Sam's Club. Sam's Club referred me to the Better Business Bureau and said they would not assist me in this matter. How did I get flu shots without paying for them (did not use insurance)? It makes no sense.

Desired Settlement: I should not have to pay for an $18 flu shot again. I pay my bills.

Business Response:

To
Whom It May Concern:

 

In
response to the complaint filed by Mr. and Mrs. ***** on April 23, 2013 for
services provided by Mollen Immunization Clinic on September 24, 2012.

 

Mr.and Mrs. ***** presented themselves at the local Sam’s Club #8164 with a
request to receive the Influenza vaccination. At this time, Mr. and Mrs. ***** were
provided an electronic patient consent form to complete in detail and sign
acknowledging all risks, benefits and financial responsibility associated with
receiving the vaccinations. Mr. and Mrs. ***** completed and signed this electronic
document on 09/24/2012 and proceeded with the services. A credit card payment
was presented for Mrs. *****. The credit card was declined due to an invalid
expiration date and invalid zip code that was provided. The first statement was
promptly sent on October 3, 2012 followed by 3 additional statements. As of
March 28th, 2013 the account was paid in full.  A copy of the signed consent form has been
attached.

 

 

Billing Manager,

 

Naomi Bahena

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

*** *****

 

 I paid for both flu shots on the same card. How would mine go through and not my wife's? How would we be able to leave Sam's without paying? 

 

We never received any notices from Mollen in the mail. Three were sent? Not to our address they were not.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern:

In response to the concerns expressed by Mr. *****, Mollen offers the following:
 
Mr. and Mrs. ***** presented at a flu shot clinic at Sam’s Club #8164 on September 24, 2012.  Mr. and Mrs. ***** each completed an electronic registration that included credit card information.   The correct credit card information was recorded for Mr. *****.  For whatever reason, the payment information on Mrs. *****’s registration was recorded incorrectly - the credit card expiration date was recorded as “12/49” and the zip code was recorded as “11111.”

Mollen does not process credit cards at the time of service so Mrs. ***** was permitted to obtain her immunization upon the completion of the electronic registration.  When the credit card was
processed on October 2, 2012, the credit card was declined for incorrect information and Mollen did not receive payment by credit card for the immunization that Mrs. ***** received.

Mollen’s billing system automatically generated 4 statements that were sent to Mrs. *****’s address in our records, which is 2002 ******* ****** ********* **  *****.  We do not have an explanation as to why they were no received, however, we are confident that they were mailed.

Mollen has since received payment for the flu shot that Mrs. ***** received.  Mollen would be happy to refund that payment if Mr. ***** provides a credit card statement showing a charge by Mollen for each of the flu shots that he and Mrs. ***** received.  The charges would appear on his statement as being processed on or around October 2, 2012.  Without that information, Mollen is unable to credit Mrs. *****’s account for the credit card payment.  Mr. ***** can provide the information directly to me at gregcohen@mollen-clinic.com.

I hope that this information is helpful in understanding to facts and circumstance surrounding this matter.  Please don’t hesitate to contact Mollen if we can provide any further information.

Sincerely,
Gregory Cohen
General Counsel

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

*** *****

 

 

4/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 22, 2011 I was in the ******* ***** ******* #251. I saw they had a flu shot desk in the middle of the aisle so I stopped to inquire. I asked the lady at the desk if I got a flu shot would it be covered on my Blue Cross Blue Shield insurance. She asked for my insurance card. At that time I told her I didn't want to get the shot unless it was covered. I am a veteran and I could get it for free at my local VA. She entered my information into her laptop computer and in a moment she assured me it would be covered. I then decided to get the vaccine. Today 1/7/13, I got a statement saying I owed $25.00. It was not covered on my insurance policy.

Desired Settlement: I feel like I was misrepresented by the employee of Mullen Immunization Clinic. The information in her computer was wrong and she should have had the correct information to give to the customer. I would not have gotten the vaccine. I am a veteran and on a fixed income and do not feel I should have to pay for this transaction. Thank you for your consideration.

Business Response: In response to complaint ID #*******

Mr. ******* received a flu shot with the understanding that he signed indicating acceptance of his insurance is not a guarantee that the charges will be paid. In communciating with his insurance **** of Tx, this charge was a covered service, however, Mr. ******* had not yet met his annual deductible per the policy provisions under his health plan. This is the patients responsibility to know and understand their policy and any charges not paid for by the insurance, are the repsonsibility of the patient. If Mr. ******* disagrees with the way in which his insurance processed his claim, he needs to contact the **** of TX member services number located on his insurance card.

