This business is not BBB accredited.

Chef John's, LLC

Phone: (480) 292-8177 View Additional Phone Numbers

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Chef John's, LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chef John's, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 21, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1995 in AZ Business incorporated 09/26/2006 in AZ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Corey, Member Ms. Jeanette Corey, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Corey, Member
Business Category

Caterers Concessionaires Food & Beverage Consultants

Additional Locations


    P.O. Box 2897

    Gilbert, AZ 85299


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to report a business, Chef John's, LLC, a Culinary Management Company who is conducting business in Arizona in a very unethical manner. Chef John is listed as the CEO and founder of the company. I contacted Chef John to caterer a 70th Birthday party through email regarding the services and price. I also communicated with him over the telephone a couple of times. I requested information from him regarding an advertisement he had for catering 75 people for $549.00. We sent several emails back and forth regarding and communicated on the phone. On our first phone conversation I asked if we could substitute anything in place of the rolls and butter. He said that we could re place it with a vegetable, which I agreed. Later in an email, he wanted to charge me an additional $400.00 to make the change. I elected to stay with the rolls and butter. Then I attempted to schedule a tasting, which was a charge of $50.00. I emailed and asked if the tasting fee would be applied to the catering costs if we elected to sign a contract with him. He then sent an email telling me the CEO of the company stated the $549 price is only for 50 people. I emailed him a copy of the ad and requested that he honor the price. He declined to try and resolve the matter. I understand if there is a misprint in an ad and I would expect the company to inform me of the error immediately. Instead Chef John, who is the CEO had several conversations with me regarding the $549.00 price for 75 people. This is deceitful and unethical business practices. I have included copies of all the email communication and informed Chef John I would be reporting his business to be properly investigated for bait and switch practices.

Desired Settlement: I understand if there is a misprint in an ad and I would expect the company to inform me of the error immediately. Instead Chef John, who is the CEO had several conversations with me regarding the $549.00 price for 75 people. This is deceitful and unethical business practices.

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently had the misfortune of eating Chef John's at ******* *******. I have successfully fulfilled management and owner roles for several companies and franchises in the past 6 years and I can honestly say that Chef John's stands out as the most negative experience I've had since fully delving myself into the restaurant and bar industry. Granted, ******* ******* had a very large attendance and serving that many people at once must be a very hard task to complete, it does not justify treating customers with absolutely no respect or gratitude for supporting their business with hard earned money. I was employed with bartenders of the event and our sources for food were limited before 1pm. I placed my order at approximately 1150am and did not receive it until 1255pm, 5 minutes before my shift. I asked ********, who I was told was the "owner lady" or very disgruntled manager, to check how much longer my order would take at at 1245pm. She told me she wouldn't do it even after explaining to her that I had a shift beginning in 10 minutes. She made absolutely no effort to give me a timeframe so that I would not be late. I never had the chance to eat that meal because of work and she wouldn't do anything about it; $10.50 down the drain.Later that evening, I ordered the same meal and again there were many people in front of me and it seemed more so than that morning. This time I was prepared for the wait and asked how long it would take; the cashier told 1 hour. 40 minutes later I returned with time to spare. I waited for almost 15 minutes before a friend of mine told me they heard my number called before I arrived and a guy claimed the meal without a receipt voucher, claiming that his girlfriend had it but she was in the bathroom. They gave the meal to him and assured me they would not have done something like that. It took searching through their receipts myself to prove they had given it away. Again, ******** is who I had to deal with. She told me she walked around for 10 minutes looking for me before I had arrived and then she went as far as telling me that she did not give the meal to anyone else but luckily my friend was there to verify she had. After arguing with her for a minute about the lack of customer service, I asked her, "is this how you handle your customer service, by doing nothing?" She simply replied, "we're done!" and walked away from me. I have never been treated so poorly anywhere twice in one day by the same company or person for that matter. This place is a disgrace to small business owners trying to make it in this economy and only hope that the community surrounding Chef John's will do their part in not supporting this type of business so that they can truly realize and appreciate what it means to open a business and treat their guests/customers with the respect they deserve for walking through those doors in the first place. If I could give this place a negative rating, I would. You guys should be completely ashamed of how you do things there and my next order of business is contacting the new owners of ******* ******* to inform them of how poorly you treated people while they were there to enjoy themselves. I've worked very high volume and stressful situations and NEVER is it okay to treat people that way. NEVER!!!

Desired Settlement: I only want my $9.50 back. They can keep the $1 tip i gave the cashier. The reality of the situation is, I probably deserve a refund for both meals but I'll take it for one. $9.50 is fair for me just so they know they were in the wrong. Thank you

Business Response: This has nothing to do with Chef du' Jour, LLC.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Chef John's, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)