This Business is not BBB accredited

Chef John's, LLC

Phone: (480) 292-8177 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.chefjohns.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Chef John's, LLC include:

  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Chef John's, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Chef John's, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 21, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1995 in AZ Business incorporated: 09/26/2006 in AZ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Corey, Member Ms. Jeanette Corey, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Corey, Member
Business Category

Caterers Concessionaires Food & Beverage Consultants


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 2897

    Gilbert, AZ 85299

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to report a business, Chef John's, LLC, a Culinary Management Company who is conducting business in Arizona in a very unethical manner. Chef John is listed as the CEO and founder of the company. I contacted Chef John to caterer a 70th Birthday party through email regarding the services and price. I also communicated with him over the telephone a couple of times. I requested information from him regarding an advertisement he had for catering 75 people for $549.00. We sent several emails back and forth regarding and communicated on the phone. On our first phone conversation I asked if we could substitute anything in place of the rolls and butter. He said that we could re place it with a vegetable, which I agreed. Later in an email, he wanted to charge me an additional $400.00 to make the change. I elected to stay with the rolls and butter. Then I attempted to schedule a tasting, which was a charge of $50.00. I emailed and asked if the tasting fee would be applied to the catering costs if we elected to sign a contract with him. He then sent an email telling me the CEO of the company stated the $549 price is only for 50 people. I emailed him a copy of the ad and requested that he honor the price. He declined to try and resolve the matter. I understand if there is a misprint in an ad and I would expect the company to inform me of the error immediately. Instead Chef John, who is the CEO had several conversations with me regarding the $549.00 price for 75 people. This is deceitful and unethical business practices. I have included copies of all the email communication and informed Chef John I would be reporting his business to be properly investigated for bait and switch practices.

Desired Settlement: I understand if there is a misprint in an ad and I would expect the company to inform me of the error immediately. Instead Chef John, who is the CEO had several conversations with me regarding the $549.00 price for 75 people. This is deceitful and unethical business practices.

5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 20th, 2013, My wife and I purchased a private dinner to be cooked by Chef John's, LLC as part of an auction that raised money for our childrens school. The face value of the dinner was valued at $145 but we paid $240 for the dinner. It has been five months since we purchased the dinner but no dinner has been held. We informed Chef **** we would pass on the dinner if he would buy us a gift card in the amount equal to the face value of the dinner ($145) at a restaurant of our choice. He accepted our offer but said it would take 30 to 45 days to get the gift card to us even though we asked for it to be provided to us within 10 days so we can resolve the issue and move on! At this point, we believe he has no intention of delivering on the charity commitment he made.

Desired Settlement: We would like Chef John, LLC to purchase and provide us a gift card in the amount of $145 (the face value of the dinner)at one of the following restaurants: *** ***, **** ****** *****, or ***** ** ******. If this is provided, we will update a public review we posted on yelp.com to inform people Chef John, LLC fulfilled its commitment to us.

Business Response: it appears this customer is confused by filling a complaint against Chef du' Jour, LLC which has nothing to do with "Chef John's, LLC" for which it appears the complaint is against.  It also appears by the clients writing that they're getting their refund, just not in a time line that they feel or he feel is sufficient to his liking.  Unfortunately it appears that customers often complain when they don't like something or how a company handles certain items.  The complain appears to be against the wrong company and that being said this complaint is not valid and needs to be removed immediately from the Chef du' Jour BBB page.  Thank you for your time.  I'm certain if the client were to "read" it would be evident that no complaint is necessary as it appears they will be getting their refund based on what the client writes.  Interesting how some feel that when they're getting things they don't stop and think about who, they just write.  Unfortunate for them.  Sad that our world has come to this.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In reviewing the company's response, I acknowledge the complaint is against Chef John's, LLC and not against Chef du Jour, LLC.  When filing the complaint, I indicated that the complaint was against Chef John's, LLC so I don't have an explanation for how it is assigned to Chef d Jour, LLC.  I don't know if there is any association between Chef John's LLC and Chef du Jour, LLC.  In reviewing an article titled "Gilbert caterer has Giant Job" that was posted on AZcentral.com on 3/20/2008, it appears both companies could be owned by same people; however, I don't know for sure.  If there is no connection between the companies, then I agree the complaint should not be reflected against Chef du Jour, LLC and it should reflect a complaint against Chef John's, LLC.

In addition, I received a personal email today from Chef John's, LLC asking me to "cease and desist my complaint actions immediately."  The email refers to the complaint being foolish.  I am happy to provide this email to the Better Business Bureau if that would be helpful.  If there is no connection between the above referenced companies, I question how Chef John's, LLC is aware of the complaint.  As mentioned in my complaint, I did share my experience of dealing with Chef John's LLC on yelp.com; however, I never mentioned filing any complaint with the Better Business Bureau on yelp.com.  With that said, it is my belief that Chef John's, LLC would not know for sure about the formal complaint unless there is a connection between the two companies.  If there is truly no connection between these two companies, I apologize to the owners of Chef du Jour, LLC for their company being associated with this complaint.  If there is no associated between the two companies, I would ask that the Better Business Bureau update the complaint to remove Chef du Jour's name and have the complaint reflect Chef John's, LLC.

In reference to the status of the complaint against Chef John's, LLC, I do want to keep the complaint open for now.  To date, Chef John's, LLC has not delivered on any promises made to us and we have not received any confirmation as to what the specific dollar amount the gift card will be.  If Chef John's LLC, will provide written confirmation to us through the Better Business Bureau as to what the specific dollar amount of the gift card will be ($145 to cover the face value of the original dinner we bought) and on what specific date we can expect to receive the gift card, we would be willing to consider closing the complaint.  Without these written reassurances, we feel we have no additional recourse and are at the complete mercy of Chef John's, LLC as to what we will receive.  If Chef John's, LLC can provide the reassurances we are asking for, we are moving towards a resolution!

Regards,

***** **********


 

 

Business Response: It's apparent this complaint is against a different company other than Chef du' Jour, LLC.  I'm sorry this is not a valid Chef du' Jour, LLC complaint.
Therefore it needs to be closed and removed. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Since both business are owned by the same people and they are accredited under the BBB, the owners last response is not acceptable.  If the owners will please provide an email (either through the BBB or to the customer's personal email address) that confirms the following information, the customer will close the complaint and will remove any postings made via yelp.

the specific amount the gift card will be for (atleast $145)
the specific restaurant it will be for (*** ***, ****, or ***** ** ******)
the specific date the gift card will be provided (not a general time frame of 30 to 45 days)

Please understand that the due to the business owner's history of unresponsiveness during from this ordeal, receiving the requested email is necessary to the customer to ensure what has been promised is delivered.

Please also understand that due to the continued frustration the customer has had with the business owners, the customer is continued to pursue this matter it is resolved to his satisfaction.  To help resolve the issue and allow all of us to move on, the customer hopes the business owners will supply the email as requested and then follow through on that delivery!   

Thank You!

Regards,

***** **********