If he would like to split the amount due into 2 payments of $12.50, I will notate that in his patient file.

Thank you,
******
Billing Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Once again, the only reason I got the vaccine was because your employee assured me it was covered and would not cost me anything. I have no intention of paying anything for this service.

Regards,

****** *******


 

 

Business Response: In response to Mr. *******'s statement that he was mislead for review, I have enclosed a copy of the electronic consent form he signed that providing his insurance does not guarantee our services are covered per his individual policy. It is the patients responsibility to know and understand their insurance policy coverage before using it for services. The balance stands as due and we are willing to break the amount due of $25.00 into 2 monthly payments of $12.50. If no payment is received, this account will fall to collections and may incur additional charges. He has been advised if he feels that his insurance processed to his deductible in error, he needs to contact his insurance carrier which is **** of Texas.

Thank you,
******
Billing Manager

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Both of you are missing the point. Go ahead and send this matter to collections. You will never see one cent from me.

Regards,

****** *******


 

 

Business Response:

It is the patient’s responsibility to understand the terms and conditions of their insurance.  While we are able to tell a patient if Mollen is contracted with the patient’s health insurance company, we are unable to pre-adjudicate the insurance claim to determine whether the claim will, in fact, be paid by the insurer.  In some cases we may be contracted with the insurer and the service is a covered service under the patient’s insurance plan, but the claim will not be paid because the patient has not met the deductible that is applicable to the service under the patient’s insurance plan.  It appears that this was the situation the Mr. ******* experienced.

 

In this case, it appears that either Mr. ******* misunderstood the information that our nurse provided to him or our nurse provided incomplete information to Mr. ******* regarding insurance coverage.  Because of the time that has transpired between the date of service and this response, it is impossible to obtain our nurse’s recollection of this specific patient encounter.  As a result, it is difficult for me to conduct a full and complete investigation of this matter at this time.

 

As part of the pre-service paperwork that the patient completed, the patient agreed that the patient will be financially responsible for the cost of the immunization if the patient’s insurance company denies coverage.  Mollen regrets that Mr. ******* is unhappy that Blue Cross and Blue Shield denied his insurance claim for this service, thereby making him personally responsible for the cost of the service. 

 

That being said, Mollen will write-off the charges related to the service that Mr. ******* received on September 22, 2012 strictly as a courtesy to Mr. *******.  I trust that this will be a satisfactory resolution for Mr. *******.

 

On an administrative note, I have added arizonabbb.org to my “approved” email so I hope that future emails from you will not get stuck in our spam filter.  If, however, you do not receive a timely response from me in the future please do not hesitate to call me at the number below to confirm receipt of your e-mail.

 

Please let me know if there is anything further that we can assist with or if there are any other outstanding complaints that we have not yet responded to.

 

Thanks

****

 

**** *****

General Counsel &

Vice President, Human Resources

Mollen®

Office: ************

Mobile: ************

***************************

2/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A sign advertising mollen flushot clinic at our walmart supercenter #13 in ********, Mo said we needed to register and pay foe the flushot shot clinic online, could not pay cash. I registered myself and my daughter online and paid for it using my debit card. Regfor flushots. Registration was easy no problems. We went to walmart per instructions and got our flu shots very quickly. Nurse giving shot said we had made it so much easier with pre-registration that was on October 3, 2012. Today in the mail I received two bills each for $25 for myself and my daughter. We paid when we registered with a debit card it said we had pay at that time. I have checked my debit card history there is no transaction of any kind from mollen despite the fact I had to pay when registering on line. No cash would be excepted for flushot clinic. I paid the bill, provided necessary information and paymeny thisbis first bill I have received from mollen.

Desired Settlement: I registered and prepaid with a debit card. I want bill marked paid in full.

Business Response:

In response
to complaint #*******,

 

On 10/03/2012, Ms. ******** presented herself and her daughter at the Wal-Mart #13. Ms.
******** presented her completed online Pre-registration consent form and the
information was accepted and submitted through our Electronic billing system. The
pre-registration does not allow for pre-payment as the patient may chose not to
receive the services. The consent forms have been attached for each patient.

Ms. ******** stated there had not been a debit card transaction from Mollen. After reviewing
the accounts, her debit card was declined by her financial institution. The
open balance on the account will continue to generate statements until the balance
has been paid in full. 

 

Billing Manager
***** ******

2/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Walmart in ******* *******,SC I believe on Nov. 2012 and came by the station that was advertising Flu shots and the nurse told me to let her see my Blue Cross card and she would see if I would have to pay, she told me that the insurance wouild pay for it. I told her if it didn't pay I don't want it, she confirmed to me it would pay. Now I get a bill stating I owe $21.50.

Desired Settlement: I should not have to pay anything.

Business Response: In response to complain #*******

 

In response to the complaint filed by Mr. ****** for services provided by our
company on 10/06/2012. Mr. ****** presented himself at the local Wal-Mart store
#2806 with a request to receive the Influenza vaccination. At this time, Mr. ******
was registered by our nurse with an electronic patient consent form. Upon
completion of the consent, Mr. ****** signed the consent acknowledging all
risks, benefits and financial responsibility associated with receiving the
vaccination. After reviewing his account, his primary insurance carrier BCBS of
SC applied his payment towards his deductible. Mollen then assigned the balance
to the patients’ responsibility per the assignment of his primary insurance
carrier.

 

It is ultimately the patient’s responsibility to know and understand their policy
coverage. Mr. ****** signed the consent form that stated he would ultimately be
responsible for payment if services are not covered for any reason or are
subject to any co-pays, deductibles, coinsurance or prior authorizations.
Please see the attached electronic consent form.

 
Billing Manager
  ***** ******

2/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went To ******* in Waynesboro, MS., to get a flu shot, the person giving the shots that day placed a call while I waited to make sure ******** would cover it. Recieved a bill for $25.00. Called ****** spoke to *****, billing manage, she rudely told me ******** wasn't paying. I am 84 and go to doctors, take 10 different medications, I have ******** & ******** & live on a fixed income, these awful people keep calling me and harrassing me, till I am so confused and upset. I do not have any trouble with billing at the doctor, hospital or pharmacy, I see many, many complaints have been lodged against this companies billing practices & harrassment tactics.

Desired Settlement: I want them to stop calling & harrassing me on the phone! They are going to cause me to have a heart attack!

Business Response: In response to complaint #*******,

 

On 09/18/2012, Ms. ****** attended our Influenza vaccination
clinic at ******** **********r #***. Ms. ****** was given a consent form to
review prior to receiving the Influenza vaccination. After our billing
department reviewed the information that Ms. ****** provided on her consent
form, the information could not be verified by her pri**** insurance carrier
********. Upon finding that the claim could not be processed with the
information provided the service then became the patient’s responsibility and
the first statement had been mailed to the patient.

On 02/04/2013, Ms. ******’s daughter and herself contacted
our billing department and were given the reason for which the statement was
sent. Our billing supervisor tried to verify the information by phone with the
patient’s daughter, but was unsuccessful. In effort to help Ms. ****** send
this claim to ******** our billing supervisor re-contacted the patient. Our
billing supervisor also suggested that this could be resolved by obtaining
copies of the patients Insurance cards. Ms. ****** singed her consent form
acknowledging that if ******** Part B is not her pri**** plan, that she will be
responsible for payment for services rendered.  If the insurance information cannot be
verified by our billing department the balance will remain at the patient’s
responsibility. ****** would like to resolve this issue by sending a claim to
Ms. ******’s pri**** insurance carrier, ********. If Ms. ****** has any further
questions she may contact our billing department.

 

Billing Manager

 

***** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am writing to reject this, I am 84, I have Congestive Heart failure & COPD.   I am to old to deal with these people.     I was told on sight at *******, that I was covered. That is that. As I said I have ******** & ********, I will pay absolutely nothing to these awful people.  The internet is full of complaints about their faudulent billing practices.M. ******    

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response:

In response to Ms ******'s rebuttal,

****** would like to resolve this complaint by Ms. ****** as previously stated.
We currently do not have Ms. ******'s correct insurance information.
The consent form that Ms ****** signed states that she will be fully
responsible if the payment for services are not covered for any reason.
The balance on the account for the services rendered on 10/18/2012 will
remain open until the balance is paid in full.

Billing Manager

***** ******

2/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my daughter ******* to Mollen Immunization Clinic in ****** for a Flu Shot. Preventative Care is covered at 100% by my medical plan with Cigna. They told me I had to pay $25 and they would file a claim against my insurance. I paid $25 by credit card on Oct. 15, 2012. Our Patient ID *******, the clinic # is *********. The Claim was processed through Cigna Check #********* was issued on Nov. 16, 2012 and cashed on Nov. 29, 2012 for $9.50 payable to Mollen Immunization Clinic. I have contacted the Clinic on mulitple occassions first I was told when I had a check number they would send me a check for the amount. When I told them the check number they again told me I would be reimbursed. It's now Feb. 4, 2013 and I have still not been reimbursed. Not only has the clinic received my $25 payment they have additionally received $9.50 from Cigna. I would like a check in the amount of $25 immediately remitted to me. I contacted the clinic on 11-27-12 and spoke to Rachel. Again, on Nov. 27, 2012 I contacted the clinic and spoke to ***** who said it would take 10-15 days. January 13, 2013 11:30am I spoke to ***** who requested the check number. I left ***** a message on the same day at 4:25pm. On January 14th I spoke to ***** again who said she would follow up with Cigna and it would take a couple days. I have contacted my employer's HR department for assistance and my understanding is that Cigna is also trying to get Mollen to reimburse my $25 payment. Any assistance you can provide would be greatly appreciated. I am not sure if I should also contact Walmart as this business is housed in the same building.

Desired Settlement: I would like a call from the Clinic as well as a check for $25. I am quite disappointed with the overall experience and feel this reflects not only on the clinic but on Walmart as well. Thank you again for your attention to this matter.

Business Response: In response to complaint #*******,

 

On 10/15/2012, Ms. ***** inquired about getting an Influenza
vaccination for her daughter ******* at the Wal-Mart Supercenter #769. She then
opted to have her daughter receive the influenza vaccination and elected to pay $25 by
using her credit card. Mollen is not contracted with Cigna and therefore they
will only reimburse the patient by submitting a receipt of payment. When the
receipt was processed by Cigna, they did not process the fee for the
administration of the vaccine. Per Ms. *****’s signed electronic consent she
accepted the terms that “Mollen will not be responsible for billing” her
insurance, if any, for these services. Mollen is not under Cigna’s contract to
accept any provider adjustments that they might assign.

Ms. ***** contacted our billing department and requested a
refund of the full balance. She was advised of the situation and that Cigna had
only paid $9.50. A refund request was submitted 02/04/2012 for $9.50 and has
been refunded to her credit card as of 02/07/2012. We apologize for any
inconvienence and/or the delay of obtaining the refund. If the patient has any further
questions about how the claim was processed, she would need to contact her Primary
insurance carrier, Cigna. 

 

Billing Manager
  ***** ******

2/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I were t Walmart on August 27,2012, there were two women [employes of Mollen] giving immunizations for shingles and they were telling everyone that the shots were free, and encouraged everyone to get one, and we did. On January 21, 2013 they sent us a bill for $220.00 each for a total of $440.00, saying that we owed for these shots. It took them five months to send a bill!! Now we are wondering if what we got was even a shingles immunization. When I called Mullens Immunization Clinic they told me I should first pay them, then file a claim with my insurance company and see if they would pay it. This is definitely fraud and false advertisement.

Desired Settlement: We do not owe Mullen Immunuzation Clinic for these shots and nor does our insurance company, and Mullen should stop this kind of practice.

Business Response:

In
response to complain #*******

 

We are in receipt of a complaint filed by Mr. and Mrs. ******** for services
provided to each patient by our company on 08/27/2012.

 

Mr. & Mrs. ******** presented themselves at the local Wal-Mart store #203 with
a request to receive the Zoster vaccination. At this time, Mr. & Mrs.
******** were provided a patient consent form to complete in detail and sign
acknowledging all risks, benefits and financial responsibility associated with
receiving the vaccination. Mr. & Mrs. ******** completed and signed this
document on 08/27/2012 and proceeded with the services. After reviewing their
account their primary insurance carrier Medicare does not pay for the
vaccination. Mollen assigned the balance to the patients’ responsibility as the
patients’ benefit does not cover Zoster immunizations for their members.

 

As the policy holder and beneficiary of the insurance, it is ultimately the
patient’s responsibility to know and understand their policy coverage,
limitations, requirements and benefits and follow the required protocol when
receiving services by any physician, medical office or hospital. Mr. & Mrs.
******** are both covered under a policy that will not cover the Zoster
vaccination. This is not the responsibility of any medical staff member to know
and is the sole requirement of the patient to know and understand the
limitations of their benefit coverage. Our nurse would have not known the
patients individual medical limitations by glancing only at a medical insurance
card shown by the patient.

 

Mr. & Mrs. ******** signed a patient acknowledgement form indicating that if
the insurance did not pay for the services received, they are ultimately
responsible for any charges incurred. I have enclosed a copy of the form signed
by Mr. & Mrs. ******** on the date of service with highlighted areas
indicating prior notification was made to the patients’ that acceptance of any
insurance does not guarantee payment and that the patient is ultimately
responsible for charges incurred.

 

As a courtesy to the patient we can bill Medicare if Mr. & Mrs. ********
request to do so, although if Medicare does not pay, they will be ultimately
responsible for any charges not paid by their carrier.

 

Billing Manger
  ***** ******      

2/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This clinic was administering flu and pneumonia vaccinations in Wal-mart in ***** ******* MS. I received both shots after the nurse told me my insurance was accepted. I have two insurances. My Primary is Blue Cross ***** ** ** and my secondary is Blue Cross ******* **. I received these shots on Sept. 6th 2012. I received a bill today on Jan. 28, 2013 saying I owe $105.00 because my primary insurance is not an insurance company they accept. They do accept my secondary which has a $2,000.00 health account but will not file my secondary because if my primary does not pay they can't file the secondary. We had a conference call with a representative of my secondary stating to them how to file so they can collect from the secondary, but they insist that I pay and they will send me an itemized receipt for me to file first to my primary and than to the secondary. I would never have received the vaccines there if my insurance was not accepted. I could have gone to my doctor and paid nothing for the vaccines. This was a very tricky way to get business at the customers expense. They were not honest about telling me my insurance was not accepted. I am also going to file a complaint against Walmart since they received the contract from Walmart to provides this service. Walmart should be aware of their practices.

Desired Settlement: Bill the primary under Blue Cross State of AZ. They will send it to Blue Cross State of **. Blue Cross State of ** will deny the claim and then they can send the bill to my secondary Blue Cross ****** and the $105.00 will be taken out of the health account. If they are not willing to do the paperwork the correct way then I should not have to pay the bill. My money is important to me and the way they want me to do this it will probably take at least 2 months for me to recover my money

Business Response:

Dear
Sir/Madam,

In
response to Complaint ID #*******:

Ms. ******** was seen on 09/06/2012 at the Wal-mart #1346. Ms. ******** received a flu
vaccination as well as a pneumoniavaccination. We apologize that Ms. ****** feels that she
was misinformed by our employee at the time of service; however the consent form
does state that her Primary insurance will be billed on her behalf. Section E of the consent form
also states that “your medical insurance company must be on the list of Mollen
accepted insurance providers”.

Ms. ******** is requesting that we bill the insurance company that was not provided
on the date of service. Mollen will bill the insurance that Ms. Williams
provided as a courtesy. Per Ms. ******** signed consent form, she will be
responsible for any payment of services that are not covered for any reason or
are subject to any co-pays, deductibles, coinsurance or prior authorizations.

 

Billing Manager

  ***** ******

2/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept.4,2012 my wife and I received a flu and pneumonia vaccination at walmart located in edgewood,nm. The lady that administered the vaccinations told me and my wife that there would be no charge to us,they would be our insurance company. I asked the lady a couple times to make sure wewould not be charged both times she said no that they would bill our insurance.So we received the shots instead of going to our own Doctor for a toal cost of $40.00. We received a bill from Mollen immunization for $105.00 two weeks ago inwhich I mailed a $50.00 check last week to the company. I called them today to dispute the cost ,statig the the lady told us twice that there would be no cost to us they would bill our insurance.Well the lady that I spoke with today when I called the company said that I have to pay the bill that they do not bill any insurance company. I mention to them that my wife and I are on a fix income we would had paid $40.00 visiting our own Doctor instead of paying $105.00 to your company if the lady who administered the vaccinations told us the truth.

Desired Settlement: For Mollen immuniztion clinics ii,llc to just charge us what we would have paid seeing our own Doctor $40.00 .

Business Response: In response to complaint #*******,

 

On 09/04/2012, Mr. ******** received an influenza and
pneumonia vaccination at the local ******** #****. Our nurse accepted his
insurance, **** of ** ******* program. Mr. ********’s benefits outline and
delegate that he should use his primary insurance carrier with in-network
providers. After reviewing Mr. ********’s account Mollen will accept his $50 as
payment in full. We apologize for any confusion regarding acceptance of his
insurance. Mr. ******** would have been charged only his co-pay at his primary
care physician’s office. Mr. ********’s account has been closed as a courtesy.
If Mr. ******** has any further questions, he may contact our billing office.

 

Billing Manager

***** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ********

 

 

2/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went on vacation (9/12) and while I was visiting I went to the local walmart and there was a man giving flu shots. I gave him all my info (mymedicard card, my ****** ***** card) and he said my insutance would cover the shots. I was given a flu and a pneumonia vaccination. I ask him twice if there was a charge for the shots and he said "NO, YOUR INSURANCE WILL COVER IT' Well today I recieved a bill for $105.00 in the mail. I called the company and spoke to a woman named "********"..she stated the claim had been sent to my insurance company and they had denied the claim. I hung up with her and called ****** ***** and spoke to "*****" who went back as far as July 2012, I was told there was never any claim filed for reimbursement. I then called back Mollen and ask to speak to "********" I was told she was unavailable. I told the person what was going on and was told by her that they would NOT send the claim in and it was up to me to pay it because I was responsible for the debt. I told her that my insurance company wanted it to be filed and please file it. I was then told that I will continue to recieve bills for this debt and it it is not paid it will turned over to a collection agency. I was lied to by 2 people. First the person giving the shots and then by ******** who lied and said the claim was refused when submitted (Claim was never submitted). I think this is a scam on the elderly. They tell them there is no charge and then 6 months later send them a bill.If they do not remember they will pay the bill and then the company will submit it to the insurance company and be paid for the second time. This is Medicare FRAUD and should be looked into. How many other people have had this happen to them. I live on a fixed disability income and this is not right.How many time has this happened to other disable seniors and this company has gotten away with it.I was threatened by this company by saying it would be truned over to a collection agency.. "********" also told me "YOU OWE IT, PAY IT"

Desired Settlement: I want this company to acknowledge that they lied and I want a billing statement stating 'PAID IN FULL'BY This company mailed to me. The company is using deceptive practices and targeting the elderly.

Business Response:

In response to complaint # *******,

To Whom It May Concern:

 

We are in receipt of a complaint filed by Ms. ****** filed on January 28, 2013 for
services provided by Mollen Immunization Clinic on September 9, 2012.

 

Ms.****** presented herself at the local Wal-Mart store #2792 with a request to
receive the Influenza and Pneumonia vaccinations. At this time, Ms. ****** provided
an electronic patient consent form to complete in detail and sign acknowledging
all risks, benefits and financial responsibility associated with receiving the
vaccinations. Ms. ****** completed and signed this electronic document on 09/03/2012
and proceeded with the services. On October 11, 2012 her primary insurance
carrier Health First Health Plan rejected her claim through our clearing house,
Zirmed. Documentation has been provided as proof that the claim was rejected on
10/12/2012. The rejection message provided was that the Member Id was not on
file in the payer’s records, therefore the claim was never received by her
insurance company. Per Ms. ******’s signed electronic consent the Member ID was
verified that the information was true and correct.

 

It is ultimately the patient’s responsibility if the insurance cannot confirm that
she is a member of the listed insurance. When her account was worked in
December the account changed to a patient status, which then created a
statement. When Ms. ****** contacted her insurance company they were correct in
saying that a claim had not reached the patient’s account as the wrong Member ID
would have prevented them from seeing this in their system. Ms. ****** was
advised by our medical billing specialist on 01/28/2013, that she would
resubmit the claim on her behalf with the correct Member ID. This was completed
as promised and is now being processed by our clearing house and can take up to
60 days to process the claim.  As stated
in the electronic consent, she will be responsible for payment if services are not
covered for any reason, including but not limited to co-pays, deductibles,
coinsurance, or prior authorizations.

 

Our sincerest apology if Ms. ****** feels that she was lied
to, but our billing system shows that we did process the claim for Ms. ******
and has been sent to be reprocessed as of 01/28/2012. If Ms. ****** has any
further questions regarding the processing or outcome of her claim, she would
need to contact her insurance company.

 

 

Billing Specialist Manger,
  ***** ******

2/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Just received a statement today 2/2/2013 for a flu shot that I received on 9/24/2012 @ **** **** in South Point, Ohio. This shot was paid for at the time it was given . I do not have ******** * or insurance to cover shots. I know that I am responsible and I paid for the shot $24.00 in cash @ that time. I have tried to call this company today but have not heard back .Thee is no explanation as to why this could have happened.

Desired Settlement: Would like this bill settled. I have not had time to check the credit bureau. But have not had a statement. But I do not owe for this shot. I very upset with the way this was handled.

Business Response: In response to complaint #*******,

 Ms. **** presented herself at the ***** **** #**** on
09/24/2012 and requested to receive an Influenza vaccination. Ms. **** opted to
pay with a credit/debit ********** on the date of service. Per her signed
consent form she authorized a transaction to be processed in the amount of $24
for her services. The credit card processing can take a much longer time to run
her credit card as she has submitted a paper consent form. The credit card
billing system that Mollen uses did not process her card as Mollen has
anticipated and therefore a statement was generated and sent to Ms. ****. We
apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused. The current balance
of $24 on her account remains open.

 

Billing Manager

***** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

**** ****

 

 

 

2/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Sept. 28, 2012 I went to ***** **** in Omaha, NE and the Mollen Immunization Clinics had a table set up giving flu shots. I filled out the paperwork to get my daughter a flu shot. After filling out all the paperwork giving all my info and insurance info, the lady at the table said they could not bill my insurance, **** ***** **** ****** of NE. So I stated that I was not going to get the shot since they could not bill my insurance. I wanted my paperwork back since I wasn't getting my daughter the shot and the lady refused to give it back to me. I left and thought nothing more of it. On Saturday February 2, 2013, I received a bill in the mail from this company charging me for a flu shot that was not received. So it is fraud them billing me for a flu shot that was not given. I called the company on Feb 4, 2013 in the morning and the lady said I'd have to send them a letter stating that the flu shot was not given. I said I have to send you a letter? She said yes, I asked to speak to a supervisor and she said they all just went into a meeting and she would have one call me back and verified my phone number before hanging up. I called the ***** **** to let them know about the incident and the pharmacy manager informed me that they are longer doing any business with that company and he suggested calling them back again and asking for supervisor right away. So I called the Mollen company back and asked to speak to a supervisor, I was told again that they were in a meeting and she could take my info and have them call me back within 24 to 72 hours. She got the account # from me, and my phone number and first name. I asked how long they would be in the meeting and she said they are in and out of meetings all day so that's the reason for the time frame of 24 to 72 hours. Before I hung up I told her I wanted a call back within a few hours and she said she could not guarantee that.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to be billed for a service that was not received. It's fraudulent billing, not a good way to run a business.

1/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 15, 2012, I received a flu shot at Walmart by a Mollen Immunization representative. I was told the injection would cost $25.00 and would be directly submitted to my insurance company. When I received my claim report from my insurance company, Mollen Immunization had billed for $58.00. I called the company for clarification of this charge and was told it was legal to bill insurance companies more than self pay. I find this to be fraudulant representation of their product priceing. Had I known I would have paid cash and submitted the claim myself to my insurrance company. Misrepresentation of pricing to the consumer should be illegal. Consumers need to be aware of Mollen's unethical practices.

Desired Settlement: My insurance company is refunded all monies except the agreed upon $25.00 charge, and Mollen discontinues thier unethical practices.

Business Response:

In response to complaint #*******,

****** ******* presented herself at the local Wal-Mart store #**** on 10/15/2012 with a request to receive the influenza vaccine. Ms. ******* was presented a patient consent form to complete and signed electronically, indicating she understood that her insurance ******* ****** of OH would be billed on her behalf. Ms. *******'s flu vaccine payment would have been a discounted rate of $25, if she were to have paid cash on the date of service. When billing to her insurance company we charged a flat rate as we do to all insurances. We were only paid the allowed amount per her benefits at the negotiated contracted amount between Mollen Immunization Clinic and ******* ****** of OH. When Ms. ******* contacted our billing department on 11/28/2012 they explained that our nurses do not disclose insurance rates as the payments may vary and is proprietary information. Our nurse will only have a self-pay rate sheet at the store. I have attached the electronic signature page that Ms. ******* signed.


Thank you,

***** ******
Billing Manager
Mollen Immunization Clinics, LLC

Consumer Response:

I did receive the flu shot as stated and I did sign the consent to charge my insurance company.  But no where in the consent is it written than Mollen has the right to charge my insurance company more than the agreed upon $25.00 for the injection.  When I received the claim form I noted that administrative fees had been tacked on totalling $58.00.  I find this to be fraudulant representation of their product pricing to the consumer.  Had I been informed up front about the extra charges, I could have made an informed decision of how I wanted to proceed.  But I was not given that opportunity by their representative.  The consumer should always have full disclosure of pricing in order to help control the soaring costs of healthcare.  I am upset that Mollen took advantage of me and my insurance company.     

 

Business Response: Second response to complaint #*******,

Insurance fee schedules and payments are delegated by the insurance companies per benefits package. Our company uses a flat rate schedule as we provide services nationally and allowances may vary from state to state. As previously stated self pay rates are a discounted rate in lieu of having to bill an insurance company as there is increased cost associated to billing these claims. Please contact ******* ****** of OH is you have further questions on how they determined payment.
 
***** * ******
Billing Manager

12/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/29/12 I went to Sam's Club in ***** *****, MN & there was a table there stated Flu shot for $18.00. I requested for a flu shot, the little old lady who was giving the shots stated if I have insurance, my insurance company might pay for it. She run my ins. card through & stated to me the computer did not state I have to pay anything. November 2nd I received an invoice from Mollen Immunization Clinics II, LLC stating I owe them $31.22 for the flu shot. I called Mollen Imm. Clinics the billing department (###-###-#### after 3 transfers I talked with ******* x7**. ******* stated it is my responsibility to know what my insurance will pay or not pay & the computer only tells their employees if the recipient has insurance or not, do not tell if the insurance co will pay or not. I stated to ******* than your employees do not know that.She stated since they run through the shot through my insurance co. & now I have to pay the higher amount.I feel their employees who are giving the shots are not properly trained. They represent the company they work for, if the employees made a mistake, the employer should stand have to make it right.I stated I will pay $18.00 for the shot & not a penny more, ******* states I will have to pay for the whole amount & she will make a note in my file that I refuse to pay.I feel Mollen Immunization is taking advantage of their clients, if I know I have to pay more, why wouldn't I pay the lesser amount at the time of shot? The only reason I did not pay at the time of the shot was because the lady who is giving the shot stated my insurance company will pay for it.If there are any questions, please contact me. Thank you for listen to my complaint. ******* ***** ******* ***************************** ************

Desired Settlement: Pay $18.00 for the flu shot.

Business Response:

In response to complaint id #******

 

Dear Ms. ******,

Thank you for your recent letter surrounding your flu shot and the processing of the insurance presented. We will go ahead and honor this request for the service, but please be advised that presenting your insurance card never guarantees coverage for services. It is ultimately the patient’s responsibility to know and understand their own insurance policy and coverage. The services rendered to you on 09/29/2012 were billed to your insurance BCBS of TX for the flu immunization. Your insurance carrier applied the entire charge to your annual deductible as you have not yet satisfied your annual deductible for 2012. The rate of $18.00 is offered at specific participating ***'s locations for cash paying patients only who wish to not utilize their insurance or for those patients that do not have insurance coverage.

******* was correct in stating that it is solely the patient’s responsibility to know and understand their benefits and the computer used at the flu clinic event is used for ensuring the insurance card presented is active. The computers or the nurse do not know your specific policy and do not call or pre-certify the services prior to administering. This is also stated on the consent form which was acknowledged and electronically signed by you on the date of service.

The account has been documented with this letter and the cost will be reduced upon receipt of the agreed amount of $18.00. Please keep in mind that the balance will remain at $31.22 until payment has been received. Going forward, please ensure that you contact your insurance carrier to understand if and how the charges will be applied based on your specific health insurance certificate.

Thank you,

****** ****

Billing Manager

Mollen Immunization Clinics

11/24/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: tryed paying $25.00 cash for flu shot but nurse tryed talking me out of it twice saying insurance company would pay for all of it BUT they billed insurance company $26.00. and billing me an additional $31.22 costing me more then then 25.00

Desired Settlement: have them pay insuance company back and i ll pay the $25.00

Business Response:

In reponse to Complaint #*******,

Mr. ******* presented himself at the local Wal-Mart store #1020 on 09/09/2012 with a request to receive the influenza vaccine. Mr. ******* was presented a patient consent form to complete and signed electronically, indicating he understood the health risks and the financial liability of receiving the vaccine. Mr. ******* completed the request to bill all charges first through his insurance BCBS of Minnesota and then bill him for any charges that were not paid or covered by his insurance company. Mr. ********s flu vaccine payment was applied to his deductible in accordance to his insurance benefits. The assigned payment to his deductible would then be the patient's financial liability. Attached you will find the Explanation of Benefits that we have received from Mr ********s insurance company.

As a courtesy, we have reduced the charge of the influenza vaccine to the cash pay rate of $25.00 which he is welcome to make payments on if necessary. We will not turn this balance over to collections as long as there are payments being made to the account. If Mr. ******* would like to arrange payment, he may contact our billing department at ###-###-#### and speak with one of our billing service associates.

Thank you,

***** ******

Billing Manager

Mollen Immunization Clinics, LLC

9/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable